$84 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 28, 2014 Check-out: Dec 31, 2014

BEST WESTERN PLUS Kalamazoo Suites

3 stars
2575 S 11th Street, Kalamazoo, MI 49009-2105
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
51 reviews
Great value

Clean, friendly, affordable. The location was perfect for our needs See full review

  • OBSC soccer
  • Jun 27, 2014
Adequate for business travel

Overall a good experience. The front desk staff were all very friendly and helpful, and the room... See full review

  • just a guy from Maryland
  • May 24, 2014
Stay at this Kalamazoo, Michigan hotel offering convenient access to Western Michigan University, the Gilmore Classic Car Museum and the Kalamazoo Air Zoo. Welcome to the BEST WESTERN PLUS Kalamazoo Suites, an all-suites property located in southwest Michigan. This Kalamazoo hotel features 64 well-appointed suites, each fully-equipped with cable satellite television and free wireless high-speed Internet access. Guests will wake up to a delicious complimentary hot breakfast buffet each morning before taking a dip in the indoor heated swimming pool and hot tub. Additional amenities include a fitness center, guest laundry, full business services and meeting/banquet facilities accommodating up to 100 people. The BEST WESTERN PLUS Kalamazoo Suites is conveniently located less than 10 miles from many key attractions including the Miller Auditorium, the Kalamazoo Air Zoo, the River Front Park and Western Michigan University. Less than five miles from this Michigan hotel, guests can tour the Gilmore Classic Car Museum and the Kalamazoo Institute of Art Museum or catch a hockey game at Wings Stadium. This 100% non-smoking hotel is also an hour's drive from Firekeepers Casino and the Four Winds Casino. Stryker Medical Center is also located just five minutes away from the hotel. Kalamazoo is home to several annual events including the Eccentric Day Festival and the Kalamazoo Animation Festival International. The friendly, helpful staff at the BEST WESTERN PLUS Kalamazoo Suites is ready to ensure a fun-filled memorable stay in Kalamazoo, Michigan. Make a reservation today and save!

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed BEST WESTERN PLUS Kalamazoo Suites also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

BEST WESTERN PLUS Kalamazoo Suites Rooms

1 KING BED
1 KING BED,NSMK,32IN LCDTV,SOFABED,HISPD,MICRFG,FULL BREAKFAST
2 QUEEN BEDS
2 QUEEN BEDS,NSMK,32IN LCDTV,SOFABED,HISPD,MICRFG,FULL BREAKFAST
1 QUEEN BED
1 QUEEN BED,NSMK,32 IN LCD TV,HI SPEED,MICRWV,REFRIG,FULL BREAKFAST
SUITE-2 QUEEN BEDS
SUITE-2 QUEEN BEDS,NSMK,32IN LCDTV,SOFABED,HISPD,MICRFG,FULL BREAKFAST
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,NSMK,JACUZZI,32IN LCD TV,MICRFG,HI SPD,FULL BREAKFAST
1 QUEEN BED
1 QUEEN BED,NSMK,JACUZZI,32IN LCD TV,MICRFG,HI SPD,FULL BREAKFAST
1 QUEEN BED
1 QUEEN BED,MOBILITY ACCESSIBLE,BATHTUB,NSMK,FULL BREAKFAST
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,MOBILITY ACCESSIBLE,ROLL IN SHOWER,NSMK,FULL BREAKFAST

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Indoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Exercise gym
Jacuzzi
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Coffee shop
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Express check in
Express checkout
Concierge desk
Security
Wake-up service
Multilingual
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Porters
FAX
Conference facilities
Copy service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Outdoor parking
RV or truck parking
Truck parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Room
Television with cable
Radio
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Cribs available
Fire place
Sofa bed
Electronic door locks
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Lawson Arena: 2.2 mi
  • Waldo Stadium: 3.3 mi
  • Wings Stadium: 6.3 mi
  • University Arena: 3,498.4 mi

Dining

Wendy's
1.00 mile(s) from Wendy's, Fast Food, American, Open for: breakfast, lunch, dinner,
Applebee's
3.00 mile(s) from Applebee's, Bar/Lounge, American, Open for: lunch, dinner,
Big Boy
1.00 mile(s) from Big Boy, Full Service, American, Open for: breakfast, lunch, dinner,
McDonald's
1.00 mile(s) from McDonald's, Bar/Lounge, American, Open for: breakfast, lunch, dinner,
Bilbo's Pizza
2.00 mile(s) from Bilbo's Pizza, Bar/Lounge, Italian, Open for: lunch, dinner,
Gallagher's Pub
1.50 mile(s) from Gallagher's Pub, Bar/Lounge, Continental, Open for: breakfast, lunch, dinner,
Burger King
1.00 mile(s) from Burger King, Fast Food, American, Open for: breakfast, lunch, dinner,
TGI Fridays
3.00 mile(s) from TGI Fridays, Bar/Lounge, American, Open for: lunch, dinner,
Starbuck's
1.50 mile(s) from Starbuck's, Coffee Shop, American, Open for: breakfast, lunch, dinner,
Taco Bell
1.00 mile(s) from Taco Bell, Fast Food, Mexican, Open for: breakfast, lunch, dinner,

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (51)

Ratings and reviews for BEST WESTERN PLUS Kalamazoo Suites

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
51 out of 51
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.8

84% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Kalamazoo Suites

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Lansing, MI
Jul 6, 2011

Newly Renovated???

