$55 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Dec 27, 2014 Check-out: Dec 29, 2014

Motel 6 Ann Arbor

1 star
3764 South State St, I-94 at S State St, Exit #177, Ann Arbor, MI 48108
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.0
out of 5
87 reviews
Wasn't expecting much, but was pleasantly surprised

Inexpensive place to stay. Large room contained no upholstered furniture & no carpet. I loved that.... See full review

  • JT OH
  • Apr 14, 2014
A2 Motel 6

Frequent visitor. Great for price. Easy to get to, cost to everything. See full review

  • beer road dog
  • Jul 14, 2014
Roadside Ann Arbor motel offers sleek, simple, affordable amenities
Situated in south Ann Arbor adjacent to the Briarwood Mall, the Motel 6 Ann Arbor offers simple, affordable accommodations within easy distance of the university campus, downtown Ann Arbor and local sports stadiums. The motel sits just off the interstate and it is surrounded by a variety of dining options. The Motel 6 Ann Arbor also features a small outdoor swimming pool, 24-hour front desk service and in-room Wi-Fi access (fees apply). Business guests can arrange basic print, copy and fax services (fees apply) at the front desk.
Highlights
  • Outdoor pool
  • Guest laundry
  • Free morning coffee
  • Wi-Fi access (fees apply) in guest rooms
  • Has a pet policy
Rooms
The Motel 6 Ann Arbor has simple guest rooms with a newly updated decor that is surprisingly sleek and chic for a budget-friendly roadside motel. Traditional layouts come with either single king-size beds or pairs of queens or double beds. In-room amenities include 32-inch LCD televisions with audiovisual connections and Wi-Fi access (fees apply). Bathrooms feature granite countertops, raised sinks and shower/tub combos. All rooms have telephones and small side tables and chairs.
Features
The modest yet clean Motel 6 Ann Arbor provides business and leisure guests with the basic essentials at an affordable price near downtown Ann Arbor. Guests can find snacks, drinks and ice on the property, and the Motel 6 Ann Arbor provides complimentary coffee each morning. The property has a small outdoor swimming pool and coin-operated laundry available. Nearby restaurants are within walking distance. The hotel offers Wi-Fi access throughout the property (fees apply), and it also has a pet policy.
Transportation
  • Ann Arbor Airport (0.8 mi/1.3 km)
  • Amtrak Station (3.8 mi/6.1 km)
  • Detroit Metro Airport (23 mi/37.1 km)
Attractions
  • Briarwood Mall (0.9 mi/1.4 km)
  • Michigan Stadium (3.2 mi/5.1 km)
  • Ann Arbor Hands-On Museum (3.7 mi/6 km)
  • Kerrytown Market and Shops (3.8 mi/6.1 km)
  • Domino's Petting Zoo (10.9 mi/17.5 km)
Business
  • Business services
  • Wi-Fi access (fees apply)

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Motel 6 Ann Arbor also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 1.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5

Motel 6 Ann Arbor Rooms

Premier
Modern Room 2 Queen Beds

Amenities

  • Pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Free local telephone calls
Activities
Pool
Dining
Restaurant
Services
24 hour front desk
Maid service
Security
Wake-up service
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Room
Television with cable
Heated guest rooms
Microwave
Temperature control
Electronic door locks

Nearby points of interest

  • Crisler Arena: 2.3 mi
  • Michigan Stadium: 2.4 mi
  • Yost Ice Arena: 2.4 mi
  • University of Michigan: 3 mi

Dining

McDonalds
Adjacent to hotel.
Cherry Blossom
Adjacent to hotel.
Bennigans
Nearby 1 mile.
Damons Steakhouse
Nearby 1 mile.
Olive Garden
Nearby 1.5 mile.
Applebees
Nearby 2 miles.
Old Country Buffet
Nearby 2 miles.
TGI Fridays
Nearby 2 miles.
Joes Crab Shack
Nearby 2.5 miles.
Mongolian Barbeque
Nearby 4 miles.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (87)

Ratings and reviews for Motel 6 Ann Arbor

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
21 out of 87
Amenities:
2.5
Room cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
3.5
Room comfort:
3.4
Location:
3.6
Value:
3.4

76% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Motel 6 Ann Arbor

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
saraht123
Business
Boston
May 6, 2013

Terrible motel - rate change and smoky room

I did not have any expectations with Motel 6, but this has been the worst motel experience. First, I booked this motel because it's the only one with rooms available during commencement weekend in Ann Arbor. We got a great rate, $112 for 2 nights. When we got the hotel, the rate jumped to $180 for 2 nights with the explanation that they are having a rate change, but we booked this hotel in January for a May arrival. If this is how business is done here, I don't see any reasons in booking early for this motel. Secondly, for a motel that is advertising throughout a smoking-free facility. Our room was very smoky. Our toddler had a coughing fit every night, plus all of our clothes/suitcase would have to be aired out for days now. Overall, a terrible motel, and I vow never to book a non-prepaid hotel or stay at a this chain again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Motel 6 Ann Arbor

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
emu mom
Business
pa
Dec 17, 2012

great overnight stay

Staff were friendly and helpful. Room was comfortable. Thanks!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Motel 6 Ann Arbor

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Erpang
Business
madison, CT
Sep 3, 2012

A nice location

This motel located in a nice location, which is close to Super Mar-mart.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

7 min drive distance to Super Mar-mart.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Motel 6 Ann Arbor

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Not very picky
Business
Huntersville, NC
Jul 31, 2012

Room 249 King Bed

Stayed one night in Room 249. Great location at the back of the complex and end of the building; less noisy than some other areas. Room was updated in a budget manner, which was as nice as you'd expect for a Motel 6. Only complaint is I wish they would install more towel bars/hooks. The bed was very comfortable and for that I would even give up to 3.5 stars. I didn't use any services on site (wifi, pool, etc.) so I couldn't comment on them. We were able to check in early around 12 noon which was much appreciated after driving all through the previous night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Motel 6 Ann Arbor

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Lojbl
Business
Iowa
Jul 30, 2012

Good for the money

Good service. Newly remodeled room was very different.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Motel 6 Ann Arbor

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
familytrips
Business
Holland, MI
Jun 18, 2012

Great room for the price, also great location.

We had a great experience at this hotel. We stayed for the NASCAR race. We ended up at Krazy Jim's Blimpy Burger, if you stay here ask about that also. The kids enjoyed the pool and the TV also added value to the room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Krazy Jim's Blimpy Burger!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Motel 6 Ann Arbor

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
bigdrummer
Business
Ann Arbor
Dec 30, 2011

Average overnight crash place

If you're looking for a place to just lay down and crash without really taking advantage of any room amenitites, this is a fine place. We determined that if it was just abuddy and I going to a game the next day it would work.. However, for a family of for, not a chance.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Motel 6 Ann Arbor

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Student Dad
Business
Sacramento, CA, USA
Sep 27, 2011

good football weekend

great location for a fall football weekend. Easy access to campus, restaurants and freeway. good value although nothing special. Friendly front desk.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Motel 6 Ann Arbor

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
NeoProf
Business
Chicago, IL, USA
Aug 17, 2011

Clean Room with Local Color

The room was perfectly fine for the money and an easy drive to the heart of the city. There were quite a number of rather seedy folks hanging around the hotel, including its own personal beggar in the driveway and someone apparently turning tricks in the room next to us, but they didn't really bother us any.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Motel 6 Ann Arbor

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Mom2four
Business
Manheim, PA
Jul 31, 2011

So not good

The pictures of the hotel really drew us in. For a Motel 6 we loved the art deco feel. When we arrived though the computer system was down and we couldn't check in. We couldn't get a key and were stuck waiting for 20 minutes or so. My son had to pee and they have no lobby bathroom and without a key he had to pee elsewhere. Upon entering the room despite the claim of non-smoking it was filled with smoke smell. It permeated through everything clothes, hair, blankets. All rooms smelled this bad not just ours. Additionally our neighbors smoke alarm went off in their room repeatedly throughout the night which we heard through the walls. Although it looks nice, there were far to many things going wrong throughout the one night stay for me to ever repeat going there again. Plus it was super expensive considering it was a MOtel 6.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a McDonalds within walking distance which was great for breakfast in the morning since Motel 6 has no complimentary breakfast.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top