$119 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 25, 2014 Check-out: Dec 28, 2014

Inn on Ferry Street

3 stars
84 East Ferry Street, Detroit, MI 48202
Best In Stay
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.5
out of 5
102 reviews
Great Stay

The Inn was beautiful. The homes were gorgeous. You felt as though you were living in the past with... See full review

  • jjeff42
  • Jul 19, 2014
Repeat customers

We found this gem last year and decided to return this year for another vacation. Wonderful room... See full review

  • Steve the Swede
  • Jun 19, 2014
The “inn” place to be, on midtown Detroit’s historic Ferry Street

The Inn on Ferry Street, centrally located in the East Ferry Street historic district of midtown Detroit, sets the standard for elegant guest quarters and dedicated service. Four lovingly restored Victorian homes and two carriage houses reside just steps from some of Michigan's finest museums, the acclaimed Detroit Medical Center, and Wayne State University. The Inn on Ferry Street is a change of pace from traditional hotels, but still provides deluxe in-room accommodations, as well as a free buffet breakfast and Wi-Fi.

Highlights
  • Charming, full-service, Victorian-style hotel in historic midtown Detroit
  • 40 unique rooms in four meticulously restored Victorian homes and two carriage houses
  • Complimentary Wi-Fi, hot breakfast, and shuttle service within five-mile radius of the hotel
  • Private conference or parlor space for small-scale business meetings and events
  • Concierge, valet, and room service, plus free parking
Rooms

Guests choose from among 40 deluxe, superior, or executive rooms. The vintage decor and furnishings differ from room to room and may feature Victorian or Arts and Crafts themes. Standard amenities include an armoire with a 25-inch television, free Wi-Fi, a CD player, and spa-style bath products. Some rooms also feature spacious work areas and whirlpool baths.

Features

Travelers who stay at the Inn on Ferry Street truly feel like house guests in a bygone era. The charming complex of vintage Victorian homes and carriage houses evokes the rich cultural and architectural history of Detroit. The accommodations, however, are unmistakably 21st-century.

 

The Inn on Ferry Street offers a unique setting for business meetings, workshops, and other functions. Attendees enjoy the Old-World charm and ambience of the untraditional accommodations, while utilizing such modern amenities as directional track lighting and Wi-Fi.

Transportation
  • Detroit Metropolitan Airport (21.4 mi/34.4 km)
  • Amtrak (0.6 mi/1 km)
Nearby attractions
  • Detroit Institute of Arts (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Detroit Medical Center (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Greektown Casino (2.2 mi/3.5 km)
Business
  • In-room work areas in some rooms
  • Business center
  • Meeting room holds up to 35 people
  • Outdoor garden accommodates up to 120 people

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Inn on Ferry Street also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Inn on Ferry Street Rooms

Non Smoking Superior Room
Our cozy Queen Superior rooms may include such exciting features as Victorian style furniture, high four poster bed, writing desk w/chair, large corner windows, tub and shower or standing shower.
Non Smoking Queen Deluxe Room
Our luxurious Queen Deluxe rooms may include such exciting features as Arts and Craft style furniture, a sleigh bed, round table with chairs, writing desk w/chair, high-back upholstered chair w/ottoman, turret w/windows, bay windows, skylight, tub and shower and decorative fireplace.
Non Smoking Executive Room
Our majestic Executive rooms may include such exciting features as separate parlor w/upholstered chairs, sleeper sofa bed large desk, activity table w/chairs, high-back upholstered chair, settee and arched windows, non-working fireplace, Jacuzzi tub w/shower.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Concierge
Dining
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Ford Field: 1.8 mi
  • Comerica Park: 1.8 mi
  • Joe Louis Arena: 2.6 mi

Dining

Complimentary Full Breakfast
Breakfast is served daily in our main house foyer and is included in the total cost of your guest room.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Smith Carriage House is a beautifully decorated and meticulously maintained meeting space currently available for meetings and parties. • The meeting space is approximately 756 square feet (18’ X 42’) • The meeting space can comfortably accommodate up to 35 people. • The room is equipped with recessed canister lights as well as directional track lighting. • There is also a 12’ service area equipped with cherry cabinets a microwave and a refrigerator (upon request). • Furnishings include cherry credenza and cushioned fabric banquet chairs. Separate restroom facilities for men and women are also available.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (102)

Ratings and reviews for Inn on Ferry Street

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
102 out of 102
Amenities:
4.2
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.8
Room comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.6

97% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Inn on Ferry Street

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
tracymcali
Business
Oakland, CA
Jun 7, 2013

Best hotel in Detroit!

