$103 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 19, 2014 Check-out: Sep 20, 2014

The Westin Book Cadillac Detroit

4 stars
1114 Washington Blvd, Detroit, MI 48226
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.4
out of 5
25 reviews
Detroit Westin

Very convenient and friendly hotel. The staff was helpful and available. Room service was fast and... See full review

  • jefffromsf
  • Feb 21, 2014
Perfect for a last-minute stay in the city.

I was stuck in Detroit this past weekend due to a snowstorm, and booked a room at the Book Cadillac... See full review

  • EngineeringJoy
  • Dec 16, 2013
A star is reborn at this legendary Detroit hotel

The historic Westin Book Cadillac Hotel has been restored to its original splendor with a $200-million renovation, making it one of downtown Detroit's premier lodging destinations. The exquisite hotel features Westin's signature services and amenities, including a fitness center, in-room spa services, and the Kid's Club. Beautifully decorated guest rooms and suites feature premium amenities. Celebrity chef Michael Symon's Roast restaurant offers exceptional cuisine.

Highlights

  • Recently renovated landmark hotel in the heart of downtown Detroit
  • 453 guest rooms, including 35 suites, with sweeping city views
  • Wi-Fi (fees apply)
  • Fitness center, indoor pool, and whirlpool
  • Three restaurants

Rooms

Each guest room and suite showcases rich furnishings and contemporary décor. Guests luxuriate on Westin's signature "Heavenly" beds, which feature plush mattresses and the finest bedding. Premium in-room amenities include a spacious work area, 42-inch plasma television, Wi-Fi, coffee maker with Starbucks coffee, and laptop-sized safe. The large bathroom offers quality bath products, a lighted makeup mirror, and abundant natural light.

Features

When the Book brothers built the Italian Renaissance-style hotel in 1924, it was not only the tallest building in Detroit, but also the tallest hotel in the world. The restored structure -- a member of the National Registry of Historic Buildings -- retains its Gilded-Age ambience while offering modern upgrades.

 

The Westin Book's convenient on-site dining options include Roast, a sophisticated, 8,000-square-foot restaurant overseen by celebrity chef Michael Symon. Symon is a James Beard Foundation award nominee and a Food Network Iron Chef winner. Roast offers guests a creative menu focused on the art of sourcing and preparing heritage meats.

 

The hotel boasts more than 30,000 square feet of meeting and event space, accommodating up to 1,000 guests. The restoration returned the Venetian and Crystal Ballrooms to their original opulence and also created the contemporary new Woodward Ballroom.

Transportation

  • Detroit Metropolitan Airport (21 mi/33.8 km)

Nearby attractions

  • Cobo Convention Center (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • Comerica Park and Ford Field (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Detroit RiverWalk (2.1 mi/3.8 km)

Business

  • In-room work area
  • Wi-Fi
  • Full-service business center
  • Three executive boardrooms

Hotel Map

42.332 -83.0508
Nearby airports
Detroit Metropolitan Wayne County Airport, (DTW), 21.00, MI;
Area description
Downtown

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Westin Book Cadillac Detroit also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

The Westin Book Cadillac Detroit Rooms

Traditional
Description not provided

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Heated pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Ice machine
24 hour security
Activities
Heated pool
Fitness center or spa
Children's activities
Golf
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee shop
24 hour room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Laundry service
Express checkout
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
Wake-up service
Multilingual
Shops/Commercial services
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Porters
Video checkout
Gift shop
Audio visual equipment
White board
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Ramp access to buildings
Brailled elevators
Room
Television with cable
Video game player
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Fire alarm with light
Turndown service
Iron
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Comerica Park: 0.5 mi
  • Joe Louis Arena: 0.5 mi
  • Ford Field: 0.6 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (25)

Ratings and reviews for The Westin Book Cadillac Detroit

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
25 out of 25
Amenities:
4.3
Room cleanliness:
4.9
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.7
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.2

100% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Westin Book Cadillac Detroit

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Andrea and Mike
Toledo, OH, USA
Oct 16, 2011

Luxury

We had a fantastic romantic evening in Detroit. The Westin was beautiful. Our room had all the little extras. The bed and linens were pure luxury. Will definately stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Book Cadillac Detroit

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dashielld
ATL
Sep 6, 2011

Luv what Westin did to the place!!

Everything about the hotel was stellar, with the exception of my arrival/check in. HORRIBLE!!!! I had the unfortunate experience of dealing with Eric ( front desk staff member). It was so awful that i'd rather not relive the experience by describing it. The Front Desk & Beverage Managers were teriffic and resolute.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Book Cadillac Detroit

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
BuzzMan
Business
New York, NY
Jun 8, 2011

Best hotel I've stayed at in The D

Always professional and well located for business travel. Great restaurants and good live music near.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Book Cadillac Detroit

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Toledo, OH
Apr 11, 2011

I've had better customer service

We were in town for the Tigers' opening weekend. This hotel does not offer a contential breakfast, the do have complimentary coffee in the room but only 2 packs with caffiene so if you are staying with 4 in the room, two will have to pay for additional coffee in the morning. We wanted to check in early if possible since the game started at 4. I called a few days before to request rooms that were adjoining or near or across the hall, they do not have two double bed rooms that adjoin so we got rooms right next to each other. I arrived 2 hours before check in and asked if my room was available, they said no and to come back in an hour and a half. I went back and again said my room might not be available but after persisting she said that, "we won't know if your room is available until we run your credit card!" So they ran my credit card and the room was available. She should have ran it the first time I was there. It was just a hassle to have to keep checking back, in person, because you can't reserve a room early on the phone, you have to be present. The rooms were good size and that bathrooms were nice and clean. We had some issues with the TVs, but if you turned it off and then back on it would work. I'll stay there again, only because the location is in walking of Comerica Park.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

This hotel is easily within walking distance of Greektown, Comerica and Ford Field! Also, The Ham Shop is one of the only restaurant in downtown that is open for Sunday Morning.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Book Cadillac Detroit

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Los Angeles
Nov 5, 2010

Romantic night away

A wonderful hotel in a very depressing downtown

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
1
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Book Cadillac Detroit

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Columbus, OH
Oct 19, 2010

Total Luxury!

The amenities that come with the hotel make ALL the difference!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Book Cadillac Detroit

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
made in detroit
alpharetta, ga
Sep 6, 2010

Book Cadillac was great for Labor Day!

We enjoyed our stay very much!~

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Book Cadillac Detroit

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
millington, mi
Jul 19, 2010

Amazing hotel for a LOW price

Stayed here with a group of friends following a tigers game. The hotel is first class all the way and was very cheap. Only a 5-10 min walk to Comerica Park.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Book Cadillac Detroit

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MovementFest Attendee
Chicago, IL
Jun 2, 2010

Perfect for Movement Fest

We made the annual journey to Movement Festival and stayed in a much better hotel this time! Check-in was the quickest and easiest I have ever experienced. The rooms were spacious with a sitting room and two TVs. I especially loved the double-headed shower! We were only 1/2 miles from Hart Plaza, so it was a prime location to get to the festival. The only problem I ran into was finding restaurants that were open (other than the hotel ones). Sometimes you just want a cheap meal, especially when traveling with a toddler. Downtown can be pretty sparse, especially on the weekends. Other than that, I would definitely stay here again when in town!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Book Cadillac Detroit

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Racine, WI
Jun 1, 2010

Stay @ The Westin

My stay at the Westin was a great experience and for the first time in Detroit the staff there was very helpful. The hotel was very clean and secure compared to other hotels around the area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

For a good burger at a reasonable price Five Guys is about a 5 min drive.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search