$182 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 29, 2014 Check-out: Jan 1, 2015

JW Marriott Grand Rapids

4 stars
235 Louis Street NW, 235 Louis Street NW, Grand Rapids, MI 49503
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.5
out of 5
43 reviews
Super Friendly Staff

Location, location, location! Everything you need is within walking distance from here. Room was... See full review

  • BubbaDog
  • Oct 11, 2014
Great week in GR

The hotel and Staff were fantastic location was great and the views were wonderful looking forward... See full review

  • Bman202002
  • Aug 22, 2014
Elegant downtown Grand Rapids retreat with spa

Right in the heart of downtown, the sleek, glittering tower of the JW Marriott Grand Rapids hotel offers a key setting for business, staging an event, or just spending a weekend away from home. Five floors have concierge lounges with complimentary, drinks and more. While close to many dining and entertainment options, guests enjoy fine dining at Six.One.Six and cocktails at the elegant Mixology bar. Reward a workout at the state-of-the-art fitness center with a full body treatment at Vasaio Spa or dip in the lap pool.

Highlights
  • Sleek 23-story high rise in downtown Grand Rapids
  • Contemporary dining and cocktail bar
  • 24-hour fitness center, plus jogging trail on-site
  • Indoor swimming pool
Rooms

Design fans appreciate the sleek, modern guest rooms at the JW Marriott Grand Rapids. Rooms feature a Steelcase Leap 2 chair, custom photography and luxurious bedding: down comforter, designer duvet and cotton-rich linens. Most rooms offer views of downtown Grand Rapids or the Grand River, and 37-inch plasma TVs are standard. Private bathrooms feature a duel-head shower and lush terry cloth bathrobes. The JW Jack Pack allows guests to hook up and recharge laptops, mobile phones and iPods. Wi-Fi Internet access is available (fees apply). Executive suites include complimentary beer, wine and hors d'oeuvres, 24-hour access to a top-floor executive lounge and more.

Features

JW Marriott Grand Rapids offers guests a comfortable, glamorous retreat in the heart of Grand Rapids, Michigan. Business guests take advantage of concierge floors, several meeting rooms (including a ballroom and boardrooms), 24-hour business center and helipad access.

Dining

While a location in downtown Grand Rapids opens up a wealth of dining options nearby, the on-site restaurant Six.One.Six serves contemporary American cuisine in a stylish, contemporary setting. A Starbucks store in the JW Marriott Grand Rapids lobby is open from breakfast through lunch. For late night drinks and decadent appetizers, visit the hotel's concierge lounge Mixology. 24-hour room service is available.

Recreation

Adjacent to the hotel lap pool is Vasaio Spa, which offers massages, aromatherapy, reflexology, body wraps, hot stone therapy and more. Reservations are requested. In-room treatments are available.

Transportation
  • Grand Rapids International Airport (10.9 mi/17.6 km)
Attractions
  • DeVos Performance Hall (1 block)
  • Grand Rapids Art Museum (0.3 mi/0.4 km)
  • Van Andel Arena (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
Business
  • 24-hour business center, Wi-Fi Internet access (fees apply)
  • 12 meeting rooms including boardrooms and ballroom

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed JW Marriott Grand Rapids also booked these hotels.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Indoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Children's activities
Jogging track
Tennis
Water skiing
Steam bath
Horseback riding
Scuba diving
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Coffee shop
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Express check in
Express checkout
Concierge desk
Laundry/Valet services
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
Barber shop
Barber/Beauty shop
FAX
Video checkout
Gift shop
Drugstore
Florist
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Cordless phone
Safe
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Turndown service
Cribs available
In room movies
Temperature control
Iron
Ironing board
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • Van Andel Arena: 0.3 mi

Dining

Six.One.Six Restaurant
Highly inspired cuisine in a stylish, contemporary setting

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (43)

Ratings and reviews for JW Marriott Grand Rapids

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
6 out of 43
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.8
Value:
3.3

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of JW Marriott Grand Rapids

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Cadillac, MI
Jan 24, 2010

Not worth the money

The site did not give the option to choose beds so we thought we had a choice and would tell them when we got there. Well, they did not have any double bed rooms available and hadn't for months, so four girls were in a room with one bed. The staff was rude and no help at all. We got extra bedding after calling the front desk twice. Also, they say every room has a refridgerator but they don't say they are fully stocked with no room for any extras you may bring. I would reccomend if you are staying in the area to spend your money on more important things and stay somewhere cheaper. Very pretty hotel but not worth $170 a night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of JW Marriott Grand Rapids

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SurelyMom
Business
Nashville, TN
Feb 5, 2013

Perfect weekend getaway

It was better than I had planned. The staff went over and above to make sure my time there was perfect. The resturaunt inside the hotel was a bit pricey but other than that - this will be the place I stay for my next travels to Grand Rapids.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of JW Marriott Grand Rapids

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
stager
Business
Denver, CO, USA
Oct 3, 2011

Wonderful Bathtub

This is my favorite downtown grand rapids hotel. It is modern luxury in a great location. It has a fantastic shower and bathtub. I really like almost everything about this hotel, the only downsides I can think of are the cost and that they don't have an ipod dock.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of JW Marriott Grand Rapids

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
GR person
Business
grand rapids, MI
Jun 5, 2011

very trendy

We rented the room to have a night out in Grand Rapids. It's a little pricey, but very nice, comfortable rooms. The only thing you need to be careful of is to make sure you don't book through a 3rd party if you have 4 people in your group. The hotel won't reserve 2 double beds even though your reservation is for 4 people. We were left with one king bed for a room with 4 people with no options for other sleeping arrangements.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of JW Marriott Grand Rapids

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Winkinreno
Business
Detroit, MI
Apr 15, 2013

Clean and comfortable

Check in was a breeze, jazz band by the elevators made the quick wait even better, one of the most comfortable beds I've ever stayed in. Highly recommend

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of JW Marriott Grand Rapids

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Girl's Nite
Business
Grand Rapids, MI
Jan 31, 2010

So nice in every way

Had a girls night. The room was a tight fit for five of us, but it was so cozy and clean. They don't have rollaway beds, but sent us a bunch of extra blankets and pillows and one of us crashed comfortably on the floor. The staff, every single staff member we interacted with, was so helpful and kind. We did have trouble in the skywalk that takes you blocks and blocks away from the hotel to other places in the downtown area. The JW is not posted on any of the maps in the skywalk and we were very confused and tired out. We should have taken a cab. However, that says nothing about the awesome JW. It was so very nice!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Long walk from hotel

Be sure to have a good map of the skywalk if you are traveling through it and remember that the JW on the map says "the towers", I think.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top