$47 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 15, 2014 Check-out: Nov 18, 2014

Days Inn Holland

2 stars
717 Hastings Ave, Holland, MI 49423
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.8
out of 5
24 reviews
Great spot

Perfect location for the Tulip festival. Right on the local bypass - all attractions within 10... See full review

  • The Baron Zamboni
  • May 12, 2014
Great place to stay!

Everyone there was pleasant. Not one person was rude. Customer service was excellent!!! The room... See full review

  • Sassy Stampin' Mama
  • May 20, 2012
Pet-friendly central Holland hotel with free breakfast and outdoor pool

The two-story Days Inn Holland right in central Holland offers convenient amenities to its guests, including free Wi-Fi Internet access and a continental breakfast buffet. Pets are welcome (fees apply), and an outdoor swimming pool is open seasonally. Many dining options are close by, including a pub with burgers some call the best in town. On-site guest laundry facilities are available.

Highlights
  • Complimentary Daybreak Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi Internet access
  • Pets welcome (fees apply)
  • Outdoor swimming pool, open seasonally
  • Outdoor play area for children
Rooms

Days Inn Holland guest rooms are comfortable, decorated with teal-colored carpeting, navy curtains, and modern blonde wood furnishings. Rooms include free Wi-Fi Internet access and satellite TV with ESPN and HBO. Local calls are free. All guest rooms come with mini-fridges, a microwave oven and coffee-makers, as well as laptop safes (fees apply). Rollaway beds are available.

Features

Days Inn Holland offers free outdoor parking, and a guest laundry room. 24-hour front desk staff can offer tips on nearby attractions including beaches, restaurants and more. Holland's Tulip Festival is a can't-miss annual celebration with parades, concerts and events honoring the city's Dutch heritage and culture.

Dining

Complimentary continental Daybreak breakfast is served daily from 6 a.m. to 9:30 a.m. Free coffee is available in the lobby 24 hours a day. Goog's Pub and Grub, renowned for its burgers (called by some the best in town) and crinkle cut fries is close by, as are many other dining options.

Recreation
The Flex Fitness Free program grants registered guest a pass to a fully equipped gym less than a mile from the Days Inn Holland. The outdoor swimming pool is open Memorial weekend through Labor Day, weather permitting. An outdoor play area is available for children
Transportation
  • Gerald Ford International Airport  (35.7 mi/57.5 km)
Attractions
  • Matt Urban Sports Complex (0.5 mi/0.9 km)
  • Hope College (1.9 mi/3.1 km)
  • Windmill Island Gardens (2.1 mi/3.4 km)
  • Holland Museum (2.2 mi/3.5 km)
  • Holland Symphony Orchestra (2.2 mi/3.5 km)
  • Dutch Village (3.4 mi/5.4 km)
  • Winding Creek Golf Club (5.3 mi/8.6 km)
Business
  • Free Wi-Fi Internet access

Hotel Map

42.7712 -86.0853
Area description
Entertainment district

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Days Inn Holland also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Heated pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Ice machine
Activities
Heated pool
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
RV or truck parking
Bus parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Accessible parking
Room
Safe
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Cribs available
Ironing board

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (24)

Ratings and reviews for Days Inn Holland

Overall score

2.8 / 5
5.01.0
24 out of 24
Amenities:
2.9
Room cleanliness:
3.3
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3.5
Value:
3.3

62% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Days Inn Holland

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Meremouse
Business
Schoolcraft
Sep 7, 2014

Staff was great

The hotel is in need of updating and a good cleaning. The carpeting was stained and filthy. The room air conditioner made the room smell stale. The bed smelled of urine. The only bright spot was the hotel staff who were accomadating.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn Holland

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
That Other Person
Business
Michigan
Jul 28, 2014

Good Value

Hotel was clean, but run down. Staff was always friendly. There was more on the breakfast line up than I expected, which was nice. And our room was exactly the right size for two people, with a queen bed, a couch, table, desk, and other things. I would stay again. Can't beat the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn Holland

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Aght
Business
Stillwater, MN
Jun 9, 2014

hotel

They had a good breakfast. The room was neat and clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn Holland

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
The Baron Zamboni
Business
Wisconsin
May 12, 2014

Great spot

Perfect location for the Tulip festival. Right on the local bypass - all attractions within 10 minutes. Room was clean. Staff was friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn Holland

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Frequent Traveler31
Business
South Bend, IN
Aug 25, 2013

Not Bad

The hotel had a good location, we biked from the hotel to downtown, the windmill island and the dutch village. It is old and seems very outdated, but was clean for an older hotel. Nice outside pool. Breakfast was very basic, but did have the waffle maker. Staff was friendly. Overall, I think I'd stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Goog's is next door and a great dinner or lunch.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn Holland

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Sig P290
Business
Monroe MI
Aug 13, 2013

