$119 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 26, 2014 Check-out: Dec 29, 2014

Inn on Ferry Street

3 stars
84 East Ferry Street, Detroit, MI 48202
Best In Stay
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.5
out of 5
102 reviews
Great Stay

The Inn was beautiful. The homes were gorgeous. You felt as though you were living in the past with... See full review

  • jjeff42
  • Jul 19, 2014
Repeat customers

We found this gem last year and decided to return this year for another vacation. Wonderful room... See full review

  • Steve the Swede
  • Jun 19, 2014
The “inn” place to be, on midtown Detroit’s historic Ferry Street

The Inn on Ferry Street, centrally located in the East Ferry Street historic district of midtown Detroit, sets the standard for elegant guest quarters and dedicated service. Four lovingly restored Victorian homes and two carriage houses reside just steps from some of Michigan's finest museums, the acclaimed Detroit Medical Center, and Wayne State University. The Inn on Ferry Street is a change of pace from traditional hotels, but still provides deluxe in-room accommodations, as well as a free buffet breakfast and Wi-Fi.

Highlights
  • Charming, full-service, Victorian-style hotel in historic midtown Detroit
  • 40 unique rooms in four meticulously restored Victorian homes and two carriage houses
  • Complimentary Wi-Fi, hot breakfast, and shuttle service within five-mile radius of the hotel
  • Private conference or parlor space for small-scale business meetings and events
  • Concierge, valet, and room service, plus free parking
Rooms

Guests choose from among 40 deluxe, superior, or executive rooms. The vintage decor and furnishings differ from room to room and may feature Victorian or Arts and Crafts themes. Standard amenities include an armoire with a 25-inch television, free Wi-Fi, a CD player, and spa-style bath products. Some rooms also feature spacious work areas and whirlpool baths.

Features

Travelers who stay at the Inn on Ferry Street truly feel like house guests in a bygone era. The charming complex of vintage Victorian homes and carriage houses evokes the rich cultural and architectural history of Detroit. The accommodations, however, are unmistakably 21st-century.

 

The Inn on Ferry Street offers a unique setting for business meetings, workshops, and other functions. Attendees enjoy the Old-World charm and ambience of the untraditional accommodations, while utilizing such modern amenities as directional track lighting and Wi-Fi.

Transportation
  • Detroit Metropolitan Airport (21.4 mi/34.4 km)
  • Amtrak (0.6 mi/1 km)
Nearby attractions
  • Detroit Institute of Arts (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Detroit Medical Center (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Greektown Casino (2.2 mi/3.5 km)
Business
  • In-room work areas in some rooms
  • Business center
  • Meeting room holds up to 35 people
  • Outdoor garden accommodates up to 120 people

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Inn on Ferry Street also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Inn on Ferry Street Rooms

Non Smoking Superior Room
Our cozy Queen Superior rooms may include such exciting features as Victorian style furniture, high four poster bed, writing desk w/chair, large corner windows, tub and shower or standing shower.
Non Smoking Queen Deluxe Room
Our luxurious Queen Deluxe rooms may include such exciting features as Arts and Craft style furniture, a sleigh bed, round table with chairs, writing desk w/chair, high-back upholstered chair w/ottoman, turret w/windows, bay windows, skylight, tub and shower and decorative fireplace.
Non Smoking Executive Room
Our majestic Executive rooms may include such exciting features as separate parlor w/upholstered chairs, sleeper sofa bed large desk, activity table w/chairs, high-back upholstered chair, settee and arched windows, non-working fireplace, Jacuzzi tub w/shower.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Concierge
Dining
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Ford Field: 1.8 mi
  • Comerica Park: 1.8 mi
  • Joe Louis Arena: 2.6 mi

Dining

Complimentary Full Breakfast
Breakfast is served daily in our main house foyer and is included in the total cost of your guest room.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Smith Carriage House is a beautifully decorated and meticulously maintained meeting space currently available for meetings and parties. • The meeting space is approximately 756 square feet (18’ X 42’) • The meeting space can comfortably accommodate up to 35 people. • The room is equipped with recessed canister lights as well as directional track lighting. • There is also a 12’ service area equipped with cherry cabinets a microwave and a refrigerator (upon request). • Furnishings include cherry credenza and cushioned fabric banquet chairs. Separate restroom facilities for men and women are also available.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (102)

Ratings and reviews for Inn on Ferry Street

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
102 out of 102
Amenities:
4.2
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.8
Room comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.6

97% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Inn on Ferry Street

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
CU Tiger Orange
Business
Anderson, SC
Oct 17, 2012

A Perfect Place to Stay

The Inn on Ferry Street is the perfect place to stay while in Detroit. Location couldn't be better! It is near the cultural district andnot far from Tiger stadium. The hotel staff is the most pleasant I have ever encountered. Breakfast is delightful. The hotel shuttle carries you anywhere you need to go within a five mile radius of the inn. Kudos to these folks for taking charming historic homes and turning them into the inn. Pictures of early events and home owners hanging throughout the house add to the charm. I love it!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Inn on Ferry Street

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jhundred
Business
Atlanta, GA
Feb 28, 2012

