$239 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 25, 2014 Check-out: Jul 26, 2014

JW Marriott Grand Rapids

4 stars
235 Louis Street NW, 235 Louis Street NW, Grand Rapids, MI 49503
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.5
out of 5
62 reviews
Best Hotel in Grand Rapids

The JW is by far the nicest hotel to stay at in Grand Rapids. Location is convenient, easy self... See full review

  • Grand Rapids
  • Jun 9, 2014
romantic room on the River

Lovely hotel with exceptional greeeters and front desk staff! Extremely clean and comfortable! Get... See full review

  • CarolitaB
  • Jun 2, 2014
Elegant downtown Grand Rapids retreat with spa

Right in the heart of downtown, the sleek, glittering tower of the JW Marriott Grand Rapids hotel offers a key setting for business, staging an event, or just spending a weekend away from home. Five floors have concierge lounges with complimentary, drinks and more. While close to many dining and entertainment options, guests enjoy fine dining at Six.One.Six and cocktails at the elegant Mixology bar. Reward a workout at the state-of-the-art fitness center with a full body treatment at Vasaio Spa or dip in the lap pool.

Highlights
  • Sleek 23-story high rise in downtown Grand Rapids
  • Contemporary dining and cocktail bar
  • 24-hour fitness center, plus jogging trail on-site
  • Indoor swimming pool
Rooms

Design fans appreciate the sleek, modern guest rooms at the JW Marriott Grand Rapids. Rooms feature a Steelcase Leap 2 chair, custom photography and luxurious bedding: down comforter, designer duvet and cotton-rich linens. Most rooms offer views of downtown Grand Rapids or the Grand River, and 37-inch plasma TVs are standard. Private bathrooms feature a duel-head shower and lush terry cloth bathrobes. The JW Jack Pack allows guests to hook up and recharge laptops, mobile phones and iPods. Wi-Fi Internet access is available (fees apply). Executive suites include complimentary beer, wine and hors d'oeuvres, 24-hour access to a top-floor executive lounge and more.

Features

JW Marriott Grand Rapids offers guests a comfortable, glamorous retreat in the heart of Grand Rapids, Michigan. Business guests take advantage of concierge floors, several meeting rooms (including a ballroom and boardrooms), 24-hour business center and helipad access.

Dining

While a location in downtown Grand Rapids opens up a wealth of dining options nearby, the on-site restaurant Six.One.Six serves contemporary American cuisine in a stylish, contemporary setting. A Starbucks store in the JW Marriott Grand Rapids lobby is open from breakfast through lunch. For late night drinks and decadent appetizers, visit the hotel's concierge lounge Mixology. 24-hour room service is available.

Recreation

Adjacent to the hotel lap pool is Vasaio Spa, which offers massages, aromatherapy, reflexology, body wraps, hot stone therapy and more. Reservations are requested. In-room treatments are available.

Transportation
  • Grand Rapids International Airport (10.9 mi/17.6 km)
Attractions
  • DeVos Performance Hall (1 block)
  • Grand Rapids Art Museum (0.3 mi/0.4 km)
  • Van Andel Arena (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
Business
  • 24-hour business center, Wi-Fi Internet access (fees apply)
  • 12 meeting rooms including boardrooms and ballroom

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Indoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Children's activities
Jogging track
Tennis
Water skiing
Steam bath
Horseback riding
Scuba diving
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Coffee shop
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Express check in
Express checkout
Concierge desk
Laundry/Valet services
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
Barber shop
Barber/Beauty shop
FAX
Video checkout
Gift shop
Drugstore
Florist
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Cordless phone
Safe
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Turndown service
Cribs available
In room movies
Temperature control
Iron
Ironing board
Bath tub

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed JW Marriott Grand Rapids also booked these hotels.

