$55 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Nov 30, 2014 Check-out: Dec 1, 2014

Motel 6 Ann Arbor

1 star
3764 South State St, I-94 at S State St, Exit #177, Ann Arbor, MI 48108
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.0
out of 5
87 reviews
Wasn't expecting much, but was pleasantly surprised

Inexpensive place to stay. Large room contained no upholstered furniture & no carpet. I loved that.... See full review

  • JT OH
  • Apr 14, 2014
A2 Motel 6

Frequent visitor. Great for price. Easy to get to, cost to everything. See full review

  • beer road dog
  • Jul 14, 2014
Roadside Ann Arbor motel offers sleek, simple, affordable amenities
Situated in south Ann Arbor adjacent to the Briarwood Mall, the Motel 6 Ann Arbor offers simple, affordable accommodations within easy distance of the university campus, downtown Ann Arbor and local sports stadiums. The motel sits just off the interstate and it is surrounded by a variety of dining options. The Motel 6 Ann Arbor also features a small outdoor swimming pool, 24-hour front desk service and in-room Wi-Fi access (fees apply). Business guests can arrange basic print, copy and fax services (fees apply) at the front desk.
Highlights
  • Outdoor pool
  • Guest laundry
  • Free morning coffee
  • Wi-Fi access (fees apply) in guest rooms
  • Has a pet policy
Rooms
The Motel 6 Ann Arbor has simple guest rooms with a newly updated decor that is surprisingly sleek and chic for a budget-friendly roadside motel. Traditional layouts come with either single king-size beds or pairs of queens or double beds. In-room amenities include 32-inch LCD televisions with audiovisual connections and Wi-Fi access (fees apply). Bathrooms feature granite countertops, raised sinks and shower/tub combos. All rooms have telephones and small side tables and chairs.
Features
The modest yet clean Motel 6 Ann Arbor provides business and leisure guests with the basic essentials at an affordable price near downtown Ann Arbor. Guests can find snacks, drinks and ice on the property, and the Motel 6 Ann Arbor provides complimentary coffee each morning. The property has a small outdoor swimming pool and coin-operated laundry available. Nearby restaurants are within walking distance. The hotel offers Wi-Fi access throughout the property (fees apply), and it also has a pet policy.
Transportation
  • Ann Arbor Airport (0.8 mi/1.3 km)
  • Amtrak Station (3.8 mi/6.1 km)
  • Detroit Metro Airport (23 mi/37.1 km)
Attractions
  • Briarwood Mall (0.9 mi/1.4 km)
  • Michigan Stadium (3.2 mi/5.1 km)
  • Ann Arbor Hands-On Museum (3.7 mi/6 km)
  • Kerrytown Market and Shops (3.8 mi/6.1 km)
  • Domino's Petting Zoo (10.9 mi/17.5 km)
Business
  • Business services
  • Wi-Fi access (fees apply)

Hotel Map

42.2325 -83.7392
Nearby airports
Ann Arbor Municipal Airport, (ARB), 0.80, MI, NE; Willow Run Airport, (YIP), 11.20, MI, W; Detroit Metropolitan Wayne County, (DTW), 22.30, MI, W; Jackson County Airport-Reynolds Field, (JXN), 39.80, MI, E; Detroit City Airport, (DET), 41.70, MI, SW
Area description
City Center

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Motel 6 Ann Arbor also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 1.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5

Motel 6 Ann Arbor Rooms

Premier
Modern Room 2 Queen Beds

Amenities

  • Pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Free local telephone calls
Activities
Pool
Dining
Restaurant
Services
24 hour front desk
Maid service
Security
Wake-up service
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Room
Television with cable
Heated guest rooms
Microwave
Temperature control
Electronic door locks

Nearby points of interest

  • Crisler Arena: 2.3 mi
  • Michigan Stadium: 2.4 mi
  • Yost Ice Arena: 2.4 mi
  • University of Michigan: 3 mi

Dining

McDonalds
Adjacent to hotel.
Cherry Blossom
Adjacent to hotel.
Bennigans
Nearby 1 mile.
Damons Steakhouse
Nearby 1 mile.
Olive Garden
Nearby 1.5 mile.
Applebees
Nearby 2 miles.
Old Country Buffet
Nearby 2 miles.
TGI Fridays
Nearby 2 miles.
Joes Crab Shack
Nearby 2.5 miles.
Mongolian Barbeque
Nearby 4 miles.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (87)

Ratings and reviews for Motel 6 Ann Arbor

Overall score

3 / 5
5.01.0
87 out of 87
Amenities:
2.6
Room cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.6
Room comfort:
3.1
Location:
3.6
Value:
3.5

68% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Motel 6 Ann Arbor

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Bectousia
Business
Grand Rapids, MI, USA
Nov 21, 2011

Beware of Football Weekend Prices for substandard.

