$166 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 4, 2015 Check-out: Aug 7, 2015

Inn on Ferry Street

3 stars
View map of 84 East Ferry Street, Detroit, MI 48202

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Inn on Ferry Street

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
99 out of 99
Amenities:
4.2
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.8
Comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.5

97% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Inn on Ferry Street

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jhundred
Business
Atlanta, GA
Feb 28, 2012

Detroit Weekend

We visited our 2 sons in Detroit for the weekend and stayed at The Inn on Ferry Street. It was a lovely B & B atmosphere. The historic houses are re-done very tastefully (and not OVERDONE) and the 24 hr. concierge was friendly and professional. The Inn also offered free shuttle service anywhere w/i a 5 mile radius, which seemed exceedingly generous even though we had a rental car and didn't use it. We did some walking in the area through Wayne State Univ. but Detroit is a car city and we didn't see many folks on the sidewalks. Complimentary breakfast was superb each morning, and we could pay $10/head to allow our sons to join us for breakfast. We had a delightful stay and plan to stay at the Inn again when we return to Detroit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Inn on Ferry Street

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
FirstLady
Business
Chicago, IL, USA
Feb 13, 2012

Theraputic Getaway

This quaint historical B&B is a hidden jewel in the cityof Detroit. Furnished with ecclectic & unique antiques,lending the atmosphere it's authentic histoical charm. The grounds of the Inn are immaculentlly kept. I would definately reccomend staying here everytime I'm in Detroit. Free parking as well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

order in to your room from the Union Street Resturant.

Review of Inn on Ferry Street

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Seval
Business
Kalamazoo, MI
Jan 19, 2012

Excellent Detroit B&B

Very nice rooms in historic mansions adjacent to Wayne State U. and Detroit Institute of Arts. Free shuttle service is a wonderful convenience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Inn on Ferry Street

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Detroit firsttimer
Business
Lakeland, FL, USA
Dec 29, 2011

55+ couple loved it!

We loved staying at The Inn on Ferry Street! The houses were gorgeous, and decorated so nicely for Christmas. The location in mid-town was perfect. We felt safe walking in the neighborhood, and we were very close to many wonderful museums. Take advantage of the free van ride within 5 miles of the hotel. No worries about parking that way, or getting lost in an unfamiliar city. The staff were all courteous and extremely helpful. Breakfasts were delicious and Starbucks coffee was available 24/7 without charge. Bath not large.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Don't miss the Detroit Institute of Art if you have time! Crepe shop around the corner yummy and fun!

Review of Inn on Ferry Street

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Joe from WI
Business
Milwaukee wI
Nov 27, 2011

Jewel

This inn felt like home. The staff was friendly out going and took care of all our needs. Shuttle service was great it almost was like taking a tour bus as they explained the different areas of Midtown detroit. Breakfast was also very good home cooked eggs ect. Great value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Inn on Ferry Street

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
wearefla
Business
Ocala, FL, USA
Oct 26, 2011

Great place to stay in Detroit

We went to Detroit to attend a surprise 75th birthday party for my Aunt Beverly. The party was held at Mario's, a very popular Italian restaurant near downtown. The Inn on Ferry Street was closest to the restaurant, centrally located, easy to find from the airport. They even offered to drive us to the party and pick us up! A very nice B&B experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Inn on Ferry Street

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Motown Author
Business
Manhattan
Oct 8, 2011

Historic, Luxurious, Friendly and Convenient

Beautiful, well-cared-for rooms; friendly knowledgeable staff; within walking distance of Wayne State University, Detroit Art Institute, Detroit Main Public Library, and at least one great restaurant, short drive from Tiger Stadium, Greektown, several casinos, City Hall, Renaissance Plaza, etc. Excellent breakfast included in room charge. All this place needs is a bar for nightly gatherings of occupants.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Inn on Ferry Street

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Seasoned traveler2
Business
New York, NY, USA
Sep 18, 2011

great alternative to the chains!

I enjoyed this hotel/inn. It is a refreshing change to the usual business hotels. From its location, the room's appointments with available wi-fi, the buffet breakfast and small business center, I had an enjoyable and comfortable stay. Minor complaints: make a path from the front of Owen to the parking lot, and clean the walls in my bathroom.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Inn on Ferry Street

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mcw31
Business
Seattle, WA
Sep 8, 2011

Great place to stay with some history

The free breakfast was good, and the free paper at the door is a nice touch in the morning. Overall clean place and had everything we needed. The location is pretty good, right next door to Wayne university, the arts institute, science centre and a few museums which provide for things to do during the day without venturing too far into some shady areas. Close enough to downtown and shuttle service is convenient. As long as you're not walking around too late at night, I felt safe in the area, and didn't even hear a single gunshot! If you're looking for a hotel that's a bit more interesting than your typical big name, fancy hotel chain, then you won't be disappointed. If you're just looking to party, then you'll feel out of place for sure here, after all it is a bed and breakfast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Inn on Ferry Street

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Very Happy Traveler
Business
Milwaukee, WI, USA
Sep 7, 2011

Great Jazz Fest Weekend

Ambiance and sense of history was enchanting. Location around Wayne State and Museum campus provided ample restaurants within walking distance. Highway access access was great. Did not feel like a hotel.....more like a home. The block was beautiful with the renovated stately homes. Staff was accommodating, friendly and professional. Missed breakfast, but it looked appetizing and healthy with eggs and fruit. Not a lot of shelf space for toiletries in bathroom. Other than that, no complaints. Will not stay any place else when in Detroit

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Have to visit Detroit fixture Coney Island for a Diner style meal.

Back to menu Return to top