$219 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 7, 2014 Check-out: Aug 9, 2014

JW Marriott Grand Rapids

4 stars
235 Louis Street NW, 235 Louis Street NW, Grand Rapids, MI 49503
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.5
out of 5
62 reviews
Best Hotel in Grand Rapids

The JW is by far the nicest hotel to stay at in Grand Rapids. Location is convenient, easy self... See full review

  • Grand Rapids
  • Jun 9, 2014
romantic room on the River

Lovely hotel with exceptional greeeters and front desk staff! Extremely clean and comfortable! Get... See full review

  • CarolitaB
  • Jun 2, 2014
Elegant downtown Grand Rapids retreat with spa

Right in the heart of downtown, the sleek, glittering tower of the JW Marriott Grand Rapids hotel offers a key setting for business, staging an event, or just spending a weekend away from home. Five floors have concierge lounges with complimentary, drinks and more. While close to many dining and entertainment options, guests enjoy fine dining at Six.One.Six and cocktails at the elegant Mixology bar. Reward a workout at the state-of-the-art fitness center with a full body treatment at Vasaio Spa or dip in the lap pool.

Highlights
  • Sleek 23-story high rise in downtown Grand Rapids
  • Contemporary dining and cocktail bar
  • 24-hour fitness center, plus jogging trail on-site
  • Indoor swimming pool
Rooms

Design fans appreciate the sleek, modern guest rooms at the JW Marriott Grand Rapids. Rooms feature a Steelcase Leap 2 chair, custom photography and luxurious bedding: down comforter, designer duvet and cotton-rich linens. Most rooms offer views of downtown Grand Rapids or the Grand River, and 37-inch plasma TVs are standard. Private bathrooms feature a duel-head shower and lush terry cloth bathrobes. The JW Jack Pack allows guests to hook up and recharge laptops, mobile phones and iPods. Wi-Fi Internet access is available (fees apply). Executive suites include complimentary beer, wine and hors d'oeuvres, 24-hour access to a top-floor executive lounge and more.

Features

JW Marriott Grand Rapids offers guests a comfortable, glamorous retreat in the heart of Grand Rapids, Michigan. Business guests take advantage of concierge floors, several meeting rooms (including a ballroom and boardrooms), 24-hour business center and helipad access.

Dining

While a location in downtown Grand Rapids opens up a wealth of dining options nearby, the on-site restaurant Six.One.Six serves contemporary American cuisine in a stylish, contemporary setting. A Starbucks store in the JW Marriott Grand Rapids lobby is open from breakfast through lunch. For late night drinks and decadent appetizers, visit the hotel's concierge lounge Mixology. 24-hour room service is available.

Recreation

Adjacent to the hotel lap pool is Vasaio Spa, which offers massages, aromatherapy, reflexology, body wraps, hot stone therapy and more. Reservations are requested. In-room treatments are available.

Transportation
  • Grand Rapids International Airport (10.9 mi/17.6 km)
Attractions
  • DeVos Performance Hall (1 block)
  • Grand Rapids Art Museum (0.3 mi/0.4 km)
  • Van Andel Arena (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
Business
  • 24-hour business center, Wi-Fi Internet access (fees apply)
  • 12 meeting rooms including boardrooms and ballroom

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Indoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Children's activities
Jogging track
Tennis
Water skiing
Steam bath
Horseback riding
Scuba diving
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Coffee shop
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Express check in
Express checkout
Concierge desk
Laundry/Valet services
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
Barber shop
Barber/Beauty shop
FAX
Video checkout
Gift shop
Drugstore
Florist
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Cordless phone
Safe
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Turndown service
Cribs available
In room movies
Temperature control
Iron
Ironing board
Bath tub

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed JW Marriott Grand Rapids also booked these hotels.

Hotel Map

42.9658 -85.674
Area served
Grand Rapids
Nearby airports
Gerald R Ford International Airport, (GRR), 13.00, MI, SE;
Area description
River

Nearby points of interest

  • Van Andel Arena: 0.3 mi

Dining

Six.One.Six Restaurant
Highly inspired cuisine in a stylish, contemporary setting

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (62)

Ratings and reviews for JW Marriott Grand Rapids

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
62 out of 62
Amenities:
4.4
Room cleanliness:
4.9
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.1

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of JW Marriott Grand Rapids

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Winkinreno
Detroit, MI
Apr 15, 2013

Clean and comfortable

Check in was a breeze, jazz band by the elevators made the quick wait even better, one of the most comfortable beds I've ever stayed in. Highly recommend

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of JW Marriott Grand Rapids

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Babe the sister
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Jul 15, 2014

Family Wedding

For the cost, not that great except for the service. The food was expensive and lousy. I ordered toast and over easy eggs, got hard toast, over hard eggs, sent back , and got same thing, wasn't edible.All meals we ordered were terrible. Room was clean but housekeeping didnt replace stuff when they cleaned like towels. You had to pay for a microwave, came with tiny fridge but no tiny freezer. No complimentary breakfast. Wasn't anywhere to go eat at around there so we were stuck with their nasty food. The thermostat wouldn't go down past 65 and it was hot in the room the whole time. Windows didnt open so couldn't get a breeze, didn't sleep well because of the stuffiness. Will not go back again. Didn't have shuttle service back and forth to airport so it cost us an extra $. Wish we could have stayed in a motel for half the cost and had shuttle service, complimentary breakfast,air conditioning we could control,windows that opened, microwave, and a refrigerator with freezer. Also, its on the river but if you want a room on that side of the hotel you have to pay extra so ours was of the parking lot.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Museums

