$119 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 26, 2014 Check-out: Oct 29, 2014

Inn on Ferry Street

3 stars
84 East Ferry Street, Detroit, MI 48202
Best In Stay
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.6
out of 5
101 reviews
Great Stay

The Inn was beautiful. The homes were gorgeous. You felt as though you were living in the past with... See full review

  • jjeff42
  • Jul 19, 2014
Repeat customers

We found this gem last year and decided to return this year for another vacation. Wonderful room... See full review

  • Steve the Swede
  • Jun 19, 2014
The “inn” place to be, on midtown Detroit’s historic Ferry Street

The Inn on Ferry Street, centrally located in the East Ferry Street historic district of midtown Detroit, sets the standard for elegant guest quarters and dedicated service. Four lovingly restored Victorian homes and two carriage houses reside just steps from some of Michigan's finest museums, the acclaimed Detroit Medical Center, and Wayne State University. The Inn on Ferry Street is a change of pace from traditional hotels, but still provides deluxe in-room accommodations, as well as a free buffet breakfast and Wi-Fi.

Highlights
  • Charming, full-service, Victorian-style hotel in historic midtown Detroit
  • 40 unique rooms in four meticulously restored Victorian homes and two carriage houses
  • Complimentary Wi-Fi, hot breakfast, and shuttle service within five-mile radius of the hotel
  • Private conference or parlor space for small-scale business meetings and events
  • Concierge, valet, and room service, plus free parking
Rooms

Guests choose from among 40 deluxe, superior, or executive rooms. The vintage decor and furnishings differ from room to room and may feature Victorian or Arts and Crafts themes. Standard amenities include an armoire with a 25-inch television, free Wi-Fi, a CD player, and spa-style bath products. Some rooms also feature spacious work areas and whirlpool baths.

Features

Travelers who stay at the Inn on Ferry Street truly feel like house guests in a bygone era. The charming complex of vintage Victorian homes and carriage houses evokes the rich cultural and architectural history of Detroit. The accommodations, however, are unmistakably 21st-century.

 

The Inn on Ferry Street offers a unique setting for business meetings, workshops, and other functions. Attendees enjoy the Old-World charm and ambience of the untraditional accommodations, while utilizing such modern amenities as directional track lighting and Wi-Fi.

Transportation
  • Detroit Metropolitan Airport (21.4 mi/34.4 km)
  • Amtrak (0.6 mi/1 km)
Nearby attractions
  • Detroit Institute of Arts (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Detroit Medical Center (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Greektown Casino (2.2 mi/3.5 km)
Business
  • In-room work areas in some rooms
  • Business center
  • Meeting room holds up to 35 people
  • Outdoor garden accommodates up to 120 people

Hotel Map

42.3614 -83.0655
Area served
Detroit
Nearby airports
Detroit Metro Wayne County Airport.
Area description
5 miles from Detroit Historical Museum and 2 miles from Detroit casinos.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Inn on Ferry Street also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Inn on Ferry Street Rooms

Non Smoking Superior Room
Our cozy Queen Superior rooms may include such exciting features as Victorian style furniture, high four poster bed, writing desk w/chair, large corner windows, tub and shower or standing shower.
Non Smoking Queen Deluxe Room
Our luxurious Queen Deluxe rooms may include such exciting features as Arts and Craft style furniture, a sleigh bed, round table with chairs, writing desk w/chair, high-back upholstered chair w/ottoman, turret w/windows, bay windows, skylight, tub and shower and decorative fireplace.
Non Smoking Executive Room
Our majestic Executive rooms may include such exciting features as separate parlor w/upholstered chairs, sleeper sofa bed large desk, activity table w/chairs, high-back upholstered chair, settee and arched windows, non-working fireplace, Jacuzzi tub w/shower.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Concierge
Dining
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Ford Field: 1.8 mi
  • Comerica Park: 1.8 mi
  • Joe Louis Arena: 2.6 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Smith Carriage House is a beautifully decorated and meticulously maintained meeting space currently available for meetings and parties. • The meeting space is approximately 756 square feet (18’ X 42’) • The meeting space can comfortably accommodate up to 35 people. • The room is equipped with recessed canister lights as well as directional track lighting. • There is also a 12’ service area equipped with cherry cabinets a microwave and a refrigerator (upon request). • Furnishings include cherry credenza and cushioned fabric banquet chairs. Separate restroom facilities for men and women are also available.

