$249 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 22, 2014 Check-out: Sep 23, 2014

MGM Grand Detroit

4 stars
1777 Third Avenue, Detroit, MI 48226
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.4
out of 5
14 reviews
Very nice hotel

Regularly stay here for my business trips. Always found the staff very helpful and services... See full review

  • Raj Pancholi
  • Mar 31, 2014
weekend getaway

Was great. Each time we stay there we are pleased. See full review

  • Friendly faces
  • May 20, 2013
Detroit casino hotel near Joe Louis Arena and Comerica Park

The MGM Grand Detroit offers both business and leisure guests a great location in downtown Detroit near the business district, theaters, and sporting and concert venues. The hotel has a pool, fitness center, health club and spa. Onsite dining options at the MGM Grand Detroit include a choice of three restaurants: Saltwater, Bourbon Steak and Wolfgang Puck Grille. Wi-Fi Internet access and meeting and conference facilities are available at the MGM Grand Detroit. Parking is free.

Reasons to stay
  • Las Vegas-style destination with slots, table games and gourmet restaurants
  • Vibrant nightlife, including lounges with celebrity entertainers
  • Central location, close to the business district, theatres, Comerica Park and Joe Louis Arena
  • The only resort-style spa in southeast Michigan
MGM Grand Detroit rooms

The luxury king/queen rooms have 510 square feet of space and are equipped with a 42-inch plasma television, and baths with oversized marble shower. The executive king rooms feature 710 square feet of space with separate sitting area, two 42-inch plasma televisions and oversized marble shower and deep-soak tub. There are also corner suites with marble entry and wraparound windows.

Things to do nearby
  • Joe Louis Arena (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • Comerica Park (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • Fox Theater Building (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Fillmore Detroit (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Ford Field (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Detroit Opera House (0.8 mi/1.2 km)
  • Detroit Institute of Arts (The DIA) (2.5 mi/4 km)
  • Eastern Market (2.8 mi/4.5 km)
  • The Somerset Collection (21.1 mi/33.9 km)

 

Policies and fees
  • The property charges a $200 deposit per stay, which will be charged on a major credit card or debit card
  • Cash is not accepted for the deposit
  • Checks are not accepted for any form of payment (room and tax or the deposit)
  • The deposit is refundable unless it covers any damages to the room during the guest stay
  • Guests should be 21 years old to check in

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

42.3327 -83.058
Area served
Downtown Detroit; Windsor, Canada
Nearby airports
Detroit Metropolitan airport (DTW) is located approximately 22 miles west of MGM Grand Detroit
Area description
MGM Grand Detroit is in the perfect downtown location, situated in the heart of downtown Detroit and just minutes from the business district, theaters, sporting, and concert venues.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed MGM Grand Detroit also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

MGM Grand Detroit Rooms

Luxury King/Queen Room
Features 510 square feet including a 42-inch plasma television. The bathroom is equipped with an oversized marble shower, private water closet and a flat panel television imbedded within the mirror.
Executive King
Features 710 square feet including two 42 inch plasma televisions and a seperate sleeping area. The bathroom includes a deep soaking tub, oversized marble shower and imbedded flat screen television within the mirror.
Luxury Corner Suite
Features 1,000 square feet of open air space surrounded by wraparound windows and marble entry. A small living area with a work table and 42" Television. The bathroom includes a deep soaking bubble tub and oversized marble shower.
Executive Corner Suite
Features 1,000 square feet of seperated living/sleeping space with a plasma television in each room. The bathroom includes a deep soaking bubble tub and oversized marble shower.

Amenities

  • Free internet in room
  • Free parking
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness Center
Casino
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
Free internet in room
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Joe Louis Arena: 0.6 mi
  • Comerica Park: 0.6 mi
  • Ford Field: 0.8 mi

Dining

Wolfgang Puck Steak
Celebrated restaurateur and Master Chef Wolfgang Puck is perfecting the art of steak at Wolfgang Puck Steak, offering a mouthwatering array of grilled steaks and a collection of meat, shellfish, and roasted whole fresh fish offerings, as well as a selection of richly flavored sauces and side dishes.
Wolfgang Puck Pizzeria & Cucina
Featuring housemade pasta, Italian favorites, and many of Master Chef Wolfgang Puck's signature oven-baked pizzas, Wolfgang Puck Pizzeria & Cucina pays tribute to the finest tastes of Italy, in a casual restaurant experience and inviting atmosphere for mixing, mingling, and dining.
TAP
Introducing TAP at MGM Grand Detroit, Detroit's newest old sports pub! Enjoy comfort food and pub classics such as the delicious TAP Classic Burger, savory wings and fried mac-n-cheese. TAP's beverage menu features a year-round curated collection of more than 50 draught and bottled beers, including a selection of Michigan craft beer favorites and popular domestic and imported brews. TAP's own specialty drink menu also features regional seasonal wines and spirits. Guests can enjoy their favorite sports games on more than 40 HD flat-screen televisions in a setting that captures the heart of Detroit's industrial age and celebrates some of the best moments in sports history with a dynamic collection of authentic sports memorabilia.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (14)

Ratings and reviews for MGM Grand Detroit

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
4 out of 14
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
3.8
Value:
3
Sort by:
Review of MGM Grand Detroit

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
janj24
detroit
Mar 10, 2014

Friendly/helpful

The hotel was great. Staff was wonderful! Up beat & friendly from the Valet, door man, registration desk. Would highly recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of MGM Grand Detroit

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Senz
Farmington Hills, MI
Feb 11, 2013

Great Celebration

We spent the night here to celebrate my friend’s birthday. From the moment we stepped inside, it was amazing. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. We had a great time. The beds were super comfy, and we even got a free late checkout. Can't wait to go back again soon!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: In Hotel

V Nightclub was great!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of MGM Grand Detroit

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
B Angie B
Detroit, Michigan
Jan 28, 2013

The worst

The Casino was the best ever, the hotel experience was awful. They continued to come to my room stating they were getting complaints of loud music, and I was not even playing any. This was not a room I got for free I paid $339 dollars for one night and I felt I was disrespected by the management staff. I will visit the casino, but the hotel was not to my liking. For the money I spent I should have gotten much better service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of MGM Grand Detroit

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Reetoe
Detroit, Michigan
Oct 23, 2011

Mother and daughter staycation

The hotel is beautiful and the staff were more than accomodating. Even though the hotel is a non-smoking premise there was still a strong smell of cigarette smoke in the room. It was probably coming from the adjoining casino which allows smoking. Also, we were disappointed that weekday room service hours did not extend beyond 11:00pm and the menu selection was very limited

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search