Not a good value

This had to be the oldest, most uncomfortable bed I have ever slept in! When we first went into the room, the air freshener was so strong, we had to air the room out. Also, don't use the safe unless you want to get charged extra for it, which was not stated or explained. This hotel is in dire need of an update! I guess it is better than sleeping in your car. I did feel the location was ok, very close to downtown and about 10 minute drive Saugatuck. Overall, it would have been a good value for about $60.00, but not for the $140.00 we paid. I understand it was peak season, but for the condition of the room it was certainly not worth it!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn Holland

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tim W II
Business
Holland, MI
Feb 11, 2013

Romantic Weekend

My boyfriend and I decided to get a hotel so we could have a romantic weekend without the roommates. When I entered my room, it was clean, orderly and looked pretty good, especially for the low price I paid for our two-day stay. The pullout sofa was a nice touch and I enjoyed being able to lock up our laptops (nerds need to take them everywhere, after-all) in the digital safe. The continental breakfast consisted of waffles (the kind you make yourself, often seen in hotels), fresh pastries, cereal, juice and more! After getting home, I realized I had left my wallet, but Dawn, the front desk manager, had already found it and was making efforts to reach me. I recommend this hotel for anyone looking for comfort and value, all rolled into one. Afterthought: The hotel rooms and common areas smelled of fresh paint. :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn Holland

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
travels with dogs
Business
Monrovia, IN
Sep 5, 2012

Low quality motel

Air conditioner did not work well, rooms badly need renovated, small bathroom, hard towels, good soap

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn Holland

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
linlan1231
Business
Ypsilanti, MI
Sep 2, 2012

not for that price!

OK, I have very low standards when it comes to staying in hotels. I will gladly pay just $50 to stay in the cheapest chain, so I know what CHEAP motel should be like. We paid $105 for one night plus a $30 pet fee for two dogs. PROS: Let me start by saying the staff here is GREAT. They were very polite and very professional. The experience I had with them doesn't fit with the overall experience AT ALL. The room had a refrigerator and microwave, a TV with cable, and they provided us with free WIFI, GREAT! The free breakfast was the decent breakfast you get in most continental breakfasts (cereal, juice, baked goods), except this one had that added special feature: the waffle iron! All of that belongs in a hotel that cost this much. CONS: This hotel shouldn't have cost this much! Our room: First off, the second you walk into the room, there is a giant wave of the smell of moth balls. It was almost hard to breathe and we couldn't tell if it was maybe trying to cover up the fact that the room had previously been a smoking room or what. Once we were in it, we got used to it, but every time we were away and came back, that smell hit us again. The bathroom was dirty and the walls and trim were all stained yellow. There were holes in the walls and doors from previous signage, that hadn't even been filled in. The hot and cold knobs on the shower go in opposite directions, probably from previous poor repairs, so it was next to impossible to figure out how to work the shower. In the room itself, the carpets were that dark green from the early 90's that was still stained and gross, and desperately needs to be replaced. Our dogs were constantly sniffing different particular spots on the carpet, as if there were something (I am not going to speculate what) there that hadn't been cleaned up. The mirror in the vanity still had toothpaste spray on it from someone before us. They advertise that they allow pets, but when you check in, there is a pet policy that is VERY strict and they have a per pet charge that isn't mentioned before you arrive. We are totally fine with being charged, just don't surprise us with it when we are checking in! The pool was exactly that, a pool. The water seemed clean, but there was no shade or umbrellas, so if you wanted to swim during the day, you could only be out there for a short while without getting burned. Finally, the doors closest to our room, on the opposite end of the building from the front desk, had no locking mechanism. They were either propped open and had people sitting in plastic chairs smoking next to them or they were shut and not locked. This hotel uses the swipe cards for the individual rooms, but nothing at all for the doors to the outside. While Holland, MI is extremely safe, this is a sleazy hotel away from the nice parts of town and should definitely have at least the swipe locks for the outside doors, too! We stayed here for our one night without complaining to staff because we were tired from our long drive, we were only staying there one night, and the staff were so great that we didn't want to insult them by complaining about the rooms they manage. Bottom line: I would NEVER recommend this to someone because it was literally a $40 per night hotel that they charged $105 for. We couldn't believe we were paying that much for such a sleazy room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Go to the cute downtown area and walk around to all of the shops and dining areas. There is a well-known brewery that we love that has two outdoor patios and allows dogs. We walked up and down 8th street and loved it.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn Holland

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Stephanie P
Business
Valpo, Indiana
Jul 5, 2012

less than desirable

The area the hotel was located was horrible and run down. Did not feel safe at all. The room itself was ok but the shower had a huge crack in it that had been held together by some sort of tape...when I stepped in the shower I felt like I was going to go through the floor. We even looked for another hotel with availability to move to..not happy at all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top