$55 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Dec 27, 2014 Check-out: Dec 29, 2014

Motel 6 Ann Arbor

1 star
3764 South State St, I-94 at S State St, Exit #177, Ann Arbor, MI 48108
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.0
out of 5
88 reviews
Wasn't expecting much, but was pleasantly surprised

Inexpensive place to stay. Large room contained no upholstered furniture & no carpet. I loved that.... See full review

  • JT OH
  • Apr 14, 2014
A2 Motel 6

Frequent visitor. Great for price. Easy to get to, cost to everything. See full review

  • beer road dog
  • Jul 14, 2014
Roadside Ann Arbor motel offers sleek, simple, affordable amenities
Situated in south Ann Arbor adjacent to the Briarwood Mall, the Motel 6 Ann Arbor offers simple, affordable accommodations within easy distance of the university campus, downtown Ann Arbor and local sports stadiums. The motel sits just off the interstate and it is surrounded by a variety of dining options. The Motel 6 Ann Arbor also features a small outdoor swimming pool, 24-hour front desk service and in-room Wi-Fi access (fees apply). Business guests can arrange basic print, copy and fax services (fees apply) at the front desk.
Highlights
  • Outdoor pool
  • Guest laundry
  • Free morning coffee
  • Wi-Fi access (fees apply) in guest rooms
  • Has a pet policy
Rooms
The Motel 6 Ann Arbor has simple guest rooms with a newly updated decor that is surprisingly sleek and chic for a budget-friendly roadside motel. Traditional layouts come with either single king-size beds or pairs of queens or double beds. In-room amenities include 32-inch LCD televisions with audiovisual connections and Wi-Fi access (fees apply). Bathrooms feature granite countertops, raised sinks and shower/tub combos. All rooms have telephones and small side tables and chairs.
Features
The modest yet clean Motel 6 Ann Arbor provides business and leisure guests with the basic essentials at an affordable price near downtown Ann Arbor. Guests can find snacks, drinks and ice on the property, and the Motel 6 Ann Arbor provides complimentary coffee each morning. The property has a small outdoor swimming pool and coin-operated laundry available. Nearby restaurants are within walking distance. The hotel offers Wi-Fi access throughout the property (fees apply), and it also has a pet policy.
Transportation
  • Ann Arbor Airport (0.8 mi/1.3 km)
  • Amtrak Station (3.8 mi/6.1 km)
  • Detroit Metro Airport (23 mi/37.1 km)
Attractions
  • Briarwood Mall (0.9 mi/1.4 km)
  • Michigan Stadium (3.2 mi/5.1 km)
  • Ann Arbor Hands-On Museum (3.7 mi/6 km)
  • Kerrytown Market and Shops (3.8 mi/6.1 km)
  • Domino's Petting Zoo (10.9 mi/17.5 km)
Business
  • Business services
  • Wi-Fi access (fees apply)

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Motel 6 Ann Arbor also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 1.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5

Motel 6 Ann Arbor Rooms

Premier
Modern Room 2 Queen Beds

Amenities

  • Pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Free local telephone calls
Activities
Pool
Dining
Restaurant
Services
24 hour front desk
Maid service
Security
Wake-up service
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Room
Television with cable
Heated guest rooms
Microwave
Temperature control
Electronic door locks

Nearby points of interest

  • Crisler Arena: 2.3 mi
  • Michigan Stadium: 2.4 mi
  • Yost Ice Arena: 2.4 mi
  • University of Michigan: 3 mi

Dining

McDonalds
Adjacent to hotel.
Cherry Blossom
Adjacent to hotel.
Bennigans
Nearby 1 mile.
Damons Steakhouse
Nearby 1 mile.
Olive Garden
Nearby 1.5 mile.
Applebees
Nearby 2 miles.
Old Country Buffet
Nearby 2 miles.
TGI Fridays
Nearby 2 miles.
Joes Crab Shack
Nearby 2.5 miles.
Mongolian Barbeque
Nearby 4 miles.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (88)

