$104 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 19, 2014 Check-out: Dec 20, 2014

The Westin Book Cadillac Detroit

4 stars
1114 Washington Blvd, Detroit, MI 48226
Best In Stay
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.5
out of 5
28 reviews
Great Bed!

It is difficult for me to sleep in the day however early check in and the dreamy bed gave me the... See full review

  • Dr Clay D
  • Nov 16, 2014
Great location, staff, food.

Quick one night downtown after the Tigers Game. Beautiful hotel room, lobby and public spaces. See full review

  • Mickeydaddy
  • Sep 29, 2014
A star is reborn at this legendary Detroit hotel

The historic Westin Book Cadillac Hotel has been restored to its original splendor with a $200-million renovation, making it one of downtown Detroit's premier lodging destinations. The exquisite hotel features Westin's signature services and amenities, including a fitness center, in-room spa services, and the Kid's Club. Beautifully decorated guest rooms and suites feature premium amenities. Celebrity chef Michael Symon's Roast restaurant offers exceptional cuisine.

Highlights

  • Recently renovated landmark hotel in the heart of downtown Detroit
  • 453 guest rooms, including 35 suites, with sweeping city views
  • Wi-Fi (fees apply)
  • Fitness center, indoor pool, and whirlpool
  • Three restaurants

Rooms

Each guest room and suite showcases rich furnishings and contemporary décor. Guests luxuriate on Westin's signature "Heavenly" beds, which feature plush mattresses and the finest bedding. Premium in-room amenities include a spacious work area, 42-inch plasma television, Wi-Fi, coffee maker with Starbucks coffee, and laptop-sized safe. The large bathroom offers quality bath products, a lighted makeup mirror, and abundant natural light.

Features

When the Book brothers built the Italian Renaissance-style hotel in 1924, it was not only the tallest building in Detroit, but also the tallest hotel in the world. The restored structure -- a member of the National Registry of Historic Buildings -- retains its Gilded-Age ambience while offering modern upgrades.

 

The Westin Book's convenient on-site dining options include Roast, a sophisticated, 8,000-square-foot restaurant overseen by celebrity chef Michael Symon. Symon is a James Beard Foundation award nominee and a Food Network Iron Chef winner. Roast offers guests a creative menu focused on the art of sourcing and preparing heritage meats.

 

The hotel boasts more than 30,000 square feet of meeting and event space, accommodating up to 1,000 guests. The restoration returned the Venetian and Crystal Ballrooms to their original opulence and also created the contemporary new Woodward Ballroom.

Transportation

  • Detroit Metropolitan Airport (21 mi/33.8 km)

Nearby attractions

  • Cobo Convention Center (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • Comerica Park and Ford Field (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Detroit RiverWalk (2.1 mi/3.8 km)

Business

  • In-room work area
  • Wi-Fi
  • Full-service business center
  • Three executive boardrooms

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Westin Book Cadillac Detroit also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

The Westin Book Cadillac Detroit Rooms

Standard
The Amenities listed in this description represent the amenities available in all guest rooms in the hotel

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Activities
Pool
Exercise gym
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Services
Business center
Guest laundromat
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
Multilingual
Shops/Commercial services
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible rooms
Room
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Turndown service
Cribs available
Iron
Smoke detectors

Nearby points of interest

  • Comerica Park: 0.5 mi
  • Joe Louis Arena: 0.5 mi
  • Ford Field: 0.6 mi

Dining

ROAST
ROAST serves signature dishes of artisanal meats from an eclectic, yet refined, menu. Celebrity chef Michael Symon seeks out the highest quality ingredients, pairing them with delicious local craft beers and inventive cocktails.
24 Grille
Serving mouthwatering classics alongside innovative new creations, 24 Grille infuses its contemporary atmosphere with a convivial spirit. An expansive wine list and dedication to locally-sourced food are two hallmarks of this warm and inviting eatery
The Boulevard Room
Executive Chef James Barnett has infused The Boulevard Room’s menu of casual favorites with nourishing SuperFoodsRx™ ingredients. The result is a diverse array of breakfast and lunch items that give you the energy you need to power through your day.
WBC Coffee
Begin your day on the right foot with freshly brewed Starbucks® coffee and a house-made pastry from WBC Coffee, a gourmet grab-and-go stocked with nourishing breakfast, lunch, and snack options.
Motor Bar
The perfect place to unwind after work or gather with friends for a bite to eat, Motor Bar is located on the second floor of the hotel. Experienced bartenders with a passion for their craft mix cocktails in a cozy, chic setting.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (28)