Naturally a Motel 6 room is just that, basic, however on football weekends the price jumps 100%. If you are not picky and do not mind paper thin walls, thinner bed covers, hard mattresses, scratchy towels and absolutely NO service (my bed was missing the thin blanket under the even thinner bed cover and they were unable to provide one, without apology); go for it. Srictly a place to shower and sleep BUT, if you MUST stay here, ask for a room away from other guests as we were awakened several times during the night by people standing outside our door smoking or hanging out on the sidewalk. It sounds as if they are in your room due to the lovely quality of the 60 year old windows. Perhaps you should keep looking at other options.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Motel 6 Ann Arbor

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
boofinrob
Business
corry, pa
Jul 23, 2012

Not good

no amenities at all, Horrible decorating, room not tended for two of our 4 day stay, untended area of town. my worst hotel stay ever

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Motel 6 Ann Arbor

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
pht11055
Business
Midwest
Jun 19, 2012

Overpriced, strange decor, bad housekeeping

Room was "decorated" in mid 1960s modern, no carpet, tiny bathtub. Hotel has the unique policy that if housekeeping finds anything personal on the bed they won't touch it. Could be a personal pillow, or a sock, or anything. That means the beds in our $100/night room received no attention for three days. They left s note each day stating the policy. We stay in hotels over 100 nights a year, this is a first. The fridge froze and ruined our food. This room was s $40/night room that because hotels can gouge when demand is high cost more than double. The hotel wasn't sold out. We'd be hard pressed to do it again though.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Motel 6 Ann Arbor

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Ides16
Business
Ann Arbor, MI
Apr 14, 2013

Motel 6

Sheets were dirty. Pretty sure there was a blood stain.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Motel 6 Ann Arbor

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
saraht123
Business
Boston
May 6, 2013

Terrible motel - rate change and smoky room

I did not have any expectations with Motel 6, but this has been the worst motel experience. First, I booked this motel because it's the only one with rooms available during commencement weekend in Ann Arbor. We got a great rate, $112 for 2 nights. When we got the hotel, the rate jumped to $180 for 2 nights with the explanation that they are having a rate change, but we booked this hotel in January for a May arrival. If this is how business is done here, I don't see any reasons in booking early for this motel. Secondly, for a motel that is advertising throughout a smoking-free facility. Our room was very smoky. Our toddler had a coughing fit every night, plus all of our clothes/suitcase would have to be aired out for days now. Overall, a terrible motel, and I vow never to book a non-prepaid hotel or stay at a this chain again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Motel 6 Ann Arbor

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
unhappytraveler2013
Business
Ann Arbor, MI
Jun 11, 2013

Staff unfriendly and rude

Staff was rude and unhelpful. Do not book this hotel as they told me they do not take reservations through this site. I had to eventually book another room and deal with canceling my reservation with this site, it was a mess.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Motel 6 Ann Arbor

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Ann Arbor Michigan
May 1, 2011

Horrible

Our stay at this hotel was terrible! It was very plain with no ammenities other then coffee at the front desk. There was a party going on next door that kept us awake until after 4:00 in the morning. Calls to the front desk and to the police only quieted things down for 5 minutes, then it was back to partying. This room seemed to be a place to stop and buy drugs. We were too afraid to leave the room until morning.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Don't choose this hotel even for the price.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Motel 6 Ann Arbor

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Aug 30, 2008

The worst stay ever

The TV, phone, air conditioner (either was on high or not at all) did not work and there was no hot water. The room was clean and the people were helpful but without the simple requirements I would never return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Motel 6 Ann Arbor

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Wyoming, Il
May 9, 2011

HANDICAPPED PEOPLE BEWARE

NOT HAPPY!!! DO NOT STAY IF YOU NEED HANDICAPPED ROOM. I made reservations 3-4 weeks ahead for a handicapped room with roll-in shower & queen bed. Got there & was told there was only a SINGLE BED in the room not queen. Who puts a SINGLE BED in room when a handicapped person usually has another person with them. We took a regular room & my husband had a terrible time especially with bathroom getting up & down on toilet area, small & no bars. Only stayed one night instead of two. Price was high for what we got. WILL NEVER STAY THERE AGAIN

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Motel 6 Ann Arbor

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Goblue
Business
Wisconsin, USA
Sep 26, 2011

Furnished like a minimum security prison

This was the only hotel in the area with rooms left when I booked - I now know why. If you want spartan at a non-spartan price, this is your place. I would have thought it a poor value at $50/night, but at $90 it was highway robbery. You don't know how much you miss the normal amenities in most hotel rooms until you don't have them. Easy chair or couch: no; only chair a "50's" looking hard wooden one at the desk. Clock radio: no; no clock at all. Shampoo in the bathroom: no; hairdryer:no; carpeting:no; linoluem throughout; free wifi:no; in-room coffee maker:no. Only ammenity besides the bed was a TV that worked. And the room was clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top