$54 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Nov 2, 2014 Check-out: Nov 3, 2014

Red Roof Inn Ann Arbor University South

2 stars
3505 South State St, I-94 at South State St Ext 177, Ann Arbor, MI 48108
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.4
out of 5
79 reviews
Great Parents' Get Away

Excellent service... only thing that was distasteful was it's location.. It was squished between... See full review

  • Ms. Professional
  • Mar 2, 2014
Good Value, Great Location

We were looking for a hotel that was pet friendly and centrally located for the several events we... See full review

  • Jon Travel
  • Jul 10, 2014
Welcome to the Red Roof Inn Ann Arbor-University of Michigan South in Michigan! This hotel is a pet friendly, family friendly hotel. The Red Roof Ann Arbor is conveniently located near the University of Michigan Ann Arbor, Cobblestone Farm, Buhr Park, Chrysler Arena, Michigan Stadium and the University of Michigan-Museum of Art.

Hotel Map

42.2394 -83.739
Nearby airports
Ann Arbor Municipal Airport, (ARB), 0.97, MI, N; Detroit City Airport, (DET), 39.45, MI, SW;
Area description
Airport

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Red Roof Inn Ann Arbor University South also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.5 out of 5

Red Roof Inn Ann Arbor University South Rooms

Deluxe
Business King rooms feature: Lg workstation, task lighting, microwave and microfridge.
Standard
2 Dbl beds, work desk, chair and TV

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Free local telephone calls
24 hour security
FEMA approved
Dining
Continental breakfast
Family plan
Services
24 hour front desk
Maid service
Laundry service
Laundry/Valet services
Security
Wake-up service
Copy service
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Heated guest rooms
Microwave
Cribs available
In room movies
Temperature control
Electronic door locks
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • Crisler Arena: 1.8 mi
  • Michigan Stadium: 1.9 mi
  • Yost Ice Arena: 2 mi
  • University of Michigan: 2.6 mi

Dining

Burger King
Adjacent
Bennigans
Walking Distance
Damons
Walking Distance
Macaroni Grill
Walking Distance
Max and Ermas
Walking Distance
Big Boy
1.20 miles
Joes Crab Shack
1.20 miles

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (79)

Ratings and reviews for Red Roof Inn Ann Arbor University South

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
79 out of 79
Amenities:
3.2
Room cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
3.5
Location:
3.9
Value:
3.9

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Red Roof Inn Ann Arbor University South

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
MD14
Business
Chicago, IL
Oct 15, 2014

Average but good value

This is a standard hotel but adequate for a quick overnight stay and excellent for value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Red Roof Inn Ann Arbor University South

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Michigan mom Kate
Business
Los Angeles
Sep 22, 2014

Parents Weekend - avoid this one

The room could not have been smaller. It seems very dated and worn. The staff was uncaring. It was $154/night because of parents weekend so my advice is to go a different weekend and stay almost anywhere else. There is another Red Roof Inn in Ann Arbor and it's much nicer.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Go to Zingermans.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Red Roof Inn Ann Arbor University South

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Hotel Stayer 1212
Business
Ann Arbor, MI
Sep 8, 2014

Nice rooms, noisy and bad staff

Rooms were clean and comfortable. Could hear others outside yelling/playing music/dogs barking from inside the room. Receptionist was extremely rude and unhelpful. I would look for a different place to stay next time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Red Roof Inn Ann Arbor University South

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jon Travel
Business
Tennessee
Jul 10, 2014

Good Value, Great Location

We were looking for a hotel that was pet friendly and centrally located for the several events we had to attend over the weekend. Red Roof was perfect for what we needed and was surprisingly one of the better economy hotels I've ever stayed at...and I've stayed in a lot of hotels in my life. Room was clean, free breakfast was more than just continental, and the staff were friendly and informative!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great Mexican restaurant just across State Street.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Red Roof Inn Ann Arbor University South

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Alyssa travels
Business
Cleveland ohio
Jun 14, 2014

Red roof Ann Arbor

Clean comfortable and friendly staff. No complaints!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Red Roof Inn Ann Arbor University South

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
mefalcon
Business
Monroe MI
Mar 13, 2014

Good value for the price

For a basic night's stay, you can't beat this place for the price. The room was clean and quiet; the heat worked, and the bed was reasonably comfortable. The bath fixtures have been update for a more modern look. I live only about 30 minutes away and was staying overnight to avoid a treacherous commute in the morning due to a snowstorm, so local attractions were not a factor.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Red Roof Inn Ann Arbor University South

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ms. Professional
Business
Ann Arbor, Mi
Mar 2, 2014

Great Parents' Get Away

Excellent service... only thing that was distasteful was it's location.. It was squished between two other hotels..very difficult to get inside.. that was my only downsize.. After getting inside the room was quite cold, until I turned up the heat... Overall great hotel.. very clean... NO BEDBUGS.. One thing I'd like to suggest is to have restaurant names and locations for those who are new to the area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
1
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Red Roof Inn Ann Arbor University South

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
blackrover
Business
Ann Arbor, MI
Feb 24, 2014

Simplistic

Good hotel for just needing a place to stay overnight. The parking was a little compact. Staff was excellent.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Red Roof Inn Ann Arbor University South

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
BrewYork
Business
New York
Feb 21, 2014

Second stay, still a fan

The rooms are compact, but it's clean and super cheap, and wifi is included. My pro-tip would be to have them air the room out for an hour or so before you get there, they go absolutely insane with the cleaning products.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Red Roof Inn Ann Arbor University South

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
random nickname here
Business
Midland MI
Feb 3, 2014

Good value, comfortable room

For an older hotel, the rooms were very nice and updated. However, my main complaint is around parking. The parking lot was quite snowy so parking was a challenge, we had to just make our own spot quite far from the room. Also, when it had snowed overnight, they did not plow the parking lot by the time we left the first day (lunchtime) and it took us about 20 min to get out of the parking lot since our car is not great in the snow. Overall, I would stay again in the summer, but not in the winter.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top