$90 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 6, 2014 Check-out: Sep 7, 2014

Gatehouse Suites East Lansing

3 stars
1600 E Grand River Avenue, East Lansing, MI 48823-4905
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
33 reviews
Love it!!

This was my third time staying here and it felt like home. The staff is always positive and friendly. See full review

  • kbomb15
  • Mar 30, 2014
felt like home

I loved staying here again. it feels like home and the staff is wonderful and attentive. the wifi... See full review

  • kbomb15
  • Nov 24, 2013
The Gatehouse Suites of East Lansing hotel is located one block from Michigan State University with many exciting activities at venues like the Wharton Center for Performing Arts. Make your reservations to visit Michigan s State Capital City of Lansing and enjoy all area attractions near our comfortable all-suite hotel. We offer Studio Suites and Deluxe Penthouse Suites ideal for families traveling to East Lansing Michigan. Our suites feature a large living area with fireplace and sofa sleeper convenient workstation and full kitchens. The Penthouse Suites are loft style with two bedrooms and two baths providing additional privacy and comfort to both business and leisure guests. 100pct Non-Smoking Hotel Complimentary High-Speed Wireless Internet Access Daily Housekeeping Service Fitness Center Grocery Shopping Service Daily Hot Breakfast Complimentary Laundry Facilities Newspaper Service in Lobby Outdoor Pool and Whirlpool Seasonal Parking Complimentary On-site and Ample Pet Friendly Fee Weekday Evening Managers Reception Dinner Mon-Thu

Hotel Map

42.7291 -84.4609
Nearby airports
Capital City Airport, (LAN), 9.00, MI, SE; Detroit Metropolitan Wayne County, (DTW), 84.00, MI, SE; Detroit City Airport, (DET), 90.00, MI, NW;
Area description
City Center

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Gatehouse Suites East Lansing also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5

Gatehouse Suites East Lansing Rooms

Standard
Description not provided
Suite
Studio Suite - Spacious suite includes wireless internet access fully equipped kitchen with refrigerator microwave and coffee maker Queen bed with crisp linens thicker mattress and fluffy pillow. 525 SQ FT
Suite
Penthouse Suite - Spacious Loft suite includes wireless internet access fully equipped kitchen with refrigerator microwave and coffee maker 1 Queen bed and 1 Murphy Bed with crisp linens thicker mattresses fluffier pillows and 2 Baths. 800 SQ FT

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Heated pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Pet friendly
24 hour security
Activities
Heated pool
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Golf
Tennis
Racquetball courts
Boating
Fishing
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Guest laundromat
Laundry/Valet services
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
FAX
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Accessible rooms
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Telephone
Kitchen
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Cribs available
Fire place
Sofa bed
Shower
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
Smoke detectors

Nearby points of interest

  • Spartan Stadium: 1.2 mi
  • Munn Ice Arena: 1.4 mi
  • Breslin Student Events Center: 1.6 mi

Dining

Coral Gables
Causal Dining
Pizza house
Casual Dining Pizzeria Bar and Grill

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (33)

Ratings and reviews for Gatehouse Suites East Lansing

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
33 out of 33
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.1

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Gatehouse Suites East Lansing

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Texas sister
Austin, Texas
Aug 10, 2014

Great Place to stay!

Full kitchen and all you need to use it. Quiet setting, conveniently located. Pool and basketball hoop for kids, plenty of convenient parking, flowers and a nice breakfast. I

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Gatehouse Suites East Lansing

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
kbomb15
Birmingham, al
Mar 30, 2014

Love it!!

This was my third time staying here and it felt like home. The staff is always positive and friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Gatehouse Suites East Lansing

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Mom taking son to college
Minnesota
Feb 9, 2014

Needs help

The staff was very helpful, efficient, and friendly. The location and style of the hotel is what drew me to it. The room, itself, however, was sub-par. It smelled heavily of cigarette smoke (I specifically requested a non-smoking room) and something akin to sewer gas. The kitchen table had been wiped off (evidenced by the dry water marks) but it was still dirty, with obvious clumps of food stuck to it. And the toilet would not flush properly, which may have accounted for the sewer smell even though there was nothing obvious in the bowl itself. We were only in the room long enough to sleep for a few hours and catch a very early flight out, so I did not ask for a new room nor did I complain to the staff at the time. I did fill out their comment card, however, so hopefully things will be better for the next guest.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Gatehouse Suites East Lansing

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
kbomb15
Birmingham, al
Nov 24, 2013

felt like home

I loved staying here again. it feels like home and the staff is wonderful and attentive. the wifi was slow at times. I recommend this place to anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Gatehouse Suites East Lansing

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lady Grandstone
Terre Haute, IN
May 27, 2013

Spartan Safehouse

The hotel was in a great location for MSU access. Perfect for any events at MSU!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Gatehouse Suites East Lansing

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Peggy R
Richmond, MI
May 11, 2013

Needs updating and cleaning.

Expected cleaner accommodations. Dust, dirty grout, hair in bathroom, needs vacuuming around walls & furniture. Chairs and couch very stained.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Review of Gatehouse Suites East Lansing

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
uper
Upper Michigan
May 4, 2013

Perfect for visiting college student

Very nice. Breakfast was good, staff very friendly. Would like a little cleaner in bathrooms and kitchen. Very close to campus. Quiet guests. Liked the gazebo over the river.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Gatehouse Suites East Lansing

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Stylin
Jacksonville, FL
May 3, 2013

Very close to the university

The rooms are very clean and I good condition. My only complaint is the heating/cooling system is very noisy. It is an older place. Be very careful pulling out of either entrance as the fence and bushes hide students who are bicycling or walking by.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Gatehouse Suites East Lansing

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
tlytch07
Universal City, TX
Apr 8, 2013

Very Nice

This isn't really a hotel, but more of an Inn with separate suites that have their own kitchenettes, etc. The rooms are all nice and clean and the staff is great. The breakfast was wonderful and everything seemed to be in good repair. Not a bad choice, especially if you will be in the area for an extended time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Gatehouse Suites East Lansing

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Juanitag
Chicago
Apr 8, 2013

Great experience

The staff was warm and welcoming and the location was perfect for our visit to MSU for a conference. The room was big and comfortable although we didn't get to spend much time there. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend staying there for another MSU conference.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Skip the Denny's and try Theio's instead for breakfast down Michigan Ave

Back to menu Return to top

Change search