$239 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 16, 2015 Check-out: Apr 19, 2015

JW Marriott Grand Rapids

4 stars
View map of 235 Louis Street NW, 235 Louis Street NW, Grand Rapids, MI 49503

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for JW Marriott Grand Rapids

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
44 out of 44
Amenities:
4.4
Cleanliness:
4.9
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.1

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of JW Marriott Grand Rapids

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DTT
Business
Detroit
Jun 1, 2009

Classy, great location!

We were in town for a birthday party and decided to stay at a hotel rather than driving home. JW Marriott offered a great room at a great value - location was blocks away from the party at Bar Divani (great place, check it out). Our time in the hotel was limited, but we did sit on the patio overlooking the river which was a nice break after a long drive. Hotel was spotless. Room was great. Bed was very comforable. While our room faced the river, there isn't a balcony or anything to step out on. The front desk was very helpful in getting us directions to our destination, etc. My only complaint was the lack of attention by the wait staff on the patio. We had to get our own drinks and no one every came by to ask us if we wanted anything. The strange part was, there was a waitress waiting on another person a few tables down who ignored us over and over.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of JW Marriott Grand Rapids

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Local patron
Business
Grand Rapids
Apr 19, 2010

Good hotel with a so-so restaurant

We enjoyed the modern decor and very nice staff. Our room had a great view of the river and we loved the bathroom. The bed was a little hard...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The restaurant Six-One-Six was just okay for dinner. A better bet is walking the skway to the Amway Grand and eating there.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of JW Marriott Grand Rapids

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
stager
Business
Denver, CO, USA
Oct 3, 2011

Wonderful Bathtub

This is my favorite downtown grand rapids hotel. It is modern luxury in a great location. It has a fantastic shower and bathtub. I really like almost everything about this hotel, the only downsides I can think of are the cost and that they don't have an ipod dock.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of JW Marriott Grand Rapids

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Green Bay, WI
May 2, 2011

Excellent Stay!!

Very centrally located. Helpful and attentive staff. Sparkling clean!!!! Plan on staying there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Z's!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of JW Marriott Grand Rapids

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Maynard and Trishcia
Business
Three Rivers, Michigan
Dec 30, 2009

A little pricey, but well worth it!

We went to this hotel for our anniversary. It was a cold and snowy night so we took the heated sky walk about 3 blocks from the hotel to downtown where all the restaurants and bars and other things to do are. From there we stopped at several places that we were interested in while enjoying our short walks in the snow as we went from shop to bars to restaurants. When we got back to our room later that evening and turned down the sheets we found that they were some of the most luxurious cotton sheets we have ever felt. We had eight pillows on our bed to choose from. One of every firmness so you could choose the right one. The bathroom was made of marble with a beautiful glass shower for two, which was separate from the bath tub. We had a refrigerator stocked with snacks and drink which was extra if you took anything from it. We were on the 16th floor with a beautiful view of the city and river. We will definitely go there again for another special occasion. If you just need a quick place to catch a good night sleep and be on the road again in the morning, go to the cheap Super 8. The RW Marriott is for relaxing and enjoying those special times and again you will pay for it. We were very pleased. I'm not being sarcastic.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Make sure you provide your own snacks and drinks for your room. The room snacks and drinks from the refrigerator were $5.95 each which adds up fast. Go down the street to the local resturants and bars for the best food and prices. Again the hotel was expensive but excellent.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of JW Marriott Grand Rapids

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
GR person
Business
grand rapids, MI
Jun 5, 2011

very trendy

We rented the room to have a night out in Grand Rapids. It's a little pricey, but very nice, comfortable rooms. The only thing you need to be careful of is to make sure you don't book through a 3rd party if you have 4 people in your group. The hotel won't reserve 2 double beds even though your reservation is for 4 people. We were left with one king bed for a room with 4 people with no options for other sleeping arrangements.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of JW Marriott Grand Rapids

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
matt1967
Business
Farmington Hills, MI, USA
Feb 25, 2014

getaway weekend

My fiance and i love the JW. Always top notch staff, rooms, everything. Walking distance to lots of bars, restaurants, museums. Just perfect.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Elvis the chef makes the most amazing waffles, try the berry sauce and fresh whipped cream. One of the reasons we keep coming back,

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of JW Marriott Grand Rapids

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Fort Myers Mom
Business
Fort Myers Florida
Jun 23, 2009

Extremely Nice

Don't rent a car its 25.00 a night to park.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of JW Marriott Grand Rapids

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
B and W
Business
South Carolina
Jan 10, 2011

JW Marriott modern comfy rooms nice bar

We came for a wedding reception at the GRAM. Location of JWM was superb even in mid-winter a short block away. King size bed was SOO comfy and loved the view from the 16th floor, awesome bathroom, and fast elevators too. The bar was a nice spot to hang out for an evening of conversation, too. Nice view of the river!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Grand Rapids Art Museum ("GRAM") and Gerald R. Ford Presidential Museums are a short stroll from the JWM.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of JW Marriott Grand Rapids

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
ssb01
Business
southeast michigan
Feb 27, 2012

just one night

we arrived in mid afternoon with the intent of just seeing downtown grand rapids and we were not let down. the hotel is right in the center of this very walkable city on the river. the views from the room were awesome. the room was very fancy and clean. the bathrooms were to die for. downtown was great. we ate within a block of the hotel at "the BOB" and it was very good, lively and relaxed. after dinner we went back to the room and found out the prices for liquor in the minibar were way too high but on the walk back from dinner we saw there was a liquor store right across the street from the hotel. that was a much better option. drinks in the room, beautiful night time views of the downtown, great beds and linens.... no coffee in the lobby in the morning - had to buy from their starbucks store was my only complaint ( i don't like starbucks)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

the Bob

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top