$55 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 12, 2014 Check-out: Sep 13, 2014

Super 8 Grand Rapids Airport

2 stars
4855 28th Street SE, Grand Rapids, MI 49512
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.1
out of 5
55 reviews
Great for the money

Was a great stay. Went for a concert. Cabs were easy. See full review

  • kevjamesk
  • May 8, 2013
Just what we wanted

We wanted a clean, safe place to stay at an affordable price, and that's what we got! The breakfast... See full review

  • Couple of 30 year olds
  • Aug 25, 2014
Free Wi-Fi and complimentary breakfast, close to Grand Rapids airport

The Super 8 Grand Rapids Airport offers guests bright and inviting accommodations as well as freebies: complimentary high-speed wireless Internet access and Super Start Breakfast buffet each morning. Some guest rooms have Jacuzzi tubs -- just ask if a bubbling soak sounds ideal. The location is also key, Super 8 Grand Rapids Airport is less than three miles to the airport and close to area shopping and dining. An exercise facility is on-site.

Highlights
  • Free high-speed wireless Internet access
  • Complimentary Super Start Breakfast buffet, coffee 24 hours
  • Under three miles to Gerald R. Ford International Airport
  • Exercise facility on-site
  • Pet friendly (fees apply)
Rooms

The guest rooms at Super 8 Grand Rapids Airport are cheery and bright, with sunny yellow stucco walls, blue carpeting and grassy-green striped bedspreads. Guests can select Jacuzzi tub rooms, singles or doubles. All have interior corridor access, color TV with expanded cable lineup and pay-per-view movies, an alarm clock, hair-dryer and coffee-maker. All rooms include free high-speed wireless Internet access.

Features

Guests can start the day fully fueled for free with the complimentary Super Start breakfast served daily 6 a.m. to 9 a.m., weekends 7 a.m. to 10 a.m. Coffee is served 24/7. The Super 8 Grand Rapids Airport is close to many local dining options, and the desk staff will offer suggestions and guidance should guests need directions. An exercise facility is on-site, equipped with elliptical machines, treadmills and stationary bikes. Super 9 Grand Rapids Airport is pet friendly (fees apply). Guest laundry facilities are available.

Transportation
  • Gerald R. Ford International Airport (1.4 mi/2.3 km)
  • Grand Rapids Amtrak station (8.5 mi/13.6 km)
Attractions
  • Grand Rapids Brewing Co. (1.5 mi/2.4 km)
  • Frederik Meijer Gardens and Sculpture Park (6.3 mi/10.2 km)
  • Grand Rapids Art Museum (8.2 mi/13.2 km)
  • Van Andel Arena (8.2 mi/13.2 km)
  • DeVos Performance Hall (8.5 mi/13.6 km)
  • Fifth Third Ballpark (13.8 mi/22.2 km)
  • Berlin Raceway (18.8 mi/30.3 km)
Business
  • Free Wi-Fi Internet access available throughout
  • Boardroom style meeting room can seat up to 12 people

Hotel Map

42.9126 -85.5475
Area description
Business district

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Super 8 Grand Rapids Airport also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Activities
Exercise gym
Dining
Vending machines
Services
Business center
Guest laundromat
Security
Wake-up service
FAX
Conference facilities
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
RV or truck parking
Bus parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Accessible parking
Room
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
TV remote control
Cribs available
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Van Andel Arena: 7.2 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (55)

Ratings and reviews for Super 8 Grand Rapids Airport

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
55 out of 55
Amenities:
2.9
Room cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
3.8
Room comfort:
3.5
Location:
4
Value:
3.9

75% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Super 8 Grand Rapids Airport

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Davison, MI
Jul 11, 2011

Clean and Comfortable

Clean, quiet hotel with friendly staff. Was in town just for a nights rest, shower nothing fancy. For the price you can't go wrong.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Nice mall close by on same highway.

