$84 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 28, 2014 Check-out: Dec 31, 2014

BEST WESTERN PLUS Kalamazoo Suites

3 stars
2575 S 11th Street, Kalamazoo, MI 49009-2105
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
51 reviews
Great value

Clean, friendly, affordable. The location was perfect for our needs See full review

  • OBSC soccer
  • Jun 27, 2014
Adequate for business travel

Overall a good experience. The front desk staff were all very friendly and helpful, and the room... See full review

  • just a guy from Maryland
  • May 24, 2014
Stay at this Kalamazoo, Michigan hotel offering convenient access to Western Michigan University, the Gilmore Classic Car Museum and the Kalamazoo Air Zoo. Welcome to the BEST WESTERN PLUS Kalamazoo Suites, an all-suites property located in southwest Michigan. This Kalamazoo hotel features 64 well-appointed suites, each fully-equipped with cable satellite television and free wireless high-speed Internet access. Guests will wake up to a delicious complimentary hot breakfast buffet each morning before taking a dip in the indoor heated swimming pool and hot tub. Additional amenities include a fitness center, guest laundry, full business services and meeting/banquet facilities accommodating up to 100 people. The BEST WESTERN PLUS Kalamazoo Suites is conveniently located less than 10 miles from many key attractions including the Miller Auditorium, the Kalamazoo Air Zoo, the River Front Park and Western Michigan University. Less than five miles from this Michigan hotel, guests can tour the Gilmore Classic Car Museum and the Kalamazoo Institute of Art Museum or catch a hockey game at Wings Stadium. This 100% non-smoking hotel is also an hour's drive from Firekeepers Casino and the Four Winds Casino. Stryker Medical Center is also located just five minutes away from the hotel. Kalamazoo is home to several annual events including the Eccentric Day Festival and the Kalamazoo Animation Festival International. The friendly, helpful staff at the BEST WESTERN PLUS Kalamazoo Suites is ready to ensure a fun-filled memorable stay in Kalamazoo, Michigan. Make a reservation today and save!

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed BEST WESTERN PLUS Kalamazoo Suites also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

BEST WESTERN PLUS Kalamazoo Suites Rooms

1 KING BED
1 KING BED,NSMK,32IN LCDTV,SOFABED,HISPD,MICRFG,FULL BREAKFAST
2 QUEEN BEDS
2 QUEEN BEDS,NSMK,32IN LCDTV,SOFABED,HISPD,MICRFG,FULL BREAKFAST
1 QUEEN BED
1 QUEEN BED,NSMK,32 IN LCD TV,HI SPEED,MICRWV,REFRIG,FULL BREAKFAST
SUITE-2 QUEEN BEDS
SUITE-2 QUEEN BEDS,NSMK,32IN LCDTV,SOFABED,HISPD,MICRFG,FULL BREAKFAST
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,NSMK,JACUZZI,32IN LCD TV,MICRFG,HI SPD,FULL BREAKFAST
1 QUEEN BED
1 QUEEN BED,NSMK,JACUZZI,32IN LCD TV,MICRFG,HI SPD,FULL BREAKFAST
1 QUEEN BED
1 QUEEN BED,MOBILITY ACCESSIBLE,BATHTUB,NSMK,FULL BREAKFAST
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,MOBILITY ACCESSIBLE,ROLL IN SHOWER,NSMK,FULL BREAKFAST

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Indoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Exercise gym
Jacuzzi
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Coffee shop
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Express check in
Express checkout
Concierge desk
Security
Wake-up service
Multilingual
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Porters
FAX
Conference facilities
Copy service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Outdoor parking
RV or truck parking
Truck parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Room
Television with cable
Radio
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Cribs available
Fire place
Sofa bed
Electronic door locks
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Lawson Arena: 2.2 mi
  • Waldo Stadium: 3.3 mi
  • Wings Stadium: 6.3 mi
  • University Arena: 3,498.4 mi

Dining

Wendy's
1.00 mile(s) from Wendy's, Fast Food, American, Open for: breakfast, lunch, dinner,
Applebee's
3.00 mile(s) from Applebee's, Bar/Lounge, American, Open for: lunch, dinner,
Big Boy
1.00 mile(s) from Big Boy, Full Service, American, Open for: breakfast, lunch, dinner,
McDonald's
1.00 mile(s) from McDonald's, Bar/Lounge, American, Open for: breakfast, lunch, dinner,
Bilbo's Pizza
2.00 mile(s) from Bilbo's Pizza, Bar/Lounge, Italian, Open for: lunch, dinner,
Gallagher's Pub
1.50 mile(s) from Gallagher's Pub, Bar/Lounge, Continental, Open for: breakfast, lunch, dinner,
Burger King
1.00 mile(s) from Burger King, Fast Food, American, Open for: breakfast, lunch, dinner,
TGI Fridays
3.00 mile(s) from TGI Fridays, Bar/Lounge, American, Open for: lunch, dinner,
Starbuck's
1.50 mile(s) from Starbuck's, Coffee Shop, American, Open for: breakfast, lunch, dinner,
Taco Bell
1.00 mile(s) from Taco Bell, Fast Food, Mexican, Open for: breakfast, lunch, dinner,

