Red Roof Inn Ann Arbor University South

2 stars
3505 South State St, I-94 at South State St Ext 177, Ann Arbor, MI 48108
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.3
out of 5
84 reviews
Great Parents' Get Away

Excellent service... only thing that was distasteful was it's location.. It was squished between... See full review

  • Ms. Professional
  • Mar 2, 2014
nice and clean

Hotel was very nice for the price But heater was little loud See full review

  • taurus322
  • Nov 19, 2014
Welcome to the Red Roof Inn Ann Arbor-University of Michigan South in Michigan! This hotel is a pet friendly, family friendly hotel. The Red Roof Ann Arbor is conveniently located near the University of Michigan Ann Arbor, Cobblestone Farm, Buhr Park, Chrysler Arena, Michigan Stadium and the University of Michigan-Museum of Art.

Red Roof Inn Ann Arbor University South Rooms

Deluxe
Business King rooms feature: Lg workstation, task lighting, microwave and microfridge.
Standard
2 Dbl beds, work desk, chair and TV

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Free local telephone calls
24 hour security
FEMA approved
Dining
Continental breakfast
Family plan
Services
24 hour front desk
Maid service
Laundry service
Laundry/Valet services
Security
Wake-up service
Copy service
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Heated guest rooms
Microwave
Cribs available
In room movies
Temperature control
Electronic door locks
Bath tub

Hotel Map

42.2394 -83.739
Nearby airports
Ann Arbor Municipal Airport, (ARB), 0.97, MI, N; Detroit City Airport, (DET), 39.45, MI, SW;
Area description
Airport

Nearby points of interest

  • Crisler Arena: 1.8 mi
  • Michigan Stadium: 1.9 mi
  • Yost Ice Arena: 2 mi
  • University of Michigan: 2.6 mi

Dining

Burger King
Adjacent
Bennigans
Walking Distance
Damons
Walking Distance
Macaroni Grill
Walking Distance
Max and Ermas
Walking Distance
Big Boy
1.20 miles
Joes Crab Shack
1.20 miles

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (84)

Ratings and reviews for Red Roof Inn Ann Arbor University South

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
84 out of 84
Amenities:
3.2
Room cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
3.8
Room comfort:
3.5
Location:
3.8
Value:
3.9

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Red Roof Inn Ann Arbor University South

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Windranger
Business
Athens, OH 45701, USA
Dec 14, 2011

Really Good

Everything is just perfect. The only problem might be the location. It is several miles from the campus.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Red Roof Inn Ann Arbor University South

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Esbee
Business
Battle Creek, MI
May 14, 2012

Excellent value

The staff was extremely helpful & friendly. The room was clean. The bed was comfy. Newer A/C unit worked perfectly. It's a bit hard to find because it's set back a bit off State Street, but when I called, the clerk gave clear, concise directions. This place was perfect for what we needed & I consider it to be a great bargain. I would definitely recommend it to a friend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Red Roof Inn Ann Arbor University South

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Syll
Business
New York Queens
Apr 13, 2013

Good value

Good customer service. The room is clean. It has microwave and refrigerator inside. Good value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Briarwood Mall

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Red Roof Inn Ann Arbor University South

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ms. Professional
Business
Ann Arbor, Mi
Mar 2, 2014

Great Parents' Get Away

Excellent service... only thing that was distasteful was it's location.. It was squished between two other hotels..very difficult to get inside.. that was my only downsize.. After getting inside the room was quite cold, until I turned up the heat... Overall great hotel.. very clean... NO BEDBUGS.. One thing I'd like to suggest is to have restaurant names and locations for those who are new to the area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
1
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Red Roof Inn Ann Arbor University South

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Northport, MI
Sep 19, 2010

Red Roof Inn Ann Arbor (University South

A friend and I were in Ann Arbor to attend a University of Michigan football game. Our stay was enjoyable and restfull. The location off State Street was perfect.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Red Roof Inn Ann Arbor University South

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Maxy
Business
Ottawa, ON, Canada
Oct 13, 2011

Ann Arbor convenience

I was mainly looking for a place to sleep near the interstate while on a long road trip. But the motel was only 2 miles away from unique downtown Ann Arbor so I got to visit Starte, Liberty, and Main Streets. If you have a few hours it's definitely worth the visit. There was a huge shopping mall across the street but strangely no food store. I had to buy orange juice at a gas station and it could not sell any alcohol. Breakfast at The Red Roof lacked yogurt, eggs, or real cheese, but for $53 what do you expect? I stayed here twice within a week and would do so again. Staff were very nice and we were allowed to use te computer at the adjacent Comfort Inn.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

If you like a combination of small town, funky student quarter, and high and low end shops, the three main downtown streets are definitely unique and delightful.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Red Roof Inn Ann Arbor University South

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JJ JJ
Business
Maryland
Oct 19, 2011

Great place for $50

I was a bit weary of booking this hotel, but the good reviews swayed me. It turned out to exceed expectations in every way. The staff was great, the room was modern, and everything went very smoothly. The bed was comfortable, but the only thing preventing me from giving it 5 star was the bedding. The pillows were old and lumpy and the linens felt very cheap.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Free breafast!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Red Roof Inn Ann Arbor University South

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
pepper56
Business
Ann Arbor, MI, USA
Oct 24, 2011

Great room for the price

The room looked nice and was very clean. The staff was very professional and personable. Very helpful and courteous.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The Briarwood mall was right across the street from the hotel so it was a short walk.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Red Roof Inn Ann Arbor University South

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jhn9648
Business
Canton, OH, USA
Nov 23, 2011

Work travel

Pillow was to hard for my preference and there was a truck running all night long that kept me awake. Newer room equipment and huge flat screen tv if you like that. Air conditioner/heater sucks (No auto temp control). Breakfast was pretty slim but you get what you pay for. Overall I'll come back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Red Roof Inn Ann Arbor University South

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Windranger
Business
Athens, OH 45701, USA
Dec 28, 2011

quite a nice place

The place is really nice. The only problem might be that it is a little far from the campus. Other things are just perfect

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top