$109 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 22, 2015 Check-out: May 23, 2015

Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Detroit Auburn Hills

3 stars
View map of 1650 N Opdyke Road, Auburn Hills, MI 48326

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Detroit Auburn Hills

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
24 out of 24
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.3

96% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Detroit Auburn Hills

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Beach Boy Baby
Business
Ontario Canada
Jul 2, 2012

Love Christine and the Candlewood.

Staff is great!!! Just 20 min from DTE saw the Beach Boys and giant outlet mall. Recommended a great breakfast place. am planning a spring get away with the girls, and will stay there!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Breakfast at chili dog place just north of th. hotel was great. Staff, food and price.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Detroit Auburn Hills

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Roger Crisd
Business
Auburn Hills, Michigan
Jun 1, 2012

Nice place to relax

My experience was good. I got a good nights sleep woke up feeling refreshed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Detroit Auburn Hills

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Micheal
Business
Tennessee, USA
Sep 28, 2011

Room seemed nice at first.

The room looked okay at first glance. A full size fridge, microwave, coffee pot, even a store eye, and dishes. Upon a closer look, the room had ants marching along the carpet line in the middle of the room from one side to another. Also, the internet in the room was not working as the modem under the desk was making an odd noise. Also, it appears no one has cleaned in front of the kitchen area in months. I realize I may be nit picking, but a hotel with an insect problem is very unacceptable. I walked up front to report it to the staff, but stood there for 10 minutes and no one ever showed up to the desk. Overall the hotel was nice, with the exception of those problems. I won't be staying there again however.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Detroit Auburn Hills

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Oakland Mom
Business
Iowa, USA
Sep 22, 2011

We stay here all the time

We have a child attending Oakland University and frequently stay at this location. It is nice, clean and conveniently located. The staff is helpful. The kitchenette is nice to have.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Nearby restaurants are good. Buddy's Pizza, Olga's Kitchen, Macaroni Grill - all good.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Detroit Auburn Hills

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Michigan
Jun 13, 2011

Very nice!

Fairly new and very clean and comfortable. Some extras other places don't offer like a microwave container and free popcorn, free packets of coffee available from the Candlewood cupboard. Only problem there was a very heavy footed person over on the floor above that got active late at night when I was in bed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Detroit Auburn Hills

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
SAGINAW, MI
Aug 30, 2010

NICE ROOMS

THE STORE AND LUNDRY ROOM WERE GREAT. THE ROOM WAS NICE SIZE.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Detroit Auburn Hills

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
SBL fan
Business
Pearland, TX
Aug 30, 2010

SBL weekend in MI

The staff was great!! They put up with all of our craziness, comming all hours of the day and night. The room was very roomy and had everything we needed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Detroit Auburn Hills

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Lone Buckeye
Business
Ohio
Mar 21, 2010

Cold Shower

Close to shopping and sports venues. Room was very nice for the price, however we could not heat the bathroom and the water pressure was extremely low.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Detroit Auburn Hills

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Constantlytdt
Business
Cincinnati, Ohio
Mar 15, 2010

Very convenient location, great price!

We stayed for the weekend, and attended a concert at the Palace of Auburn Hills. The Palace was convenient, only about 5 minutes away, as was the Great Lakes Crossing mall and many restaurants. We had an excellent time! Our suite was spotlessly clean and included a microwave, dishwasher and full size refrigerator. We would absolutely stay there again and plan to look for Candlewood Suites wherever we travel next!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

The Palace of Auburn Hills.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Detroit Auburn Hills

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Lake City, MI
Jan 18, 2010

overnighter at Canldewood Suites

when entering our room, the temperature was unbelievably hot. We estimated that the temperature was at least 90 degrees in the room. The surface of everything was quite warm to the touch. The only way to stop the heat from blasting out was to totally turn the thermostat off. Lowering the temperature from the 70 to 65 (the lowest it would allow us to go) did absolutely nothing. After calling athe desk staff and reporting our problem, she said she would be right up. After several minutes, she arrived, confirmed it was unreasonably hot and gave us keey to a room across the hall. Much better, but we had to set the heat to 74 and it still didn't seem to be that warm in the room. after goin to church te following morning, our key would not allow us access to the entrance door nearest our room, nor would the key of another guest who was outside at that time. Desk staff indicated the key should still be operatioal as we had another a=hour before chedk out time. Overall, the room was quite good, once we settled in. Temperature control may be an issue in the rooms. We felt we should have been ffered something as an accomodation for ourinconvenience, but none was offered.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Detroit Pistons play very nearby.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top