$55 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 1, 2014 Check-out: Sep 2, 2014

Motel 6 Ann Arbor

1 star
3764 South State St, I-94 at S State St, Exit #177, Ann Arbor, MI 48108
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.0
out of 5
85 reviews
Wasn't expecting much, but was pleasantly surprised

Inexpensive place to stay. Large room contained no upholstered furniture & no carpet. I loved that.... See full review

  • JT OH
  • Apr 14, 2014
A2 Motel 6

Frequent visitor. Great for price. Easy to get to, cost to everything. See full review

  • beer road dog
  • Jul 14, 2014
Roadside Ann Arbor motel offers sleek, simple, affordable amenities
Situated in south Ann Arbor adjacent to the Briarwood Mall, the Motel 6 Ann Arbor offers simple, affordable accommodations within easy distance of the university campus, downtown Ann Arbor and local sports stadiums. The motel sits just off the interstate and it is surrounded by a variety of dining options. The Motel 6 Ann Arbor also features a small outdoor swimming pool, 24-hour front desk service and in-room Wi-Fi access (fees apply). Business guests can arrange basic print, copy and fax services (fees apply) at the front desk.
Highlights
  • Outdoor pool
  • Guest laundry
  • Free morning coffee
  • Wi-Fi access (fees apply) in guest rooms
  • Has a pet policy
Rooms
The Motel 6 Ann Arbor has simple guest rooms with a newly updated decor that is surprisingly sleek and chic for a budget-friendly roadside motel. Traditional layouts come with either single king-size beds or pairs of queens or double beds. In-room amenities include 32-inch LCD televisions with audiovisual connections and Wi-Fi access (fees apply). Bathrooms feature granite countertops, raised sinks and shower/tub combos. All rooms have telephones and small side tables and chairs.
Features
The modest yet clean Motel 6 Ann Arbor provides business and leisure guests with the basic essentials at an affordable price near downtown Ann Arbor. Guests can find snacks, drinks and ice on the property, and the Motel 6 Ann Arbor provides complimentary coffee each morning. The property has a small outdoor swimming pool and coin-operated laundry available. Nearby restaurants are within walking distance. The hotel offers Wi-Fi access throughout the property (fees apply), and it also has a pet policy.
Transportation
  • Ann Arbor Airport (0.8 mi/1.3 km)
  • Amtrak Station (3.8 mi/6.1 km)
  • Detroit Metro Airport (23 mi/37.1 km)
Attractions
  • Briarwood Mall (0.9 mi/1.4 km)
  • Michigan Stadium (3.2 mi/5.1 km)
  • Ann Arbor Hands-On Museum (3.7 mi/6 km)
  • Kerrytown Market and Shops (3.8 mi/6.1 km)
  • Domino's Petting Zoo (10.9 mi/17.5 km)
Business
  • Business services
  • Wi-Fi access (fees apply)

Hotel Map

42.2325 -83.7392
Nearby airports
Ann Arbor Municipal Airport, (ARB), 0.80, MI, NE; Willow Run Airport, (YIP), 11.20, MI, W; Detroit Metropolitan Wayne County, (DTW), 22.30, MI, W; Jackson County Airport-Reynolds Field, (JXN), 39.80, MI, E; Detroit City Airport, (DET), 41.70, MI, SW
Area description
City Center

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Motel 6 Ann Arbor also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5

Motel 6 Ann Arbor Rooms

Premier
Modern Room 2 Queen Beds

Amenities

  • Pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Free local telephone calls
Activities
Pool
Dining
Restaurant
Services
24 hour front desk
Maid service
Security
Wake-up service
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Room
Television with cable
Heated guest rooms
Microwave
Temperature control
Electronic door locks

Nearby points of interest

  • Crisler Arena: 2.3 mi
  • Michigan Stadium: 2.4 mi
  • Yost Ice Arena: 2.4 mi
  • University of Michigan: 3 mi

Dining

McDonalds
Adjacent to hotel.
Cherry Blossom
Adjacent to hotel.
Bennigans
Nearby 1 mile.
Damons Steakhouse
Nearby 1 mile.
Olive Garden
Nearby 1.5 mile.
Applebees
Nearby 2 miles.
Old Country Buffet
Nearby 2 miles.
TGI Fridays
Nearby 2 miles.
Joes Crab Shack
Nearby 2.5 miles.
Mongolian Barbeque
Nearby 4 miles.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (85)

Ratings and reviews for Motel 6 Ann Arbor

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
15 out of 85
Amenities:
2.9
Room cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
3.5
Room comfort:
3.7
Location:
3.5
Value:
3.7

80% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Motel 6 Ann Arbor

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Hanacita
Chicago
Aug 7, 2014

Typical Motel experience

Nothing special, clean and adequate. Staff was friendly and helpful. Disappointed the shuttle was not running to/from the Big House on a big game day...had to pay an additional $70 (with tips) for a taxi to/from the stadium.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Motel 6 Ann Arbor

