$104 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: May 16, 2014 Check-out: May 18, 2014

Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites DETROIT DOWNTOWN

3 stars
1020 WASHINGTON BOULEVARD, DETROIT, MI 48226
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
68 reviews
girls night away

The hotel staff and valet were very helpful and quick. location was perfect. right across the... See full review

  • trisha the dish
  • Apr 14, 2014
Great hotel!

Stayed in town for a Tigers game. Great location, close to anything you could want to do in... See full review

  • Tigersfan989
  • Apr 6, 2014
Downtown Detroit hotel with indoor swimming pool and free hot breakfast
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Detroit is near major businesses, conference centers and attractions, and offers convenience in the heart of downtown Detroit. Enjoy a fitness center and heated indoor swimming pool along with a free hot breakfast bar. Get online in the business center or with free Wi-Fi in updated guest rooms. Walk a block to the Detroit People Mover or a few more to the Cobo Center, MGM Grand Casino, Fox Theatre, Detroit Opera House or Hard Rock Café. Reach the stands at a Red Wings, Lions or Tigers game within minutes.

 


Highlights
  • Free full hot breakfast buffet
  • Indoor heated swimming pool
  • Big City Bar & Grill on site
  • Spacious rooms with free Wi-Fi plus extended-stay suites with full kitchens
  • Fitness center

 


Rooms
Find plenty of options for in-room snacks as the spacious accommodations at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Detroit include a refrigerator, microwave and coffee maker. Choose from 241 newly-renovated guest rooms with contemporary headboards and artwork, or check into one of 48 extended-stay suites with full kitchens. All rooms offer satellite TV channels, complimentary high-speed wireless Internet access and a video check-out feature. Pets are welcome at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Detroit (fees and restrictions apply).

 


Features
Executives find a business-savvy location in the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Detroit in addition to a guest laundry and same-day dry cleaning (fees apply). The hotel sits blocks from Compuware World Headquarters, next to the Federal Courthouse, DTE Energy and AT&T. Also nearby, visit the Renaissance Center or the General Motors World Headquarters. Arrive in Windsor, Canada by crossing the Ambassador Bridge or taking the tunnel. Connected to the hotel, the Big City Bar & Grill serves burgers and sandwiches to go with the big games broadcast on five plasma screens. Convenient valet parking includes 24/7 in-and-out privileges (fees apply).

 


Transportation
  • Detroit Metro Airport (20.1 mi/32.4 km)
  • Detroit People Mover (0.1 mi/0.2 km)

 


Attractions
  • Cobo Conference/Exhibition Center (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Detroit Opera House (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • MGM Grand Casino (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Comerica Park (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Fox Theatre (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • Ford Field (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • Joe Louis Arena (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Motown Museum (3.4 mi/5.4 km)
  • Windsor, Ontario, Canada (5.5 mi/8.9 km)
  • Ann Arbor (40.7 mi/65.5 km)

 


Business
  • Free high-speed wireless Internet access throughout the hotel
  • Business center

Amenities

  • Free breakfast
  • High-speed internet
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Ice machine
Activities
Indoor pool
Tennis
Dining
Free breakfast
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Services
Business center
Maid service
Guest laundromat
ATM/Cash machine
In-Room Safe
FAX
White board
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
Phone with speaker
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Cribs available
Temperature control
Ironing board
Bath tub

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites DETROIT DOWNTOWN also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Hotel Map

42.3308 -83.0507
Nearby airports
Detroit Metropolitan Airport, (DTW), 22.00, MI, NE;
Area description
Downtown, downtown

Nearby points of interest

  • Joe Louis Arena: 0.4 mi
  • Comerica Park: 0.6 mi
  • Ford Field: 0.7 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (68)

Ratings and reviews for Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites DETROIT DOWNTOWN

Overall score

3.8 / 5
68 out of 68
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.9

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites DETROIT DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

1
Disappointed Teachers
Business
Grand Blanc, MI
Mar 22, 2011

Dirty, Unsafe and Car Break-ins

Do not valet park!! Upon arriving, they try to make you believe you HAVE to valet park. During our 1 night stay we know of 3 car break-ins. One was a friend of ours. Windows of car get busted out. They say they can get them fixed for $110.00 if you pay cash, not check. Can you believe it!? They want you to pay for the damage. The hotel has been refaced and named to Holiday Inn Express, but it is just an old downtown hotel renamed. Rooms are small, hallways narrow and dark, bathrooms not clean (cleaning rag was left on our bathroom floor along with hair in tub). The air conditioner/heater that hung out the window had dirty filters hanging out of it. We were a group of teachers at a technology conference at Cobo. Lesson we learned: Never to stay at this hotel again!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Big City Bar had good food.

Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites DETROIT DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

1
Anonymous
USA
Feb 10, 2008

very disrespected

I could probably write a million reviews on how much this hotel put me through but what sticks out the most is how bad i was treated when i checkin in.The vallet parking was a joke i had a scratch on my truck when i got it back and it took over two hours to get my vehicle back when we wanted to leave. Also they told us we were 1/4 mile form joe louis arena that was a lie we had to take a shuttle cause it was over a mile and a half and it was freezing out. I don't recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Entertainment tip: Long walk from hotel

every thing was far the block we were on was dead

Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites DETROIT DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

1
Anonymous
PGH PA
Jun 7, 2009

Ok Trip

When I got there I didn't know it was valet parkiong only. Second when I went to check in, the room I booked on here they didn't have. They said booking a room on orbitz didn't assure it being there which I thought was ridiculous! If I booked it on here I should have had it when I got there. What was the point of me using the website. I will positively say I will never use orbitz again unless you can guarantee me the room I booked on orbitz will be the room I get @ the hotel. I was very dissappointed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites DETROIT DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

1
Anonymous
ohio
Dec 27, 2010

detroit visit 12/26

first no heat when you walked in the building. so your freezing. i left an expensive item on the counter and when i went back to get it the clerk the first time told me she did not have it and then the 2nd time asked she has it. the van going to the concert at joe louis arena did not pick us up after concert. standing outside freezing ourselves. had to pay a cab to tyaked us back to hotel. Our room had not bath soap so myc husband called front desk took them more then 20 minutes to get it to our room and then this morning we could not get out of our room so we called the front desk anmd someone came up to let us out of our room but could not fix the door until after was gone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
1
Dining tip: In Hotel

food was good

Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites DETROIT DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

2
Tiffney
Van Wert, OH
Jul 16, 2009

Fantastic Family getaway

The location was good for going to Tiger baseball games. It is an easy and relatively safe walk from Comerica Park. Also easy accessto the People Mover train for going around the business district of Detroit. While staying two nights, we experienced 2 falso alrams. This was alarming and not good for obvious safety reasons. The room numbers were taped onto the wall. I'm not sure if they are still under renovation or not. Our room (2 Queens) was not very large, just adequate.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Close to Comerica BAll Park and Fox Theatre, etc.

Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites DETROIT DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

2
PatrickDinNYC
Business
New York, NY
Jan 28, 2014

Aged

Good location for downtown meetings, but it's a bit wornout. Decent breakfast included in excellent rate.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites DETROIT DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

3
achirio
Business
delton, michigan
Jun 15, 2010

All Right, but nothing special

The hotel was in a great location in Detroit and the staff was very friendly and helpful on all our troubles. We went to the pool and found it to be very small, it was not the length nor the wide of it that bothered us... it was the fact that it was only about 4 feet deep. The room was spotless, and with good quality. The tv and wireless internet worked great. There weren't many bottles in the bathroom, usually when I go to a three star or better hotel there is some mouthwash and items like that but all they had was a small bottle of shampoo, conditioning, and lotion (that looked very cheap). Another thing that we didn't like was that the ice machine on our floor was broken, we were on the 9th floor so we went to the 8th, 7th and 6th floor and they were also broken. We decided to go to the front desk to ask for ice and they told us to try the 5th floor and we finally got our ice. The next day we went for the breakfast and i must say that it was very good. My wife didn't care for the eggs too much, but I thought they were very good. *note* there is only valet parking, which is 18 dollars. I feel it was worth it because it was very convenient and there wasn't any worry about someone breaking in to it. We bought the room thinking that the valet parking was included in the price but it was not.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites DETROIT DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

3
Tigers fan from PA
Hanover, PA
Jul 8, 2010

People are friendly, bugs bite!

Staff friendly, good location to comerica park tigers game Found a bed bug! Not good! Toilet Not clean!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites DETROIT DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

3
Anonymous
Escanaba, MI
Jul 25, 2010

Friendly

The hotel is well situated to the conference center and close to the people mover (one block from the Michigan Ave stop). On check in I think the staff was overwhelmed with convention attendees. The check in process took a little longer than I had hoped. The staff was very friendly however. During my week's stay, I had to have my key card reset every night because of some anomaly in Cobo Hall that knocked the magnetic strip out of wack. On the plus side, again the staff was very friendly and helpful. The morning breakfast was excellent, eggs, sausage or bacon, toast, milk, cereal, juice and coffee included in the price of the room. The small business center was available to print my boarding passes for the flight home. I was able to check my bags with the valet service both on coming in and checking out.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

the Detroit People Mover is one block from the hotel. Use it to get around downtown. I purchased a month pass for $10.00 and used at least that amount getting around for the week. (individual rides are 50 cents per trip) Fast and efficient transport. Thirteen stops in Downtown Detroit.

Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites DETROIT DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

3
Steeler game
Boise ID
Oct 12, 2009

holiday inn

Really close to the stadium, the "sport bar" next door had a good variety of beer and food. Service could use some work there. Although, [...] is a cutey.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

very close to the stadiums

Back to menu Return to top