$76 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 1, 2015 Check-out: Jan 3, 2015

BEST WESTERN Hospitality Hotel & Suites

3 stars
5500 28th Street SE, Grand Rapids, MI 49512-2052
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
95 reviews
Highly recommend

AWSOME! Stayed in one of their suites, it had two bathrooms,living room and small kitchen area. The... See full review

  • Dallas 6050
  • May 30, 2014
Birthday getaway

My family and I enjoyed our stay at this hotel very much! The location was perfect with a Meijer... See full review

  • Susan Hampton
  • Dec 2, 2013
Grand Rapids hotel with pool, free breakfast and airport shuttle

For a relaxing travel experience with great value, choose the Best Western Hospitality Hotel & Suites. This AAA Two Diamond rated hotel is located minutes from the Grand Rapids airport, and a complimentary airport shuttle is available from 4:15 a.m. until midnight. Wi-Fi Internet access is complimentary, and a free hot continental breakfast buffet is served each morning.

Highlights
  • Complimentary airport shuttle
  • Complimentary hot breakfast buffet
  • Free high-speed wireless Internet access
  • Indoor swimming pool, Jacuzzi and fitness center
  • Outside basketball half-court, volleyball court
Rooms

Guest rooms at the Best Western Hospitality Hotel & Suites come with free Wi-Fi Internet access, free local calls under 30 minutes, and cable TV, including HBO. All rooms feature microwaves, refrigerators and a coffee/tea maker. Private bathrooms include Pantene shampoo and Intensive Care body lotion amenities. Adjoining rooms, cribs and physically challenged rooms are available.

Features

Conveniently located off I-96, Best Western Hospitality Hotel & Suites offers travelers a convenient Grand Rapids location near the John Ball Zoo and Frederik Meijer Gardens. A hot breakfast buffet is complimentary each morning, and an evening reception is hosted from Monday to Thursday. The hotel is pet-friendly (fees apply). A local shuttle within a 3-mile radius is available by request, based on availability.

Recreation

Guests swim in the indoor heated pool and relax in the steam room and Jacuzzi tub. The Best Western Hospitality Hotel & Suites fitness center (open from 8 a.m. to 11 p.m.) is equipped with stationary bikes and treadmills. Travel up and down the outdoor basketball half-court, or punch the ball on the volleyball court.

Transportation
  • Gerald R. Ford International Airport (1.4 mi/2.3 km)
  • Grand Rapids Amtrak (9.2 mi/14.8 km)
  • Free airport shuttle
Attractions
  • Grand Rapids Brewing Co (2.3 mi/3.6 km)
  • Frederik Meijer Gardens (7.1 mi/11.4 km)
  • Van Andel Arena (9 mi/14.4 km)
  • DeVos Place (9.2 mi/14.9 km)
  • John Ball Zoo (10.7 mi/17.3 km)
  • Holland Dutch Village (30.1 mi/48.5 km)
Business
  • Free high-speed wireless Internet access available throughout the hotel
  • Meeting space for up to 75 guests
  • Business center with printer, fax machine and copier
  • Catering available

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed BEST WESTERN Hospitality Hotel & Suites also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5

BEST WESTERN Hospitality Hotel & Suites Rooms

2 QUEEN BEDS
2 QUEEN BEDS,NSMK,HI SPEED NET,MICFRG,CFMKR,IRN,HAIR,FULL BREAKFAST
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,NSMK,HI SPEED NET,MICFRG,CFMKR,IRN,HAIR,FULL BREAKFAST
SUITE-1 KING BED
SUITE-1 KING BED,NSMK,2BATHRMS,SOFABED,MICROFRIDGE,HI SPD,FULL BREAKFAST
SUITE-1 KING BED
SUITE-1 KING BED,NSMK,WHIRLPOOL,HI SPEED NET,MICROFRIDGE,FULL BREAKFAST
ACCESSIBLE - 1 QUEEN
ACCESSIBLE - 1 QUEEN,MOBACC,COMAST,ROLLSH,NSMK,FULL BREAKFAST
ACCESSIBLE - 1 QUEEN
ACCESSIBLE - 1 QUEEN,MOBACC,COMAST,BATHTB,NSMK,FULL BREAKFAST

Amenities

  • Free breakfast
  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Exercise gym
Sauna
Steam bath
Dining
Free breakfast
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
FAX
Conference facilities
Copy service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Outdoor parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Safe
Phone with speaker
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Cribs available
Sofa bed
Electronic door locks
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Van Andel Arena: 7.8 mi

Dining

Macaroni Grill
Across the street from Macaroni Grill, Full Service, Italian, Open for: lunch, dinner,
Olive Garden
2 mile(s) from Olive Garden, Full Service, Italian, Open for: lunch, dinner,
Bennigan's
1 mile(s) from Bennigan's, Full Service, American, Open for: lunch,
Charley's Crab
12 mile(s) from Charley's Crab, Full Service, Seafood, Open for: lunch, dinner,
Brann's Steakhouse
Adjacent to Brann's Steakhouse, Full Service, Steak House, Open for: breakfast, lunch, dinner,
Yen Ching
1 mile(s) from Yen Ching, Bar/Lounge, Chinese, Open for: lunch, dinner,
San Chez Tapas Bistro
10 mile(s) from San Chez Tapas Bistro, Full Service, International, Open for: lunch, dinner,

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (95)

Ratings and reviews for BEST WESTERN Hospitality Hotel & Suites

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
95 out of 95
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.8

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of BEST WESTERN Hospitality Hotel & Suites

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Serviceman.
Business
Jacksonville,NC
Mar 21, 2012

Not good at all!

