$229 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 6, 2014 Check-out: Oct 7, 2014

The Inn at Bay Harbor Renaissance Lake Michigan Golf Resort

4 stars
3600 Village Harbor Drive, 3600 VILLAGE HARBOR DRIVE, Bay Harbor, MI 49770
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
11 reviews
up north getaway

amazing location on lake michigan. The king suite was spacious and decorated beautifully. luxurious... See full review

  • patty lake michigan fan
  • Sep 10, 2012
Romantic Vacation at an incredible place

Great hotel on lake Michigan See full review

  • RNSLAU
  • Jun 13, 2010
Recognized by GOLF magazine as a Gold Award Premier Resort and Travel + Leisure magazine as one of The World's Best Hotels, The Inn at Bay Harbor - A Renaissance Golf Resort rekindles the romance and style of the great turn-of-the-century Northern Michigan lakeside inns. The Inn at Bay Harbor enchants guests with spectacular Lake Michigan views, world-class service in the Petoskey, Michigan area. 1-, 2- and 3-bedroom suites, designed with cottage-style elegance is ideal for a romantic retreat, girlfriends getaway or relaxing sanctuary from the everyday. Guests can dine lakeside in Sagamore's Dining Room or relax in the South American Grille and Wine Bar. The resort features 45 holes of championship Michigan golf, The Spa at the Inn at Bay Harbor, a private Lake Michigan waterfront and an outdoor swimming pool for summer use. Serene surroundings, complemented by functional meeting facilities and innovative catering, make northern Michigan's premier lakeside resort an ideal destination for any occasion.

Hotel Map

45.3693 -85.0082
Area served
Petoskey
Nearby airports
Pellston Regional Airport, (PLN), 23.00, MI, S; Cherry Capital Airport, (TVC), 65.00, MI, NE; Harbor Springs Municipal Airport, (MGN), 8.60, MI, SW; Boyne Mountain Airport, (BFA), 13.00, MI, N;
Area description
Resort, Location Type: Resort

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Jacuzzi
Children's activities
Golf
Jogging track
Tennis
Water skiing
Picnic area/tables
Horseback riding
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Coffee shop
Room service
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
Childcare Service
Laundry/Valet services
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
Barber shop
Barber/Beauty shop
FAX
Video checkout
Gift shop
Drugstore
Florist
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Telephone
Kitchen
AM/FM alarm clock
Mini bar
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Turndown service
Cribs available
Fire place
In room movies
Temperature control
Shower
Iron
Ironing board
Bath tub
Wet bar

Dining

Sagamore's Dining Room
A celebration of American cuisine prepared with a regional flair and served in a lakeside dining room that offers spectacular views. Wine Spectator Award of Excellence.
The South American Grille and Wine Bar
Reflecting the classic elegance of a famed Great Lakes cruise ship, this lounge offers a variety of wines by the glass and classic cocktails.
The Inn Cafe
A perfect place for a casual bite, Starbucks coffee, espresso and ice cream
The Cabana Bar
A relaxing spot to enjoy casual poolside fare and tropical cocktails in season

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (11)

Ratings and reviews for The Inn at Bay Harbor Renaissance Lake Michigan Golf Resort

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
11 out of 11
Amenities:
4.3
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.5

82% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Inn at Bay Harbor Renaissance Lake Michigan Golf Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
patty lake michigan fan
rockville, md.
Sep 10, 2012

up north getaway

amazing location on lake michigan. The king suite was spacious and decorated beautifully. luxurious linens and a very large marble bathroom with double sinks. The lawn chess set was fun and the large pool and jacuzzi overlooking lake michigan was always well attended and clean. the pool bar is closed after labor day, but the hotel indoor bar is only a few steps away. The hotel lobby has a plentiful supply of freshly popped popcorn and the front desk staff is always pleasant and helpful. The only negative aspect that we have experienced at this hotel is the food at the main restaurant. The food is just ok and very pricey. The food in the bar is casual and very good. You can"t beat the tranquil setting and luxury at this hotel. Definitely the best on lake michigan! We will definitely return as we have in the past.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Many restaurants within a short driving distance from hotel. Near to Petosky, Harbor Springs, and Boyne, Michigan.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Inn at Bay Harbor Renaissance Lake Michigan Golf Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
JKBL
plymouth mi
Jul 13, 2014

