$119 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 28, 2014 Check-out: Oct 1, 2014

Inn on Ferry Street

3 stars
84 East Ferry Street, Detroit, MI 48202
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.6
out of 5
101 reviews
Great Stay

The Inn was beautiful. The homes were gorgeous. You felt as though you were living in the past with... See full review

  • jjeff42
  • Jul 19, 2014
Repeat customers

We found this gem last year and decided to return this year for another vacation. Wonderful room... See full review

  • Steve the Swede
  • Jun 19, 2014
The “inn” place to be, on midtown Detroit’s historic Ferry Street

The Inn on Ferry Street, centrally located in the East Ferry Street historic district of midtown Detroit, sets the standard for elegant guest quarters and dedicated service. Four lovingly restored Victorian homes and two carriage houses reside just steps from some of Michigan's finest museums, the acclaimed Detroit Medical Center, and Wayne State University. The Inn on Ferry Street is a change of pace from traditional hotels, but still provides deluxe in-room accommodations, as well as a free buffet breakfast and Wi-Fi.

Highlights
  • Charming, full-service, Victorian-style hotel in historic midtown Detroit
  • 40 unique rooms in four meticulously restored Victorian homes and two carriage houses
  • Complimentary Wi-Fi, hot breakfast, and shuttle service within five-mile radius of the hotel
  • Private conference or parlor space for small-scale business meetings and events
  • Concierge, valet, and room service, plus free parking
Rooms

Guests choose from among 40 deluxe, superior, or executive rooms. The vintage decor and furnishings differ from room to room and may feature Victorian or Arts and Crafts themes. Standard amenities include an armoire with a 25-inch television, free Wi-Fi, a CD player, and spa-style bath products. Some rooms also feature spacious work areas and whirlpool baths.

Features

Travelers who stay at the Inn on Ferry Street truly feel like house guests in a bygone era. The charming complex of vintage Victorian homes and carriage houses evokes the rich cultural and architectural history of Detroit. The accommodations, however, are unmistakably 21st-century.

 

The Inn on Ferry Street offers a unique setting for business meetings, workshops, and other functions. Attendees enjoy the Old-World charm and ambience of the untraditional accommodations, while utilizing such modern amenities as directional track lighting and Wi-Fi.

Transportation
  • Detroit Metropolitan Airport (21.4 mi/34.4 km)
  • Amtrak (0.6 mi/1 km)
Nearby attractions
  • Detroit Institute of Arts (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Detroit Medical Center (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Greektown Casino (2.2 mi/3.5 km)
Business
  • In-room work areas in some rooms
  • Business center
  • Meeting room holds up to 35 people
  • Outdoor garden accommodates up to 120 people

Hotel Map

42.3614 -83.0655
Area served
Detroit
Nearby airports
Detroit Metro Wayne County Airport.
Area description
5 miles from Detroit Historical Museum and 2 miles from Detroit casinos.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Inn on Ferry Street also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Inn on Ferry Street Rooms

Non Smoking Superior Room
Our cozy Queen Superior rooms may include such exciting features as Victorian style furniture, high four poster bed, writing desk w/chair, large corner windows, tub and shower or standing shower.
Non Smoking Queen Deluxe Room
Our luxurious Queen Deluxe rooms may include such exciting features as Arts and Craft style furniture, a sleigh bed, round table with chairs, writing desk w/chair, high-back upholstered chair w/ottoman, turret w/windows, bay windows, skylight, tub and shower and decorative fireplace.
Non Smoking Executive Room
Our majestic Executive rooms may include such exciting features as separate parlor w/upholstered chairs, sleeper sofa bed large desk, activity table w/chairs, high-back upholstered chair, settee and arched windows, non-working fireplace, Jacuzzi tub w/shower.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Concierge
Dining
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Ford Field: 1.8 mi
  • Comerica Park: 1.8 mi
  • Joe Louis Arena: 2.6 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Smith Carriage House is a beautifully decorated and meticulously maintained meeting space currently available for meetings and parties. • The meeting space is approximately 756 square feet (18’ X 42’) • The meeting space can comfortably accommodate up to 35 people. • The room is equipped with recessed canister lights as well as directional track lighting. • There is also a 12’ service area equipped with cherry cabinets a microwave and a refrigerator (upon request). • Furnishings include cherry credenza and cushioned fabric banquet chairs. Separate restroom facilities for men and women are also available.

Dining

Complimentary Full Breakfast
Breakfast is served daily in our main house foyer and is included in the total cost of your guest room.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (101)

Ratings and reviews for Inn on Ferry Street

Overall score

4.6 / 5
5.01.0
101 out of 101
Amenities:
4.2
Room cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.8
Room comfort:
4.7
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.6

98% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Inn on Ferry Street

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
CU Tiger Orange
Business
Anderson, SC
Oct 17, 2012

A Perfect Place to Stay

The Inn on Ferry Street is the perfect place to stay while in Detroit. Location couldn't be better! It is near the cultural district andnot far from Tiger stadium. The hotel staff is the most pleasant I have ever encountered. Breakfast is delightful. The hotel shuttle carries you anywhere you need to go within a five mile radius of the inn. Kudos to these folks for taking charming historic homes and turning them into the inn. Pictures of early events and home owners hanging throughout the house add to the charm. I love it!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Inn on Ferry Street