Dining

Complimentary Full Breakfast
Breakfast is served daily in our main house foyer and is included in the total cost of your guest room.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (101)

Ratings and reviews for Inn on Ferry Street

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
23 out of 101
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.7
Room comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.2
Value:
4.4

96% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Inn on Ferry Street

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ACME Imageryq
Business
Orem, Utah
May 4, 2014

Lovely gem near the Detroit Institute of Arts and Wayne U

Great bed and breakfast. Breakfast was great. Good selection of fruit, grains, and a basic egg tray. They put me up in the third floor of one of the 4 houses that make up this group of B&Bs on Ferry St. Creaky floors are all I can complain about...not really complain, it all added to the charm of the Victorian era place. Modernized enough to be comfortable with TV and modern bathroom. Wifi included free. Staff was fantastic as well. I came to work at the DIA and I wasn't disappointed in its proximity. Bear in mind that the midtown area of Detroit is kind of rough; some nice neighborhoods intermingled with burned out or boarded up houses. Felt fairly safe on Ferry Street. The proximity was also its weakness in that there weren't very many options for dining. Overall, the Inn on Ferry St exceeded my expectations.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Detroit Institute of Arts is right on the next block.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Inn on Ferry Street

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kimball GradStudent
Business
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Mar 4, 2014

Great location

Stayed at the Inn while interviewing at Wayne State University. Shuttle service was excellent. Staff was friendly. Room was very clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Inn on Ferry Street

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
heather 1
Business
rhode island
Jan 26, 2014

very comfy

Stayed here by myself for business and felt very comfortable. Room was nice, service good. Would recommend highly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Inn on Ferry Street

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Pi 55
Business
Hilliard, OH
Jan 1, 2014

Hidden gem

If you're looking for a hotel different from the major chains near downtown this is an excellent choice! Charming, multi-building inn fashioned out of former residences, this is a great value and great experience. Rooms are large and elegantly appointed, free parking, free internet, free (and excellent) breakfast, close to downtown, in the arts district are some of the highlights of the Inn on Ferry St. I would highly recommend this place!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Inn on Ferry Street

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Frank 2 Fun
Business
Arlington, VA
Sep 19, 2013

Great Location, service and facilities...I will definitely be Back!

Immediately upon arriving at the check in desk, I was impressed with the professionalism and friendly personality of the desk staff. The shuttle service was "Outstanding", the driver was always responsive to requests for transportation to and requests for pick up from the entire core downtown area and the driver knew where everything was located and the history of nearly ever building and area that we dove past. Located next to the Wayne State University campus was a strong plus as my meetings were within the campus less than 2 blocks away from the Inn. Nicely furnished and decorated rooms, amazing historical neighborhood and great big comfortable bed with newly refinished bathroom.I will definitely be Back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Within minutes from the Inn are; the Detroit Tigers Baseball field, several great restaurants, internationally recognized art gallery, Historical Opera House, 3 casinos, core financial/business district and the USA/Canadian border.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Inn on Ferry Street

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
gildahaas
Business
los angeles
Jun 25, 2013

Lovely, friendly, comfortable hotel

I was attending a conference at Wayne State (walking distance). Room was beautiful and comfortable. Staff was friendly, helpful, and charming. Free shuttle to anywhere within 5 miles (I got a ride to a graduation across town). Great breakfast every morning. Free wifi (no code) -- I was able to easiy teach an online class from my room. I would love to stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Inn on Ferry Street

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
ron EB
Business
CXharlotte NC
Mar 1, 2013

Great Place both business and a visit

This place was recommended by a friend and met all expectations the place beautifull and the staff are exceptional the food is great if you are tired of the cookie cutter hotels then I would recommend this place 5star ron b

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Use the hotel free shuttle

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Inn on Ferry Street

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
IT MD
Business
Hartford, CT
Feb 23, 2013

Quaint or tired, your choice

Showing its age but had some redeeming qualities like breakfast and fresh cookie in room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Inn on Ferry Street

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
MaryLou Sue
Business
Boston, MA
Jan 20, 2013

Great place to stay in Detroit

This hotel was great. I only got to stay about 8 hours there, but I was very comfortable, they had everything I needed, and the room was really nice. It's a historic hotel, and the outside is great and the rooms are really nice and not cookie-cutter. The staff went out of their way to make sure I had a good stay, and I think I appreciated that the most.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Inn on Ferry Street

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
CU Tiger Orange
Business
Anderson, SC
Oct 17, 2012

A Perfect Place to Stay

The Inn on Ferry Street is the perfect place to stay while in Detroit. Location couldn't be better! It is near the cultural district andnot far from Tiger stadium. The hotel staff is the most pleasant I have ever encountered. Breakfast is delightful. The hotel shuttle carries you anywhere you need to go within a five mile radius of the inn. Kudos to these folks for taking charming historic homes and turning them into the inn. Pictures of early events and home owners hanging throughout the house add to the charm. I love it!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top