$175 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 29, 2015 Check-out: Jun 1, 2015

Inn on Ferry Street

3 stars
View map of 84 East Ferry Street, Detroit, MI 48202

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.6
out of 5
108 reviews
Great Stay

The Inn was beautiful. The homes were gorgeous. You felt as though you were living in the past with... See full review

  • jjeff42
  • Jul 19, 2014
Repeat customers

We found this gem last year and decided to return this year for another vacation. Wonderful room... See full review

  • Steve the Swede
  • Jun 19, 2014
The “inn” place to be, on midtown Detroit’s historic Ferry Street

The Inn on Ferry Street, centrally located in the East Ferry Street historic district of midtown Detroit, sets the standard for elegant guest quarters and dedicated service. Four lovingly restored Victorian homes and two carriage houses reside just steps from some of Michigan's finest museums, the acclaimed Detroit Medical Center, and Wayne State University. The Inn on Ferry Street is a change of pace from traditional hotels, but still provides deluxe in-room accommodations, as well as a free buffet breakfast and Wi-Fi.

Highlights
  • Charming, full-service, Victorian-style hotel in historic midtown Detroit
  • 40 unique rooms in four meticulously restored Victorian homes and two carriage houses
  • Complimentary Wi-Fi, hot breakfast, and shuttle service within five-mile radius of the hotel
  • Private conference or parlor space for small-scale business meetings and events
  • Concierge, valet, and room service, plus free parking
Rooms

Guests choose from among 40 deluxe, superior, or executive rooms. The vintage decor and furnishings differ from room to room and may feature Victorian or Arts and Crafts themes. Standard amenities include an armoire with a 25-inch television, free Wi-Fi, a CD player, and spa-style bath products. Some rooms also feature spacious work areas and whirlpool baths.

Features

Travelers who stay at the Inn on Ferry Street truly feel like house guests in a bygone era. The charming complex of vintage Victorian homes and carriage houses evokes the rich cultural and architectural history of Detroit. The accommodations, however, are unmistakably 21st-century.

 

The Inn on Ferry Street offers a unique setting for business meetings, workshops, and other functions. Attendees enjoy the Old-World charm and ambience of the untraditional accommodations, while utilizing such modern amenities as directional track lighting and Wi-Fi.

Transportation
  • Detroit Metropolitan Airport (21.4 mi/34.4 km)
  • Amtrak (0.6 mi/1 km)
Nearby attractions
  • Detroit Institute of Arts (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Detroit Medical Center (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Greektown Casino (2.2 mi/3.5 km)
Business
  • In-room work areas in some rooms
  • Business center
  • Meeting room holds up to 35 people
  • Outdoor garden accommodates up to 120 people

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Inn on Ferry Street also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Inn on Ferry Street Rooms

Non Smoking Superior Room
Our cozy Queen Superior rooms may include such exciting features as Victorian style furniture, high four poster bed, writing desk w/chair, large corner windows, tub and shower or standing shower.
Non Smoking Queen Deluxe Room
Our luxurious Queen Deluxe rooms may include such exciting features as Arts and Craft style furniture, a sleigh bed, round table with chairs, writing desk w/chair, high-back upholstered chair w/ottoman, turret w/windows, bay windows, skylight, tub and shower and decorative fireplace.
Non Smoking Executive Room
Our majestic Executive rooms may include such exciting features as separate parlor w/upholstered chairs, sleeper sofa bed large desk, activity table w/chairs, high-back upholstered chair, settee and arched windows, non-working fireplace, Jacuzzi tub w/shower.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Concierge
Dining
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Ford Field: 1.8 mi
  • Comerica Park: 1.8 mi
  • Joe Louis Arena: 2.6 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Smith Carriage House is a beautifully decorated and meticulously maintained meeting space currently available for meetings and parties. • The meeting space is approximately 756 square feet (18’ X 42’) • The meeting space can comfortably accommodate up to 35 people. • The room is equipped with recessed canister lights as well as directional track lighting. • There is also a 12’ service area equipped with cherry cabinets a microwave and a refrigerator (upon request). • Furnishings include cherry credenza and cushioned fabric banquet chairs. Separate restroom facilities for men and women are also available.

Dining

Complimentary Full Breakfast
Breakfast is served daily in our main house foyer and is included in the total cost of your guest room.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Inn on Ferry Street

Overall score

4.6 / 5
5.01.0
108 out of 108
Amenities:
4.3
Cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.8
Comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.6

97% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Inn on Ferry Street

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Pi 55
Business
Hilliard, OH
Jan 1, 2014

Hidden gem

If you're looking for a hotel different from the major chains near downtown this is an excellent choice! Charming, multi-building inn fashioned out of former residences, this is a great value and great experience. Rooms are large and elegantly appointed, free parking, free internet, free (and excellent) breakfast, close to downtown, in the arts district are some of the highlights of the Inn on Ferry St. I would highly recommend this place!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Inn on Ferry Street

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Kathi Holleman
Business
Jenison, Mi
Jan 20, 2014

gorgeous historic friendly place to stay

comfy and clean. LOVE it there! The yummiest fresh breakfast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Inn on Ferry Street

