$154 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 3, 2015 Check-out: Jul 5, 2015

East Lansing Marriott at University Place

3 stars
View map of 300 M.A.C. Avenue, 300 M.A.C. Avenue, East Lansing, MI 48823

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
17 reviews
Weekend Getaway

The hotel décor in the lobby area was beautiful! Rooms were updated, clean and very comfortable.... See full review

  • Pamela G.
  • May 5, 2015
Great location!

We came for our anniversary and Katherine at check in was awesome! The room was clean and warm. The... See full review

  • Jenn721
  • Nov 16, 2014
Let the East Lansing Marriott at University Place be your home away from home here in Michigan! Located just one block from Michigan State University's Spartan Stadium, the Jack Breslin Student Events Center, and the Wharton Center for Performing Arts, our hotel makes it easier than ever for you to explore this wonderful college town. Our recently renovated lobby is our most recent upgrade, joining our renovated guest rooms that are filled with helpful amenities including high-speed Internet, plush bedding, and deluxe bathroom products. Take advantage of our hotel restaurant and lounge while you're here in East Lansing. Squeeze in a workout at our fitness center, or enjoy a swim in the heated indoor pool. If you're organizing an event in Lansing, our hotel provides 10,000 square feet of well-appointed, versatile venue space, as well as full-service planning and catering. Whatever your reason for joining us, we know you'll feel right at home here at the East Lansing Marriott at University Place.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed East Lansing Marriott at University Place also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.9 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free airport shuttle
  • Indoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Concierge
Elevators
Executive level
Ice machine
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Sauna
Tennis
Horseback riding
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Room service
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Express check in
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
Concierge desk
Laundry/Valet services
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
Barber shop
Barber/Beauty shop
FAX
Video checkout
Gift shop
Drugstore
Florist
Internet
High-speed internet
Transportation
Free airport shuttle
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Turndown service
Cribs available
In room movies
Sofa bed
Temperature control
Iron
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Spartan Stadium: 0.5 mi
  • Munn Ice Arena: 0.7 mi
  • Breslin Student Events Center: 0.8 mi

Dining

Bistro 43 - Breakfast 2nd Floor
Our second floor restaurant is open for breakfast and features a wide range of American classics to satisfy any appetite. Start your morning here in East Lansing with a filling, flavorful meal.
Bistro 43 - Great Room Restaurant and Lounge - Main Floor
The Great Room meets the needs of today's Marriott traveler, combining work and play. Gather with friends or colleagues here at our casual restaurant for lunch, dinner, or a light bite.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Ratings and reviews for East Lansing Marriott at University Place

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
17 out of 17
Amenities:
3.5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.1

76% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of East Lansing Marriott at University Place

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Pamela G.
Business
N/A
May 5, 2015

Weekend Getaway

The hotel décor in the lobby area was beautiful! Rooms were updated, clean and very comfortable. Walking distance to a lot of shopping and restaurants. Had some issues getting to our floor (#5) in the elevator by using the key. Other than that, our stay was great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of East Lansing Marriott at University Place

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jenn721
Business
Troy MI
Nov 16, 2014

Great location!

We came for our anniversary and Katherine at check in was awesome! The room was clean and warm. The hotel is situated close to bars. Downside is no free internet and pay to park.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of East Lansing Marriott at University Place

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Best Cheer Mom
Business
East Lansing, Michigan
Jun 9, 2014

Fantastic place to stay

Had a very nice stay at this Marriott. The rooms were very clean the pool also very clean which is a bonus.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of East Lansing Marriott at University Place

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Life is an Adventure
Business
Massachusetts
Apr 7, 2014

We won't be going back

For visiting family, the hotel location was ideal and it would have been an average hotel stay except for two reasons: First, an unpleasant odor came in through the air vents later in the evening. Although the smell remained only for about an hour, it definitely diminished the enjoyment of the room. Second, I had a minor allergic reaction to something in the room, most likely the detergent used on the linens. There are other hotels in the area and we will be choosing them for our next visit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of East Lansing Marriott at University Place

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Bitnippy
Business
West Coast
Jan 14, 2014

If there was a minus Star I would check it.

First of all we were 3 adults they had us in a King Bed. (All 3 names were on the reservation) Then they asked me for my creditcard when I got there,ok. My reservation was already paid for as a package and the hotel CHARGED ME AGAIN! When I went to the desk to ask them about it they shooed me away with "Oh well it will drop off in 3-4 business days" Ok now today with the pending charges there is an additional charge for $110.14 for ??? I will NEVER stay here AGAIN. Hotel Way over priced for what is.The weight room was locked.They gave us 2 cups and 3 decaf coffee packets? Not a good stay and those charges are still pending on my account!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of East Lansing Marriott at University Place

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dave26
Business
Detroit, MI
Jan 13, 2014

Good stay

This hotel had good service and the rooms were clean

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of East Lansing Marriott at University Place

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Nurse Suzi
Business
traverse City
Dec 15, 2013

Graduation

I stay at many hotels. The bed was very uncomfortable the carpet was sticky, not soft. I felt the pricd was high for the comfort of the hotel. Also needed to pay for parking which I do not remember it being stated on the web site. It was very close to things in East Lansing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of East Lansing Marriott at University Place

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Al the traveller
Business
Raleigh, NC
Mar 18, 2013

Good location

Very clean, although beginning to show age. Restaurant was great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of East Lansing Marriott at University Place

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Musician and Swimmer
Business
Grand Rapids, MI
Feb 11, 2013

Stayed with family for a school function

We stayed here for a couple activities in the Lansing area. The service and the food both in the evening and breakfasts were all excellent. Food servers go out of their way to help. However even with that, the hotel rate seems a bit pricey. Also we're charged for parking on Sunday even though East Lansing allows free parking to anyone in that lot on Sunday. (??)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of East Lansing Marriott at University Place

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
EZZZ
Business
Santa Monica, CA, USA
Nov 14, 2012

Good location, otherwise average.

I picked the Marriott because of its location - proximity to the MSU campus. The staff is polite and accommodating; and the room is clean and relatively spacious. But I find the bed a bit too soft for my taste. Also there is no mini-bar which i find strange (not that I normally use it). The best pat of the hotel is that it provides complimentary shuttle to the airport.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

And the breakfast in the hotel is not bad. I did not have the buffet, instead ordered a la carte. The egg white frittata is a rare healthy treat !

Back to menu Return to top