$119 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 30, 2014 Check-out: May 3, 2014

Inn on Ferry Street

3 stars
84 East Ferry Street, Detroit, MI 48202
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.6
out of 5
90 reviews
Tigers home opener

Beautiful hotel with tons of character. Staff was very friendly and helpful. See full review

  • Tigersfan 4ever
  • Apr 1, 2014
Perfect Detroit Stay

I love the Ferry Inn! I have stayed three times now while visiting family in the area. It is a... See full review

  • DTWSF
  • Mar 25, 2014
The “inn” place to be, on midtown Detroit’s historic Ferry Street

The Inn on Ferry Street, centrally located in the East Ferry Street historic district of midtown Detroit, sets the standard for elegant guest quarters and dedicated service. Four lovingly restored Victorian homes and two carriage houses reside just steps from some of Michigan's finest museums, the acclaimed Detroit Medical Center, and Wayne State University. The Inn on Ferry Street is a change of pace from traditional hotels, but still provides deluxe in-room accommodations, as well as a free buffet breakfast and Wi-Fi.

Highlights
  • Charming, full-service, Victorian-style hotel in historic midtown Detroit
  • 40 unique rooms in four meticulously restored Victorian homes and two carriage houses
  • Complimentary Wi-Fi, hot breakfast, and shuttle service within five-mile radius of the hotel
  • Private conference or parlor space for small-scale business meetings and events
  • Concierge, valet, and room service, plus free parking
Rooms

Guests choose from among 40 deluxe, superior, or executive rooms. The vintage decor and furnishings differ from room to room and may feature Victorian or Arts and Crafts themes. Standard amenities include an armoire with a 25-inch television, free Wi-Fi, a CD player, and spa-style bath products. Some rooms also feature spacious work areas and whirlpool baths.

Features

Travelers who stay at the Inn on Ferry Street truly feel like house guests in a bygone era. The charming complex of vintage Victorian homes and carriage houses evokes the rich cultural and architectural history of Detroit. The accommodations, however, are unmistakably 21st-century.

 

The Inn on Ferry Street offers a unique setting for business meetings, workshops, and other functions. Attendees enjoy the Old-World charm and ambience of the untraditional accommodations, while utilizing such modern amenities as directional track lighting and Wi-Fi.

Transportation
  • Detroit Metropolitan Airport (21.4 mi/34.4 km)
  • Amtrak (0.6 mi/1 km)
Nearby attractions
  • Detroit Institute of Arts (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Detroit Medical Center (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Greektown Casino (2.2 mi/3.5 km)
Business
  • In-room work areas in some rooms
  • Business center
  • Meeting room holds up to 35 people
  • Outdoor garden accommodates up to 120 people

Inn on Ferry Street Rooms

Non Smoking Superior Room
Our cozy Queen Superior rooms may include such exciting features as Victorian style furniture, high four poster bed, writing desk w/chair, large corner windows, tub and shower or standing shower.
Non Smoking Queen Deluxe Room
Our luxurious Queen Deluxe rooms may include such exciting features as Arts and Craft style furniture, a sleigh bed, round table with chairs, writing desk w/chair, high-back upholstered chair w/ottoman, turret w/windows, bay windows, skylight, tub and shower and decorative fireplace.
Non Smoking Executive Room
Our majestic Executive rooms may include such exciting features as separate parlor w/upholstered chairs, sleeper sofa bed large desk, activity table w/chairs, high-back upholstered chair, settee and arched windows, non-working fireplace, Jacuzzi tub w/shower.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Concierge
Dining
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Inn on Ferry Street also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Hotel Map

42.3614 -83.0655
Area served
Detroit
Nearby airports
Detroit Metro Wayne County Airport.
Area description
5 miles from Detroit Historical Museum and 2 miles from Detroit casinos.

Nearby points of interest

  • Ford Field: 1.8 mi
  • Comerica Park: 1.8 mi
  • Joe Louis Arena: 2.6 mi

Dining

Complimentary Full Breakfast
Breakfast is served daily in our main house foyer and is included in the total cost of your guest room.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Smith Carriage House is a beautifully decorated and meticulously maintained meeting space currently available for meetings and parties. • The meeting space is approximately 756 square feet (18’ X 42’) • The meeting space can comfortably accommodate up to 35 people. • The room is equipped with recessed canister lights as well as directional track lighting. • There is also a 12’ service area equipped with cherry cabinets a microwave and a refrigerator (upon request). • Furnishings include cherry credenza and cushioned fabric banquet chairs. Separate restroom facilities for men and women are also available.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (90)

Ratings and reviews for Inn on Ferry Street

Overall score

4.6 / 5
90 out of 90
Amenities:
4.2
Room cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.9
Room comfort:
4.7
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.6

98% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Inn on Ferry Street

Reviewer score

5
CU Tiger Orange
Business
Anderson, SC
Oct 17, 2012

A Perfect Place to Stay

The Inn on Ferry Street is the perfect place to stay while in Detroit. Location couldn't be better! It is near the cultural district andnot far from Tiger stadium. The hotel staff is the most pleasant I have ever encountered. Breakfast is delightful. The hotel shuttle carries you anywhere you need to go within a five mile radius of the inn. Kudos to these folks for taking charming historic homes and turning them into the inn. Pictures of early events and home owners hanging throughout the house add to the charm. I love it!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Inn on Ferry Street

Reviewer score

4
BigKnLB
Long Beach, CA
Oct 11, 2012

Best I've found in Detroit so far!

