$84 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 25, 2014 Check-out: Aug 28, 2014

BEST WESTERN PLUS Kalamazoo Suites

3 stars
2575 S 11th Street, Kalamazoo, MI 49009-2105
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
50 reviews
Great value

Clean, friendly, affordable. The location was perfect for our needs See full review

  • OBSC soccer
  • Jun 27, 2014
Adequate for business travel

Overall a good experience. The front desk staff were all very friendly and helpful, and the room... See full review

  • just a guy from Maryland
  • May 24, 2014
Stay at this Kalamazoo, Michigan hotel offering convenient access to Western Michigan University, the Gilmore Classic Car Museum and the Kalamazoo Air Zoo. Welcome to the BEST WESTERN PLUS Kalamazoo Suites, an all-suites property located in southwest Michigan. This Kalamazoo hotel features 64 well-appointed suites, each fully-equipped with cable satellite television and free wireless high-speed Internet access. Guests will wake up to a delicious complimentary hot breakfast buffet each morning before taking a dip in the indoor heated swimming pool and hot tub. Additional amenities include a fitness center, guest laundry, full business services and meeting/banquet facilities accommodating up to 100 people. The BEST WESTERN PLUS Kalamazoo Suites is conveniently located less than 10 miles from many key attractions including the Miller Auditorium, the Kalamazoo Air Zoo, the River Front Park and Western Michigan University. Less than five miles from this Michigan hotel, guests can tour the Gilmore Classic Car Museum and the Kalamazoo Institute of Art Museum or catch a hockey game at Wings Stadium. This 100% non-smoking hotel is also an hour's drive from Firekeepers Casino and the Four Winds Casino. Stryker Medical Center is also located just five minutes away from the hotel. Kalamazoo is home to several annual events including the Eccentric Day Festival and the Kalamazoo Animation Festival International. The friendly, helpful staff at the BEST WESTERN PLUS Kalamazoo Suites is ready to ensure a fun-filled memorable stay in Kalamazoo, Michigan. Make a reservation today and save!

Hotel Map

42.2654 -85.6581
Area served
Michigan City,, Battle Creek, Detroit, Grand Rapids, Paw Paw, Chicago,
Nearby airports
(AZO), 5.00, MI, SE;
Area description
Expressway

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed BEST WESTERN PLUS Kalamazoo Suites also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

BEST WESTERN PLUS Kalamazoo Suites Rooms

1 KING BED
1 KING BED,NSMK,JACUZZI,32IN LCD TV,MICRFG,HI SPD,FULL BREAKFAST
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,NSMK,32IN LCDTV,SOFABED,HISPD,MICRFG,FULL BREAKFAST
2 QUEEN BEDS
2 QUEEN BEDS,NSMK,32IN LCDTV,SOFABED,HISPD,MICRFG,FULL BREAKFAST
1 QUEEN BED
1 QUEEN BED,NSMK,32 IN LCD TV,HI SPEED,MICRWV,REFRIG,FULL BREAKFAST
SUITE-2 QUEEN BEDS
SUITE-2 QUEEN BEDS,NSMK,32IN LCDTV,SOFABED,HISPD,MICRFG,FULL BREAKFAST
1 QUEEN BED
1 QUEEN BED,NSMK,JACUZZI,32IN LCD TV,MICRFG,HI SPD,FULL BREAKFAST
1 QUEEN BED
1 QUEEN BED,MOBILITY ACCESSIBLE,BATHTUB,NSMK,FULL BREAKFAST
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,MOBILITY ACCESSIBLE,ROLL IN SHOWER,NSMK,FULL BREAKFAST

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Indoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Exercise gym
Jacuzzi
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Coffee shop
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Express check in
Express checkout
Concierge desk
Security
Wake-up service
Multilingual
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Porters
FAX
Conference facilities
Copy service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Outdoor parking
RV or truck parking
Truck parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Room
Television with cable
Radio
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Cribs available
Fire place
Sofa bed
Electronic door locks
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Lawson Arena: 2.2 mi
  • Waldo Stadium: 3.3 mi
  • Wings Stadium: 6.3 mi
  • University Arena: 3,498.4 mi

Dining

Gallagher's Pub
1.50 mile(s) from Gallagher's Pub, Bar/Lounge, Continental, Open for: breakfast, lunch, dinner,
Starbuck's
1.50 mile(s) from Starbuck's, Coffee Shop, American, Open for: breakfast, lunch, dinner,
Burger King
1.00 mile(s) from Burger King, Fast Food, American, Open for: breakfast, lunch, dinner,
McDonald's
1.00 mile(s) from McDonald's, Bar/Lounge, American, Open for: breakfast, lunch, dinner,
TGI Fridays
3.00 mile(s) from TGI Fridays, Bar/Lounge, American, Open for: lunch, dinner,
Applebee's
3.00 mile(s) from Applebee's, Bar/Lounge, American, Open for: lunch, dinner,
Bilbo's Pizza
2.00 mile(s) from Bilbo's Pizza, Bar/Lounge, Italian, Open for: lunch, dinner,
Taco Bell
1.00 mile(s) from Taco Bell, Fast Food, Mexican, Open for: breakfast, lunch, dinner,
Wendy's
1.00 mile(s) from Wendy's, Fast Food, American, Open for: breakfast, lunch, dinner,
Big Boy
1.00 mile(s) from Big Boy, Full Service, American, Open for: breakfast, lunch, dinner,

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (50)

Ratings and reviews for BEST WESTERN PLUS Kalamazoo Suites

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
50 out of 50
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.8

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Kalamazoo Suites

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
xnaygirlx
Business
Novi, MI
Jun 11, 2012

LOUD!!!!!

