$54 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Nov 2, 2014 Check-out: Nov 3, 2014

Red Roof Inn Ann Arbor University South

2 stars
3505 South State St, I-94 at South State St Ext 177, Ann Arbor, MI 48108
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.4
out of 5
80 reviews
Great Parents' Get Away

Excellent service... only thing that was distasteful was it's location.. It was squished between... See full review

  • Ms. Professional
  • Mar 2, 2014
Stay for Interview at U of M

Hotel is clean, quiet and very adequate for a short stay. Good value for price. See full review

  • Interviewee 7
  • Oct 21, 2014
Welcome to the Red Roof Inn Ann Arbor-University of Michigan South in Michigan! This hotel is a pet friendly, family friendly hotel. The Red Roof Ann Arbor is conveniently located near the University of Michigan Ann Arbor, Cobblestone Farm, Buhr Park, Chrysler Arena, Michigan Stadium and the University of Michigan-Museum of Art.

Hotel Map

42.2394 -83.739
Nearby airports
Ann Arbor Municipal Airport, (ARB), 0.97, MI, N; Detroit City Airport, (DET), 39.45, MI, SW;
Area description
Airport

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Red Roof Inn Ann Arbor University South also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.5 out of 5

Red Roof Inn Ann Arbor University South Rooms

Deluxe
Business King rooms feature: Lg workstation, task lighting, microwave and microfridge.
Standard
2 Dbl beds, work desk, chair and TV

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Free local telephone calls
24 hour security
FEMA approved
Dining
Continental breakfast
Family plan
Services
24 hour front desk
Maid service
Laundry service
Laundry/Valet services
Security
Wake-up service
Copy service
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Heated guest rooms
Microwave
Cribs available
In room movies
Temperature control
Electronic door locks
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • Crisler Arena: 1.8 mi
  • Michigan Stadium: 1.9 mi
  • Yost Ice Arena: 2 mi
  • University of Michigan: 2.6 mi

Dining

Burger King
Adjacent
Bennigans
Walking Distance
Damons
Walking Distance
Macaroni Grill
Walking Distance
Max and Ermas
Walking Distance
Big Boy
1.20 miles
Joes Crab Shack
1.20 miles

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (80)

Ratings and reviews for Red Roof Inn Ann Arbor University South

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
80 out of 80
Amenities:
3.2
Room cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
3.5
Location:
3.9
Value:
3.9

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Red Roof Inn Ann Arbor University South

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Finnick
Business
Indianapolis, IN
Jul 30, 2012

The room was DISGUSTING.

We should have listened to the other reviews. Upon entering our hotel room, the first thing we noticed was someone's dirty socks still on the floor. Then, on a whim, I opened the in-room microwave to see if it was clean - not only was it dirty, but the last guest's Burger King meal was still inside. There was a pizza box on top of the closet, and upon closer inspection, the bed linens were covered with makeup or soda or some other brown liquid ... It was filthy. Absolutely filthy. We were moved to another room, but no apology or discount was offered, and it was blamed on the maid. Disgusting. I never want to stay at a Red Roof Inn again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Red Roof Inn Ann Arbor University South

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Unhappy Traveler1
Business
Santa Ynez, CA
Oct 15, 2012

Not helpful

poor service at the front desk. Entirely unhelpful

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Red Roof Inn Ann Arbor University South

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New Baltimore MI
Jul 16, 2009

Disappointed

A bug was swimming in the toilet bowl upon arrival, a dirty pair of man's undershorts was on the floor behind the door in the bathroom, the TV was about a 15 incher and they gave my promised and verified room away before my arrival at 5pm (check-in starts at 3pm) and they were kind enough to find me another room, without the amenities and in a construction area that blocked easy access and I had to ask for a reduction in rate for the lesser room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Red Roof Inn Ann Arbor University South

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Michigan mom Kate
Business
Los Angeles
Sep 22, 2014

Parents Weekend - avoid this one

The room could not have been smaller. It seems very dated and worn. The staff was uncaring. It was $154/night because of parents weekend so my advice is to go a different weekend and stay almost anywhere else. There is another Red Roof Inn in Ann Arbor and it's much nicer.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Go to Zingermans.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Red Roof Inn Ann Arbor University South

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Bobtrom
Business
Michigan
Jan 22, 2014

Did the trick

Needed a place to crash, no bedspread on bed 1st night, door didn't stay shut easily, otherwise was just a place to sleep

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Red Roof Inn Ann Arbor University South

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Chirurgen
Business
Lincoln Park, MI, USA
Mar 26, 2012

Thin Blankets and Cold Nights

We booked two nights at the Red Roof University South and were disappointed to find that the room didn't come with some of the most common amenities--namely a coffeemaker. The shower was really small and crowded, and the walls were cracked and dingy. Room service was a little slow, and the blankets were horribly thin. It made for a couple of cold and uncomfortable nights. Parking was an absolute nightmare. The hotel shares a common lot with another hotel, and the parking was set between then, with fewer than half the spaces you needed to actually park near your room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Red Roof Inn Ann Arbor University South

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
bobby parks
Business
hammond
Jul 1, 2012

sucked

no power,not their fault but they told us it would be on by 10 pm and it did not come on till 5 am.it was 103 degrees that day and they would not even give us a discount.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Red Roof Inn Ann Arbor University South

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
ApricotMan
Business
Pennsylvania
Mar 10, 2013

Stayed one night...should have stayed elsewehere

The amenities are quite old. This is one of the cheaper options for staying in ann arbor. I should have payed the extra $60 and stayed elsewhere.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Red Roof Inn Ann Arbor University South

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
brimley
Business
Michigan
Jul 14, 2013

It'll do...

We arrived early eve to friendly staff at the counter and promptly given our room. Went to the room and we both felt the non-smoking room smelled of smoke. Went down and asked to be switched and was done with no problem to another room. No odor but did notice hair (not ours on the sink) Cleaning staff needs some quality control but overall not too bad for the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Oasis hot tubs is about a mile away - nice private place to relax and soak for a couple hours.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Red Roof Inn Ann Arbor University South

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Experienced traveler BJB
Business
Utah
Aug 1, 2013

adequate for 1 night

Family of 8, 2 rooms, one night stay. Smelled badly of old smoke in a "non-smoking" room. Front desk responded quickly and sprayed room to barely tolerable level. Pool and breakfast were GREAT!! Family traveling for 2 weeks, we had lots of heavy luggage that we had to carry up and down a flight of stairs. No elevater was not on hotel site or reservation. Front desk unable to change to lower level. All employees were super nice and very responsive. Much nicer hotels in area for same price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top