rooms need help

The resort property is beautiful but the rome are in need of a re-do

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Inn at Bay Harbor Renaissance Lake Michigan Golf Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
patty lake michigan fan
rockville, md.
Sep 10, 2012

up north getaway

amazing location on lake michigan. The king suite was spacious and decorated beautifully. luxurious linens and a very large marble bathroom with double sinks. The lawn chess set was fun and the large pool and jacuzzi overlooking lake michigan was always well attended and clean. the pool bar is closed after labor day, but the hotel indoor bar is only a few steps away. The hotel lobby has a plentiful supply of freshly popped popcorn and the front desk staff is always pleasant and helpful. The only negative aspect that we have experienced at this hotel is the food at the main restaurant. The food is just ok and very pricey. The food in the bar is casual and very good. You can"t beat the tranquil setting and luxury at this hotel. Definitely the best on lake michigan! We will definitely return as we have in the past.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Many restaurants within a short driving distance from hotel. Near to Petosky, Harbor Springs, and Boyne, Michigan.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Inn at Bay Harbor Renaissance Lake Michigan Golf Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
RI
Mar 8, 2011

A very nice resort, even in the winter

In Petoskey for a family gathering, so didn't spend a lot of time at the Inn. It is huge, clean, comfortable, and in a fine location. Doesn't have an indoor pool, but otherwise just right.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Both Gourmet Galley and the Pancake House are good quality and friendly places. The range of offerings at the Gourmet Galley is much less in winter than during the summer season.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Inn at Bay Harbor Renaissance Lake Michigan Golf Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Chicago
Jan 1, 2011

Read this before staying here!

I have worked in the hospitality industry for over 12 years and I have stayed in resorts all over the U.S. In those 12 years I have also worked at the Inn at Bay Harbor. I would like to share a few things with you to help you make the best of your stay. When you make a reservation ask if the bed is a standard bed or a murphy bed. The murphy beds aren't horrible but, most guests prefer to have a standard bed that doesn't pull out of the wall. If you plan on spending a lot of time in your room ask for a lake view, but if you like to spend most of your day exploring the area or playing golf don't sweat it. If you plan on arriving to the hotel before 4 o'clock call ahead and let the front desk know. If you call ahead the staff will put your room at the top of the list to be ready for arrival. Don't be afraid to ask for an upgrade! If the hotel is busy one might not be available, but it is definitely worth a shot. The Master suite is a great room, in the mid price range! If you have a larger group and plan on entertaining check out the tower suites, they have a huge living area with lock off bed rooms. The hotel has two restaurants the "South American" and "Sagamores". The food is great, but there are a couple other hidden gems you should try as well. Check out Chandlers and City Park Grill in Petoskey, Cafe Sante in Boyne City. If you want to grab something casual, go to the Side Door Saloon in Petoskey, best burgers around. The front desk has copies of all the menus. If you golf the Bay Harbor Golf Club is a must hit track. Other courses to check out are The Hills at Boyne Highlands, Little Traverse Bay Golf Club, True North, and Hidden River Golf Club. I love to play golf and the courses I listed are the best of the best in Northern Michigan. Ladies, the spa at the Inn is amazing. If you are staying at the Inn during the summer months ask about the complementary chair massages on Fridays in the lobby. Most people don't know this but, the Hotel offers free bike rentals as well. There is a bike path that runs from Charlevoix to Harbor Springs and passes through the Bay Harbor property. Take a ride the Houses, Land scape, and views are amazing. Speaking of amazing views, check out the terrace at the Perry Hotel in down town Petoskey, it is the best view in town for sunsets and hardly anyone knows about it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Inn at Bay Harbor Renaissance Lake Michigan Golf Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Ann Arbor, MI
Oct 9, 2010

Beautiful Fall Get-Away

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for two nights. We explored the surrounding towns (Petoskey and Charlevoix) and enjoyed the various restaurants that were recommended to us in that area. The hotel and surrounding area was gorgeous and we had a view of the lake, which I'd highly recommend. The golf courses were also beautiful and we will be going back so my husband and father have a chance to play a round together. The only negative aspect of the hotel was the comfort (or lack-thereof) of the bed and pillows. I'd recommend bringing your own pillows.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

downtown Petoskey and Charlevoix

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Inn at Bay Harbor Renaissance Lake Michigan Golf Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
RNSLAU
Ann arbor,MI
Jun 13, 2010