Review of Super 8 Grand Rapids Airport

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Couple of 30 year olds
Grand Rapids, MI
Aug 25, 2014

Just what we wanted

We wanted a clean, safe place to stay at an affordable price, and that's what we got! The breakfast was limited, and the hallway was humid, but other than that, it worked great for us.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

World Market, HomeGoods, and Starbucks all very close.

Review of Super 8 Grand Rapids Airport

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Bicycling Fools
Lafayette, Indiana
Jul 21, 2014

Better Than Expected

Wanted a clean, economical place to shower and sleep for a weekend getaway but based upon reviews, was somewhat nervous as to what we would find. We were pleasantly surprised and would not hesitate to use the hotel again. Found Front Desk staff to be friendly and professional as they accommodated our requests quickly and with a smile. Although the facility was older, outdated and the bedding looked due for replacement, everything was clean and in working order. It was located a convenient distance from the interstate and easy to find.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Super 8 Grand Rapids Airport

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anshuman Dutta
Chicago
Jun 13, 2014

Budget hotel

This is a budget hotel, I had a satisfactory stay at the hotel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of Super 8 Grand Rapids Airport

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Mike8989
Troy, MI
May 16, 2014

OKAY

Good for a short night stay. Better than some other horrible motels.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Review of Super 8 Grand Rapids Airport

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SoccerCoach12
Business
Chicago, IL
Apr 28, 2014

Close to MVP Fieldhouse and affordable

I stayed there one night and it was all I needed. The internet connection was slow which was frustrating at times, but other than that it was close to the MVP Fieldhouse which was my biggest priority.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Super 8 Grand Rapids Airport

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
TravelExpert
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Mar 22, 2014

Horrible

I visit the town frequently for personal reasons (not for leisure) and therefor always look for inexpensive options that don't break the bank. I chose this place because of the price but it was a big mistake. Here is my experience over the three day weekend I spend in this hotel, Upon the arrival I noticed that the lobby area was tiny and not very clean. The person behind the counter was not professional, unhelpful and close to being rude. The first thing caught my attention is the smelly hallways. People appear to smoke in their rooms although the place has a “no smoking” policy. The breakfast area appeared to be disgusting so do not bother with a breakfast there. The room appeared okay at first sight for a low cost hotel. But as soon as I started using it I notice how horrible it was. There are no sufficient power outlets in the room. In fact there was only one accessible outlet (you cannot charge your laptop and phone at the same time). The wifi speed is so slow that you cannot do much with it (it takes few minutes to load a webpage). So if you plan to use your laptop for work from this hotel please forget it. Often there is no hot water depending on what time you take a shower. No freg or microwave in the room. The TV is an outdated tube TV. In summary, do not book at this hotel. For the same price you pay here

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of Super 8 Grand Rapids Airport

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Queeniecolleenie
Business
Metro Detroit, michigan
Feb 22, 2014

Convenient, no frills room for budget minded, noisy

I have stayed at other locations of this chain, and this one was not my favorite; though it was convenient to my confererence hotel site for 1/2 the price, and though the bed was comfortable enough, I slept poorly due to neighbors talking loudly till 3 am ( thin walls?) the free breakfast is a plus. My second night in town I switched to a slightly higher priced place (+ $20) and had a much better night's sleep.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Arnie's bakery and restaurant is under a mile away, and always a treat.

Review of Super 8 Grand Rapids Airport

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
grandma trip
Michigan
Dec 9, 2013

cheap breakfast

Staff was rude. Room was old and run down. Breakfast was poor. Few choices and milk was warm.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Review of Super 8 Grand Rapids Airport

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
john50
Business
Brooklyn NY.
Oct 1, 2013

Business Trip.

My experience was good given the cost. I would like to see they put a up to date television set and a small desk top refridgerator.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Super 8 Grand Rapids Airport

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Bords2000
UP, MI
May 14, 2013

Scary

I needed a place to sleep for the night and wanted to save money. NOT WORTH IT!. This place had people crowding and smoking by the entrance doors. The building smells like smoke and very noisy. I did not even bother to go for breakfast and checked out asap.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Back to menu Return to top

Change search