Hotel Map

42.9658 -85.674
Area served
Grand Rapids
Nearby airports
Gerald R Ford International Airport, (GRR), 13.00, MI, SE;
Area description
River

Nearby points of interest

  • Van Andel Arena: 0.3 mi

Dining

Six.One.Six Restaurant
Highly inspired cuisine in a stylish, contemporary setting

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (62)

Ratings and reviews for JW Marriott Grand Rapids

Overall score

4.6 / 5
5.01.0
28 out of 62
Amenities:
4.6
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4.7
Room comfort:
4.8
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.2

100% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of JW Marriott Grand Rapids

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Grand Rapids
Chicago, IL
Jun 9, 2014

Best Hotel in Grand Rapids

The JW is by far the nicest hotel to stay at in Grand Rapids. Location is convenient, easy self park or valet and great views of the river. I highly suggest paying for a river view, it's worth it. The room rate is slightly higher than alternatives nearby but worth it when you compare the two.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to Founders for beers and lunch. Sundance for Brunch.

Review of JW Marriott Grand Rapids

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
CarolitaB
Michigan
Jun 2, 2014

romantic room on the River

Lovely hotel with exceptional greeeters and front desk staff! Extremely clean and comfortable! Get the river view!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

We had a fantastic Baruch at the Amway Grand just a short walk.

Review of JW Marriott Grand Rapids

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
matt1967
Farmington Hills, MI, USA
Feb 25, 2014

getaway weekend

My fiance and i love the JW. Always top notch staff, rooms, everything. Walking distance to lots of bars, restaurants, museums. Just perfect.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: In Hotel

Elvis the chef makes the most amazing waffles, try the berry sauce and fresh whipped cream. One of the reasons we keep coming back,

Review of JW Marriott Grand Rapids

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Baileyjk
Leedey, OK
Oct 22, 2013

Beautiful

Beautiful hotel, beautiful location, great prople. Rooms were comfortable and nice. Staff was friendly. The restaurant downstairs wasn't the best but there are tons of great places close

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of JW Marriott Grand Rapids

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JjoyB
Ann Arbor, Mi
Aug 5, 2013

A beautiful getaway!

We enjoyed our stay here. The staff was very helpful and friendly. The room was beautiful and the location was great. The JW is definitely our Grand Rapids hotel of choice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of JW Marriott Grand Rapids

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Locale
Grand Rapids, MI
Jun 17, 2013

Downtown G.R. rocks!

One of the great centerpieces in Grand Rapids. High class but friendly and comfortable. Spotless. Great location with wonderful view of the river and downtown. Easy walking to just about wherever you want to go in downtown Grand Rapids.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of JW Marriott Grand Rapids

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bharv04
West Linn, OR
Apr 14, 2013

Convenient and comfortable

This is a nice and up to date hotel. The only reason I am not giving it 5 starts is that when my wife and I arrived to check in, the hotel had given our room away. We were delayed in a snowstorm in Denver and arrived 3 hours late (around 3am). The hotel staff claimed that due to a busy weekend and them not hearing from us, they assumed we weren't coming and they gave the room we had reserved to someone who wanted an upgrade to the room we had. This is unbelievable since the room was pre-paid through an online travel service. They did get us into another room for that night and we were able to move into the room we wanted the following night, but the whole giving the room away was not acceptable to a tired traveler.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of JW Marriott Grand Rapids

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Big Fat Liar
Lansing Mich.
Jan 21, 2013

Nice relaxing weekend for the two of us

We would definately go back they treated us well and had no complaints,i guess the only thing i was not aware of is that they charged there guests $16.00 per night to park.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of JW Marriott Grand Rapids

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
ssb01
southeast michigan
Feb 27, 2012

just one night

we arrived in mid afternoon with the intent of just seeing downtown grand rapids and we were not let down. the hotel is right in the center of this very walkable city on the river. the views from the room were awesome. the room was very fancy and clean. the bathrooms were to die for. downtown was great. we ate within a block of the hotel at "the BOB" and it was very good, lively and relaxed. after dinner we went back to the room and found out the prices for liquor in the minibar were way too high but on the walk back from dinner we saw there was a liquor store right across the street from the hotel. that was a much better option. drinks in the room, beautiful night time views of the downtown, great beds and linens.... no coffee in the lobby in the morning - had to buy from their starbucks store was my only complaint ( i don't like starbucks)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

the Bob

Review of JW Marriott Grand Rapids

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ritt
Grand Rapids, MI, USA
Aug 24, 2011

Very Romantic

The staff was very polite and helpful!The location and view from the hotel was incredible,well worth the money.:))

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top