BEST WESTERN Hospitality Hotel & Suites

3 stars
View map of 5500 28th Street SE, Grand Rapids, MI 49512-2052

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
98 reviews
Highly recommend

AWSOME! Stayed in one of their suites, it had two bathrooms,living room and small kitchen area. The... See full review

  • Dallas 6050
  • May 30, 2014
Multiple visits to this hotel

I have stayed at this hotel with my family on more than one occasion. The rooms, service, breakfast... See full review

  • NBC
  • Jul 2, 2015

For a relaxing travel experience with great value, choose the Best Western Hospitality Hotel & Suites. This AAA Two Diamond rated hotel is located minutes from the Grand Rapids airport, and a complimentary airport shuttle is available from 4:15 a.m. until midnight. Wi-Fi Internet access is complimentary, and a free hot continental breakfast buffet is served each morning.

Rooms

Guest rooms at the Best Western Hospitality Hotel & Suites come with free Wi-Fi Internet access, free local calls under 30 minutes, and cable TV, including HBO. All rooms feature microwaves, refrigerators and a coffee/tea maker. Private bathrooms include Pantene shampoo and Intensive Care body lotion amenities. Adjoining rooms, cribs and physically challenged rooms are available.

Property features

Conveniently located off I-96, Best Western Hospitality Hotel & Suites offers travelers a convenient Grand Rapids location near the John Ball Zoo and Frederik Meijer Gardens. A hot breakfast buffet is complimentary each morning, and an evening reception is hosted from Monday to Thursday. The hotel is pet-friendly (fees apply). A local shuttle within a 3-mile radius is available by request, based on availability.

Highlights
  • Complimentary airport shuttle
  • Complimentary hot breakfast buffet
  • Free high-speed wireless Internet access
  • Indoor swimming pool, Jacuzzi and fitness center
  • Outside basketball half-court, volleyball court
Nearby attractions
  • Grand Rapids Brewing Co (2.3 mi/3.6 km)
  • Frederik Meijer Gardens (7.1 mi/11.4 km)
  • Van Andel Arena (9 mi/14.4 km)
  • DeVos Place (9.2 mi/14.9 km)
  • John Ball Zoo (10.7 mi/17.3 km)
  • Holland Dutch Village (30.1 mi/48.5 km)
Business
  • Free high-speed wireless Internet access available throughout the hotel
  • Meeting space for up to 75 guests
  • Business center with printer, fax machine and copier
  • Catering available
Transportation
  • Gerald R. Ford International Airport (1.4 mi/2.3 km)
  • Grand Rapids Amtrak (9.2 mi/14.8 km)
  • Free airport shuttle
Recreation

Guests swim in the indoor heated pool and relax in the steam room and Jacuzzi tub. The Best Western Hospitality Hotel & Suites fitness center (open from 8 a.m. to 11 p.m.) is equipped with stationary bikes and treadmills. Travel up and down the outdoor basketball half-court, or punch the ball on the volleyball court.

Top hotels

BEST WESTERN Hospitality Hotel & Suites Rooms

2 QUEEN BEDS
2 QUEEN BEDS,NSMK,HI SPEED NET,MICFRG,CFMKR,IRN,HAIR,FULL BREAKFAST
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,NSMK,HI SPEED NET,MICFRG,CFMKR,IRN,HAIR,FULL BREAKFAST
SUITE-1 KING BED
SUITE-1 KING BED,NSMK,2BATHRMS,SOFABED,MICROFRIDGE,HI SPD,FULL BREAKFAST
SUITE-1 KING BED
SUITE-1 KING BED,NSMK,WHIRLPOOL,HI SPEED NET,MICROFRIDGE,FULL BREAKFAST
ACCESSIBLE - 1 QUEEN
ACCESSIBLE - 1 QUEEN,MOBACC,COMAST,ROLLSH,NSMK,FULL BREAKFAST
ACCESSIBLE - 1 QUEEN
ACCESSIBLE - 1 QUEEN,MOBACC,COMAST,BATHTB,NSMK,FULL BREAKFAST

Amenities

  • Free breakfast
  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Exercise gym
Dining
Free breakfast
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Laundry service
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Copy service
Audio visual equipment
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Outdoor parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Safe
Phone with speaker
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Sofa bed
Electronic door locks
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Van Andel Arena: 7.8 mi

Dining

Macaroni Grill
Across the street from Macaroni Grill, full service, Italian, open for: lunch, dinner
Olive Garden
2 mile(s) from Olive Garden, full service, Italian, open for: lunch, dinner
Ichiban
3 mile(s) from Ichiban, bar/lounge, Chinese, open for: lunch, dinner
Osaka
1.5 mile(s) from Osaka, full service, Chinese, open for: lunch, dinner, sushi and hibachi restaurant
Brann's Steakhouse
Adjacent to Brann's Steakhouse, full service, steak house, open for: breakfast, lunch, dinner
Gippers Bar & Restaurant
Across the street from Gippers Bar & Restaurant, bar/lounge, American, open for: lunch, dinner
Charley's Crab
12 mile(s) from Charley's Crab, full service, seafood, open for: lunch, dinner
San Chez Tapas Bistro
10 mile(s) from San Chez Tapas Bistro, full service, International, open for: lunch, dinner

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for BEST WESTERN Hospitality Hotel & Suites

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
32 out of 98
Amenities:
3.5
Cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.7
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
4
Value:
3.6

78% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of BEST WESTERN Hospitality Hotel & Suites

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Tyler
Business
South Bend
Apr 6, 2015

Eh, it was ok.

