$189 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Apr 10, 2015 Check-out: Apr 11, 2015

Amway Grand Plaza Hotel

5 stars
View map of 187 Monroe Avenue North West, Grand Rapids, MI 49503

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Amway Grand Plaza Hotel

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
87 out of 87
Amenities:
4.3
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.7
Value:
4

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Amway Grand Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Allison V
Business
Michigan
Aug 6, 2014

Short overnight

Great hotel as always, but this time got booked next to the maid's room and the morning started in the very early morning. Despite having the do not disturb sign on the door, every maid's knock on adjacent doors sounded like it was ours. Beautiful stay except for the chance location in the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Amway Grand Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Honored Maid of Honor
Business
Michigan
Aug 4, 2014

Girls Weekend

The staff was very friendly and helpful while checking in. The location is perfect for a night on the town. I'd definitely recommend

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Amway Grand Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kat08
Business
Saginaw, MI
Aug 3, 2014

Very lovely.

This hotel is very nice. The staff was friendly. The room was much smaller than I expected. I could also hear the tv in the room next to mine VERY clearly. Thankfully they didn't keep it on all night. The address listed also isn't that of the check-in. There are a few entrances and the easiest to the check-in was on another side, which is where the valet (not included in room price) is and is more like a main entrance.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Valet costs extra (and is not on the side with the address listed), so my suggestion is to just go to a parking garage. There is a public one on Lyon, by the water. It's a short walk (up the road and around the corner), but it is cheaper than paying valet.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Amway Grand Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Chicky05
Business
Saginaw, MI
Jul 28, 2014

Great Night Away!

Very comfortable, all staff was amazing, overall a great place to stay!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Amway Grand Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
alunimumbat
Business
Portland, OR
Jul 22, 2014

great stay

The staff was fantastic and the hotel was gorgeous. We asked for a cot and they gave wheeled a bed with an actual mattress into our room. The location was downtown Grand Rapids, near a variety of bars and restaurants.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Amway Grand Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jessmae49442
Business
muskegon mi
Jul 15, 2014

good romantic evening away

The hotel was a great experience. I will most certainly be going back

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Amway Grand Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Stork Family
Business
Michigan
Jul 14, 2014

Last minute overnight

We booked this room as a last minute getaway. The value was good for the downtown location. Our room was in the historic part of the hotel. It was spacious, but the sound proofing is terrible. You can hear every conversation walking past your doorway. We were also awakened at 1:30 am by the party going on in the room next door (though they might as well have been in the same room with us). If it had been more than an overnight getaway, I would have been disappointed in the overall quality of the accommodations.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There are many great places to eat outside the hotel. The hotel dining options charge hotel prices for (in my opinion) average quality. It is worth the short walk to try some of the independently owned restaurants in the immediate area.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Amway Grand Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
wheel750
Business
Ann Arbor
Jul 14, 2014

Grand Rapids

Everything was great here. Parking was really easy and there were plenty of restaurants and bars inside and nearby the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Amway Grand Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mikejonesgr
Business
grand rapids, mi
Jun 19, 2014

Nice Place

It's not as nice as the JW but it's got great character and tradition.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Amway Grand Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mikejonesgr
Business
grand rapids, mi
Jun 10, 2014

Great room

Stayed at the Amway and it's always been great. I wish they had 12:00 check out like the Marriot, but I know 11:00 is the average. I liked that my room included free internet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top