$135 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 15, 2014 Check-out: Aug 16, 2014

Courtyard by Marriott Detroit Downtown

3 stars
333 East Jefferson, Avenue, Detroit, MI 48226
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
52 reviews
Excellent hotel. Great. Staff

Always a great experience in downtown Detroit. Staff is friendly and helpful. Easy access off... See full review

  • Dan coaster boss
  • Jul 12, 2014
Convenient & Consistent

Occasionally run up from Cleveland to Detroit for concerts and events. I've stayed at this... See full review

  • Daunbyjsunax
  • Jun 8, 2014
Direct connection to exciting Detroit and a club-quality fitness center

The distinctive Courtyard by Marriott Detroit Downtown is a sleek, stylish star in the heart of the Motor City. Guests enjoy superior convenience and style, from the modern, sophisticated design to the casual dining at the Courtyard Café and Bar. The hotel's attractive guest rooms offer an array of deluxe amenities, including free Wi-Fi. The fitness center is club-quality. The Courtyard is connected to the GM Renaissance Center and within easy reach of downtown's many business, cultural, sports, and entertainment attractions.

Highlights

  • Quality high-rise hotel in the heart of bustling downtown Detroit
  • 242 guest rooms and 18 suites offering deluxe amenities
  • Free Wi-Fi and wired Internet in rooms and public areas
  • Well-equipped fitness center, featuring indoor pool, running track, and outdoor tennis courts
  • Business center and flexible event facilities, including nine meeting rooms

Rooms

Guests relax in spacious rooms featuring either one king or two queen beds, with plush mattresses and high-quality linens. Generous amenities include free Internet access, a work area, 37-inch flat-screen television with cable channels, chair with ottoman, coffee maker, mini-refrigerator, iron with ironing board, and hair dryer.

Features

The Courtyard by Marriot reflects the urban style of downtown Detroit, with its modern exterior and inviting, newly renovated lobby. Guests appreciate the easy access to nearby attractions, including the Renaissance Center, which is connected to the hotel.

 

The casual Courtyard Café and Bar is a perfect spot to gather with friends or colleagues after a Detroit sporting event or a busy work day. The menu features light fare, plus house specialties such as a shrimp "po' boy" sandwich and home-style pot roast.

 

Guests find it easy to stay fit at the hotel's extensive workout facility. The fitness center features a variety of cardio equipment, free weights, an indoor pool, outdoor tennis courts, a jogging track, whirlpool, and sauna.

Transportation

  • Detroit Metropolitan Airport (24 mi/38.6 km)
  • Amtrak (4 mi/6.4 km)

Nearby attractions

  • Greektown Casino (0.3 mo/0.5 km)
  • Ford Field and Comerica Park (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Fox Theatre (1 mi/1.6 km)

Business

  • In-room work area
  • Free Internet
  • Business center
  • 6,948 square feet of event space, including nine meeting rooms

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Indoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Sauna
Jogging track
Tennis
Steam bath
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Express checkout
Laundry/Valet services
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
Barber shop
Barber/Beauty shop
FAX
Gift shop
Drugstore
Florist
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Safe
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Outlet adapters
Bathroom telephone
Cribs available
In room movies
Sofa bed
Temperature control
Shower
Iron
Ironing board
Bath tub

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Courtyard by Marriott Detroit Downtown also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.8 out of 5

Hotel Map

42.3301 -83.0417
Nearby airports
Detroit Metropolitan Wayne County Airport, (DTW), 18.00, MI, SW;
Area description
River

Nearby points of interest

  • Joe Louis Arena: 0.7 mi
  • Comerica Park: 0.7 mi
  • Ford Field: 0.7 mi

Dining

Courtyard Café
Casual & fun with a large selection of beer & wines - perfect before or after a sporting event. Featuring burgers, quesadillas, build your own pizzas and house specialties Shrimp Po Boy Sandwich & home-style Pot Roast. See hotel for restaurant hours.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (52)

Ratings and reviews for Courtyard by Marriott Detroit Downtown

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
52 out of 52
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.6

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Detroit Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dan coaster boss
Grandville mi
Jul 12, 2014

Excellent hotel. Great. Staff

Always a great experience in downtown Detroit. Staff is friendly and helpful. Easy access off highway .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Michigan avenue has many new upcoming restaurants that are outstanding

Review of Courtyard by Marriott Detroit Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Daunbyjsunax
Cleveland
Jun 8, 2014

