$175 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 18, 2015 Check-out: May 21, 2015

Inn on Ferry Street

3 stars
View map of 84 East Ferry Street, Detroit, MI 48202

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Inn on Ferry Street

Overall score

4.6 / 5
5.01.0
108 out of 108
Amenities:
4.3
Cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.8
Comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.6

97% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Inn on Ferry Street

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
MaryLou Sue
Business
Boston, MA
Jan 20, 2013

Great place to stay in Detroit

This hotel was great. I only got to stay about 8 hours there, but I was very comfortable, they had everything I needed, and the room was really nice. It's a historic hotel, and the outside is great and the rooms are really nice and not cookie-cutter. The staff went out of their way to make sure I had a good stay, and I think I appreciated that the most.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Inn on Ferry Street

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Firefighter Sam
Business
Chicago, Illinois
Apr 21, 2014

Excellent B&B

This hotel is a gem. It's essentially a series of mansions converted to guestrooms and common areas. The room we had was immaculate, spacious, comfortable, and quiet. The location is excellent, as well. The Inn is located right on the edge of the museum and university area, and there are several great museums a short walk away. Detroit has a reputation for being depressed right now, but in the vicinity of the Inn that just means a lot of open space and quiet. Public transit in Detroit is a little sketchy, but the main N/S artery of the city (Woodward Avenue) is just west of the Inn, and there is a bus line that can take you downtown and close to the south lakefront and both major sports venues. The breakfast is excellent, and the staff helpful and warm. Even if your business takes you downtown, it might be worth it to stay here and commute the three miles or so. You'll get a great night's sleep and a great start to your day before hailing a cab or taking the adventuresome bus ride. I highly recommend this place, and I'm looking forward to returning.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There appeared to be a couple of decent restaurants in the building around the corner from the Inn (a sushi place and a creperie), but we didn't find much else in the area. There's a Whole Foods a mile or so south just off Woodward. If you're doing the museums, the cafe in the DIA museum is pretty good for lunch. Most of what we saw downtown looked like bars, and that wasn't our thing, especially since the Tigers were in town and their drunken fans were still out around dinner time. So for dinner I'd try the two places nearby, or go with the room service from a nearby restaurant (that menu looked pretty good).

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Inn on Ferry Street

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
UP mom
Business
UP Michigan
Apr 20, 2014

Will stay again

What a little gem. Great location to anything you want to do downtown. Staff was excellent and breakfast was perfect with lots of choices and delicious food. Will dystopian there every chance I get.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Inn on Ferry Street

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Tigersfan 4ever
Business
Lansing
Apr 1, 2014

Tigers home opener

Beautiful hotel with tons of character. Staff was very friendly and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Union station for their salmon. Mention the Inn and get 10% off.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Inn on Ferry Street

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
PMLTX
Business
Texas
Mar 31, 2014

Great Hotel for Weekend Stay

This is a great hotel for a weekend stay. The location is prime, near all the downtown attractions without being downtown.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Inn on Ferry Street

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
DTWSF
Business
San Francisco
Mar 25, 2014

Perfect Detroit Stay

I love the Ferry Inn! I have stayed three times now while visiting family in the area. It is a charming historic hotel within close proximity to the Detroit Institute of Arts, Motown Museum, great new restaurants, and more. They have free shuttle service in the area. Fantastic breakfast in the morning and pleasant staff. For a visit to Detroit, it is a great option especially if you are someone who appreciates history and culture.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Inn on Ferry Street

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Barbbblog
Business
Chicago
Mar 24, 2014

Great for our visit to the art museum

Very convenient location to the Cultural Campus; near to the Amtrak Station. Hotel was very nice. The breakfast was great; served in The Scott House, where we stayed. Only negative was the desk staff, located just below our room was chatting among themselves--loudly for a while--it wasn't annoying enough to complain. They settled down around 9PM. Nice comfortable place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There are not many nearby restaurants. For a very casual lunch one day and dinner the next, we found the Circa 1890 Pub, about 4 blocks away. A throw-back to the 1970's college campus pizza pub style. Great sandwiches, pizza; not loud or too crowded; prices reasonable for food and bar.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Inn on Ferry Street

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kimball GradStudent
Business
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Mar 4, 2014

Great location

Stayed at the Inn while interviewing at Wayne State University. Shuttle service was excellent. Staff was friendly. Room was very clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Inn on Ferry Street

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
cenicienta58
Business
michigan
Feb 24, 2014

its my favourite hotel

went there for my honeymoon and we love the hotel so much that we went back for our first anniversary and now we are planing to go every year :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Inn on Ferry Street

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
heather 1
Business
rhode island
Jan 26, 2014

very comfy

Stayed here by myself for business and felt very comfortable. Room was nice, service good. Would recommend highly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Inn on Ferry Street

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Kathi Holleman
Business
Jenison, Mi
Jan 20, 2014

gorgeous historic friendly place to stay

comfy and clean. LOVE it there! The yummiest fresh breakfast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top