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boise, Idaho
Nov 10, 2009

Inn on Ferry Street Pleasant Surprise

The Inn on Ferry Street was one of the best travel experiences I have had in the past two decades of business travel. The restored homes are like museums with the woodwork and architecture and yet had a the most pleasant home atmosphere. Each of the houses has a great large common meeting area besides the nice rooms. The rooms were amazingly detailed and pleasant with ample working desk space and wireless internet service.Beyond the beauty and comfort, the place was quiet and incredibly peaceful. My friends stayed at the busy Marriot and though it was nice, I had great comfort, peace and quiet each night and morning before business. I showed them pictures and they were jealous. [...] The full breakfast was a great start each morning in a large room without a TV blaring, and somehow the staff and guests maintained the quiet atmosphere. The pace just seemed to slow down while there compared to most of my travels.The complimentary shuttle sealed the package and they had no problems dropping me off and picking me up each day. The drivers were knowledgeable and pleasant. They shared the history of Detroit, and the Hotel and suggested places to go. The Detroit Institute of Arts is one block away and I was able to visit that fascinating place on my last day which seemed so appropriate to the Inn itself.I can't say enough good things about it. I normally would never take the time to write this, but it's the least I could do considering how pleasant the stay was. [...]I would recommend this place to anyone in their Detroit travels and already have about 20 times while I was there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

The Detroit Institute of Arts (DIA)is one block from the Inn on Ferry Street and worked out even with a short 3 hour visit. I could have spent days there, but it has hundreds of exhibits that fit the century plus old buildings making up the Inn. Tons of original paintings and many sculptures from around the world.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Inn on Ferry Street

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Sep 20, 2008

Quaint Surprise in Cultural Area of Detroit

The Inn on Ferry Street is a very comfortable, clean,unique B&B that doesn't leave you feeling like you are staying in someone's home. Each room is unique and comfortable. The Inn offers a shuttle that will drop you off and pick you up within a 5 mile or so radius. The breakfast selection is excellent and fulfilling. I have turned so many friends on to the Inn. I can't wait for another exscuse to stay - it's only 30 miles from my home.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Inn on Ferry Street

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
gildahaas
Business
los angeles
Jun 25, 2013

Lovely, friendly, comfortable hotel

I was attending a conference at Wayne State (walking distance). Room was beautiful and comfortable. Staff was friendly, helpful, and charming. Free shuttle to anywhere within 5 miles (I got a ride to a graduation across town). Great breakfast every morning. Free wifi (no code) -- I was able to easiy teach an online class from my room. I would love to stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Inn on Ferry Street

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
The 50th Birthday Girl
Detroit, Mi
Mar 23, 2010

One of Detroit's Gems

My stay at the Inn on Ferry Street was fantastic and was an incredible part of a superb 50th Birthday Celebration. The check-in process was seamless, the room was perfect and the staff was phenomenial. I am a native Detroiter and I would recommend the Inn to anyone who is looking to spend some time in a quaint, quiet space located within the cultural center of the city.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The location of The Inn on Ferry Street is a very short walk from the Charles H. Wright Museum of African American History, Detroit Institue of Arts, Detroit Historical Museum, Hillberry Theatre, Detroit Science Center and the Center for Creative Studies.It is located a short drive from the Fisher Theatre,Comerica Park,the Fox Theatre and entertainment in Downtown Detroit. There are also a wide variety of multi-cultural dining options within a five to six mile radius.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Inn on Ferry Street

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
FirstLady
Chicago, IL, USA
Feb 13, 2012

Theraputic Getaway

This quaint historical B&B is a hidden jewel in the cityof Detroit. Furnished with ecclectic & unique antiques,lending the atmosphere it's authentic histoical charm. The grounds of the Inn are immaculentlly kept. I would definately reccomend staying here everytime I'm in Detroit. Free parking as well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

order in to your room from the Union Street Resturant.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Inn on Ferry Street

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
DTWSF
San Francisco
Mar 25, 2014

Perfect Detroit Stay

I love the Ferry Inn! I have stayed three times now while visiting family in the area. It is a charming historic hotel within close proximity to the Detroit Institute of Arts, Motown Museum, great new restaurants, and more. They have free shuttle service in the area. Fantastic breakfast in the morning and pleasant staff. For a visit to Detroit, it is a great option especially if you are someone who appreciates history and culture.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Inn on Ferry Street

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Rik Art
Wash., DC
Oct 7, 2012

Historic & cozy

Great service & room's, the free shuttle around town was great and if you get a particular driver you can get an in depth knowledge of the area. The only drawback is of there being no microwave or mini - fridge in the room's, but the staff will let you use the main kitchen if needed, it is a boutique hotel, other than that I would definitely stay again and highly recommend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Inn on Ferry Street

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
red--hog
Kalamazoo, MI
Apr 28, 2010

Fabulous place to stay

Fabulous place to stay at a rate unbeatable for such wonderful Bed n Breakfast. The service was very cordial and pleasing to deal with… tops. Beautiful rooms with new décor to match the 1920's circa of the house. Close to the DIA and other site in Midtown Detroit. I will come here again for sure.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Inn on Ferry Street

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Perry
Nottingham, UK.
Oct 5, 2012

Really interesting

Hotel consists of a collection of old houses. So every room is different to any other. Loved the Breakfast. The free shuttle is brilliant! - and even with tipping is much cheaper that getting a Taxi.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search