I have been to Detroit numerous times to visit family and stayed in many mediocre facilities and FINALLY found the place I will return to and happily suggest to others. The staff went out of their way to make sure my stay was very comfortable and relaxing. The room was fairly well appointed and comfy. They have a nice breakfast, free shuttle, great location and a beautiful setting. It is a very nice B&B and I will be back. There were two suggestion I had and they were (for my needs); darker blackout curtains for the room I stayed in and a dresser or something to store folded clothing in (I had to use the desk drawer).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

If you are a carnivore you MUST head to "Texas De Brazil" a Brazilian type eatery. For the most part go light on the salads and sit back and enjoy the fare!

Review of Inn on Ferry Street

Reviewer score

5
Rik Art
Wash., DC
Oct 7, 2012

Historic & cozy

Great service & room's, the free shuttle around town was great and if you get a particular driver you can get an in depth knowledge of the area. The only drawback is of there being no microwave or mini - fridge in the room's, but the staff will let you use the main kitchen if needed, it is a boutique hotel, other than that I would definitely stay again and highly recommend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Inn on Ferry Street

Reviewer score

5
Perry
Nottingham, UK.
Oct 5, 2012

Really interesting

Hotel consists of a collection of old houses. So every room is different to any other. Loved the Breakfast. The free shuttle is brilliant! - and even with tipping is much cheaper that getting a Taxi.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Inn on Ferry Street

Reviewer score

4
Trevor in Detroit
Columbia, MO
Sep 4, 2012

Fans of historic preservation stay here

Last time my friend and I went to Detroit for the annual Labor Day jazz fest we lodged at a 2-star place near Corktown. I expected the travel site would give us as much this time, but no! The Inn is rich in history with engaged and friendly staff and a free shuttle to anyplace within 5 miles of the Inn. Recommended for anyone with a love for Detroit, its history and historic structures.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Take your running shoes and map out a (daytime) route along Woodward and adjacent streets. Great sightseeing to be had!

Review of Inn on Ferry Street

Reviewer score

5
Masquelle
Business
Milw
Aug 18, 2012

If you like charm and time-travel...

Inn on Ferry Street is a charming group of homes that Detroit seemed to forget to decay. Rather, the Inn deemed worthy of restoring to their turn-of-the-last-century glory. If you want to feel like a Magnificent Amberson, this is the place for you.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Inn on Ferry Street

Reviewer score

4
Cece traveler
Business
Raleigh, NC
Jul 27, 2012

Like staying at a friends house!

Very homey experience unlike your typical hotel experience. People very friendly and helpful. Bed very comfortable. Quiet setting. Shuttle helpful to get around. Would definitely return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Inn on Ferry Street

Reviewer score

5
Appreciate Architecture
Chicago
Jul 16, 2012

Best Place to Stay in Detroit

The rooms are enomous, unique, and beautifully furnished. The staff is very friendly. You feel like you are staying at your rich uncle's house. The location is convenient to DIA and Wayne State.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Slow's BBQ

Review of Inn on Ferry Street

Reviewer score

4
california tripper
Business
Berkeley, CA
Apr 22, 2012

A wonderful stay

The buildings are stunning historical landmarks that have been meticulously restored; the service is highly attentive and gracious; the rates are below the downtown hotels (and this place is MUCH nicer, and in the wonderful Midtown area with lively bars and other attractions). The rooms are great -- with non-standard furniture, spacious, quiet. Fab breakfasts too. And there is a free shuttle service to take you where you want to go. An amazing place to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

The Cass Cafe -- maybe a 20 minute walk from the hotel. Excellent food and wonderful atmosphere -- very reasonable prices too.

Review of Inn on Ferry Street

Reviewer score

4
jhundred
Atlanta, GA
Feb 28, 2012

Detroit Weekend

We visited our 2 sons in Detroit for the weekend and stayed at The Inn on Ferry Street. It was a lovely B & B atmosphere. The historic houses are re-done very tastefully (and not OVERDONE) and the 24 hr. concierge was friendly and professional. The Inn also offered free shuttle service anywhere w/i a 5 mile radius, which seemed exceedingly generous even though we had a rental car and didn't use it. We did some walking in the area through Wayne State Univ. but Detroit is a car city and we didn't see many folks on the sidewalks. Complimentary breakfast was superb each morning, and we could pay $10/head to allow our sons to join us for breakfast. We had a delightful stay and plan to stay at the Inn again when we return to Detroit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Inn on Ferry Street

Reviewer score

5
FirstLady
Chicago, IL, USA
Feb 13, 2012

Theraputic Getaway

This quaint historical B&B is a hidden jewel in the cityof Detroit. Furnished with ecclectic & unique antiques,lending the atmosphere it's authentic histoical charm. The grounds of the Inn are immaculentlly kept. I would definately reccomend staying here everytime I'm in Detroit. Free parking as well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

order in to your room from the Union Street Resturant.

Back to menu Return to top