Ratings and reviews for Motel 6 Ann Arbor

Overall score

3 / 5
5.01.0
88 out of 88
Amenities:
2.6
Room cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
3.6
Room comfort:
3.1
Location:
3.6
Value:
3.5

67% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Motel 6 Ann Arbor

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Poppi Mimi
Business
Wooster, OH
Jul 29, 2013

visiting grandchildren

This is a one star hotel, understand that. However, it is clean, comfortable and an excellent bargain. We were not planning on living there, just sleeping! For our purposes, it was a five star!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Motel 6 Ann Arbor

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
iDoc123456
Business
Ann Arbor, Mi
Jun 12, 2013

Business

Got the job done - cheap place to stay. Nothing fancy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Motel 6 Ann Arbor

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
unhappytraveler2013
Business
Ann Arbor, MI
Jun 11, 2013

Staff unfriendly and rude

Staff was rude and unhelpful. Do not book this hotel as they told me they do not take reservations through this site. I had to eventually book another room and deal with canceling my reservation with this site, it was a mess.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Motel 6 Ann Arbor

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
saraht123
Business
Boston
May 6, 2013

Terrible motel - rate change and smoky room

I did not have any expectations with Motel 6, but this has been the worst motel experience. First, I booked this motel because it's the only one with rooms available during commencement weekend in Ann Arbor. We got a great rate, $112 for 2 nights. When we got the hotel, the rate jumped to $180 for 2 nights with the explanation that they are having a rate change, but we booked this hotel in January for a May arrival. If this is how business is done here, I don't see any reasons in booking early for this motel. Secondly, for a motel that is advertising throughout a smoking-free facility. Our room was very smoky. Our toddler had a coughing fit every night, plus all of our clothes/suitcase would have to be aired out for days now. Overall, a terrible motel, and I vow never to book a non-prepaid hotel or stay at a this chain again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Motel 6 Ann Arbor

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Ides16
Business
Ann Arbor, MI
Apr 14, 2013

Motel 6

Sheets were dirty. Pretty sure there was a blood stain.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Motel 6 Ann Arbor

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lumpy Spuds
Business
Mount Pleasant, MI
Apr 8, 2013

A nice place for a weary traveler.

This hotel was absolutely perfect for my trip. The room was clean and quaint. Honestly, I LOVED the look of the place, hip and modern. It had a feel of a fancy flat in NYC, yet the affordability a thrifty traveler like myself requires. And the staff!!! Tasha was just a peach. Friendly and helpful, and when we arrived, she was dealing with something that seemed kinda stressful. I don't know the details, but it sounded like she had something important to deal with, yet, instead of carrying that stress over to dealing with other guests, she was calm, collected and genuinely friendly to me. I felt as if I was an olde friend, not just a guest passing through. Seriously, THANK YOU TASHA FOR BEING SUCH A FRIENDLY SMILING FACE!!! You really started my trip off on the right foot.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Motel 6 Ann Arbor

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
emu mom
Business
pa
Dec 17, 2012

great overnight stay

Staff were friendly and helpful. Room was comfortable. Thanks!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Motel 6 Ann Arbor

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Stephanie Go Blue
Business
Dayton, OH
Nov 18, 2012

Expensive for what you get

Location is great but the price is way too high for the quality of rooms. Wifi is not free. No breakfast. No essentials in the rooms like shampoo. It was clean. I didn't like the floors. Weird and uncomfortable. Just seems like a lot of money for not very much. Really feel ripped off.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Close to Michigan Stadium. Closer then it seems.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Motel 6 Ann Arbor

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
qwertyasdfgh
Business
san francisco, ca
Nov 16, 2012

average

it was ok. but the bed sheet needed to be washed..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Motel 6 Ann Arbor

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
JayP12
Business
Davenport, Florida
Oct 25, 2012

Quality Stay for the Money

This hotel was what would most expect from a value chain. Obviously low on amenities, but the price made up for that. The room was in decent shape and it did have a small fridge and microwave. The room layout was nice and included some updated features with the table/bench setup along with newer style beds. The only area that appeared to be missed in recent refurbishments was the bathroom. It definitely could have used a refresh. All in all it was a decent hotel for the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top