$79 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 25, 2014 Check-out: Oct 28, 2014

Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Grand Rapids, MI

3 stars
2701 E. Beltline Ave. S.E., Grand Rapids, MI 49546
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
25 reviews
3 day family getaway

I've been traveling for the last fifty plus years and I have never experenced a motel as great as... See full review

  • spike42402
  • May 19, 2013
Great value

The room was accessible as I needed. I loved the large kitchen and bathroom. The living room a bit... See full review

  • Genie Moore
  • Sep 4, 2014
Let this Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Grand Rapids, MI hotel be your home away from home. This hotel is just minutes from the airport and next-door to shopping and restaurants. Pets are welcome at this hotel, which features complimentary wireless Internet and complimentary breakfast, and also offers laundry facilities, outdoor pool and jetted tub, sports court and fitness room. Unpack and stay a while in the spacious rooms and suites, all of which come with stove, microwave, refrigerator and dishes, and some of which come with two bedrooms, two stories and fireplace for cozy evenings. Mingle with your friends and colleagues at the social hour Mondays through Wednesdays, and take care of business in the business center, which offers complimentary wireless Internet access, computer access, printing, copy and fax service. Parking is available for cars, trucks and buses and RVs, and there is no charge for kids through age 17 staying with adults.

Hotel Map

42.9136 -85.5835
Area description
Shopping district

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Grand Rapids, MI also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Heated pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Pet friendly
Free local telephone calls
Activities
Heated pool
Exercise gym
Jacuzzi
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Services
Business center
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
FAX
Copy service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Outdoor parking
RV or truck parking
Bus parking
Accessibility
Wheel chair access
Room
Safe
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Microwave
Over sized rooms
TV remote control
Cribs available
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Van Andel Arena: 5.6 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (25)

Ratings and reviews for Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Grand Rapids, MI

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
25 out of 25
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.2
Value:
4.2

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Grand Rapids, MI

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Wdale
Business
Glendale, CA, USA
Mar 11, 2012

Well situated for the east side of Grand Rapids

This is a gem of a hotel. It feels like you are in a del managed apartment complex. The here is a full kitchen and lots of room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Grand Rapids, MI

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Weary Traveller from IL
Business
Glendale Heights, IL
Oct 10, 2014

Great for working out of town

Enjoyed the extra room. Having a refrigerator was nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Grand Rapids, MI

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Genie Moore
Business
San Rafael, Ca
Sep 4, 2014

Great value

The room was accessible as I needed. I loved the large kitchen and bathroom. The living room a bit tight but had the sofa a moved bit to accommodate. Also, great coffee. Also impressed the pool had a chair lift to put you and out of the pool, I definitely stayed again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

As I'm in a scooter so It was easy to go to restaurants and dining close by.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Grand Rapids, MI

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DrTheresa2010
Business
Troy, NY
Jun 6, 2014

great for long stays

We were only staying the night but I can see that this would be a great hotel if an extended stay is required. The room was large, very clean and had a great kitchen and bathroom area. The kitchen was much larger than I expected-- I cooked a nice family dinner. My only concern was the wooden staircase leading up to my apartment...they were poorly constructed and I could see nails popping out in places. A bit dangerous especially since I had two young kids with me. Otherwise, everything was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Grand Rapids, MI

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Puppy pants
Business
Ann Arbor, mi
May 26, 2014

Great place to stay

It was a great stay. The room was much more than I expected. It was one of the cleanest places I have ever stayed in. I felt like I was in a five star hotel. It's located in the shopping and restaurant hub. The best part was the Starbucks next door and the Krispy Kreme across the street. Will definitely return whenever I am in the city.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Go to all shopping areas not just the mall.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Grand Rapids, MI

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Robert Sales
Business
Pittsburgh, PA
May 16, 2014

Good Stay

The room was clean and kitchen fully stocked. The location was great and offered complimentary breakfast and dinner. Also, pool and exercise room. The staff at the front desk was welcoming and very nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Surrounded by malls and variety of stores.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Grand Rapids, MI

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Alessiea1263
Business
Schaumburg, IL
May 20, 2013

Graduation and Wedding Weekend

The room was wonderful and on a cooler night the fireplace would be great to have been able to use. The staff was very friendly and accommodating.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Grand Rapids, MI

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
spike42402
Business
Bellevue,Michigan
May 19, 2013

3 day family getaway

I've been traveling for the last fifty plus years and I have never experenced a motel as great as Hawthorn Suites, an I'm not sure that it should be considered a motel because it is much more. It had a completely furnished kitchen WITH dishwasher. There was much more room to move around in our room, compared to the standard motel room. Every day when we returned to the room, it was restocked with items we used the day before, an the floor vacumed, an bed made.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Hawthorn Suites is conveinently located among shopping malls an plenty of restaurants.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Grand Rapids, MI

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Calvin Dad
Business
San Jose, California
Apr 16, 2013

Visiting our son at Calvin College

Most negative aspect of our stay was the maid service - our room went without cleaning service for two (consecutive) of the four days we were there. We ran out of clean towels and toilet paper and trash cans filled up. This was even after I called and asked to have someone come and clean. No explanation when I mentioned it at checkout. More generally: Having a suite is nice if you are staying for a few days and want to be able to avoid restaurant food day in and out. But the establishment is showing its age - room had musty odor, signs of water damage to ceiling, generally looking a bit worn. I might stay there again, but I will certainly shop more carefully before doing so; it wont be an automatic "lets stay there again!" type of decision.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Mall with movie theater is right next door!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Grand Rapids, MI

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mom24boys
Business
Cincinnati OH
Jul 27, 2012

good for large families

This hotel provides room to spread out. It has a kitchen and 2 bedrooms and 2 full bathrooms and a sleeper sofa. The place could use some work, drains don't drain and needs some updating. Pool was nice and basketball court along with the breakfast and the dinner/evening snack.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Beaches are great and free, with a place for picnic. I have never seen waves before in a lake, but when the wind picked up, so did the waves, boys had a blast. 45 minutes away near muskegon state park

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Grand Rapids, MI

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
latina mom75
Business
melbourne
Jul 9, 2012

too expensive

Did not like the smell in the room. Breakfast was not good

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top