$73 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 2, 2015 Check-out: Jan 5, 2015

Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Detroit Auburn Hills

3 stars
1650 N Opdyke Road, Auburn Hills, MI 48326
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
23 reviews
Concert at the Palace

Hotel was great. Close to Palace. I would pre schedule a taxi ride before hand if attending a large... See full review

  • Jbake
  • Feb 16, 2014
Concert

No complaints with this hotel. Rooms were nice, location was close to Palace See full review

  • Jbake
  • Feb 16, 2014
This Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Detroit Auburn Hills hotel is in a quiet suburb close to the action, minutes from corporate campuses, shopping and dining. Just off Interstate 75, this lodging offers complimentary hot breakfast and complimentary wireless Internet access. Pick up last minute items in the convenient vending area and work out in the exercise center, both open around the clock. Refresh your wardrobe with the dry-cleaning and coin-op laundry facilities, and cook out in the outdoor grilling area. Take care of work details with our fax service, copy service, computer access and printing. All of the rooms offer spacious living areas and full kitchens, ideal for longer stays, and there is no smoking throughout the property. Pets are welcome at this hotel. A valid major credit card is required to check-in.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Detroit Auburn Hills also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
Activities
Exercise gym
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Express check in
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
FAX
Copy service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Outdoor parking
RV or truck parking
Bus parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Accessible parking
Room
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Microwave
TV remote control
Cribs available
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Palace Of Auburn Hills: 2.2 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (23)

Ratings and reviews for Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Detroit Auburn Hills

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
23 out of 23
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.2

96% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Detroit Auburn Hills

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Roger Crisd
Business
Auburn Hills, Michigan
Jun 1, 2012

Nice place to relax

My experience was good. I got a good nights sleep woke up feeling refreshed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Detroit Auburn Hills

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Micheal
Business
Tennessee, USA
Sep 28, 2011

Room seemed nice at first.

The room looked okay at first glance. A full size fridge, microwave, coffee pot, even a store eye, and dishes. Upon a closer look, the room had ants marching along the carpet line in the middle of the room from one side to another. Also, the internet in the room was not working as the modem under the desk was making an odd noise. Also, it appears no one has cleaned in front of the kitchen area in months. I realize I may be nit picking, but a hotel with an insect problem is very unacceptable. I walked up front to report it to the staff, but stood there for 10 minutes and no one ever showed up to the desk. Overall the hotel was nice, with the exception of those problems. I won't be staying there again however.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Detroit Auburn Hills

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Oakland Mom
Business
Iowa, USA
Sep 22, 2011

We stay here all the time

We have a child attending Oakland University and frequently stay at this location. It is nice, clean and conveniently located. The staff is helpful. The kitchenette is nice to have.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Nearby restaurants are good. Buddy's Pizza, Olga's Kitchen, Macaroni Grill - all good.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Detroit Auburn Hills

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Michigan
Jun 13, 2011

Very nice!

Fairly new and very clean and comfortable. Some extras other places don't offer like a microwave container and free popcorn, free packets of coffee available from the Candlewood cupboard. Only problem there was a very heavy footed person over on the floor above that got active late at night when I was in bed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Detroit Auburn Hills

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
SAGINAW, MI
Aug 30, 2010

NICE ROOMS

THE STORE AND LUNDRY ROOM WERE GREAT. THE ROOM WAS NICE SIZE.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Detroit Auburn Hills

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
SBL fan
Business
Pearland, TX
Aug 30, 2010

SBL weekend in MI

The staff was great!! They put up with all of our craziness, comming all hours of the day and night. The room was very roomy and had everything we needed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Detroit Auburn Hills

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Lone Buckeye
Business
Ohio
Mar 21, 2010

Cold Shower

Close to shopping and sports venues. Room was very nice for the price, however we could not heat the bathroom and the water pressure was extremely low.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Detroit Auburn Hills

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Constantlytdt
Business
Cincinnati, Ohio
Mar 15, 2010

Very convenient location, great price!

We stayed for the weekend, and attended a concert at the Palace of Auburn Hills. The Palace was convenient, only about 5 minutes away, as was the Great Lakes Crossing mall and many restaurants. We had an excellent time! Our suite was spotlessly clean and included a microwave, dishwasher and full size refrigerator. We would absolutely stay there again and plan to look for Candlewood Suites wherever we travel next!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

The Palace of Auburn Hills.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Detroit Auburn Hills

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Lake City, MI
Jan 18, 2010

overnighter at Canldewood Suites

when entering our room, the temperature was unbelievably hot. We estimated that the temperature was at least 90 degrees in the room. The surface of everything was quite warm to the touch. The only way to stop the heat from blasting out was to totally turn the thermostat off. Lowering the temperature from the 70 to 65 (the lowest it would allow us to go) did absolutely nothing. After calling athe desk staff and reporting our problem, she said she would be right up. After several minutes, she arrived, confirmed it was unreasonably hot and gave us keey to a room across the hall. Much better, but we had to set the heat to 74 and it still didn't seem to be that warm in the room. after goin to church te following morning, our key would not allow us access to the entrance door nearest our room, nor would the key of another guest who was outside at that time. Desk staff indicated the key should still be operatioal as we had another a=hour before chedk out time. Overall, the room was quite good, once we settled in. Temperature control may be an issue in the rooms. We felt we should have been ffered something as an accomodation for ourinconvenience, but none was offered.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Detroit Pistons play very nearby.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Detroit Auburn Hills

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
snicolek
Business
Commerce, MI
Jan 17, 2010

Not bad for the price

The staff was friendly. The rooms were clean and comfortable. It was convenient to have a kitchenette in the room. The food and drinks in the convenience store were affordable. It was also nice that they had a few movies available to borrow during your stay. The only things I didn't like about the hotel was that there was only one entrance/ exit to and from the building. Not a huge deal but does feel a little less private that way. Also the internet connection was horribly slow. Decided to just use my phone's internet. But the staff was extremely helpful in getting our laptop to connect to the internet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top