$239 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Mar 6, 2015 Check-out: Mar 7, 2015

JW Marriott Grand Rapids

4 stars
View map of 235 Louis Street NW, 235 Louis Street NW, Grand Rapids, MI 49503

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.5
out of 5
44 reviews
Art Prize Visit

We love staying there, and have great service every time. It would be nice to have more dining... See full review

  • Marinus V.
  • Jan 17, 2015
Super Friendly Staff

Location, location, location! Everything you need is within walking distance from here. Room was... See full review

  • BubbaDog
  • Oct 11, 2014
Elegant downtown Grand Rapids retreat with spa

Right in the heart of downtown, the sleek, glittering tower of the JW Marriott Grand Rapids hotel offers a key setting for business, staging an event, or just spending a weekend away from home. Five floors have concierge lounges with complimentary, drinks and more. While close to many dining and entertainment options, guests enjoy fine dining at Six.One.Six and cocktails at the elegant Mixology bar. Reward a workout at the state-of-the-art fitness center with a full body treatment at Vasaio Spa or dip in the lap pool.

Highlights
  • Sleek 23-story high rise in downtown Grand Rapids
  • Contemporary dining and cocktail bar
  • 24-hour fitness center, plus jogging trail on-site
  • Indoor swimming pool
Rooms

Design fans appreciate the sleek, modern guest rooms at the JW Marriott Grand Rapids. Rooms feature a Steelcase Leap 2 chair, custom photography and luxurious bedding: down comforter, designer duvet and cotton-rich linens. Most rooms offer views of downtown Grand Rapids or the Grand River, and 37-inch plasma TVs are standard. Private bathrooms feature a duel-head shower and lush terry cloth bathrobes. The JW Jack Pack allows guests to hook up and recharge laptops, mobile phones and iPods. Wi-Fi Internet access is available (fees apply). Executive suites include complimentary beer, wine and hors d'oeuvres, 24-hour access to a top-floor executive lounge and more.

Features

JW Marriott Grand Rapids offers guests a comfortable, glamorous retreat in the heart of Grand Rapids, Michigan. Business guests take advantage of concierge floors, several meeting rooms (including a ballroom and boardrooms), 24-hour business center and helipad access.

Dining

While a location in downtown Grand Rapids opens up a wealth of dining options nearby, the on-site restaurant Six.One.Six serves contemporary American cuisine in a stylish, contemporary setting. A Starbucks store in the JW Marriott Grand Rapids lobby is open from breakfast through lunch. For late night drinks and decadent appetizers, visit the hotel's concierge lounge Mixology. 24-hour room service is available.

Recreation

Adjacent to the hotel lap pool is Vasaio Spa, which offers massages, aromatherapy, reflexology, body wraps, hot stone therapy and more. Reservations are requested. In-room treatments are available.

Transportation
  • Grand Rapids International Airport (10.9 mi/17.6 km)
Attractions
  • DeVos Performance Hall (1 block)
  • Grand Rapids Art Museum (0.3 mi/0.4 km)
  • Van Andel Arena (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
Business
  • 24-hour business center, Wi-Fi Internet access (fees apply)
  • 12 meeting rooms including boardrooms and ballroom

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed JW Marriott Grand Rapids also booked these hotels.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Indoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Children's activities
Jogging track
Tennis
Water skiing
Steam bath
Horseback riding
Scuba diving
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Coffee shop
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Express check in
Express checkout
Concierge desk
Laundry/Valet services
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
Barber shop
Barber/Beauty shop
FAX
Video checkout
Gift shop
Drugstore
Florist
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Cordless phone
Safe
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Turndown service
Cribs available
In room movies
Temperature control
Iron
Ironing board
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • Van Andel Arena: 0.3 mi

Dining

Six.One.Six Restaurant
Highly inspired cuisine in a stylish, contemporary setting

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (44)

Ratings and reviews for JW Marriott Grand Rapids

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
44 out of 44
Amenities:
4.4
Cleanliness:
4.9
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.1

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of JW Marriott Grand Rapids

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DTT
Business
Detroit
Jun 1, 2009

Classy, great location!

