$54 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Nov 2, 2014 Check-out: Nov 3, 2014

Red Roof Inn Ann Arbor University South

2 stars
3505 South State St, I-94 at South State St Ext 177, Ann Arbor, MI 48108
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.4
out of 5
79 reviews
Great Parents' Get Away

Excellent service... only thing that was distasteful was it's location.. It was squished between... See full review

  • Ms. Professional
  • Mar 2, 2014
Good Value, Great Location

We were looking for a hotel that was pet friendly and centrally located for the several events we... See full review

  • Jon Travel
  • Jul 10, 2014
Welcome to the Red Roof Inn Ann Arbor-University of Michigan South in Michigan! This hotel is a pet friendly, family friendly hotel. The Red Roof Ann Arbor is conveniently located near the University of Michigan Ann Arbor, Cobblestone Farm, Buhr Park, Chrysler Arena, Michigan Stadium and the University of Michigan-Museum of Art.

Hotel Map

42.2394 -83.739
Nearby airports
Ann Arbor Municipal Airport, (ARB), 0.97, MI, N; Detroit City Airport, (DET), 39.45, MI, SW;
Area description
Airport

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Red Roof Inn Ann Arbor University South also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.5 out of 5

Red Roof Inn Ann Arbor University South Rooms

Deluxe
Business King rooms feature: Lg workstation, task lighting, microwave and microfridge.
Standard
2 Dbl beds, work desk, chair and TV

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Free local telephone calls
24 hour security
FEMA approved
Dining
Continental breakfast
Family plan
Services
24 hour front desk
Maid service
Laundry service
Laundry/Valet services
Security
Wake-up service
Copy service
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Heated guest rooms
Microwave
Cribs available
In room movies
Temperature control
Electronic door locks
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • Crisler Arena: 1.8 mi
  • Michigan Stadium: 1.9 mi
  • Yost Ice Arena: 2 mi
  • University of Michigan: 2.6 mi

Dining

Burger King
Adjacent
Bennigans
Walking Distance
Damons
Walking Distance
Macaroni Grill
Walking Distance
Max and Ermas
Walking Distance
Big Boy
1.20 miles
Joes Crab Shack
1.20 miles

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (79)

Ratings and reviews for Red Roof Inn Ann Arbor University South

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
79 out of 79
Amenities:
3.2
Room cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
3.5
Location:
3.9
Value:
3.9

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Red Roof Inn Ann Arbor University South

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Cindy Osborne
Business
New Carlisle, Ohio
Dec 2, 2013

Great room for the price at the last minute

We were booking a room two days before the OSU/Michigan game and thought we were lucky just to GET any room. Other than the fact that the comforter on our bed STANK the room was really clean, well appointed and nicely furnished. The staff acted like they worked at one of the upper class motels in that they went out of their way to serve us well. It really disturbs me that hotels don't wash ALL the bedding after each guest but it s what it is.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

If you are coming to town for a Michigan game, get round trip tickets for the shuttle. It takes you from the Ted Roof Inn straight to the gate.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Red Roof Inn Ann Arbor University South

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Foxzy6200
Business
lansing mi
Dec 22, 2013

good deal

It was a great deal for the price. Nice and clean. The staff where friendly. Breakfast was good

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Red Roof Inn Ann Arbor University South

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Seank
Business
San Jose, CA, USA
Aug 29, 2011

Fantastic location in AA

Hotsl's location is really wonderful. Within 5 min walking distance, Big mall, named as Briawood mall, was there so it was really convenient. In addition, it takes just 10 minute driving to get to downtown and just 5 min driving to U of Michigan stadium.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

5 min walk

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Red Roof Inn Ann Arbor University South

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Abbie
Business
Boston, MA, USA
Aug 31, 2011

Good value

Excellent amenities, including refrigerator and microwave and excellent flat TV hung on wall. Good job fitting a lot into little space. Poor wall sockets and some burnt out light bulbs. Very helpful staff. Adequate breakfast. A little noisy. Parking a little tight. Convenient location. Good price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Main Street, Ann Arbor

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Red Roof Inn Ann Arbor University South

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Field Hockey Family
Business
Suffolk, VA
Sep 14, 2010

Simply Fine

Following a field hockey team to Ann Arbor. Close proximity to University of Michigan. Treadmill would have been nice. Simple breakfast that was fine. Tiny cups for coffee and juice. Just take 2!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

State Street seems a little more reasonably priced than Main St.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Red Roof Inn Ann Arbor University South

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Atlanta, GA
Feb 17, 2011

Better than expected

If you're looking for a no-frills, clean, safe, and comfy place to crash that's cheap, look no further. I was in town to visit the University of Michigan campus. Location was perfect for visiting campus and seeing the town. Bus service to campus has stops near the hotel and it's a short drive to campus in a rental car. Hotel doesn't look great from the outside, but it looked like the rooms had been renovated recently (past year or 2). The room had an LCD TV, microwave, and mini-fridge. Bathroom was somewhat small and the toilet was older. Bed was comfy - not too firm, but not soft and saggy. Heater/AC unit was strong enough to keep the room quite toasty, but it was a little loud (good if you like white noise when going to sleep). The walls between rooms let a decent amount of noise through, so be prepared to ask your neighbor to keep it down if they're louder than average.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Tons of restaurants nearby, but Mark's Mid-town Coney Island stood out in particular. It is located 0.5 miles from the hotel. They have a decent variety of food for a diner-type restaurant, but their prices are VERY good.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Red Roof Inn Ann Arbor University South

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Art Fair Lovers
Business
South Haven, MI
Jul 20, 2009

Very Nice

We stayed at this hotel because it was accross the street from the Ann Arbor Art Fair shuttle. We didn't spend much time in the hotel but while we were there the service was great, the staff was friendly and the free breakfast was more than expected.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Bennigans and Damons both almost accross the street.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Red Roof Inn Ann Arbor University South

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Alyssa travels
Business
Cleveland ohio
Jun 14, 2014

Red roof Ann Arbor

Clean comfortable and friendly staff. No complaints!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Red Roof Inn Ann Arbor University South

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jon Travel
Business
Tennessee
Jul 10, 2014

Good Value, Great Location

We were looking for a hotel that was pet friendly and centrally located for the several events we had to attend over the weekend. Red Roof was perfect for what we needed and was surprisingly one of the better economy hotels I've ever stayed at...and I've stayed in a lot of hotels in my life. Room was clean, free breakfast was more than just continental, and the staff were friendly and informative!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great Mexican restaurant just across State Street.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Red Roof Inn Ann Arbor University South

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
random nickname here
Business
Midland MI
Feb 3, 2014

Good value, comfortable room

For an older hotel, the rooms were very nice and updated. However, my main complaint is around parking. The parking lot was quite snowy so parking was a challenge, we had to just make our own spot quite far from the room. Also, when it had snowed overnight, they did not plow the parking lot by the time we left the first day (lunchtime) and it took us about 20 min to get out of the parking lot since our car is not great in the snow. Overall, I would stay again in the summer, but not in the winter.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top