$84 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 31, 2014 Check-out: Nov 3, 2014

BEST WESTERN PLUS Kalamazoo Suites

3 stars
2575 S 11th Street, Kalamazoo, MI 49009-2105
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
50 reviews
Great value

Clean, friendly, affordable. The location was perfect for our needs See full review

  • OBSC soccer
  • Jun 27, 2014
Adequate for business travel

Overall a good experience. The front desk staff were all very friendly and helpful, and the room... See full review

  • just a guy from Maryland
  • May 24, 2014
Stay at this Kalamazoo, Michigan hotel offering convenient access to Western Michigan University, the Gilmore Classic Car Museum and the Kalamazoo Air Zoo. Welcome to the BEST WESTERN PLUS Kalamazoo Suites, an all-suites property located in southwest Michigan. This Kalamazoo hotel features 64 well-appointed suites, each fully-equipped with cable satellite television and free wireless high-speed Internet access. Guests will wake up to a delicious complimentary hot breakfast buffet each morning before taking a dip in the indoor heated swimming pool and hot tub. Additional amenities include a fitness center, guest laundry, full business services and meeting/banquet facilities accommodating up to 100 people. The BEST WESTERN PLUS Kalamazoo Suites is conveniently located less than 10 miles from many key attractions including the Miller Auditorium, the Kalamazoo Air Zoo, the River Front Park and Western Michigan University. Less than five miles from this Michigan hotel, guests can tour the Gilmore Classic Car Museum and the Kalamazoo Institute of Art Museum or catch a hockey game at Wings Stadium. This 100% non-smoking hotel is also an hour's drive from Firekeepers Casino and the Four Winds Casino. Stryker Medical Center is also located just five minutes away from the hotel. Kalamazoo is home to several annual events including the Eccentric Day Festival and the Kalamazoo Animation Festival International. The friendly, helpful staff at the BEST WESTERN PLUS Kalamazoo Suites is ready to ensure a fun-filled memorable stay in Kalamazoo, Michigan. Make a reservation today and save!

Hotel Map

42.2654 -85.6581
Area served
Battle Creek, Detroit, Michigan City,, Chicago,, Grand Rapids, Paw Paw
Nearby airports
(AZO), 5.00, MI, SE;
Area description
Expressway

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed BEST WESTERN PLUS Kalamazoo Suites also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

BEST WESTERN PLUS Kalamazoo Suites Rooms

1 KING BED
1 KING BED,NSMK,32IN LCDTV,SOFABED,HISPD,MICRFG,FULL BREAKFAST
2 QUEEN BEDS
2 QUEEN BEDS,NSMK,32IN LCDTV,SOFABED,HISPD,MICRFG,FULL BREAKFAST
1 QUEEN BED
1 QUEEN BED,NSMK,32 IN LCD TV,HI SPEED,MICRWV,REFRIG,FULL BREAKFAST
SUITE-2 QUEEN BEDS
SUITE-2 QUEEN BEDS,NSMK,32IN LCDTV,SOFABED,HISPD,MICRFG,FULL BREAKFAST
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,NSMK,JACUZZI,32IN LCD TV,MICRFG,HI SPD,FULL BREAKFAST
1 QUEEN BED
1 QUEEN BED,NSMK,JACUZZI,32IN LCD TV,MICRFG,HI SPD,FULL BREAKFAST
1 QUEEN BED
1 QUEEN BED,MOBILITY ACCESSIBLE,BATHTUB,NSMK,FULL BREAKFAST
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,MOBILITY ACCESSIBLE,ROLL IN SHOWER,NSMK,FULL BREAKFAST

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Indoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Exercise gym
Jacuzzi
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Coffee shop
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Express check in
Express checkout
Concierge desk
Security
Wake-up service
Multilingual
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Porters
FAX
Conference facilities
Copy service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Outdoor parking
RV or truck parking
Truck parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Room
Television with cable
Radio
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Cribs available
Fire place
Sofa bed
Electronic door locks
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Lawson Arena: 2.2 mi
  • Waldo Stadium: 3.3 mi
  • Wings Stadium: 6.3 mi
  • University Arena: 3,498.4 mi