This is my 2nd wonderful stay at INn on Ferry St. I have found the place outstanding in pretty much every aspect. All of the staff are very accomodating and helpful. The rooms are large and very comfortable. The breakfast is amazing! and 24/7 they have good tea and coffee, amazing pastries, and fruit available. Each house has its own comfortable common space. I enjoy the midtown location and proximity to Detroit INstitute of Arts. I'll definitely stay here again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Inn on Ferry Street

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
momdadthreekids
Business
Caledonia, MI
May 28, 2013

Tiger game awesome alternative to "chain hotel"

Bed and breakfast that accepts kids. Love it! Kids loved the buffet breakfast, great breads, fruit, scrambled eggs ... shuttle (that we weren't even aware of) took us to Tiger Stadium, so we didn't have to drive. Fantastic!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Tiger Stadium / Fox Theatre / downtown Detroit

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Inn on Ferry Street

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mel99
Business
Jackson, MI
Apr 1, 2013

Inn on Ferry Street

Convenient location for Detroit Midtown activities, including the Detroit Institute of Art, the Detroit Public Library and the Wayne State University campus.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Inn on Ferry Street

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
ron EB
Business
CXharlotte NC
Mar 1, 2013

Great Place both business and a visit

This place was recommended by a friend and met all expectations the place beautifull and the staff are exceptional the food is great if you are tired of the cookie cutter hotels then I would recommend this place 5star ron b

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Use the hotel free shuttle

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Inn on Ferry Street

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
IT MD
Business
Hartford, CT
Feb 23, 2013

Quaint or tired, your choice

Showing its age but had some redeeming qualities like breakfast and fresh cookie in room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Inn on Ferry Street

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
breaktime
Business
Indiana
Jan 22, 2013

Weekend getaway

It is a beautiful place to stay. My only complaint was our room was next to the front door and it was noisy. The shuttle service was excellent and the staff was great! I would stay again or recommend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

I would ask the shuttle drivers for recommendations.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Inn on Ferry Street

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Kathi Holleman
Business
Jenison, Mi
Jan 22, 2013

Beautiful! Like staying in a castle.

The staff is like family. super friendly and courteous. Beautiful rooms! delicious fresh breakfast. Our favorite place to stay in Detroit!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Inn on Ferry Street

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
MaryLou Sue
Business
Boston, MA
Jan 20, 2013

Great place to stay in Detroit

This hotel was great. I only got to stay about 8 hours there, but I was very comfortable, they had everything I needed, and the room was really nice. It's a historic hotel, and the outside is great and the rooms are really nice and not cookie-cutter. The staff went out of their way to make sure I had a good stay, and I think I appreciated that the most.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Inn on Ferry Street

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
DubV
Business
Morgantown, WV
Jan 7, 2013

Doesn't Get Any Better!

Absolutely fantastic! Everyone was very cordial. The best was free shuttle to and from anywhere you would like to go. No matter the time, the shuttle bus was sent out to pick you up wherever you were in Detroit. No cabs. Best Service. Safe. I will definitely be staying here again if I ever venture back to Detroit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Check out Greektown! Redsmoke Barbecue fantastic local micro-brews on tap and the food was awesome!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Inn on Ferry Street

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Tracy 6
Business
Columbus, Ohio
Jan 3, 2013

Great after holiday getaway

The Inn on Ferry Street was an unexpected treat....very charming and comfortable and just one block from the Detroit Institute of Art. The shuttle to Other nearby places was a great extra!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Be sure and plan at least a half day to visit the art museum.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top