$116 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 18, 2015 Check-out: Jan 19, 2015

The Westin Book Cadillac Detroit

4 stars
1114 Washington Blvd, Detroit, MI 48226
Best In Stay
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.5
out of 5
28 reviews
Great Bed!

It is difficult for me to sleep in the day however early check in and the dreamy bed gave me the... See full review

  • Dr Clay D
  • Nov 16, 2014
Great location, staff, food.

Quick one night downtown after the Tigers Game. Beautiful hotel room, lobby and public spaces. See full review

  • Mickeydaddy
  • Sep 29, 2014
A star is reborn at this legendary Detroit hotel

The historic Westin Book Cadillac Hotel has been restored to its original splendor with a $200-million renovation, making it one of downtown Detroit's premier lodging destinations. The exquisite hotel features Westin's signature services and amenities, including a fitness center, in-room spa services, and the Kid's Club. Beautifully decorated guest rooms and suites feature premium amenities. Celebrity chef Michael Symon's Roast restaurant offers exceptional cuisine.

Highlights

  • Recently renovated landmark hotel in the heart of downtown Detroit
  • 453 guest rooms, including 35 suites, with sweeping city views
  • Wi-Fi (fees apply)
  • Fitness center, indoor pool, and whirlpool
  • Three restaurants

Rooms

Each guest room and suite showcases rich furnishings and contemporary décor. Guests luxuriate on Westin's signature "Heavenly" beds, which feature plush mattresses and the finest bedding. Premium in-room amenities include a spacious work area, 42-inch plasma television, Wi-Fi, coffee maker with Starbucks coffee, and laptop-sized safe. The large bathroom offers quality bath products, a lighted makeup mirror, and abundant natural light.

Features

When the Book brothers built the Italian Renaissance-style hotel in 1924, it was not only the tallest building in Detroit, but also the tallest hotel in the world. The restored structure -- a member of the National Registry of Historic Buildings -- retains its Gilded-Age ambience while offering modern upgrades.

 

The Westin Book's convenient on-site dining options include Roast, a sophisticated, 8,000-square-foot restaurant overseen by celebrity chef Michael Symon. Symon is a James Beard Foundation award nominee and a Food Network Iron Chef winner. Roast offers guests a creative menu focused on the art of sourcing and preparing heritage meats.

 

The hotel boasts more than 30,000 square feet of meeting and event space, accommodating up to 1,000 guests. The restoration returned the Venetian and Crystal Ballrooms to their original opulence and also created the contemporary new Woodward Ballroom.

Transportation

  • Detroit Metropolitan Airport (21 mi/33.8 km)

Nearby attractions

  • Cobo Convention Center (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • Comerica Park and Ford Field (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Detroit RiverWalk (2.1 mi/3.8 km)

Business

  • In-room work area
  • Wi-Fi
  • Full-service business center
  • Three executive boardrooms

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Westin Book Cadillac Detroit also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

The Westin Book Cadillac Detroit Rooms

Standard
The Amenities listed in this description represent the amenities available in all guest rooms in the hotel

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Activities
Pool
Exercise gym
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Services
Business center
Guest laundromat
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
Multilingual
Shops/Commercial services
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible rooms
Room
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Turndown service
Cribs available
Iron
Smoke detectors

Nearby points of interest

  • Comerica Park: 0.5 mi
  • Joe Louis Arena: 0.5 mi
  • Ford Field: 0.6 mi

Dining

ROAST
ROAST serves signature dishes of artisanal meats from an eclectic, yet refined, menu. Celebrity chef Michael Symon seeks out the highest quality ingredients, pairing them with delicious local craft beers and inventive cocktails.
24 Grille
Serving mouthwatering classics alongside innovative new creations, 24 Grille infuses its contemporary atmosphere with a convivial spirit. An expansive wine list and dedication to locally-sourced food are two hallmarks of this warm and inviting eatery
The Boulevard Room
Executive Chef James Barnett has infused The Boulevard Room’s menu of casual favorites with nourishing SuperFoodsRx™ ingredients. The result is a diverse array of breakfast and lunch items that give you the energy you need to power through your day.
WBC Coffee
Begin your day on the right foot with freshly brewed Starbucks® coffee and a house-made pastry from WBC Coffee, a gourmet grab-and-go stocked with nourishing breakfast, lunch, and snack options.
Motor Bar
The perfect place to unwind after work or gather with friends for a bite to eat, Motor Bar is located on the second floor of the hotel. Experienced bartenders with a passion for their craft mix cocktails in a cozy, chic setting.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (28)

Ratings and reviews for The Westin Book Cadillac Detroit

Overall score

4.6 / 5
5.01.0
5 out of 28
Amenities:
4.6
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4.8
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4.4

100% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Westin Book Cadillac Detroit

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
made in detroit
Business
alpharetta, ga
Sep 6, 2010

Book Cadillac was great for Labor Day!

We enjoyed our stay very much!~

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Book Cadillac Detroit

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MovementFest Attendee
Business
Chicago, IL
Jun 2, 2010

Perfect for Movement Fest

We made the annual journey to Movement Festival and stayed in a much better hotel this time! Check-in was the quickest and easiest I have ever experienced. The rooms were spacious with a sitting room and two TVs. I especially loved the double-headed shower! We were only 1/2 miles from Hart Plaza, so it was a prime location to get to the festival. The only problem I ran into was finding restaurants that were open (other than the hotel ones). Sometimes you just want a cheap meal, especially when traveling with a toddler. Downtown can be pretty sparse, especially on the weekends. Other than that, I would definitely stay here again when in town!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Book Cadillac Detroit

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Tampa Florida
Aug 31, 2009

Great location, clean, nicely appointed

Came in for my son's birthday. Caught games at Comerica and Ford Field. Both are very close. Great time!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Easy access to the ballparks and the people mover for a quick and easy tour of downtown. We rode it to and walked back from Hockey Town and Comerica Park.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Book Cadillac Detroit

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
palestina
Business
Chicago, IL
Mar 20, 2010

HIghly recommended

great stay, so happy that I found a nice clean 4 star hotel that accepts dogs.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Book Cadillac Detroit

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Walled Lake, MI
Jul 27, 2009

Will definitely return!

From beginning to end this was a great experience. Got a great rate and we were upgraded to Starwood Preferred Floor (we are members). My adult children and myself and a friend stayed downtown as we had a long day at Comerica Park (doubleheader with the Sox). Front desk check-in was quick and gracious, the rooms were large, spotless and very classy. Beds were comfy and the guys loved the TV (42 " flat screen). Location was great, walked to and from the park and out on the town after the night game- no issues. Didn't eat at the hotel so can't speak to that. After we checked out we discovered that we had left a few clothing items behind. No problem, housekeeping had found them and lost and found had them. We picked them up when we were back in Detroit for the next game. My daughter's boyfriend asked her why her mom had picked such a NICE hotel and my friend can't wait to return for a night in Detroit with husband and friends. Needless to say we were all more than impressed and will be planning a return trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top