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (51)

Ratings and reviews for BEST WESTERN PLUS Kalamazoo Suites

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
12 out of 51
Amenities:
3.4
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
3.8
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.5

75% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Kalamazoo Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
just a guy from Maryland
Business
New Market, Maryland
May 24, 2014

Adequate for business travel

Overall a good experience. The front desk staff were all very friendly and helpful, and the room was comfortable and clean. My complaints are that the breakfast foods (pancakes, waffles, bagels, pastries) weren't remotely fresh as evidenced by how dried out they were, and the old refrigerator tastes/odors. I tried all of these foods, and found they weren't up to par with most other hotel chain breakfast bars. To put this into perspective, I opted for a McDonald's breakfast on my third morning. My second complaint was there was a foamy film on top of the swimming pool water - made me think twice about jumping in! I usually try to make use of the hotel pools on business travels, but regretfully didn't on this trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Kalamazoo Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
fmnjr
Business
Radford, VA
May 14, 2013

Great hotel!

The room was extremely comfortable and, for the most part, clean. The only exception were some crumbs on the footrest to the recliner. Other than that, I've got no complaints. I'll definitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Kalamazoo Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
New hire James
Business
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Apr 27, 2013

Acceptable Hotel

Stayed for a week, and found it to be acceptable but not anything more. Easy access to many amenities.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Kalamazoo Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
New hire James
Business
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Apr 27, 2013

Acceptable

Stayed here for a week while starting a new job. Decent access to amenities, but the rooms are dated and guests on upper floors are easily heard walking around.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Kalamazoo Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
MR JTOWN
Business
paducah,ky
Jan 20, 2013

EXCELLENT.

We loved the room we had the one with the jacuzzi in it, it was awsome the room was so spacious and spotless, staff was so nice and plesant and very helpful we really had a great time wolud definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Kalamazoo Suites

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
xnaygirlx
Business
Novi, MI
Jun 11, 2012

LOUD!!!!!

Overall....horrible experience! For starters, they don't offer discounts to law enforcement or emt/firefighters. The prices aren't too bad but the pet fee is a bit much. The worst part about our stay was the noise level. The structure of the building is obviously very old and has absolutely no sound barriers whatsoever. My husband and I drove 3 hours to Kalamazoo for a public safety officer test as part of the hiring process. This was a very crucial test and it was scheduled for early in the morning so we decided to drive in the night before so he could have plenty of rest before taking the test. It was the whole reason for staying in the hotel. The entire evening and overnight was awful. You could hear a mosquito cut the cheese 2 doors down, you could practically smell it! The ceiling, the floor, all four walls were paper thin. The guests around, below, and above us weren't making any excessive noise at all but every move they made, every footstep, we heard it all and it sounded 10 times louder than it actually was. No joke, their footfalls would vibrate our room. There was nothing we could do. All rooms were booked as we were here on a weekend. In the morning during late checkout, we expressed very kindly how bad the experience was and no sympathy or compensation was offered to us for our troubles. A small discount would have been appropriate but they couldn't care less. We knew it wasn't their fault exactly but it is their responsibility to please every guest as best as they can and by not offering us anything at all, they failed miserably. I will not ever stay at this hotel again in the future and would not recommend it to anyone, unless you're ok with not sleeping at all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Kalamazoo Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
fmnjr
Business
Radford, VA
May 15, 2012

Very nice hotel!

I was very happy with the Best Western Plus Kalamazoo Suites, and I plan on staying there the next time I'm in town. The staff was especially helpful!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Kalamazoo Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jmorri14
Business
Davison, MI 48423, USA
Mar 26, 2012

Great experience with a few comments!

The staff and cleanliness of the hotel was superb! The hotel was in great condition and the breakfast was full of varieties of good food. I have a few suggestions though. There was so much chlorine in the pool the water was yellow and the hot tub could have been hotter. It felt like warm bath water. Also the fitness center could use newer or better machines. Some needed up keep badly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Eat at burdicks! Amazing food service and enivornment! Only 10-15 mins from hotel in downtown Kalamazoo! Its worth it!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Kalamazoo Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
ohio
Jun 24, 2011

business trip

comfortable, clean, quiet, all ammenities worked, good location, very inexpensive for a suite type room

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

good restaurants in the downtown area

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Kalamazoo Suites

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago Il.
Jun 6, 2011

Negative review

Very poor room service . Forgotten items in bathroom. The clean towels were wet, nondry. Very slow response from front desk, and seemingly poor communication between staff. No available city maps at the front desk. Were not told that bed sheets would not be changed dayly. At this price ?????

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top