$59 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 5, 2015 Check-out: Jul 6, 2015

Motel 6 Ann Arbor

2 stars
View map of 3764 South State St, I-94 at S State St, Exit #177, Ann Arbor, MI 48108

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Motel 6 Ann Arbor

Overall score

3 / 5
5.01.0
93 out of 93
Amenities:
2.6
Cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.6
Comfort:
3.1
Location:
3.6
Value:
3.5

68% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Motel 6 Ann Arbor

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Chazzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz
Business
Chicago, IL, USA
Sep 26, 2011

Ann Arbor Stay

Came in town for the footbal game. Got what was expected (a place to sleep and shower). Close to the highway and campus which allowed convenience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Long walk from Michigan Stadium but better off making the long trek back to the hotel after the game as it was quicker then waiting in traffic to get back to the highway

Review of Motel 6 Ann Arbor

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Goblue
Business
Wisconsin, USA
Sep 26, 2011

Furnished like a minimum security prison

This was the only hotel in the area with rooms left when I booked - I now know why. If you want spartan at a non-spartan price, this is your place. I would have thought it a poor value at $50/night, but at $90 it was highway robbery. You don't know how much you miss the normal amenities in most hotel rooms until you don't have them. Easy chair or couch: no; only chair a "50's" looking hard wooden one at the desk. Clock radio: no; no clock at all. Shampoo in the bathroom: no; hairdryer:no; carpeting:no; linoluem throughout; free wifi:no; in-room coffee maker:no. Only ammenity besides the bed was a TV that worked. And the room was clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Motel 6 Ann Arbor

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
NoNkNme
Business
Traverse City, MI, USA
Sep 19, 2011

Convenient for a football weekend in Ann Arbor.

Clean room with helpful, cheerful office staff. Seemed a bit cramped and uncomfortable in the small shower/bathroom, because the toilet bowl had no lid (just a ring), and there was nowhere to set a change of clothes. Disappointed that the WiFi was not free, but you cannot have everything.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Motel 6 Ann Arbor

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
NeoProf
Business
Chicago, IL, USA
Aug 17, 2011

Clean Room with Local Color

The room was perfectly fine for the money and an easy drive to the heart of the city. There were quite a number of rather seedy folks hanging around the hotel, including its own personal beggar in the driveway and someone apparently turning tricks in the room next to us, but they didn't really bother us any.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Motel 6 Ann Arbor

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Mom2four
Business
Manheim, PA
Jul 31, 2011

So not good

The pictures of the hotel really drew us in. For a Motel 6 we loved the art deco feel. When we arrived though the computer system was down and we couldn't check in. We couldn't get a key and were stuck waiting for 20 minutes or so. My son had to pee and they have no lobby bathroom and without a key he had to pee elsewhere. Upon entering the room despite the claim of non-smoking it was filled with smoke smell. It permeated through everything clothes, hair, blankets. All rooms smelled this bad not just ours. Additionally our neighbors smoke alarm went off in their room repeatedly throughout the night which we heard through the walls. Although it looks nice, there were far to many things going wrong throughout the one night stay for me to ever repeat going there again. Plus it was super expensive considering it was a MOtel 6.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a McDonalds within walking distance which was great for breakfast in the morning since Motel 6 has no complimentary breakfast.

Review of Motel 6 Ann Arbor

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Out-of-towner
Jul 22, 2011

Terrible!!!!

Where do I begin? 1. I arrived at about 3 (check in was at 2) and I couldn't be checked in until about 3:45 2. Booked a no-smoking room and was put in a room that was over-sprayed to cover the cigarette smoke. I had a headache after staying in the room for 10 minutes 3. I packed my bags and run to the nearest hotel I could find!!! 4. The staff was very unprofessional and the place just looked :(

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Motel 6 Ann Arbor

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
France
Jul 9, 2011

very good value for money

Very good location. Clean, comfortable and reasonably priced.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Motel 6 Ann Arbor

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
reviewer
Jun 29, 2011

Surprisingly good experience

pro:friendly staff, clean facility, refrigerator and microwave in the room, renovated room, pet friendly, close to bus stop con:non smoking rooms smell like smoking room. no shampoo, conditioner, hair dryer

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Motel 6 Ann Arbor

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL
Jun 13, 2011

Nice Stay

The check in time was a bit delayed (needless to say we could not check in early), but the room was quaint and newly remodeled, which was a pleasant surprise. I would stay again if I had to go back to Ann Arbor.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Motel 6 Ann Arbor

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Wyoming, Il
May 9, 2011

HANDICAPPED PEOPLE BEWARE

NOT HAPPY!!! DO NOT STAY IF YOU NEED HANDICAPPED ROOM. I made reservations 3-4 weeks ahead for a handicapped room with roll-in shower & queen bed. Got there & was told there was only a SINGLE BED in the room not queen. Who puts a SINGLE BED in room when a handicapped person usually has another person with them. We took a regular room & my husband had a terrible time especially with bathroom getting up & down on toilet area, small & no bars. Only stayed one night instead of two. Price was high for what we got. WILL NEVER STAY THERE AGAIN

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top