Convenient & Consistent

Occasionally run up from Cleveland to Detroit for concerts and events. I've stayed at this particular Courtyard a few times., and they've been 100% consistent in terms of room cleanliness, readiness, and quick service, when needed. This Courtyard is close to all the concert and sports venues, all the Greektown and Bricktown restaurants, and has direct indoor access to the People Mover, and the GM Tower across the street. During winter, you can get halfway around Detroit before having to actually go 'outside'. Tons of taxis make getting out into the neighborhoods really easy (definitely worth a midnight ride to Honest John's!). The big, giant, pain-in-the-rear drawback to this place is the valet situation. Not only is the valet parking not included in your hotel stay (currently $23), but at afternoon check-in primetime - 3-6pm or so - the valet line fills up the covered parking area, and cars form a line down Jefferson Ave, waiting..... Definitely my preferred place to stay in Detroit, when I want to stay under $200 per night. But I may take an extra drive around the block next time to explore different parking options. All other aspects of this hotel are, however, a big Thumbs-Up!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Time-saving tip: In Hotel

Direct access to Detroit People Mover and two skyways. You can travel miles in cold Detroit weather without ever having to step outside, until you're almost at your destination. Pretty far reach from your hotel and very convenient.

Review of Courtyard by Marriott Detroit Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Grammy R.
Ithaca, NY
Dec 28, 2013

Christmas at the Courtyard Marriott, Detroit

Only 2 big towels for 2 of us. Need 3 for hair and body. No service on Christmas Day at all...bed not made, no restaurant open in Hotel or coffee in lobby. That would be fine if we were told ahead of time so we could plan. Check-in people and parking attendants were just great... friendly, timely, and upbeat. We were in Hotel for a week total and really needed the room vacuumed ore than just once. Thank you to Tanya and the sweet female parking attendant.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
1
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The small store just outside the Hotel had EVERYTHING we could want...wine, tickets, food, coffee, etc, and nice staff. So glad we found it.

Review of Courtyard by Marriott Detroit Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Grammy R.
Ithaca, NY
Jul 26, 2013

Needs some advice.

Upon arrival last in afternoon, no small towels in bathroom. Dry cleaning was delivered to us and was someone else's in hotel. There for 6 days and only vacuumed once. Last day there, did not clean our room. Staff is friendly and parking attendants are just great. Good location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Detroit Downtown

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Money mark
Schaumburg, il
Apr 1, 2013

Would try to avoid

The staff was ingenious as the constantly provided options for "the Courtyard". They did not seem to know of any activities of the surrounding area. Once we made it up to the room it looked average the chair provided was filthy. Absolutely no pamphlets to describe the amenities of the hotel. The location was okay, however, the surrounding area seemed really run down and un safe in broad day light. Sleeping was awful as the furnace controller switched in the middle of the night to 79 degrees. It never cooled down after that causing one of the most miserable nights I have ever had. Staff seemed uninterested in my concern.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
2
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

The Sweet Water Tavern is a great place to eat!

Review of Courtyard by Marriott Detroit Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
VHock
Ann Arbor, MI
Mar 5, 2013

Great Detroit Hotel

Great detroit hotel for downtown activities. Easy access to the people mover. Room was clean. Staff was polite

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Detroit Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mike and Molly
Detroit, Mi
Dec 13, 2012

Great downtown location

Comfortable, convenient to downtown activities. Very comfortable, good view, great workout facilities.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Detroit Downtown

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Jacky888
Roseville, MI
Oct 20, 2012

Ruined my love of Detroit

I will never stay downtown again due to my experience at this hotel. Stayed in 2 rooms with some friends for a birthday weekend, ended up robbed of 3 wallets 4 phones and all of our safety in our sleep. The hotel security and two police officers who came to the room when I realized what happened told us there was nothing they could do, we probably left the door open overnight. I know this was not the case and my items/safety was completely robbed from me without ignorance of leaving a hotel door open. I've never felt so violated in my life and I plan to continue investigating this issue myself since the hotel and police won't help. We may even sue.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Detroit Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
National KID
Henrico, VA
Jul 21, 2012

Average

The Hotel have good room, but staff need improve. If you need the some help, you will wait for long time. Albano

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Detroit Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
justk
Ewing, NJ
Jul 20, 2012

Good for Family Reunion

We had a great time. The hotel was good with the cleaning of the room. The hotel store was way over priced. Over the stay was good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Oyster Bar

Back to menu Return to top