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
cenicienta58
Business
michigan
Feb 24, 2014

its my favourite hotel

went there for my honeymoon and we love the hotel so much that we went back for our first anniversary and now we are planing to go every year :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Inn on Ferry Street

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
DTWSF
Business
San Francisco
Mar 25, 2014

Perfect Detroit Stay

I love the Ferry Inn! I have stayed three times now while visiting family in the area. It is a charming historic hotel within close proximity to the Detroit Institute of Arts, Motown Museum, great new restaurants, and more. They have free shuttle service in the area. Fantastic breakfast in the morning and pleasant staff. For a visit to Detroit, it is a great option especially if you are someone who appreciates history and culture.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Inn on Ferry Street

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Tigersfan 4ever
Business
Lansing
Apr 1, 2014

Tigers home opener

Beautiful hotel with tons of character. Staff was very friendly and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Union station for their salmon. Mention the Inn and get 10% off.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Inn on Ferry Street

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Firefighter Sam
Business
Chicago, Illinois
Apr 21, 2014

Excellent B&B

This hotel is a gem. It's essentially a series of mansions converted to guestrooms and common areas. The room we had was immaculate, spacious, comfortable, and quiet. The location is excellent, as well. The Inn is located right on the edge of the museum and university area, and there are several great museums a short walk away. Detroit has a reputation for being depressed right now, but in the vicinity of the Inn that just means a lot of open space and quiet. Public transit in Detroit is a little sketchy, but the main N/S artery of the city (Woodward Avenue) is just west of the Inn, and there is a bus line that can take you downtown and close to the south lakefront and both major sports venues. The breakfast is excellent, and the staff helpful and warm. Even if your business takes you downtown, it might be worth it to stay here and commute the three miles or so. You'll get a great night's sleep and a great start to your day before hailing a cab or taking the adventuresome bus ride. I highly recommend this place, and I'm looking forward to returning.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There appeared to be a couple of decent restaurants in the building around the corner from the Inn (a sushi place and a creperie), but we didn't find much else in the area. There's a Whole Foods a mile or so south just off Woodward. If you're doing the museums, the cafe in the DIA museum is pretty good for lunch. Most of what we saw downtown looked like bars, and that wasn't our thing, especially since the Tigers were in town and their drunken fans were still out around dinner time. So for dinner I'd try the two places nearby, or go with the room service from a nearby restaurant (that menu looked pretty good).

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Inn on Ferry Street

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
All Out K
Business
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
May 30, 2009

ULTIMATE DETROIT STAY

This B&B is the perfect Detroit stay if you are tired of the usual Hilton etc. Great rooms, great people and nice area (Wayne University)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Inn on Ferry Street

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
ljbruce
Business
Florida
Jun 11, 2009

Great B&B, terrific amenities

Pleasant staff, willing to bend over backwards for you. Breakfast had everything, lots of variety. The room was quiet and had a great work station. The look was comfort and homey.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

So close to DMC, great place to stay.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Inn on Ferry Street

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boise, Idaho
Nov 10, 2009

Inn on Ferry Street Pleasant Surprise

The Inn on Ferry Street was one of the best travel experiences I have had in the past two decades of business travel. The restored homes are like museums with the woodwork and architecture and yet had a the most pleasant home atmosphere. Each of the houses has a great large common meeting area besides the nice rooms. The rooms were amazingly detailed and pleasant with ample working desk space and wireless internet service.Beyond the beauty and comfort, the place was quiet and incredibly peaceful. My friends stayed at the busy Marriot and though it was nice, I had great comfort, peace and quiet each night and morning before business. I showed them pictures and they were jealous. [...] The full breakfast was a great start each morning in a large room without a TV blaring, and somehow the staff and guests maintained the quiet atmosphere. The pace just seemed to slow down while there compared to most of my travels.The complimentary shuttle sealed the package and they had no problems dropping me off and picking me up each day. The drivers were knowledgeable and pleasant. They shared the history of Detroit, and the Hotel and suggested places to go. The Detroit Institute of Arts is one block away and I was able to visit that fascinating place on my last day which seemed so appropriate to the Inn itself.I can't say enough good things about it. I normally would never take the time to write this, but it's the least I could do considering how pleasant the stay was. [...]I would recommend this place to anyone in their Detroit travels and already have about 20 times while I was there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

The Detroit Institute of Arts (DIA)is one block from the Inn on Ferry Street and worked out even with a short 3 hour visit. I could have spent days there, but it has hundreds of exhibits that fit the century plus old buildings making up the Inn. Tons of original paintings and many sculptures from around the world.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Inn on Ferry Street

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
wearefla
Business
Ocala, FL, USA
Oct 26, 2011

Great place to stay in Detroit

We went to Detroit to attend a surprise 75th birthday party for my Aunt Beverly. The party was held at Mario's, a very popular Italian restaurant near downtown. The Inn on Ferry Street was closest to the restaurant, centrally located, easy to find from the airport. They even offered to drive us to the party and pick us up! A very nice B&B experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top