Detroit Weekend

We visited our 2 sons in Detroit for the weekend and stayed at The Inn on Ferry Street. It was a lovely B & B atmosphere. The historic houses are re-done very tastefully (and not OVERDONE) and the 24 hr. concierge was friendly and professional. The Inn also offered free shuttle service anywhere w/i a 5 mile radius, which seemed exceedingly generous even though we had a rental car and didn't use it. We did some walking in the area through Wayne State Univ. but Detroit is a car city and we didn't see many folks on the sidewalks. Complimentary breakfast was superb each morning, and we could pay $10/head to allow our sons to join us for breakfast. We had a delightful stay and plan to stay at the Inn again when we return to Detroit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Inn on Ferry Street

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
FirstLady
Business
Chicago, IL, USA
Feb 13, 2012

Theraputic Getaway

This quaint historical B&B is a hidden jewel in the cityof Detroit. Furnished with ecclectic & unique antiques,lending the atmosphere it's authentic histoical charm. The grounds of the Inn are immaculentlly kept. I would definately reccomend staying here everytime I'm in Detroit. Free parking as well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

order in to your room from the Union Street Resturant.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Inn on Ferry Street

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Seval
Business
Kalamazoo, MI
Jan 19, 2012

Excellent Detroit B&B

Very nice rooms in historic mansions adjacent to Wayne State U. and Detroit Institute of Arts. Free shuttle service is a wonderful convenience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Inn on Ferry Street

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Detroit firsttimer
Business
Lakeland, FL, USA
Dec 29, 2011

55+ couple loved it!

We loved staying at The Inn on Ferry Street! The houses were gorgeous, and decorated so nicely for Christmas. The location in mid-town was perfect. We felt safe walking in the neighborhood, and we were very close to many wonderful museums. Take advantage of the free van ride within 5 miles of the hotel. No worries about parking that way, or getting lost in an unfamiliar city. The staff were all courteous and extremely helpful. Breakfasts were delicious and Starbucks coffee was available 24/7 without charge. Bath not large.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Don't miss the Detroit Institute of Art if you have time! Crepe shop around the corner yummy and fun!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Inn on Ferry Street

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Joe from WI
Business
Milwaukee wI
Nov 27, 2011

Jewel

This inn felt like home. The staff was friendly out going and took care of all our needs. Shuttle service was great it almost was like taking a tour bus as they explained the different areas of Midtown detroit. Breakfast was also very good home cooked eggs ect. Great value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Inn on Ferry Street

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
wearefla
Business
Ocala, FL, USA
Oct 26, 2011

Great place to stay in Detroit

We went to Detroit to attend a surprise 75th birthday party for my Aunt Beverly. The party was held at Mario's, a very popular Italian restaurant near downtown. The Inn on Ferry Street was closest to the restaurant, centrally located, easy to find from the airport. They even offered to drive us to the party and pick us up! A very nice B&B experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Inn on Ferry Street

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Motown Author
Business
Manhattan
Oct 8, 2011

Historic, Luxurious, Friendly and Convenient

Beautiful, well-cared-for rooms; friendly knowledgeable staff; within walking distance of Wayne State University, Detroit Art Institute, Detroit Main Public Library, and at least one great restaurant, short drive from Tiger Stadium, Greektown, several casinos, City Hall, Renaissance Plaza, etc. Excellent breakfast included in room charge. All this place needs is a bar for nightly gatherings of occupants.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Inn on Ferry Street

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Seasoned traveler2
Business
New York, NY, USA
Sep 18, 2011

great alternative to the chains!

I enjoyed this hotel/inn. It is a refreshing change to the usual business hotels. From its location, the room's appointments with available wi-fi, the buffet breakfast and small business center, I had an enjoyable and comfortable stay. Minor complaints: make a path from the front of Owen to the parking lot, and clean the walls in my bathroom.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Inn on Ferry Street

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mcw31
Business
Seattle, WA
Sep 8, 2011

Great place to stay with some history

The free breakfast was good, and the free paper at the door is a nice touch in the morning. Overall clean place and had everything we needed. The location is pretty good, right next door to Wayne university, the arts institute, science centre and a few museums which provide for things to do during the day without venturing too far into some shady areas. Close enough to downtown and shuttle service is convenient. As long as you're not walking around too late at night, I felt safe in the area, and didn't even hear a single gunshot! If you're looking for a hotel that's a bit more interesting than your typical big name, fancy hotel chain, then you won't be disappointed. If you're just looking to party, then you'll feel out of place for sure here, after all it is a bed and breakfast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Inn on Ferry Street

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Very Happy Traveler
Business
Milwaukee, WI, USA
Sep 7, 2011

Great Jazz Fest Weekend

Ambiance and sense of history was enchanting. Location around Wayne State and Museum campus provided ample restaurants within walking distance. Highway access access was great. Did not feel like a hotel.....more like a home. The block was beautiful with the renovated stately homes. Staff was accommodating, friendly and professional. Missed breakfast, but it looked appetizing and healthy with eggs and fruit. Not a lot of shelf space for toiletries in bathroom. Other than that, no complaints. Will not stay any place else when in Detroit

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Have to visit Detroit fixture Coney Island for a Diner style meal.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top