$219 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 18, 2014 Check-out: Sep 20, 2014

JW Marriott Grand Rapids

4 stars
235 Louis Street NW, 235 Louis Street NW, Grand Rapids, MI 49503
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.5
out of 5
42 reviews
Great week in GR

The hotel and Staff were fantastic location was great and the views were wonderful looking forward... See full review

  • Bman202002
  • Aug 22, 2014
uncle's wedding anniversary

The room was roomy and comfy, but please note this hotel does not have roll-away cots.My husband... See full review

  • Mikey's Mate
  • Aug 19, 2014
Elegant downtown Grand Rapids retreat with spa

Right in the heart of downtown, the sleek, glittering tower of the JW Marriott Grand Rapids hotel offers a key setting for business, staging an event, or just spending a weekend away from home. Five floors have concierge lounges with complimentary, drinks and more. While close to many dining and entertainment options, guests enjoy fine dining at Six.One.Six and cocktails at the elegant Mixology bar. Reward a workout at the state-of-the-art fitness center with a full body treatment at Vasaio Spa or dip in the lap pool.

Highlights
  • Sleek 23-story high rise in downtown Grand Rapids
  • Contemporary dining and cocktail bar
  • 24-hour fitness center, plus jogging trail on-site
  • Indoor swimming pool
Rooms

Design fans appreciate the sleek, modern guest rooms at the JW Marriott Grand Rapids. Rooms feature a Steelcase Leap 2 chair, custom photography and luxurious bedding: down comforter, designer duvet and cotton-rich linens. Most rooms offer views of downtown Grand Rapids or the Grand River, and 37-inch plasma TVs are standard. Private bathrooms feature a duel-head shower and lush terry cloth bathrobes. The JW Jack Pack allows guests to hook up and recharge laptops, mobile phones and iPods. Wi-Fi Internet access is available (fees apply). Executive suites include complimentary beer, wine and hors d'oeuvres, 24-hour access to a top-floor executive lounge and more.

Features

JW Marriott Grand Rapids offers guests a comfortable, glamorous retreat in the heart of Grand Rapids, Michigan. Business guests take advantage of concierge floors, several meeting rooms (including a ballroom and boardrooms), 24-hour business center and helipad access.

Dining

While a location in downtown Grand Rapids opens up a wealth of dining options nearby, the on-site restaurant Six.One.Six serves contemporary American cuisine in a stylish, contemporary setting. A Starbucks store in the JW Marriott Grand Rapids lobby is open from breakfast through lunch. For late night drinks and decadent appetizers, visit the hotel's concierge lounge Mixology. 24-hour room service is available.

Recreation

Adjacent to the hotel lap pool is Vasaio Spa, which offers massages, aromatherapy, reflexology, body wraps, hot stone therapy and more. Reservations are requested. In-room treatments are available.

Transportation
  • Grand Rapids International Airport (10.9 mi/17.6 km)
Attractions
  • DeVos Performance Hall (1 block)
  • Grand Rapids Art Museum (0.3 mi/0.4 km)
  • Van Andel Arena (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
Business
  • 24-hour business center, Wi-Fi Internet access (fees apply)
  • 12 meeting rooms including boardrooms and ballroom

Hotel Map

42.9658 -85.674
Area served
Grand Rapids
Nearby airports
Gerald R Ford International Airport, (GRR), 13.00, MI, SE;
Area description
River

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed JW Marriott Grand Rapids also booked these hotels.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Indoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Children's activities
Jogging track
Tennis
Water skiing
Steam bath
Horseback riding
Scuba diving
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Coffee shop
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Express check in
Express checkout
Concierge desk
Laundry/Valet services
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
Barber shop
Barber/Beauty shop
FAX
Video checkout
Gift shop
Drugstore
Florist
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Cordless phone
Safe
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Turndown service
Cribs available
In room movies
Temperature control
Iron
Ironing board
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • Van Andel Arena: 0.3 mi

Dining

Six.One.Six Restaurant
Highly inspired cuisine in a stylish, contemporary setting

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (42)

Ratings and reviews for JW Marriott Grand Rapids

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
42 out of 42
Amenities:
4.5
Room cleanliness:
4.9
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.1

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of JW Marriott Grand Rapids

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Local patron
Grand Rapids
Apr 19, 2010

Good hotel with a so-so restaurant

We enjoyed the modern decor and very nice staff. Our room had a great view of the river and we loved the bathroom. The bed was a little hard...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: In Hotel

The restaurant Six-One-Six was just okay for dinner. A better bet is walking the skway to the Amway Grand and eating there.