Review of JW Marriott Grand Rapids

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Cadillac, MI
Jan 24, 2010

Not worth the money

The site did not give the option to choose beds so we thought we had a choice and would tell them when we got there. Well, they did not have any double bed rooms available and hadn't for months, so four girls were in a room with one bed. The staff was rude and no help at all. We got extra bedding after calling the front desk twice. Also, they say every room has a refridgerator but they don't say they are fully stocked with no room for any extras you may bring. I would reccomend if you are staying in the area to spend your money on more important things and stay somewhere cheaper. Very pretty hotel but not worth $170 a night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Review of JW Marriott Grand Rapids

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Cadillac, MI
Jan 24, 2010

Not worth the money

The site did not give the option to choose beds so we thought we had a choice and would tell them when we got there. Well, they did not have any double bed rooms available and hadn't for months, so four girls were in a room with one bed. The staff was rude and no help at all. We got extra bedding after calling the front desk twice. Also, they say every room has a refridgerator but they don't say they are fully stocked with no room for any extras you may bring. I would reccomend if you are staying in the area to spend your money on more important things and stay somewhere cheaper. Very pretty hotel but not worth $170 a night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Review of JW Marriott Grand Rapids

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Midland, MI
Jun 7, 2010

Great Location-Hip and New

The hotel itself is beautiful and new and hip! :) Great location right on the river with nice views. They have a great outdoor lounge area! There were a lot of wedding receptions and children's groups there when we were... it was VERY noisy until 3 in the morning. I would have thought a hotel of that stature would have been built more sound-proof. I also thought it strange that the rooms did not have IPod docks as most do now...they didn't even have a radio...strange. Other than that... the large windows and comfy beds were much enjoyed!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

great elegant steakhouse just 5min walk (in heals:) - The Chop House

Review of JW Marriott Grand Rapids

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Midland, MI
Jun 7, 2010

Great Location-Hip and New

The hotel itself is beautiful and new and hip! :) Great location right on the river with nice views. They have a great outdoor lounge area! There were a lot of wedding receptions and children's groups there when we were... it was VERY noisy until 3 in the morning. I would have thought a hotel of that stature would have been built more sound-proof. I also thought it strange that the rooms did not have IPod docks as most do now...they didn't even have a radio...strange. Other than that... the large windows and comfy beds were much enjoyed!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

great elegant steakhouse just 5min walk (in heals:) - The Chop House

Review of JW Marriott Grand Rapids

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JjoyB
Ann Arbor, Mi
Aug 5, 2013

A beautiful getaway!

We enjoyed our stay here. The staff was very helpful and friendly. The room was beautiful and the location was great. The JW is definitely our Grand Rapids hotel of choice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of JW Marriott Grand Rapids

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bharv04
West Linn, OR
Apr 14, 2013

Convenient and comfortable

This is a nice and up to date hotel. The only reason I am not giving it 5 starts is that when my wife and I arrived to check in, the hotel had given our room away. We were delayed in a snowstorm in Denver and arrived 3 hours late (around 3am). The hotel staff claimed that due to a busy weekend and them not hearing from us, they assumed we weren't coming and they gave the room we had reserved to someone who wanted an upgrade to the room we had. This is unbelievable since the room was pre-paid through an online travel service. They did get us into another room for that night and we were able to move into the room we wanted the following night, but the whole giving the room away was not acceptable to a tired traveler.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of JW Marriott Grand Rapids

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
stager
Denver, CO, USA
Oct 3, 2011

Wonderful Bathtub

This is my favorite downtown grand rapids hotel. It is modern luxury in a great location. It has a fantastic shower and bathtub. I really like almost everything about this hotel, the only downsides I can think of are the cost and that they don't have an ipod dock.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of JW Marriott Grand Rapids

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
NABBA Mike
Boulder, CO
Apr 14, 2014

A Grand Rapids showpiece

A pleasant surprise! Modern facility and located ideally in central downtown GR. Views from riverside rooms are great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of JW Marriott Grand Rapids

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
2travelers
Business
Saginaw, MI, USA
Oct 26, 2011

Serious Check In Issue!

I have stayed at this hotel before, that is why I chose to stay again. It is beautiful, clean, modern, comfortable, and a good value. But check in didn't go so well...Upon checking in, they had my reservation, but gave me a King Room. On my Orbitz form it clearly stated that I had 4 guests. The clerk told me that it doesn't matter, because it wasn't specified that I wanted a room with 2 Queen beds! So apparently 4 adults are supposed to sleep in a King bed! I was furious, because she stared at me blankly and said there wasn't anything she could do!! After asking to speak to manager, magically there was a room available that just needed to be cleaned. After asking what she could do for us for our trouble, she took care of our parking bill. I'm uncomfortable about the way the Orbitz reservation was treated as if it were a less priority than if I had booked directly with them. Makes me uncertain about doing it in the future...or I guess I will call ahead and make sure they have it right before I plan on it!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top