We were in town for a birthday party and decided to stay at a hotel rather than driving home. JW Marriott offered a great room at a great value - location was blocks away from the party at Bar Divani (great place, check it out). Our time in the hotel was limited, but we did sit on the patio overlooking the river which was a nice break after a long drive. Hotel was spotless. Room was great. Bed was very comforable. While our room faced the river, there isn't a balcony or anything to step out on. The front desk was very helpful in getting us directions to our destination, etc. My only complaint was the lack of attention by the wait staff on the patio. We had to get our own drinks and no one every came by to ask us if we wanted anything. The strange part was, there was a waitress waiting on another person a few tables down who ignored us over and over.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of JW Marriott Grand Rapids

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Local patron
Business
Grand Rapids
Apr 19, 2010

Good hotel with a so-so restaurant

We enjoyed the modern decor and very nice staff. Our room had a great view of the river and we loved the bathroom. The bed was a little hard...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The restaurant Six-One-Six was just okay for dinner. A better bet is walking the skway to the Amway Grand and eating there.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of JW Marriott Grand Rapids

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
stager
Business
Denver, CO, USA
Oct 3, 2011

Wonderful Bathtub

This is my favorite downtown grand rapids hotel. It is modern luxury in a great location. It has a fantastic shower and bathtub. I really like almost everything about this hotel, the only downsides I can think of are the cost and that they don't have an ipod dock.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of JW Marriott Grand Rapids

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Green Bay, WI
May 2, 2011

Excellent Stay!!

Very centrally located. Helpful and attentive staff. Sparkling clean!!!! Plan on staying there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Z's!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of JW Marriott Grand Rapids

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Maynard and Trishcia
Business
Three Rivers, Michigan
Dec 30, 2009

A little pricey, but well worth it!

We went to this hotel for our anniversary. It was a cold and snowy night so we took the heated sky walk about 3 blocks from the hotel to downtown where all the restaurants and bars and other things to do are. From there we stopped at several places that we were interested in while enjoying our short walks in the snow as we went from shop to bars to restaurants. When we got back to our room later that evening and turned down the sheets we found that they were some of the most luxurious cotton sheets we have ever felt. We had eight pillows on our bed to choose from. One of every firmness so you could choose the right one. The bathroom was made of marble with a beautiful glass shower for two, which was separate from the bath tub. We had a refrigerator stocked with snacks and drink which was extra if you took anything from it. We were on the 16th floor with a beautiful view of the city and river. We will definitely go there again for another special occasion. If you just need a quick place to catch a good night sleep and be on the road again in the morning, go to the cheap Super 8. The RW Marriott is for relaxing and enjoying those special times and again you will pay for it. We were very pleased. I'm not being sarcastic.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Make sure you provide your own snacks and drinks for your room. The room snacks and drinks from the refrigerator were $5.95 each which adds up fast. Go down the street to the local resturants and bars for the best food and prices. Again the hotel was expensive but excellent.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of JW Marriott Grand Rapids

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
GR person
Business
grand rapids, MI
Jun 5, 2011

very trendy

We rented the room to have a night out in Grand Rapids. It's a little pricey, but very nice, comfortable rooms. The only thing you need to be careful of is to make sure you don't book through a 3rd party if you have 4 people in your group. The hotel won't reserve 2 double beds even though your reservation is for 4 people. We were left with one king bed for a room with 4 people with no options for other sleeping arrangements.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of JW Marriott Grand Rapids

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Fort Myers Mom
Business
Fort Myers Florida
Jun 23, 2009

Extremely Nice

Don't rent a car its 25.00 a night to park.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of JW Marriott Grand Rapids

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
B and W
Business
South Carolina
Jan 10, 2011

JW Marriott modern comfy rooms nice bar

We came for a wedding reception at the GRAM. Location of JWM was superb even in mid-winter a short block away. King size bed was SOO comfy and loved the view from the 16th floor, awesome bathroom, and fast elevators too. The bar was a nice spot to hang out for an evening of conversation, too. Nice view of the river!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Grand Rapids Art Museum ("GRAM") and Gerald R. Ford Presidential Museums are a short stroll from the JWM.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of JW Marriott Grand Rapids

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
ssb01
Business
southeast michigan
Feb 27, 2012

just one night

we arrived in mid afternoon with the intent of just seeing downtown grand rapids and we were not let down. the hotel is right in the center of this very walkable city on the river. the views from the room were awesome. the room was very fancy and clean. the bathrooms were to die for. downtown was great. we ate within a block of the hotel at "the BOB" and it was very good, lively and relaxed. after dinner we went back to the room and found out the prices for liquor in the minibar were way too high but on the walk back from dinner we saw there was a liquor store right across the street from the hotel. that was a much better option. drinks in the room, beautiful night time views of the downtown, great beds and linens.... no coffee in the lobby in the morning - had to buy from their starbucks store was my only complaint ( i don't like starbucks)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

the Bob

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of JW Marriott Grand Rapids

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Big Fat Liar
Business
Lansing Mich.
Jan 21, 2013

Nice relaxing weekend for the two of us

We would definately go back they treated us well and had no complaints,i guess the only thing i was not aware of is that they charged there guests $16.00 per night to park.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top