Romantic Vacation at an incredible place

Great hotel on lake Michigan

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Inn at Bay Harbor Renaissance Lake Michigan Golf Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
romatic lady
sylvania, ohio
Jun 9, 2010

romantic getaway, wonderful service

The Inn at Bay Harbor was wonderful! The room was large very comfortable. Great view of water, warm fireplace, romatic... the kitchen was very useful. overall nothing short of amazing! staff extremely friendly and helpful. truely a wonderful place for a quiet romatic getaway. the price was a steal for the accomadations.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Inn at Bay Harbor Renaissance Lake Michigan Golf Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Indianapolis, In
May 3, 2010

Great Stay!

The hotel was beautiful we stayed in the tower suite.Staff was very helpful, the housekeeping staff was outstanding, I told [...] in housekeeping that it was my husbands birthday, she told me about the bathtowels in the shape of swans, the champagne, the bubble bath as a way to celebrate his birthday along with a birthday cake, truly memorable.And are already planning our next trip.Thank you Inn at Bay Harbour!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

You need to have breakfast at the Original Pancake House

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Inn at Bay Harbor Renaissance Lake Michigan Golf Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Michigan
Aug 21, 2009

Not worth the price

The air conditioning did not work and our room was 86 degrees. They did not care. It was so uncomfortable we could not sleep. They told us there were no other rooms available. After 7 hours of complaining we were moved into another room at midnight. We thought everything was going to be better until they told us we had to move rooms again before our stay was over. 3 rooms in 3 days! I didn't go on vacation to keep packing and moving everyday. Also the wall beds that are in their regular rooms are so uncomfortable! The restaurants were nice and the restaurant staff was wonderful. The front desk staff was terrible!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Inn at Bay Harbor Renaissance Lake Michigan Golf Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Sailfly
West Bloomfield, MI
Aug 17, 2009

Terrible Experience

The hotel, without telling us, put us into a handicap room. The room had no bathtub with no regular closets. The shower "stall", if you could call it that, was just a small room with a handheld water sprayer. There were no shelves, racks, or anything else in this room. There was not even an attachment for the handheld so that it could be placed in a holder while the shower was on, to spray one's body. If it was put in the holder, the water would go all over the room. To try to hold it, get soap, get a wash cloth, or to get shampoo was impossible. My wife shaving her legs was out of the question. Water went all over the bathroom. When we called down to ask for another room, they told us that the hotel was full. If they had a problem, and this was the only room left, they should have explained it to us up front and taken something off our rate, or given us a meal voucher or something. Instead, they could not care less. Check-out was a disaster. I had a business meeting and could not return until about 1:15. Check out was 12:30. We asked if we could have a check out 45 minutes later and they told us no, they needed to clean the room at 12:30. Of course, the room had not been touched by 1:15. In fact, the previous day, we had gone to the pool and returned at 3:00. The room had not been made up. We had to call twice to get the room made up, finally, at 4:15. There went our afternoon nap. At check out, at 12:30, my wife went down to check out on time. I had provided them with an imprint of our credit card on arrival. We had no additional charges. The desk clerk refused to let her check out and he told her that I would need to get back in line to check when I came back to pick her up at 1:15. Of course, when we got up to the desk, the other clerk told us that there were no additional charges and that we did not need to go back and checkout once again with the credit card. What a joke! The room was dirty with a bunch of dead flies on the windowsill, that looked like they were accumulating all summer. They tout a wonderful bonfire and marshmallow roast on the beach every night. The was no fire, just a hot piece of wood with a bag of marshmallows laying there. The beach is lousy and not walkable with out shoes. There is sand all over the sidewalks and pool. The pool ran out of pool towels shortly after it opened, so there were people screaming for towels. We have had such good experiences with Hilton. We would have stayed with them if they had one with an outdoor pool. In northern Michigan, the Hampton Inns only have indoor pools. Next time, we will stay there even f we do not get to swim outside.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

The only good thing about this hotel is there is an Original Pancake House in the Village of Bay Harbor. That is a fantastic place for breakfast.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search