$239 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 16, 2015 Check-out: Apr 19, 2015

JW Marriott Grand Rapids

4 stars
View map of 235 Louis Street NW, 235 Louis Street NW, Grand Rapids, MI 49503

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.5
out of 5
44 reviews
Art Prize Visit

We love staying there, and have great service every time. It would be nice to have more dining... See full review

  • Marinus V.
  • Jan 17, 2015
Super Friendly Staff

Location, location, location! Everything you need is within walking distance from here. Room was... See full review

  • BubbaDog
  • Oct 11, 2014
Elegant downtown Grand Rapids retreat with spa

Right in the heart of downtown, the sleek, glittering tower of the JW Marriott Grand Rapids hotel offers a key setting for business, staging an event, or just spending a weekend away from home. Five floors have concierge lounges with complimentary, drinks and more. While close to many dining and entertainment options, guests enjoy fine dining at Six.One.Six and cocktails at the elegant Mixology bar. Reward a workout at the state-of-the-art fitness center with a full body treatment at Vasaio Spa or dip in the lap pool.

Highlights
  • Sleek 23-story high rise in downtown Grand Rapids
  • Contemporary dining and cocktail bar
  • 24-hour fitness center, plus jogging trail on-site
  • Indoor swimming pool
Rooms

Design fans appreciate the sleek, modern guest rooms at the JW Marriott Grand Rapids. Rooms feature a Steelcase Leap 2 chair, custom photography and luxurious bedding: down comforter, designer duvet and cotton-rich linens. Most rooms offer views of downtown Grand Rapids or the Grand River, and 37-inch plasma TVs are standard. Private bathrooms feature a duel-head shower and lush terry cloth bathrobes. The JW Jack Pack allows guests to hook up and recharge laptops, mobile phones and iPods. Wi-Fi Internet access is available (fees apply). Executive suites include complimentary beer, wine and hors d'oeuvres, 24-hour access to a top-floor executive lounge and more.

Features

JW Marriott Grand Rapids offers guests a comfortable, glamorous retreat in the heart of Grand Rapids, Michigan. Business guests take advantage of concierge floors, several meeting rooms (including a ballroom and boardrooms), 24-hour business center and helipad access.

Dining

While a location in downtown Grand Rapids opens up a wealth of dining options nearby, the on-site restaurant Six.One.Six serves contemporary American cuisine in a stylish, contemporary setting. A Starbucks store in the JW Marriott Grand Rapids lobby is open from breakfast through lunch. For late night drinks and decadent appetizers, visit the hotel's concierge lounge Mixology. 24-hour room service is available.

Recreation

Adjacent to the hotel lap pool is Vasaio Spa, which offers massages, aromatherapy, reflexology, body wraps, hot stone therapy and more. Reservations are requested. In-room treatments are available.

Transportation
  • Grand Rapids International Airport (10.9 mi/17.6 km)
Attractions
  • DeVos Performance Hall (1 block)
  • Grand Rapids Art Museum (0.3 mi/0.4 km)
  • Van Andel Arena (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
Business
  • 24-hour business center, Wi-Fi Internet access (fees apply)
  • 12 meeting rooms including boardrooms and ballroom

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed JW Marriott Grand Rapids also booked these hotels.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Indoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Children's activities
Jogging track
Tennis
Water skiing
Steam bath
Horseback riding
Scuba diving
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Coffee shop
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Express check in
Express checkout
Concierge desk
Laundry/Valet services
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
Barber shop
Barber/Beauty shop
FAX
Video checkout
Gift shop
Drugstore
Florist
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Cordless phone
Safe
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Turndown service
Cribs available
In room movies
Temperature control
Iron
Ironing board
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • Van Andel Arena: 0.3 mi

Dining

Six.One.Six Restaurant
Highly inspired cuisine in a stylish, contemporary setting

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for JW Marriott Grand Rapids

Overall score

4.7 / 5
5.01.0
21 out of 44
Amenities:
4.6
Cleanliness:
4.9
Hotel staff:
4.7
Comfort:
4.8
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.2

100% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of JW Marriott Grand Rapids

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Marinus V.
Business
San Antonio
Jan 17, 2015

Art Prize Visit

We love staying there, and have great service every time. It would be nice to have more dining options available, but there are plenty of choices in the immediate area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of JW Marriott Grand Rapids

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
BubbaDog
Business
Michigan
Oct 11, 2014

Super Friendly Staff

Location, location, location! Everything you need is within walking distance from here. Room was terrific and staff was wonderful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of JW Marriott Grand Rapids

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Grand Rapids
Business
Chicago, IL
Jun 9, 2014

Best Hotel in Grand Rapids

The JW is by far the nicest hotel to stay at in Grand Rapids. Location is convenient, easy self park or valet and great views of the river. I highly suggest paying for a river view, it's worth it. The room rate is slightly higher than alternatives nearby but worth it when you compare the two.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to Founders for beers and lunch. Sundance for Brunch.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of JW Marriott Grand Rapids

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
CarolitaB
Business
Michigan
Jun 2, 2014

romantic room on the River

Lovely hotel with exceptional greeeters and front desk staff! Extremely clean and comfortable! Get the river view!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

We had a fantastic Baruch at the Amway Grand just a short walk.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of JW Marriott Grand Rapids

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
matt1967
Business
Farmington Hills, MI, USA
Feb 25, 2014

getaway weekend

My fiance and i love the JW. Always top notch staff, rooms, everything. Walking distance to lots of bars, restaurants, museums. Just perfect.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Elvis the chef makes the most amazing waffles, try the berry sauce and fresh whipped cream. One of the reasons we keep coming back,

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of JW Marriott Grand Rapids

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Baileyjk
Business
Leedey, OK
Oct 22, 2013

Beautiful

Beautiful hotel, beautiful location, great prople. Rooms were comfortable and nice. Staff was friendly. The restaurant downstairs wasn't the best but there are tons of great places close

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of JW Marriott Grand Rapids

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JjoyB
Business
Ann Arbor, Mi
Aug 5, 2013

A beautiful getaway!

We enjoyed our stay here. The staff was very helpful and friendly. The room was beautiful and the location was great. The JW is definitely our Grand Rapids hotel of choice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of JW Marriott Grand Rapids

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Locale
Business
Grand Rapids, MI
Jun 17, 2013

Downtown G.R. rocks!

One of the great centerpieces in Grand Rapids. High class but friendly and comfortable. Spotless. Great location with wonderful view of the river and downtown. Easy walking to just about wherever you want to go in downtown Grand Rapids.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of JW Marriott Grand Rapids

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bharv04
Business
West Linn, OR
Apr 14, 2013

Convenient and comfortable

This is a nice and up to date hotel. The only reason I am not giving it 5 starts is that when my wife and I arrived to check in, the hotel had given our room away. We were delayed in a snowstorm in Denver and arrived 3 hours late (around 3am). The hotel staff claimed that due to a busy weekend and them not hearing from us, they assumed we weren't coming and they gave the room we had reserved to someone who wanted an upgrade to the room we had. This is unbelievable since the room was pre-paid through an online travel service. They did get us into another room for that night and we were able to move into the room we wanted the following night, but the whole giving the room away was not acceptable to a tired traveler.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of JW Marriott Grand Rapids

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Big Fat Liar
Business
Lansing Mich.
Jan 21, 2013

Nice relaxing weekend for the two of us

We would definately go back they treated us well and had no complaints,i guess the only thing i was not aware of is that they charged there guests $16.00 per night to park.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top