$159 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 11, 2015 Check-out: Sep 12, 2015

The Westin Book Cadillac Detroit

4 stars
View map of 1114 Washington Blvd, Detroit, MI 48226

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.5
out of 5
33 reviews
Red Wings trips

My sisters, Mom, and I won tickets to the Red Wings game, which was Sunday afternoon, so we turned... See full review

  • Julie O.
  • Aug 27, 2015
Great hotel and great location.

Went to concert at the Joe and was easily within walking distance of people mover. But up casino on... See full review

  • Michael M.
  • Jun 23, 2015

The historic Westin Book Cadillac Hotel has been restored to its original splendor with a $200-million renovation, making it one of downtown Detroit's premier lodging destinations. The exquisite hotel features Westin's signature services and amenities, including a fitness center, in-room spa services, and the Kid's Club. Beautifully decorated guest rooms and suites feature premium amenities. Celebrity chef Michael Symon's Roast restaurant offers exceptional cuisine.

Rooms

Each guest room and suite showcases rich furnishings and contemporary décor. Guests luxuriate on Westin's signature "Heavenly" beds, which feature plush mattresses and the finest bedding. Premium in-room amenities include a spacious work area, 42-inch plasma television, Wi-Fi, coffee maker with Starbucks coffee, and laptop-sized safe. The large bathroom offers quality bath products, a lighted makeup mirror, and abundant natural light.

Property features

When the Book brothers built the Italian Renaissance-style hotel in 1924, it was not only the tallest building in Detroit, but also the tallest hotel in the world. The restored structure -- a member of the National Registry of Historic Buildings -- retains its Gilded-Age ambience while offering modern upgrades.

 

The Westin Book's convenient on-site dining options include Roast, a sophisticated, 8,000-square-foot restaurant overseen by celebrity chef Michael Symon. Symon is a James Beard Foundation award nominee and a Food Network Iron Chef winner. Roast offers guests a creative menu focused on the art of sourcing and preparing heritage meats.

 

The hotel boasts more than 30,000 square feet of meeting and event space, accommodating up to 1,000 guests. The restoration returned the Venetian and Crystal Ballrooms to their original opulence and also created the contemporary new Woodward Ballroom.

Highlights

  • Recently renovated landmark hotel in the heart of downtown Detroit
  • 453 guest rooms, including 35 suites, with sweeping city views
  • Wi-Fi (fees apply)
  • Fitness center, indoor pool, and whirlpool
  • Three restaurants

Nearby attractions

  • Cobo Convention Center (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • Comerica Park and Ford Field (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Detroit RiverWalk (2.1 mi/3.8 km)

Business

  • In-room work area
  • Wi-Fi
  • Full-service business center
  • Three executive boardrooms

Transportation

  • Detroit Metropolitan Airport (21 mi/33.8 km)

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Westin Book Cadillac Detroit also booked these hotels.

★★★★
$149
4.3 / 5 140 reviews
★★★
$133
3.8 / 5 28 reviews
★★★★
$161
3.8 / 5 99 reviews
★★★★
$249
4.4 / 5 17 reviews
★★★
$135
3.9 / 5 47 reviews
★★★
$89
3.1 / 5 74 reviews
★★★
$124
4.5 / 5 99 reviews

The Westin Book Cadillac Detroit Rooms

Standard
The Amenities listed in this description represent the amenities available in all guest rooms in the hotel

Amenities

  • Pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Activities
Pool
Fitness center or spa
Exercise gym
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Services
Business center
Guest laundromat
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
Multilingual
Shops/Commercial services
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible rooms
Room
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Turndown service
Cribs available
Iron
Smoke detectors

Nearby points of interest

  • Comerica Park: 0.5 mi
  • Joe Louis Arena: 0.5 mi
  • Ford Field: 0.6 mi

Dining

24 Grille
Serving mouthwatering classics alongside innovative new creations, 24 Grille infuses its contemporary atmosphere with a convivial spirit. An expansive wine list and dedication to locally-sourced food are two hallmarks of this warm and inviting eatery
ROAST
ROAST serves signature dishes of artisanal meats from an eclectic, yet refined, menu. Celebrity chef Michael Symon seeks out the highest quality ingredients, pairing them with delicious local craft beers and inventive cocktails.
WBC Coffee
Begin your day on the right foot with freshly brewed Starbucks® coffee and a house-made pastry from WBC Coffee, a gourmet grab-and-go stocked with nourishing breakfast, lunch, and snack options.
The Boulevard Room
Executive Chef James Barnett has infused The Boulevard Room’s menu of casual favorites with nourishing SuperFoodsRx™ ingredients. The result is a diverse array of breakfast and lunch items that give you the energy you need to power through your day.
Motor Bar
The perfect place to unwind after work or gather with friends for a bite to eat, Motor Bar is located on the second floor of the hotel. Experienced bartenders with a passion for their craft mix cocktails in a cozy, chic setting.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for The Westin Book Cadillac Detroit