Dining

Wendy's
1.00 mile(s) from Wendy's, Fast Food, American, Open for: breakfast, lunch, dinner,
Applebee's
3.00 mile(s) from Applebee's, Bar/Lounge, American, Open for: lunch, dinner,
Big Boy
1.00 mile(s) from Big Boy, Full Service, American, Open for: breakfast, lunch, dinner,
McDonald's
1.00 mile(s) from McDonald's, Bar/Lounge, American, Open for: breakfast, lunch, dinner,
Bilbo's Pizza
2.00 mile(s) from Bilbo's Pizza, Bar/Lounge, Italian, Open for: lunch, dinner,
Gallagher's Pub
1.50 mile(s) from Gallagher's Pub, Bar/Lounge, Continental, Open for: breakfast, lunch, dinner,
Burger King
1.00 mile(s) from Burger King, Fast Food, American, Open for: breakfast, lunch, dinner,
TGI Fridays
3.00 mile(s) from TGI Fridays, Bar/Lounge, American, Open for: lunch, dinner,
Starbuck's
1.50 mile(s) from Starbuck's, Coffee Shop, American, Open for: breakfast, lunch, dinner,
Taco Bell
1.00 mile(s) from Taco Bell, Fast Food, Mexican, Open for: breakfast, lunch, dinner,

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (50)

Ratings and reviews for BEST WESTERN PLUS Kalamazoo Suites

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
50 out of 50
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3.8

84% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Kalamazoo Suites

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
xnaygirlx
Business
Novi, MI
Jun 11, 2012

LOUD!!!!!

Overall....horrible experience! For starters, they don't offer discounts to law enforcement or emt/firefighters. The prices aren't too bad but the pet fee is a bit much. The worst part about our stay was the noise level. The structure of the building is obviously very old and has absolutely no sound barriers whatsoever. My husband and I drove 3 hours to Kalamazoo for a public safety officer test as part of the hiring process. This was a very crucial test and it was scheduled for early in the morning so we decided to drive in the night before so he could have plenty of rest before taking the test. It was the whole reason for staying in the hotel. The entire evening and overnight was awful. You could hear a mosquito cut the cheese 2 doors down, you could practically smell it! The ceiling, the floor, all four walls were paper thin. The guests around, below, and above us weren't making any excessive noise at all but every move they made, every footstep, we heard it all and it sounded 10 times louder than it actually was. No joke, their footfalls would vibrate our room. There was nothing we could do. All rooms were booked as we were here on a weekend. In the morning during late checkout, we expressed very kindly how bad the experience was and no sympathy or compensation was offered to us for our troubles. A small discount would have been appropriate but they couldn't care less. We knew it wasn't their fault exactly but it is their responsibility to please every guest as best as they can and by not offering us anything at all, they failed miserably. I will not ever stay at this hotel again in the future and would not recommend it to anyone, unless you're ok with not sleeping at all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Kalamazoo Suites

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
cseegert
Business
Britton, MI
Mar 27, 2013

Don't waste your money!

