$54 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Oct 1, 2015 Check-out: Oct 2, 2015

Red Roof Inn Ann Arbor University South

3 stars
View map of 3505 South State St, I-94 at South State St Ext 177, Ann Arbor, MI 48108

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Red Roof Inn Ann Arbor University South

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
84 out of 84
Amenities:
3.2
Cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
3.8
Comfort:
3.5
Location:
3.8
Value:
3.9

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Red Roof Inn Ann Arbor University South

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Windranger
Business
Athens, OH 45701, USA
Dec 14, 2011

Really Good

Everything is just perfect. The only problem might be the location. It is several miles from the campus.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Red Roof Inn Ann Arbor University South

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
MD14
Business
Chicago, IL
Oct 15, 2014

Average but good value

This is a standard hotel but adequate for a quick overnight stay and excellent for value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Red Roof Inn Ann Arbor University South

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Michigan mom Kate
Couples
Los Angeles
Sep 22, 2014

Parents Weekend - avoid this one

The room could not have been smaller. It seems very dated and worn. The staff was uncaring. It was $154/night because of parents weekend so my advice is to go a different weekend and stay almost anywhere else. There is another Red Roof Inn in Ann Arbor and it's much nicer.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Go to Zingermans.

Review of Red Roof Inn Ann Arbor University South

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Hotel Stayer 1212
Couples
Ann Arbor, MI
Sep 8, 2014

Nice rooms, noisy and bad staff

Rooms were clean and comfortable. Could hear others outside yelling/playing music/dogs barking from inside the room. Receptionist was extremely rude and unhelpful. I would look for a different place to stay next time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Red Roof Inn Ann Arbor University South

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jon Travel
Family
Tennessee
Jul 10, 2014

Good Value, Great Location

We were looking for a hotel that was pet friendly and centrally located for the several events we had to attend over the weekend. Red Roof was perfect for what we needed and was surprisingly one of the better economy hotels I've ever stayed at...and I've stayed in a lot of hotels in my life. Room was clean, free breakfast was more than just continental, and the staff were friendly and informative!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great Mexican restaurant just across State Street.

Review of Red Roof Inn Ann Arbor University South

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Alyssa travels
Business
Cleveland ohio
Jun 14, 2014

Red roof Ann Arbor

Clean comfortable and friendly staff. No complaints!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Red Roof Inn Ann Arbor University South

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
mefalcon
Single
Monroe MI
Mar 13, 2014

Good value for the price

For a basic night's stay, you can't beat this place for the price. The room was clean and quiet; the heat worked, and the bed was reasonably comfortable. The bath fixtures have been update for a more modern look. I live only about 30 minutes away and was staying overnight to avoid a treacherous commute in the morning due to a snowstorm, so local attractions were not a factor.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Red Roof Inn Ann Arbor University South

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ms. Professional
Couples
Ann Arbor, Mi
Mar 2, 2014

Great Parents' Get Away

Excellent service... only thing that was distasteful was it's location.. It was squished between two other hotels..very difficult to get inside.. that was my only downsize.. After getting inside the room was quite cold, until I turned up the heat... Overall great hotel.. very clean... NO BEDBUGS.. One thing I'd like to suggest is to have restaurant names and locations for those who are new to the area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
1
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Red Roof Inn Ann Arbor University South

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
blackrover
Friends
Ann Arbor, MI
Feb 24, 2014

Simplistic

Good hotel for just needing a place to stay overnight. The parking was a little compact. Staff was excellent.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Red Roof Inn Ann Arbor University South

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
BrewYork
Single
New York
Feb 21, 2014

Second stay, still a fan

The rooms are compact, but it's clean and super cheap, and wifi is included. My pro-tip would be to have them air the room out for an hour or so before you get there, they go absolutely insane with the cleaning products.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Red Roof Inn Ann Arbor University South

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
random nickname here
Couples
Midland MI
Feb 3, 2014

Good value, comfortable room

For an older hotel, the rooms were very nice and updated. However, my main complaint is around parking. The parking lot was quite snowy so parking was a challenge, we had to just make our own spot quite far from the room. Also, when it had snowed overnight, they did not plow the parking lot by the time we left the first day (lunchtime) and it took us about 20 min to get out of the parking lot since our car is not great in the snow. Overall, I would stay again in the summer, but not in the winter.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Back to menu Return to top