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
33 out of 33
Amenities:
4.3
Cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.2

97% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Westin Book Cadillac Detroit

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Friends
Toledo, OH
Apr 11, 2011

I've had better customer service

We were in town for the Tigers' opening weekend. This hotel does not offer a contential breakfast, the do have complimentary coffee in the room but only 2 packs with caffiene so if you are staying with 4 in the room, two will have to pay for additional coffee in the morning. We wanted to check in early if possible since the game started at 4. I called a few days before to request rooms that were adjoining or near or across the hall, they do not have two double bed rooms that adjoin so we got rooms right next to each other. I arrived 2 hours before check in and asked if my room was available, they said no and to come back in an hour and a half. I went back and again said my room might not be available but after persisting she said that, "we won't know if your room is available until we run your credit card!" So they ran my credit card and the room was available. She should have ran it the first time I was there. It was just a hassle to have to keep checking back, in person, because you can't reserve a room early on the phone, you have to be present. The rooms were good size and that bathrooms were nice and clean. We had some issues with the TVs, but if you turned it off and then back on it would work. I'll stay there again, only because the location is in walking of Comerica Park.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Friends

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

This hotel is easily within walking distance of Greektown, Comerica and Ford Field! Also, The Ham Shop is one of the only restaurant in downtown that is open for Sunday Morning.

Review of The Westin Book Cadillac Detroit

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Keon100.
Family
N/A
Aug 3, 2015

visiting family

This hotel is conveniently located in the downtown area and provides various amenities on the modest side. The building is almost new and the rooms are clean and equipped with newer accomodation (e.g. large HDTV )

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of The Westin Book Cadillac Detroit

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jefffromsf
Business
San Francisco, CA
Jan 31, 2014

Westin Detroit

The Westin has an xcellent, convenient location walkable to the sports arena, Compuware HQ, etc.. Friendly staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Joe Muer seafood in a short drive away.

Review of The Westin Book Cadillac Detroit

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Johnebgood
Couples
Detroit, MI, USA
Feb 16, 2014

Birthday retreat

First stay at Westin book Cadillac hotel, very impressed with amenities. Great value! Will definitely revisit!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of The Westin Book Cadillac Detroit

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tatiana Almeida
Business
Georgia
Apr 9, 2014

Weekend getaway

Well located, close to everything! Parking is not easy, however they have a valet parke if you are willing to pay 30 bucks! Room is amazing!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Westin Book Cadillac Detroit

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
pfunks
Couples
brooklyn, ny
Apr 30, 2014

Pleasant Stay

We had a pleasant one-night stay here. Staff was friendly and room was spacious and clean. The hotel is centrally located in Downtown. The only downsides were that Wi-Fi and parking weren't included in the price of the room, though there was a parking lot for the hotel ($15).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Heidelberg Project

Review of The Westin Book Cadillac Detroit

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Frassinoro
Couples
Portland, OR
May 14, 2013

Night away from the kids

While visiting our relatives in town we decided to stay downtown for a night. We've stayed at a major hotel downtown for quite a few years but decided this time to mix it up and stay at this beautiful Detroit gem. Starting from the valet we had nothing but great interactions with all of the staff, they were very polite and responsive. The room was very nice, nothing fancy but small things like complimentary bottled water and the option of a booze refrigerator if we wanted it were there for us. We utilized the unlimited in-and-out valet capabilities all while paying a single rate (as opposed to paying to leave the garage each time if you self-park.) We would (and will) stay here again in the future, it is a little more expensive than staying outside of the downtown area but it is worth it especially if you are having an evening downtown.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of The Westin Book Cadillac Detroit

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Hyperben in Hudson
Couples
New York
Oct 15, 2013

Cadillac Book was good, could be better

Almost everything about this hotel was great...and the staff were pleasant and friendly, but fell a bit short of five star service. They just need to amp up the customer service a bit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

rent a car at the airport! we were surprised to find there were no downtown car rental agencies! We had to go back to the airport.

Review of The Westin Book Cadillac Detroit

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
made in detroit
Family
alpharetta, ga
Sep 6, 2010

Book Cadillac was great for Labor Day!

We enjoyed our stay very much!~

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of The Westin Book Cadillac Detroit

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Racine, WI
Jun 1, 2010

Stay @ The Westin

My stay at the Westin was a great experience and for the first time in Detroit the staff there was very helpful. The hotel was very clean and secure compared to other hotels around the area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

For a good burger at a reasonable price Five Guys is about a 5 min drive.

Back to menu Return to top