This hotel is old and out-dated. They charge you as if its a modern hotel, but everything inside is from the 70's and 80's. i do not recommend anyone with standards to rent from this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN Hospitality Hotel & Suites

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Jerry No. 10
Business
Capac, Mich. 48014
Jan 12, 2014

Room very nice, Parking lot snow and Ice covered.

The roon was very nice. Getting to the room from the parking lot was very dangerious, Parking lot was full of snow and ice. Not plowed or salted. Would not recommend in the winter time. Mayed the stay feel like you were taking your wellbeing in your hands go into and from room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
1
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN Hospitality Hotel & Suites

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Grand Rapids Visitor
Business
Michigan
Sep 28, 2009

Wouldn't stay here again

I would not stay at this hotel again, or recommend it to others. Our room had a very "musty" smell to it and we ran in to a number of issues. One, the toilet was plugged when we entered the room--pretty disgusting and when we tried to call the front desk, the phone didn't work. When I went to the front desk, they listened to my concerns and sent a repair man immediately... Unfortunately, he had a difficult time trying to repair both issues and did not speak much English. Here are some other big concerns: 1. No Ice--the machine was out of order, 2. The complimentary breakfast was a joke... cereal with no bowls; waffles, but no syrup. 3. Our key cards didn't always work... some doors opened, some didn't.. We weren't alone because other guests were getting frustrated as well... Finally, the pool was gross. The bottom of the pool had a slimy feel to it. We checked out and ended up going to another hotel... I didn't even want my $ back, we just wanted to get out of there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN Hospitality Hotel & Suites

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Disappointed Visitor to Grand Rapids
Business
Belleville, MI
Apr 22, 2011

Dirty and smelly, checked out early

My husband and I were so disappointed with our stay, we left a night early! We were booked in one of the hotel "suites" with a hottub for two nights, and the room was dirty and smelled horrible. Renovation materials were littered in the hallway outside our room, none of the furniture had drawers that would close, there was a dead spider and a pile of dust and dirt near the tub and we were up the whole night because of noisy conditions from the electrical room below us. When we addressed these concerns with management after one sleepless night, they did not offer to correct any of these problems, but rather tried to argue with us and tell us our complaints were not true! We are generally pretty reasonable and laid back people, but we were upset enough to leave after the first night. We would never stay here again under any circumstances. We were just glad we were not booked there for longer, as it was obvious that management does not care about the happiness of guests who have already pre-paid for their stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN Hospitality Hotel & Suites

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Macomb Michigan
Sep 22, 2010

Survey for stay at Best Western

The hotel for the amount of money that we spent for 1 night stay was alot, and my husband thought it should have been alot nicer.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN Hospitality Hotel & Suites

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
The Phoenix
Business
Barryton, MI 49305, USA
Dec 4, 2011

Not so good

I stayed at this exact same hotel in the exact same room two weeks prior to this visit and had a wonderful experience. This experience left a lot to desire. There were people partying in the hallways and making too much noise too far into the night and once I'm awake, I'm awake. Complaining about it doesn't help. The bathroom had a few problems this time as well. The fan was not working leaving me with a steamy experience the next morning and the bathtub drain was clogged to boot. The staff is always very friendly, but the rest of this experience was not so good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN Hospitality Hotel & Suites

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
daddy2princesses
Business
grand rapids airport, mi
Aug 27, 2012

Princesses DISAPPOINTED!!

As a Daddy-2-princesses, we plan our hotel stays to include an indoor pool for the maximum enjoyment. At ages 2 and 4, imagine their anticipation of swimming indoors in such a nice looking pool....only to find that it was FREEEEEZZZZIIIING. I would guess it to be around 70 degrees. Having stayed across the street the night before at another 3 star hotel which had a wonderfully warm pool, this hotel may be added to our blacklist for such an important oversight!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Restaurant (bar-style, family-safe) is adjacent and very resonable - especially if you need to warm-up after staying in this freezing pool....

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN Hospitality Hotel & Suites

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
this site is unfriendly
Business
N MI
Oct 4, 2013

Not Impressive

Check-in was extremely slow, and the overall cleanliness was disappointing for a seemingly fairly nice facility. The pool was covered with scum.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN Hospitality Hotel & Suites

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Appleton, WI
Mar 3, 2011

Best Western Review

This hotel was satisfactory. I have stayed there several times on business and the rooms are always clean. They have complimentary coffee, but the cups are tiny. They have a complementary breakfast which is nice as well, not fantastic or anything but satisfactory. Every time I have been there, I have had problems with my key card demagnetizing and I followed the rules about keeping them away from other cards and phone. This hotel seems to need your drivers license and a credit card even though everything is prepaid. Other hotels that I stayed at did not need this.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

This hotel is close to the highway for easy come and go.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN Hospitality Hotel & Suites

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Traverse City MI
May 9, 2009

a minor problem

I was assigned the wrong room. It was already occupied. I wasn't allowed to upgrade because I had already paid through an online travel agency.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

There are tons of restaurants in this area. Anything anybody would want.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top