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
JT OH
Ohio
Apr 14, 2014

Wasn't expecting much, but was pleasantly surprised

Inexpensive place to stay. Large room contained no upholstered furniture & no carpet. I loved that. I always wonder what is hiding in the carpet that I can't see. My room had two double beds. We couldn't believe how comfortable they were. The corner of the room had a little breakfast nook. Great to have a little table to play cards or eat. We saw pizza delivery to other rooms. You park right at the door to the room, so you don't get wet & you can keep an eye on your car if you want. Take your own shampoo when you go. You may see me there because I will definitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Motel 6 Ann Arbor

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Ides16
Ann Arbor, MI
Apr 14, 2013

Motel 6

Sheets were dirty. Pretty sure there was a blood stain.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
3
Review of Motel 6 Ann Arbor

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lumpy Spuds
Mount Pleasant, MI
Apr 8, 2013

A nice place for a weary traveler.

This hotel was absolutely perfect for my trip. The room was clean and quaint. Honestly, I LOVED the look of the place, hip and modern. It had a feel of a fancy flat in NYC, yet the affordability a thrifty traveler like myself requires. And the staff!!! Tasha was just a peach. Friendly and helpful, and when we arrived, she was dealing with something that seemed kinda stressful. I don't know the details, but it sounded like she had something important to deal with, yet, instead of carrying that stress over to dealing with other guests, she was calm, collected and genuinely friendly to me. I felt as if I was an olde friend, not just a guest passing through. Seriously, THANK YOU TASHA FOR BEING SUCH A FRIENDLY SMILING FACE!!! You really started my trip off on the right foot.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Review of Motel 6 Ann Arbor

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
JayP12
Davenport, Florida
Oct 25, 2012

Quality Stay for the Money

This hotel was what would most expect from a value chain. Obviously low on amenities, but the price made up for that. The room was in decent shape and it did have a small fridge and microwave. The room layout was nice and included some updated features with the table/bench setup along with newer style beds. The only area that appeared to be missed in recent refurbishments was the bathroom. It definitely could have used a refresh. All in all it was a decent hotel for the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Motel 6 Ann Arbor

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
chel chel
Reynoldsburg, OH, USA
Aug 20, 2012

Will go back next year!!!

Got the rest I needed and enjoyed the time away. Hotel provided everything that I needed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Motel 6 Ann Arbor

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Chanela
Santa Monica, CA
Oct 3, 2011

Tailgating with Friends

I wasn't sure what Iw as going to get with Motel 6. We stayed here a few years ago and it was definitely in need of an update. The rooms are now modernized and upgraded with flat panel TVs. For the price and the location in relation to the Big House and downtown Ann Arbor, this place can't be beat. This is definitely a step up from no-frills, but if you're not spending too much time in the room, its not a big deal. The staff was extremely friendly and the area felt safe. Would definitely stay here again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Motel 6 Ann Arbor

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Chicago
Oct 12, 2010

Awful Experience due to bad neighbors!

I stayed after a UM football game. Hotel was clean, service was nice, but the people in the room next to us were partying all night until 4:00 AM when the police came and took them away. I didn't get but a few hours of sleep. I brought this to the attention of the front desk upon check out and all they said was sorry. I personally feel that they should have accepted more responsibility for how their guests affect everyone else staying there. I would hope Motel 6 would want people to come back and stay, & honestly have some reservations due to the lack of customer service in trying to acknowledge what a horrible experience we had.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of Motel 6 Ann Arbor

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
kaha
kansas
Jun 16, 2010

Good location, good price

Rates were good for the weekend , not that far from MIS, rooms clean ,

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Not a bad drive to Race track ,down state st to hwy12 then right

Review of Motel 6 Ann Arbor

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
BenFranklin1982
Ypsilanti, MI
Mar 20, 2010

Great for the price

It's a Motel 6. It's a bargain motel. You have to keep that in mind when you book here. Considering this is the case, I was impressed. It exceeded my expectations. The room was nicely renovated. We walked into a burst of color, and there were good little design touches. I was surprised at how well furnished it was. There were a table and chairs, a nice flat-screen TV with a decent number of channels (built into the wall to increase room space), and a big refrigerator. Bathroom is "split" so that the toilet and tub are in the bathroom (but it was a nice tub and shower) and the counter and sink are outside the bathroom. But this is more than adequate, and well-lit. It was quite the opposite of the hole in the wall that I had pictured. The location is decent. It's right by the mall. Not exactly in the middle of Ann Arbor, but it's off of State St, and you can head directly down State to end up downtown. It's also right at I-94. There's a McDonalds and a Taco Bell within walking distance. Dominos Pizza also advertises their phone number right on the room key, which can be convenient. Problems: The fridge was incredibly loud. It made a very noticeable noise that was like a loud, constant ticking. This took getting used to when I was trying to sleep. Also, basic toiletries were not in the room. There was soap, and that was it. No shampoo! Overall, though, for a dirt cheap motel, I'd have to say it could have been much worse.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Head down State St for easy access to downtown Ann Arbor.

Back to menu Return to top

Change search