Overall....horrible experience! For starters, they don't offer discounts to law enforcement or emt/firefighters. The prices aren't too bad but the pet fee is a bit much. The worst part about our stay was the noise level. The structure of the building is obviously very old and has absolutely no sound barriers whatsoever. My husband and I drove 3 hours to Kalamazoo for a public safety officer test as part of the hiring process. This was a very crucial test and it was scheduled for early in the morning so we decided to drive in the night before so he could have plenty of rest before taking the test. It was the whole reason for staying in the hotel. The entire evening and overnight was awful. You could hear a mosquito cut the cheese 2 doors down, you could practically smell it! The ceiling, the floor, all four walls were paper thin. The guests around, below, and above us weren't making any excessive noise at all but every move they made, every footstep, we heard it all and it sounded 10 times louder than it actually was. No joke, their footfalls would vibrate our room. There was nothing we could do. All rooms were booked as we were here on a weekend. In the morning during late checkout, we expressed very kindly how bad the experience was and no sympathy or compensation was offered to us for our troubles. A small discount would have been appropriate but they couldn't care less. We knew it wasn't their fault exactly but it is their responsibility to please every guest as best as they can and by not offering us anything at all, they failed miserably. I will not ever stay at this hotel again in the future and would not recommend it to anyone, unless you're ok with not sleeping at all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Kalamazoo Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
fmnjr
Business
Radford, VA
May 15, 2012

Very nice hotel!

I was very happy with the Best Western Plus Kalamazoo Suites, and I plan on staying there the next time I'm in town. The staff was especially helpful!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Kalamazoo Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jmorri14
Business
Davison, MI 48423, USA
Mar 26, 2012

Great experience with a few comments!

The staff and cleanliness of the hotel was superb! The hotel was in great condition and the breakfast was full of varieties of good food. I have a few suggestions though. There was so much chlorine in the pool the water was yellow and the hot tub could have been hotter. It felt like warm bath water. Also the fitness center could use newer or better machines. Some needed up keep badly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Eat at burdicks! Amazing food service and enivornment! Only 10-15 mins from hotel in downtown Kalamazoo! Its worth it!

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Kalamazoo Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
traveler 7
Illinois, USA
Jan 20, 2012

CLEAN AND GOOD VALUE

Everything was very nice except the heating units in the rooms were very loud whenever they turned on. Accomodations were very nicely updated.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Kalamazoo Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Street Rodder
St. Clairsville, OH
Sep 19, 2011

NSRA Nat's North

Clean, nice area, close to major roads for access to the areas I needed to be, would try to stay here again when going to Kalamazoo, MI

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Kalamazoo Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kzoo
Louisville
Sep 3, 2011

Great for visiting our college daughter

Love the room size having a microwave and refrigerator in the room. Beds are super comfy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Marshall's target walmart hobby lobby

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Kalamazoo Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
tennis mom
Arizona, USA
Aug 13, 2011

Nice!

Very pleased with all that I saw -- trip cut short so did not get to check out all the amenities the hotel offered.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Kalamazoo Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Detroit
Aug 1, 2011

Decent for the money

My wife and I enjoyed a jacuzzi suite for our anniversary. The room was clean and comfortable. The jacuzzi tub was a little smaller than expected, the toilet was broken, and the lights flickered when you turned them on for about 6 seconds. The front desk staff was helpful and considerate.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Kalamazoo Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
new albany indiana
Jul 20, 2011

not what reserved

rented a jacuzzi suite and there was no jacuzzi in the room. also found clothes in the drawer so apparently the room wasn't cleaned properly. [...] i think we should have been compensated in some way...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Kalamazoo Suites

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Lansing, MI
Jul 6, 2011

Newly Renovated???

I used to think that Best Western was one of the classier hotels to stay at but after our trip this July 4th weekend that has changed. We were highly disappointed and can now understand why they have a "no refund" policy (they wouldn't make any money). Sheets on the bed were stained. Bottom sheet didn't fit the mattress so it was constantly coming off.... GROSS!!!! Really, you can't afford sheets that fit???? This was our 1 month wedding anniversary and our very first vacation together. We got the Jacuzzi suite so that we could use it, only way to use it was one at a time as there was no way 2 people would fit!! Very disappointing. Cleaning crew actually went around with Home Defense on their carts to spray rooms... GROSS!!! Kids running up and down the hall screaming... complained...continued...up till 3 am listening to them scream they didn't want to go to bed. Their satellite wasn't working properly so you had no clue what was on the tv lineup. We wanted to check out early but since we couldn't get our money back we were stuck. We felt robbed of the money we put out on this "classy" hotel! We will be contacting the corporate offices for Best Western. [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Back to menu Return to top

Change search