Ratings and reviews for The Westin Book Cadillac Detroit

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
28 out of 28
Amenities:
4.3
Room cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.7
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.3

100% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Westin Book Cadillac Detroit

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Hyperben in Hudson
Business
New York
Oct 15, 2013

Cadillac Book was good, could be better

Almost everything about this hotel was great...and the staff were pleasant and friendly, but fell a bit short of five star service. They just need to amp up the customer service a bit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

rent a car at the airport! we were surprised to find there were no downtown car rental agencies! We had to go back to the airport.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Book Cadillac Detroit

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Frassinoro
Business
Portland, OR
May 14, 2013

Night away from the kids

While visiting our relatives in town we decided to stay downtown for a night. We've stayed at a major hotel downtown for quite a few years but decided this time to mix it up and stay at this beautiful Detroit gem. Starting from the valet we had nothing but great interactions with all of the staff, they were very polite and responsive. The room was very nice, nothing fancy but small things like complimentary bottled water and the option of a booze refrigerator if we wanted it were there for us. We utilized the unlimited in-and-out valet capabilities all while paying a single rate (as opposed to paying to leave the garage each time if you self-park.) We would (and will) stay here again in the future, it is a little more expensive than staying outside of the downtown area but it is worth it especially if you are having an evening downtown.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Book Cadillac Detroit

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
T Town Traveler
Business
Ohio, USA
Feb 20, 2012

Great Stay

The rooms are great, the service is outstanding, and the historic building is a great space with solid restaurant and bar options. I highly recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Book Cadillac Detroit

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Andrea and Mike
Business
Toledo, OH, USA
Oct 16, 2011

Luxury

We had a fantastic romantic evening in Detroit. The Westin was beautiful. Our room had all the little extras. The bed and linens were pure luxury. Will definately stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Book Cadillac Detroit

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dashielld
Business
ATL
Sep 6, 2011

Luv what Westin did to the place!!

Everything about the hotel was stellar, with the exception of my arrival/check in. HORRIBLE!!!! I had the unfortunate experience of dealing with Eric ( front desk staff member). It was so awful that i'd rather not relive the experience by describing it. The Front Desk & Beverage Managers were teriffic and resolute.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Book Cadillac Detroit

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
BuzzMan
Business
New York, NY
Jun 8, 2011

Best hotel I've stayed at in The D

Always professional and well located for business travel. Great restaurants and good live music near.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Book Cadillac Detroit

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Toledo, OH
Apr 11, 2011

I've had better customer service

We were in town for the Tigers' opening weekend. This hotel does not offer a contential breakfast, the do have complimentary coffee in the room but only 2 packs with caffiene so if you are staying with 4 in the room, two will have to pay for additional coffee in the morning. We wanted to check in early if possible since the game started at 4. I called a few days before to request rooms that were adjoining or near or across the hall, they do not have two double bed rooms that adjoin so we got rooms right next to each other. I arrived 2 hours before check in and asked if my room was available, they said no and to come back in an hour and a half. I went back and again said my room might not be available but after persisting she said that, "we won't know if your room is available until we run your credit card!" So they ran my credit card and the room was available. She should have ran it the first time I was there. It was just a hassle to have to keep checking back, in person, because you can't reserve a room early on the phone, you have to be present. The rooms were good size and that bathrooms were nice and clean. We had some issues with the TVs, but if you turned it off and then back on it would work. I'll stay there again, only because the location is in walking of Comerica Park.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

This hotel is easily within walking distance of Greektown, Comerica and Ford Field! Also, The Ham Shop is one of the only restaurant in downtown that is open for Sunday Morning.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Book Cadillac Detroit

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles
Nov 5, 2010

Romantic night away

A wonderful hotel in a very depressing downtown

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
1
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Book Cadillac Detroit

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Columbus, OH
Oct 19, 2010

Total Luxury!

The amenities that come with the hotel make ALL the difference!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Book Cadillac Detroit

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
made in detroit
Business
alpharetta, ga
Sep 6, 2010

Book Cadillac was great for Labor Day!

We enjoyed our stay very much!~

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top