$130 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 26, 2014 Check-out: Sep 27, 2014

The Westin Book Cadillac Detroit

4 stars
1114 Washington Blvd, Detroit, MI 48226
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.4
out of 5
25 reviews
Detroit Westin

Very convenient and friendly hotel. The staff was helpful and available. Room service was fast and... See full review

  • jefffromsf
  • Feb 21, 2014
Perfect for a last-minute stay in the city.

I was stuck in Detroit this past weekend due to a snowstorm, and booked a room at the Book Cadillac... See full review

  • EngineeringJoy
  • Dec 16, 2013
Legendary style and glamour have returned to Detroit with the completion of the unprecedented $200 million restoration of the historic Westin Book Cadillac Hotel. Located in the up and coming “Book District” this Detroit landmark has once again reclaimed its position as Detroits premier lodging and social gathering destination. A member of the National Registry of Historic Buildings, the Italian Renaissance style hotel, originally built in 1924 by the Book brothers, quickly became the tallest building in Detroit, as well as the tallest hotel in the world. The hotel features all of Westins signature services and amenities, including WestinWORKOUT® Gym, Westin Executive Club, in-room spa services, and Westin Kids Club®. Designed to provide calm and respite, each of the 453 guest rooms, including 35 suites, showcase rich fabrics and textures and feature the acclaimed Heavenly® Bed and Heavenly Bath®, 42 Plasma TV, laptop safe, stocked refreshment center, wireless Internet, and dual-line cordless telephones. Each guest bath will feature Westins signature bath amenities, as well as a lighted make-up mirror, marble and stone finishes, and abundant natural light. Refreshing and sophisticated dining options are available throughout the hotel and include three signature restaurants – including ROAST, an exciting 8,000-square foot eatery helmed by celebrity chef Michael Symon. The James Beard Foundation award nominee and Food Network Iron Chef” winner will offer a creative menu focused on the art of sourcing and preparing artisanal and heritage meats. Whether cured, smoked, braised, spit roasted or wood grilled, Symon will search for the highest quality producers and breeds of pork, bison, wild boar and prime dry aged beef. Signature dishes will include rotisserie suckling pig, dry aged porterhouse for two and an array of house made sausages. Guests will enjoy even more food and beverage choices at the hotels stunning Motor Bar with 30-foot ceilings and towering

Hotel Map

42.332 -83.0508
Nearby airports
Detroit Metropolitan Wayne County Airport, (DTW), 21.00, MI;
Area description
Downtown

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Westin Book Cadillac Detroit also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

The Westin Book Cadillac Detroit Rooms

Traditional
Description not provided

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Heated pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Ice machine
24 hour security
Activities
Heated pool
Fitness center or spa
Children's activities
Golf
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee shop
24 hour room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Laundry service
Express checkout
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
Wake-up service
Multilingual
Shops/Commercial services
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Porters
Video checkout
Gift shop
Audio visual equipment
White board
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Ramp access to buildings
Brailled elevators
Room
Television with cable
Video game player
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Fire alarm with light
Turndown service
Iron
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Comerica Park: 0.5 mi
  • Joe Louis Arena: 0.5 mi
  • Ford Field: 0.6 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (25)

Ratings and reviews for The Westin Book Cadillac Detroit

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
25 out of 25
Amenities:
4.3
Room cleanliness:
4.9
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.7
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.2

100% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Westin Book Cadillac Detroit

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Andrea and Mike
Toledo, OH, USA
Oct 16, 2011

Luxury

We had a fantastic romantic evening in Detroit. The Westin was beautiful. Our room had all the little extras. The bed and linens were pure luxury. Will definately stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of The Westin Book Cadillac Detroit

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
pfunks
brooklyn, ny
Apr 30, 2014

Pleasant Stay

We had a pleasant one-night stay here. Staff was friendly and room was spacious and clean. The hotel is centrally located in Downtown. The only downsides were that Wi-Fi and parking weren't included in the price of the room, though there was a parking lot for the hotel ($15).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Heidelberg Project

