$174 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 24, 2014 Check-out: Oct 26, 2014

Courtyard by Marriott Grand Rapids Downtown

3 stars
11 Monroe Avenue NW, 11 Monroe Avenue NW, Grand Rapids, MI 49503
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
27 reviews
Good Location

We came for a fun weekend. We were out most of the day/night but the bed/room was nice! See full review

  • dr Laurie
  • Oct 6, 2014
It was great

It was great, close to downtown. Could walk every where. See full review

  • shieldsjw
  • Jun 23, 2014
Located in the middle of the energetic Grand Rapids scene, the Downtown Courtyard by Marriott delivers choices and convenience for business and leisure travelers alike. From the welcoming lobby and the functional, relaxing rooms to the friendly service and city views, its a stay youll feel good about. This Downtown Grand Rapids Hotel features multiple spaces to work or relax in, free Wi-Fi throughout and easy access to news, weather, maps, directions and city events via our 55 inch touch screen interactive GoBoard. The highlight of our lobby experience is The Bistro, which provides guests fresh food offerings, a large choice of Starbucks beverages and artistic cocktails. A skywalk offers convenient access to Devos Place Convention Center, Van Andel Arena and dozens of restaurants and night clubs. The Courtyard Downtown also offers easy access to Downtown businesses and the various medical buildings.

Hotel Map

42.9634 -85.6734
Area served
Devos Place Convention Center
Nearby airports
Gerald R Ford International Airport, (GRR), 10.00, MI, E; Capital Region International Airport, (LAN), 62.50, MI, W;
Area description
City Center, Location Type: City

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Courtyard by Marriott Grand Rapids Downtown also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Indoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Sauna
Jogging track
Tennis
Water skiing
Steam bath
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Coffee shop
Room service
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
Laundry/Valet services
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
FAX
Gift shop
Florist
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Cribs available
Sofa bed
Temperature control
Shower
Iron
Ironing board
Bath tub
Wet bar

Nearby points of interest

  • Van Andel Arena: 0.1 mi

Dining

The Bistro – Eat. Drink. Connect.®
Your food and beverage destination for refreshing breakfast choices in the morning, and a variety of dinner, beer and wine options in the evening. The Bistro also offers specialty beverages made with Starbucks® coffee to help you get a jump on the day.
Bistro Lounge
The Bistro Lounge provides a relaxing place to meet friends or collegues for a great glass of wine, an artful cocktail or a draft from our selection of Michigan Micro-brews. Appetizers and small plates, as well as a great dinner selections available.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (27)

Ratings and reviews for Courtyard by Marriott Grand Rapids Downtown

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
27 out of 27
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.8

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Grand Rapids Downtown

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Bedford NH
May 12, 2010

Very unpleasant stay

The hotel is under construction so the restaurant/lounge were closed. While there was other food service available, I was not informed about alternate these services. I was not able to have dinner both nights when coming back to the hotel later in the evening after work. When I learned that room service was available, there was no answer, but I was asked to leave a message for a callback from room service as soon as possible. However, my messages were not returned, and I was informed then that room service was now closed. I had waited almost an hour for a return call. I am a woman travelling alone, and I prefer not to go to restaurants outside the hotel later in the evening. The room was comfortable and clean, but the ironing board was broken, as was the coffee machine. There were only coffee packets but no tea bags available in the room. It was necessary to go down to the makeshift registration desk to obtain a tea bag. When I came to the hotel in the evening after work, the parking garage was full, and there was no notice about alternative parking. I had to back out of the driveway, go into the hotel to ask about other parking. I was given directions to a basement parking space, but there should have been a notice before I drove into the initial garage area which was full. When I complained, the desk clerk apologized but still was not forthcoming with any suggestions. I am pretty understanding about human error but there was no attempt to provide adequate information or alternative services during reconstruction. And several of my complaints were not even related to that work. I will not use this hotel in Grand Rapids again in the future, and will be concerned about staying in other Marriott Courtyard Hotels in the future. I travelled extensively for my work prior to my retirement, and I never experienced such poor service. Now retired I have the opportunity to travel for pleasure, and am concerned about recommendations for hotels by [...]. I am able to stay at more upscale hotels than Marriott Courtyard for personal travel, but sometimes have to be more frugal for business travel. If I should have another experience like this, I will use other travel companies.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Grand Rapids Downtown

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Fort Myers, FL
Apr 24, 2007

My review of Courtyard by Marriott Grand Rapids Downtown

Front Desk personnel was very pleasant, and helpful. Was not happy about the Parking; both times, the one lot was full, and I had to go (alone) to the basement parking, which was further and felt a little unsafe. Found the Bed to be very unconfortable. Otherwise, the location is good, and the price was not bad.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There are a couple of restaurants that stay open late, and they are just across street from hotel... good for business travel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Grand Rapids Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
GS Traveler
Business
Columbus Oh.
Jan 5, 2014

Nice Location

Stayed in a room close to elevators, a bit noisey! Other than that very nice. The Direct TV had some issues that night. Maybe weather? Nice location though, easy to get in and out.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

A lot of nice resturants close by, good selection and various types of food to chose from

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Grand Rapids Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jammie
Business
Bossier City, LA
Jul 22, 2009

Good location for price

We were visiting family in the area and did not spend a great deal of time in the hotel. The telephone did not work and was never repaired or replaced. We waited for staff at the front desk on 3 separate occasions (once for nearly 15 minutes, twice for 7-8 minutes). We assumed parking was included in our packaged price, and were disappointed to learn it was not.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Grand Rapids Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jah42084
Business
Wisconsin
Mar 20, 2012

Hotel great, Reservarion app unessecary

The experience was fine, but people checking in as walk ins received the same room rate I dd from booking through this app what's the point in using your service if that's the case?

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Grand Rapids Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
St. Johns, MI.
Jan 9, 2010

great location

Location was within walking distance of everything.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Grand Rapids Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Muskegon, MI
Jan 25, 2010

Great location

Went to Brad Paisley concert. Was great to walk the skyway to VanAndel. Vefry convenient!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Grand Rapids Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
black barbie
Business
Cedar Springs, Mi
Mar 3, 2011

Boys night out!

ME and some friends went hung out by the pool, went out to the local bars, dinner, dancing it was fun! was worth the money! caught up with some old friends!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Close bars! but very busy, lots of cover better just find one good one and stay at it!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Grand Rapids Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Burnem
Business
Fenton Mi
Dec 12, 2011

Perfect Downtown location

Spent two nights during GVSU graduation ceremony. Perfect location for any downtown events. Could walk to Van Andel without ever going outdoors. Reasonably priced compared to other downtown locations. Room was OK - staff was outstanding.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Grand Rapids Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Brewer12345
Business
Berwyn, IL, USA
May 1, 2012

Close to downtown

Right in the middle of everything, easy reasonable parking ($14 NIGHT), close to all the colleges in the downtown area. Rooms small but clean. Added bonus it's walking distance (5 BLOCKS) to Founders Brewery, and the beer is FABULOUS! Overpriced at $200 a night, no complimentary breakfast. I could get a room cheaper in downtown Chicago.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Near Founders Brewery!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top