$249 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 4, 2015 Check-out: Sep 5, 2015

JW Marriott Grand Rapids

4 stars
View map of 235 Louis Street NW, 235 Louis Street NW, Grand Rapids, MI 49503

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for JW Marriott Grand Rapids

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
42 out of 42
Amenities:
4.4
Cleanliness:
4.9
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.1

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of JW Marriott Grand Rapids

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JjoyB
Couples
Ann Arbor, Mi
Aug 5, 2013

A beautiful getaway!

We enjoyed our stay here. The staff was very helpful and friendly. The room was beautiful and the location was great. The JW is definitely our Grand Rapids hotel of choice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of JW Marriott Grand Rapids

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MT Dad
Family
Rochester, MI
Jul 8, 2013

Great 4th in GR

Enjoyed the location right on the river - made for a great viewing location for the fireworkds. Beds could have been a bit more comfortable. All in all, a very nice hotel in great location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of JW Marriott Grand Rapids

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Locale
Couples
Grand Rapids, MI
Jun 17, 2013

Downtown G.R. rocks!

One of the great centerpieces in Grand Rapids. High class but friendly and comfortable. Spotless. Great location with wonderful view of the river and downtown. Easy walking to just about wherever you want to go in downtown Grand Rapids.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of JW Marriott Grand Rapids

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Winkinreno
Friends
Detroit, MI
Apr 15, 2013

Clean and comfortable

Check in was a breeze, jazz band by the elevators made the quick wait even better, one of the most comfortable beds I've ever stayed in. Highly recommend

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of JW Marriott Grand Rapids

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bharv04
Couples
West Linn, OR
Apr 14, 2013

Convenient and comfortable

This is a nice and up to date hotel. The only reason I am not giving it 5 starts is that when my wife and I arrived to check in, the hotel had given our room away. We were delayed in a snowstorm in Denver and arrived 3 hours late (around 3am). The hotel staff claimed that due to a busy weekend and them not hearing from us, they assumed we weren't coming and they gave the room we had reserved to someone who wanted an upgrade to the room we had. This is unbelievable since the room was pre-paid through an online travel service. They did get us into another room for that night and we were able to move into the room we wanted the following night, but the whole giving the room away was not acceptable to a tired traveler.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of JW Marriott Grand Rapids

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SurelyMom
Friends
Nashville, TN
Feb 5, 2013

Perfect weekend getaway

It was better than I had planned. The staff went over and above to make sure my time there was perfect. The resturaunt inside the hotel was a bit pricey but other than that - this will be the place I stay for my next travels to Grand Rapids.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of JW Marriott Grand Rapids

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Big Fat Liar
Couples
Lansing Mich.
Jan 21, 2013

Nice relaxing weekend for the two of us

We would definately go back they treated us well and had no complaints,i guess the only thing i was not aware of is that they charged there guests $16.00 per night to park.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of JW Marriott Grand Rapids

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Really long last name.
Single
Phoenix
Jul 5, 2012

Peaceful

The rooms were very quiet and was able to get a lot done for school while on vacation. The staff is amazing, I had a great time and plan on going back. thanks, Mr. V.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of JW Marriott Grand Rapids

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
ssb01
Couples
southeast michigan
Feb 27, 2012

just one night

we arrived in mid afternoon with the intent of just seeing downtown grand rapids and we were not let down. the hotel is right in the center of this very walkable city on the river. the views from the room were awesome. the room was very fancy and clean. the bathrooms were to die for. downtown was great. we ate within a block of the hotel at "the BOB" and it was very good, lively and relaxed. after dinner we went back to the room and found out the prices for liquor in the minibar were way too high but on the walk back from dinner we saw there was a liquor store right across the street from the hotel. that was a much better option. drinks in the room, beautiful night time views of the downtown, great beds and linens.... no coffee in the lobby in the morning - had to buy from their starbucks store was my only complaint ( i don't like starbucks)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

the Bob

Review of JW Marriott Grand Rapids

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
2travelers
Business
Saginaw, MI, USA
Oct 26, 2011

Serious Check In Issue!

I have stayed at this hotel before, that is why I chose to stay again. It is beautiful, clean, modern, comfortable, and a good value. But check in didn't go so well...Upon checking in, they had my reservation, but gave me a King Room. On my Orbitz form it clearly stated that I had 4 guests. The clerk told me that it doesn't matter, because it wasn't specified that I wanted a room with 2 Queen beds! So apparently 4 adults are supposed to sleep in a King bed! I was furious, because she stared at me blankly and said there wasn't anything she could do!! After asking to speak to manager, magically there was a room available that just needed to be cleaned. After asking what she could do for us for our trouble, she took care of our parking bill. I'm uncomfortable about the way the Orbitz reservation was treated as if it were a less priority than if I had booked directly with them. Makes me uncertain about doing it in the future...or I guess I will call ahead and make sure they have it right before I plan on it!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top