They were pretty bad. They messed up our reservation, charged us extra money, the door to our room wouldn't lock. Overall, the staff was nice, and the room itself was ok, but it wasn't worth the trouble.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of BEST WESTERN Hospitality Hotel & Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Carli
Business
N/A
Jan 20, 2015

Birthday night

The room was great for the price we got. I usually go here, however, they changed the age of adult to 21 so I had to have my mother book the room which was a hassle. The sauna was also out of order, a big bummer.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of BEST WESTERN Hospitality Hotel & Suites

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
JanetRx
Business
Haiku, Maui
Sep 23, 2014

Disappointing

The desk clerk seemed agitated that we had booked on-line. She at first said she did not see our reservation, then finally found it . The security lock on our door had obviously been ripped off the door and a new one had been added below the damaged area. The grout in the tub and shower area was covered with black mildew. The window looked out onto a very dirty sill covered with cobwebs and dead bugs. Outside the window was a dilapidated seating area surrounded by tall weeds. A little farther off was a trash pile of discarded furniture. The motor in the hot tub was making so much noise that it was far from relaxing. The pool had a scummy layer floating on top-not sure what that was.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of BEST WESTERN Hospitality Hotel & Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
cintigirl
Business
Ohio
Jun 30, 2014

weekend getaway

The hotel certainly did not have any thrills but for the price and relative location, it was worth it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of BEST WESTERN Hospitality Hotel & Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Michael AV
Business
South Bend, IN
Dec 30, 2013

Not too bad

Fairly average hotel. Nothing was wrong with the room and no noise. Would stay here again if the price was a bit lower next time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of BEST WESTERN Hospitality Hotel & Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
nikkiw12602
Business
michigan
Nov 11, 2013

much nicer inside than what it looks like outside!

Overall it was a very good experience. ..thr room was clean, staff friendly, breakfast was good! I would definatly recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

The woodland mall is near this hotel and it is such a nice mall!

Review of BEST WESTERN Hospitality Hotel & Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
SF who loves to travel
Business
the South
Oct 7, 2013

great location

The good: Using the shuttle service to and from the airport was easy and the shuttle was prompt - the drivers friendly. Great area with easy access to shopping and restaurants close by. Even though we were on 28th Street, inside was very quiet. The breakfast was great. It was located upstairs in a horseshoe shaped "loft" overlooking the lobby. Friendly staff. The maintenance man responded very quickly to a problem we had in our room. Nice inside pool. The bed was very clean, crisp and comfortable. The not so good: There was an unpleasant smell in our room that never totally dissipated. It got a little better when they replaced the shower curtain which had soured. The room was ordinary in size. It was stale, slightly damp and badly needed airing - maybe because it was close to the pool area. Except for the maintenance man, the service was a bit careless. When our room was serviced, they forgot to service the coffee pot. (no coffee for next day) We asked for an early morning wake up call (plane to catch) but never received it. When we mentioned it to the clerk, his only comment was, "You didn't? Shoot." I would recommend it because the price was right and if we had asked for a different room, we probably wouldn't have had the same room issues of smell and dampness. But I wouldn't recommend depending on the wake up call service...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The food at the restaurant was delicious and reasonably priced. It was pleasant to be able to walk next door - a short distance on level ground - with greenery and trees surrounding you.

Review of BEST WESTERN Hospitality Hotel & Suites

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
this site is unfriendly
Business
N MI
Oct 4, 2013

Not Impressive

Check-in was extremely slow, and the overall cleanliness was disappointing for a seemingly fairly nice facility. The pool was covered with scum.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of BEST WESTERN Hospitality Hotel & Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Camaro Dave
Business
Eastpointe, MI
May 29, 2013

great stay

I really enjoyed my stay, very clean room, great value. Has a fridge, microwave, and free wifi. The TV channel selection was sparse, but its a new Samsung screen and I can hook my laptop up with an HDMI cord, so Netflix! Great stay would recommend for the $$

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Meijers is right across the street as well as plenty of fast food very close by. Its just off of 96, so its quick to travel from that location too.

Review of BEST WESTERN Hospitality Hotel & Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sweddle
Business
Ypsilanti, MI
Feb 19, 2013

Excellent!

I went here over the weekend, and couldn't be happier. The room was a little small, but it was super comfortable. The TV was HUGE, was totally not expecting that, and I was able to plug in a PS3 and enjoy playing games over the free Wi-Fi. Will definitely be coming back the next time I am in town.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Osaka hibachi, just down the road, was seriously the best meal and entertainment ever.

Back to menu Return to top