Review of JW Marriott Grand Rapids

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
GR person
grand rapids, MI
Jun 5, 2011

very trendy

We rented the room to have a night out in Grand Rapids. It's a little pricey, but very nice, comfortable rooms. The only thing you need to be careful of is to make sure you don't book through a 3rd party if you have 4 people in your group. The hotel won't reserve 2 double beds even though your reservation is for 4 people. We were left with one king bed for a room with 4 people with no options for other sleeping arrangements.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of JW Marriott Grand Rapids

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
2travelers
Business
Saginaw, MI, USA
Oct 26, 2011

Serious Check In Issue!

I have stayed at this hotel before, that is why I chose to stay again. It is beautiful, clean, modern, comfortable, and a good value. But check in didn't go so well...Upon checking in, they had my reservation, but gave me a King Room. On my Orbitz form it clearly stated that I had 4 guests. The clerk told me that it doesn't matter, because it wasn't specified that I wanted a room with 2 Queen beds! So apparently 4 adults are supposed to sleep in a King bed! I was furious, because she stared at me blankly and said there wasn't anything she could do!! After asking to speak to manager, magically there was a room available that just needed to be cleaned. After asking what she could do for us for our trouble, she took care of our parking bill. I'm uncomfortable about the way the Orbitz reservation was treated as if it were a less priority than if I had booked directly with them. Makes me uncertain about doing it in the future...or I guess I will call ahead and make sure they have it right before I plan on it!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of JW Marriott Grand Rapids

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SurelyMom
Nashville, TN
Feb 5, 2013

Perfect weekend getaway

It was better than I had planned. The staff went over and above to make sure my time there was perfect. The resturaunt inside the hotel was a bit pricey but other than that - this will be the place I stay for my next travels to Grand Rapids.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of JW Marriott Grand Rapids

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DTT
Detroit
Jun 1, 2009

Classy, great location!

We were in town for a birthday party and decided to stay at a hotel rather than driving home. JW Marriott offered a great room at a great value - location was blocks away from the party at Bar Divani (great place, check it out). Our time in the hotel was limited, but we did sit on the patio overlooking the river which was a nice break after a long drive. Hotel was spotless. Room was great. Bed was very comforable. While our room faced the river, there isn't a balcony or anything to step out on. The front desk was very helpful in getting us directions to our destination, etc. My only complaint was the lack of attention by the wait staff on the patio. We had to get our own drinks and no one every came by to ask us if we wanted anything. The strange part was, there was a waitress waiting on another person a few tables down who ignored us over and over.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of JW Marriott Grand Rapids

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Green Bay, WI
May 2, 2011

Excellent Stay!!

Very centrally located. Helpful and attentive staff. Sparkling clean!!!! Plan on staying there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Z's!!

Review of JW Marriott Grand Rapids

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
matt1967
Farmington Hills, MI, USA
Feb 25, 2014

getaway weekend

My fiance and i love the JW. Always top notch staff, rooms, everything. Walking distance to lots of bars, restaurants, museums. Just perfect.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: In Hotel

Elvis the chef makes the most amazing waffles, try the berry sauce and fresh whipped cream. One of the reasons we keep coming back,

Review of JW Marriott Grand Rapids

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mikey's Mate
Maryland
Aug 19, 2014

uncle's wedding anniversary

The room was roomy and comfy, but please note this hotel does not have roll-away cots.My husband and I wanted a king, with a cot for our daughter, but ended up with two queens. The registration staff was extremely apologetic. The little park adjacent to the building that celebrates Grand Rapids being the first to floridate its water was perfect for our 18 month old grandson to run around. The outside hotel bar was also extremely nice with very accommodating staff. Room service was timely and the meals were hot...a real plus. Our stay was a little pricey, but I would definitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of JW Marriott Grand Rapids

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Grand Rapids
Chicago, IL
Jun 9, 2014

Best Hotel in Grand Rapids

The JW is by far the nicest hotel to stay at in Grand Rapids. Location is convenient, easy self park or valet and great views of the river. I highly suggest paying for a river view, it's worth it. The room rate is slightly higher than alternatives nearby but worth it when you compare the two.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to Founders for beers and lunch. Sundance for Brunch.

Review of JW Marriott Grand Rapids

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Locale
Grand Rapids, MI
Jun 17, 2013

Downtown G.R. rocks!

One of the great centerpieces in Grand Rapids. High class but friendly and comfortable. Spotless. Great location with wonderful view of the river and downtown. Easy walking to just about wherever you want to go in downtown Grand Rapids.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top

Change search