At some point in its history this hotel was nice. But unfortunately it is not anymore. The only plus about this hotel were the size of the rooms. Our first encounter when we arrived was with the elevator, which made so much noise and was so slow that I thought we were going to get stuck on it EVERY time we used it. Upon entering the room, it looked pretty good. Nice big room with a nice big bed, kitchenette, nice size bathroom. I noticed that the floor was in need of a good vacuuming though and you could see that they fail to clean the corners and edges of anything. The curtain would not stay closed all the way and at night you could see light all the way around the door going to the hallway. Definitely not safe if there was a fire, smoke would surely get through the HUGE gaps. The biggest disappointment of all was when we headed down to the pool.... First thing we notice is a sign on the door asking you to "please excuse our mess" as a leak occurred in the roof above the hot tub and they have not repaired it. Once inside the pool area you can tell that the boards that have been attached to the ceiling to seal the leak have been there for a while and are dark, wet looking and almost looked like there could be mold on them. As we are taking off our shoes to get in the pool, I notice a puddle of standing water between the hot tub and the pool. This puddle had a layer of green algae growing/floating in it! GROSS! Upon further inspection of the area, you could also see green algae growing in the cracks and crevices on the walls and edges where the wall meets the floor. Even with this we decided to swim because well, that was the whole reason for this trip! As I take my first step into the pool, I feel my foot slip from underneath of me and down I go .The steps were sooo slick, and even the bottom of the pool was too. It was not the normal gritty/textured steps/floor you feel in most pools. It was smooth and slick. If i had to guess, my fall was due to algae growth on that slick surface. Even though the pool looked clean it obviously was not . And here is the best part of all..... it was FREEZING cold! So cold that my daughter was shivering. Absolutely ridiculous for an indoor pool to be freezing cold. What is the point in having an indoor pool and paying for a hotel that has one if you cannot even enjoy it. It was not enjoyable at all! Never have I been to a hotel where this has happened before. On the other extreme, the hot tub was so hot that you felt like you were boiling within a minute of being in it. So VERY disappointing and so VERY unacceptable! To make matters worse, we decided to make one more go of the pool later that night in the hopes that it would be at least a little warmer. I mean this is the whole reason we came here was to swim! So we at least wanted to attempt to feel like we got our moneys worth. Well, as i step down on that same step.... down I go AGAIN! This time I ended up falling on my back onto the concrete edge of the pool (after an urgent care visit a day later I found that I had a rib fracture from this fall!) Something needs to be done about the surface of those steps and the algae that is obviously growing on them! That pool may have smelled like chlorine but it was far from actually being clean of algae. Also, don't pan on having a very good breakfast either. The waffle maker was so gunked up and covered in burnt batter that the waffles stuck to it and once you finally got it peeled off it was just a pile of half cooked batter on your plate with specks of black from the burnt stuff. The eggs were shaped like a disk and tasted fake. The only thing enjoyable was the sausage. Do not waste your time on this hotel. We had been looking forward to this little getaway for a while and we are so very disappointed. What a waste of our hard earned money!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Kalamazoo Suites

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago Il.
Jun 6, 2011

Negative review

Very poor room service . Forgotten items in bathroom. The clean towels were wet, nondry. Very slow response from front desk, and seemingly poor communication between staff. No available city maps at the front desk. Were not told that bed sheets would not be changed dayly. At this price ?????

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Kalamazoo Suites

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Lansing, MI
Jul 6, 2011

Newly Renovated???

I used to think that Best Western was one of the classier hotels to stay at but after our trip this July 4th weekend that has changed. We were highly disappointed and can now understand why they have a "no refund" policy (they wouldn't make any money). Sheets on the bed were stained. Bottom sheet didn't fit the mattress so it was constantly coming off.... GROSS!!!! Really, you can't afford sheets that fit???? This was our 1 month wedding anniversary and our very first vacation together. We got the Jacuzzi suite so that we could use it, only way to use it was one at a time as there was no way 2 people would fit!! Very disappointing. Cleaning crew actually went around with Home Defense on their carts to spray rooms... GROSS!!! Kids running up and down the hall screaming... complained...continued...up till 3 am listening to them scream they didn't want to go to bed. Their satellite wasn't working properly so you had no clue what was on the tv lineup. We wanted to check out early but since we couldn't get our money back we were stuck. We felt robbed of the money we put out on this "classy" hotel! We will be contacting the corporate offices for Best Western. [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Kalamazoo Suites

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Manteno il
Mar 14, 2010

Trip review

The trip was enjoyable. The only thing we didn't like was being able to hear everything our neighbors were doing at 3 in the morning.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Kalamazoo Suites

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
mbdcp
Business
Sacramento, CA.
Sep 14, 2014

Nothing special

The room was old and tired. The carpeting was stained. In the hallway it was worn. The bathroom was tiny with few amenities. No real restaurant to speak of...breakfast in the morning, but not nice. The lobby smelled of chlorine from the tiny indoor pool. The holiday Inn next door is much nicer.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Kalamazoo Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
traveler 7
Business
Illinois, USA
Jan 20, 2012

CLEAN AND GOOD VALUE

Everything was very nice except the heating units in the rooms were very loud whenever they turned on. Accomodations were very nicely updated.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Kalamazoo Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
New hire James
Business
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Apr 27, 2013

Acceptable Hotel

Stayed for a week, and found it to be acceptable but not anything more. Easy access to many amenities.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Kalamazoo Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
New hire James
Business
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Apr 27, 2013

Acceptable

Stayed here for a week while starting a new job. Decent access to amenities, but the rooms are dated and guests on upper floors are easily heard walking around.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Kalamazoo Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
kgirl05
Business
kalamazoo, Mi
May 6, 2013

Huge Rooms

Staff was hard to find at times. Overall everything was just ok. Room size was huge.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top