I used to think that Best Western was one of the classier hotels to stay at but after our trip this July 4th weekend that has changed. We were highly disappointed and can now understand why they have a "no refund" policy (they wouldn't make any money). Sheets on the bed were stained. Bottom sheet didn't fit the mattress so it was constantly coming off.... GROSS!!!! Really, you can't afford sheets that fit???? This was our 1 month wedding anniversary and our very first vacation together. We got the Jacuzzi suite so that we could use it, only way to use it was one at a time as there was no way 2 people would fit!! Very disappointing. Cleaning crew actually went around with Home Defense on their carts to spray rooms... GROSS!!! Kids running up and down the hall screaming... complained...continued...up till 3 am listening to them scream they didn't want to go to bed. Their satellite wasn't working properly so you had no clue what was on the tv lineup. We wanted to check out early but since we couldn't get our money back we were stuck. We felt robbed of the money we put out on this "classy" hotel! We will be contacting the corporate offices for Best Western. [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Kalamazoo Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
kidsofmine16
Business
muskegon, mi
Jun 25, 2011

crazy elevator

We had a GREAT stay in one of the suites. Kitchen area was surprisingly large, we even had a fireplace in the living area! Very Clean. Got extra towels, linens promptly. Breakfast was ample with a very spacious and lovely eating and lobby area. Pool was great (warm). Only negative things were the slow, noisy elevator and, the day we were leaving, the pool was closed for chemicals. It seems like they would do that during the night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

we were there for the air zoo and Binder park zoo but make sure you go to the Kalamazoo Valley Museum. It's free and has tons of stuff for the kids. Blackhawk bar and grill is a must for us again too.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Kalamazoo Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
ohio
Jun 24, 2011

business trip

comfortable, clean, quiet, all ammenities worked, good location, very inexpensive for a suite type room

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

good restaurants in the downtown area

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Kalamazoo Suites

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago Il.
Jun 6, 2011

Negative review

Very poor room service . Forgotten items in bathroom. The clean towels were wet, nondry. Very slow response from front desk, and seemingly poor communication between staff. No available city maps at the front desk. Were not told that bed sheets would not be changed dayly. At this price ?????

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Kalamazoo Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Clarkston
May 30, 2011

Good hotel, rude guests

Our room was clean and spacious with triple sheeting on the bed. Breakfast included make your own waffles and my favorite brand of coffee. Lots of chain restaurants at the next interchange for dining. Rude guests woke me up at 3 am arguing in the hallway but that is not the hotel's fault.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Kalamazoo Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
michigan
May 4, 2011

Just an okay room.

The room was alright. For the price, it could have been a little better. First, the jacuzzi drain stopper wasn't attached, it was sitting on the ledge, so the water drained out slowly after just setting the stopper in its place. The bathroom smelled of mildew. The 'neighbor' above walked like cattle (which, I know isn't the hotel's fault). Also, there was no table and chairs next to the kitchenette, which was odd, because there was plenty of room...there was this huge gaping space in the middle of the room... :-/ The bed however was very comfy! The continental breakfast was mediocre at best. The only fruit offered were apples, and they were questionable. The only hot breakfast items available were Belgium waffles, and sausage gravy and biscuits...not healthy choices. There were also hard-boiled eggs...really? I opted for the very dry 'cheerios', and was thankful for the skim milk option. The coffee was exquisite though. I stayed two nights and found the housekeeping staff very disturbing. Rather than propping the door open next to my room when cleaning, they stopped the door from shutting by putting the safety lock "arm" in the way. When the door was going to shut, it SLAMMED on the lock arm making a huge noise instead. VERY unprofessional, imo. The elevator was slow and unsafe as well. There were more than 4 occasions that the elevator door was open, and the elevator raised/lowered. The staff was just ok...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Kalamazoo Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Wisconsin Dells, WI
Jan 21, 2011

Great place, great value!

The hotel was great. It was very clean and the employees were very nice. The rooms were very comfortable. The hotel is near plenty of dining. The pool on the other hand was ice cold. brrrrrrr!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Kalamazoo Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Rockford, IL
Oct 11, 2010

A day in the life

Easy to get to.. decent place, clean, and new..the breakfast in the morning was very good..room was nice, clean, very comfortable bed, but the fan and the hairdryer in the bathroom didn't work, (glad I brought my own JIC, not exactly something you want to discover when you're dripping wet and have an important meeting to get to...oh well, it doesn't matter what I look like... NOT!!)nor did the jets in the hot tub...bummer...when I checked out and relayed the information... the response was.. oh, I'm sorry..(no attempt made to try and rectify the situation..like..wow, I'm sorry, here's a voucher for a 20% discount on your next stay, or whatever) but I was realistic and didn't expect any..still it reflects on travel in this day and age when you can have subpar accomodations and aren't even surprised

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Lots of one way streets in Kalamazoo which can trip you up if you don't scout out the land B4 you get there...also if you're Looking for Burdicks Pub and Eatery on 1lth Street it's in the Holidy Inn directly north of the Best Western..less than 100 yards away, but my date and I drove by it about four times looking for it because the sign to the Holiday Inn, it's attaced to is about the size of snow shovel, and there is no sign for the restaurant anywhere on the street it's located on!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Kalamazoo Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Aunt of a WMU
Business
Santo Domingo, DR
Sep 5, 2010

Excellent Service

Very nice staff. Room nice and big.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Kalamazoo Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Kalamazoo, MI
Aug 5, 2010

very nice rooms

Short but very sweet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top