$209 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 11, 2015 Check-out: Jul 12, 2015

Amway Grand Plaza Hotel

5 stars
View map of 187 Monroe Avenue North West, Grand Rapids, MI 49503

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.4
out of 5
100 reviews
Loved the hotel

Loved the skywalk to van Andel and the staff. Great stay. See full review

  • Would go back to Chicago
  • Jun 23, 2015
Loved the hotel

Loved the skywalk to van Andel and the staff. Great stay. See full review

  • Would go back to Chicago
  • Jun 23, 2015
Amway Grand Plaza offers elegant old world charm set amid the sophistication of today. It is luxuriously appointed with 682 guest rooms/8 resturants and lounges. The Amway Grand Plaza is located in the heart of downtown Grand Rapids. It has been recently recognized as a World Class Hotel and Meeting Facility by Conde Nast Traveler/rating us in the Top 12 of N. America*s finest hotels.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Amway Grand Plaza Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

Amway Grand Plaza Hotel Rooms

Classic Room with 1 King Bed
1 king bed - 275-450sq ft - Complimentary high speed Internet access
Plaza Luxury Suite
King bed with separate sitting area 1 and a half baths- 1007 sq feet
Classic Room with 2 Queen Beds
2 Queen beds- 275-450 sq feet- complimentary high speed Internet access
River View Room with 1 King Bed
Grand River view, complimentary high speed Internet access, 450 sq feet
River View Room with 2 Queen Bed
Grand River view, complimentary high speed Internet access, 450 square feet
Superior Room
Pillow top mattresses - separate sitting area - microwave - mini-fridge - 510 sq feet
Junior Suite
1 king bed- 533 sq ft- marble showers high speed Internet access
Concierge Level Room
1 King bed - concierge lounge access with continental breakfast and cocktail hour
Tower Luxury Suite
Two Room Suite 1 King Bed - separate sitting area - mini-fridge - 614 sq ft
Tower Executive Suite
access to the Concierge Lounge- Continental breakfast and complimentary cocktails

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Indoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
Executive level
24 hour security
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness Center
Jacuzzi
Sauna
Children's activities
Golf
Tennis
Racquetball courts
Boating
Fishing
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Coffee shop
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Express checkout
Childcare Service
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
Airline desk
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
Barber shop
Porters
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Copy service
Currency exchange
Audio visual equipment
Conference suite
Cellular telephone rental
Computer rental
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Indoor parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Safe
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Outlet adapters
Turndown service
Cribs available
Temperature control
Iron
Ironing board
Sprinklers in rooms

Nearby points of interest

  • Van Andel Arena: 0.3 mi

Dining

Benthams Riverfront Restaurant
Grand Rapids best kept secret/this fabulous restaurant is perched over the Grand River and offers innovative entrees and award winning desserts.
GP Sports
A new casual/high-energy sports bar/featuring and array of a la carte dishes from appetizers/soups and salads to main entrees.
Cornucopia
A food emporium combines the variety of a delicatessen with the style of a gourmet shop.
Cygnus
High atop the Amway Grand Plaza Tower/ Cygnus boasts the city*s most elegant setting with casual fine dining.
Starbucks
Starbucks-Specialty coffee chop.
LumberBaron Bar
Enjoy light appetizers/ desserts and evening cocktails. Smoke-free bar.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Ratings and reviews for Amway Grand Plaza Hotel

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
100 out of 100
Amenities:
4.3
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.1

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Amway Grand Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mary Beth super dad
Business
Michigan
Dec 31, 2013

Beautiful hotel

Excellent as always. Top notch staff with great amenities. Only place I stay while visiting in Grand Rapids.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Amway Grand Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
vee123
Business
chicago illinois
Mar 31, 2014

getaway weekend

Great service when we first arrived from the valet parking to the room. The hotel has everything in it. Great restaurants inside.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Amway Grand Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Trace Bundy fan
Business
Pontiac, MI, USA
Oct 9, 2011

Trace Bundy concert

We traveled across the state to hear Trace Bundy perform in Grand Rapids. I booked the Amway based on the reviews I read on Orbitz. The hotel was spectacular! We parked easily and walked into the older part of the hotel. The decor was breath-taking, crystal chandeliers the size of an suv, velvet everywhere, ornate architectural details! We found the check-in desk (between the old part of the hotel and the new part) Our room was in the new section, 11th floor, corner room so the views of the city and the river were fantastic. The room had everything we needed, including a small fridge. Beds were comfortable, 24 hour room service and we watched fly fishermen fishing in the river while we ate our morning breakfast. The staff was extremely friendly and polite. Loved our stay there!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Amway Grand Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Djembenina
Business
Lake Orion, MI 48362, USA
Mar 4, 2012

a dream

Amway Grand Plaza is a dreamy hotel! I felt like a Princess back in time surrounded by the beautiful antiques and decorations.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Cornucopia has delicious wraps!

Review of Amway Grand Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Florida Bill
Business
Sarasota, FL, USA
Apr 30, 2012

1st time in Grand Rapids

Was very pleased with my stay at the Amway. We stayed in the older tower, however everything was updated and in great condition. The hotel had a wide variety of food/bar options if you chose to stay in the hotel, but the location being right downtown made going out a breeze. My only negatives, (which are minor) would be the pillows in the room being to puffy, and the vending machine on my floor was not stocked for the duration of my stay. So I would have to go to another floor to get a drink. I would 100% stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to Tre Cugini and get the Gnocci. It's about a 2 minute walk from the hotel and some of the best Italian food I have had.

Review of Amway Grand Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
kpdual90
Business
Ann Arbor, Michigan
May 22, 2012

Expensive but worth it

If you need to be downtown this is a perfect place to stay. We always pay the little extra to stay on the concierge floor as the open bar and meals are a great value and make the stay convenient.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Amway Grand Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
JumpMaster Matt
Business
Clearwater, Florida
Jul 17, 2012

Going to Wedding

Hotel was recommended by a friend. IT WAS PERFECT. Had a great time and all was well

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Amway Grand Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mickeyrules
Business
Royal Oak, Michigan
Aug 26, 2012

Great Hotel & Perfect Location

I went to GR for the AQS Quilt Show & Amway Grand was a great host & thought of everything for us quilters. Definitely staying again for next years show. Thank you Amway!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Amway Grand Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anniversary7
Business
Holly, MI
Jun 24, 2013

Great Stay

Loved the hotel! Beautiful, rooms are very big, great view.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Amway Grand Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Charlevoix, Michigan
Jun 24, 2013

Wedding

Very nice accomodations, great location for a downtown event.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top