Review of The Westin Book Cadillac Detroit

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tatiana Almeida
Business
Georgia
Apr 9, 2014

Weekend getaway

Well located, close to everything! Parking is not easy, however they have a valet parke if you are willing to pay 30 bucks! Room is amazing!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Westin Book Cadillac Detroit

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
jefffromsf
Business
San Francisco, CA
Feb 21, 2014

Detroit Westin

Very convenient and friendly hotel. The staff was helpful and available. Room service was fast and efficient.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Fast and efficient room service.

Review of The Westin Book Cadillac Detroit

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Johnebgood
Detroit, MI, USA
Feb 16, 2014

Birthday retreat

First stay at Westin book Cadillac hotel, very impressed with amenities. Great value! Will definitely revisit!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of The Westin Book Cadillac Detroit

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jefffromsf
Business
San Francisco, CA
Jan 31, 2014

Westin Detroit

The Westin has an xcellent, convenient location walkable to the sports arena, Compuware HQ, etc.. Friendly staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Joe Muer seafood in a short drive away.

Review of The Westin Book Cadillac Detroit

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
EngineeringJoy
Business
Detroit, Michigan
Dec 16, 2013

Perfect for a last-minute stay in the city.

I was stuck in Detroit this past weekend due to a snowstorm, and booked a room at the Book Cadillac at the last minute. Upon arrival, I was immediately upgraded to an executive suite, which was a nice surprise. The service was warm, lovely and first-class from start to finish, the room was absolutely beautiful, the food was delicious, and the in-hotel shop got me through a night without luggage. The Book Cadillac took the edge off an unexpectedly stressful night and I can't recommend this hotel highly enough.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: In Hotel

Call the front desk 10-15 minutes before departure & ask for valet to bring your car up to avoid waiting in the lobby, especially around checkout time.

Review of The Westin Book Cadillac Detroit

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Suburbanites Loving The D
Grosse Pointe, Michigan
Dec 9, 2013

Beautiful stay at a Detroit classic

My partner and I had dinner at Roast and decided to spend the night at the Westin Book Cadillac. We live within a 20 minute drive of downtown, but wanted to experience the rebirth of the city, which included the renovation of the historic Book Cadillac Hotel. We were not disappointed - the staff and the room were both 5 stars! It was interesting taking in the city from a tourists' point of view.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

Roast - if you are a steak/meat lover, you will be in Heaven! Wine list is impressive as well.

Review of The Westin Book Cadillac Detroit

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Hyperben in Hudson
New York
Oct 15, 2013

Cadillac Book was good, could be better

Almost everything about this hotel was great...and the staff were pleasant and friendly, but fell a bit short of five star service. They just need to amp up the customer service a bit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

rent a car at the airport! we were surprised to find there were no downtown car rental agencies! We had to go back to the airport.

Review of The Westin Book Cadillac Detroit

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Frassinoro
Portland, OR
May 14, 2013

Night away from the kids

While visiting our relatives in town we decided to stay downtown for a night. We've stayed at a major hotel downtown for quite a few years but decided this time to mix it up and stay at this beautiful Detroit gem. Starting from the valet we had nothing but great interactions with all of the staff, they were very polite and responsive. The room was very nice, nothing fancy but small things like complimentary bottled water and the option of a booze refrigerator if we wanted it were there for us. We utilized the unlimited in-and-out valet capabilities all while paying a single rate (as opposed to paying to leave the garage each time if you self-park.) We would (and will) stay here again in the future, it is a little more expensive than staying outside of the downtown area but it is worth it especially if you are having an evening downtown.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of The Westin Book Cadillac Detroit

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
T Town Traveler
Ohio, USA
Feb 20, 2012

Great Stay

The rooms are great, the service is outstanding, and the historic building is a great space with solid restaurant and bar options. I highly recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Back to menu Return to top

Change search