$59 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 6, 2014 Check-out: Aug 8, 2014

Motel 6 Ann Arbor

1 star
3764 South State St, I-94 at S State St, Exit #177, Ann Arbor, MI 48108
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.1
out of 5
133 reviews
Wasn't expecting much, but was pleasantly surprised

Inexpensive place to stay. Large room contained no upholstered furniture & no carpet. I loved that.... See full review

  • JT OH
  • Apr 14, 2014
A2 Motel 6

Frequent visitor. Great for price. Easy to get to, cost to everything. See full review

  • beer road dog
  • Jul 14, 2014
Roadside Ann Arbor motel offers sleek, simple, affordable amenities
Situated in south Ann Arbor adjacent to the Briarwood Mall, the Motel 6 Ann Arbor offers simple, affordable accommodations within easy distance of the university campus, downtown Ann Arbor and local sports stadiums. The motel sits just off the interstate and it is surrounded by a variety of dining options. The Motel 6 Ann Arbor also features a small outdoor swimming pool, 24-hour front desk service and in-room Wi-Fi access (fees apply). Business guests can arrange basic print, copy and fax services (fees apply) at the front desk.
Highlights
  • Outdoor pool
  • Guest laundry
  • Free morning coffee
  • Wi-Fi access (fees apply) in guest rooms
  • Has a pet policy
Rooms
The Motel 6 Ann Arbor has simple guest rooms with a newly updated decor that is surprisingly sleek and chic for a budget-friendly roadside motel. Traditional layouts come with either single king-size beds or pairs of queens or double beds. In-room amenities include 32-inch LCD televisions with audiovisual connections and Wi-Fi access (fees apply). Bathrooms feature granite countertops, raised sinks and shower/tub combos. All rooms have telephones and small side tables and chairs.
Features
The modest yet clean Motel 6 Ann Arbor provides business and leisure guests with the basic essentials at an affordable price near downtown Ann Arbor. Guests can find snacks, drinks and ice on the property, and the Motel 6 Ann Arbor provides complimentary coffee each morning. The property has a small outdoor swimming pool and coin-operated laundry available. Nearby restaurants are within walking distance. The hotel offers Wi-Fi access throughout the property (fees apply), and it also has a pet policy.
Transportation
  • Ann Arbor Airport (0.8 mi/1.3 km)
  • Amtrak Station (3.8 mi/6.1 km)
  • Detroit Metro Airport (23 mi/37.1 km)
Attractions
  • Briarwood Mall (0.9 mi/1.4 km)
  • Michigan Stadium (3.2 mi/5.1 km)
  • Ann Arbor Hands-On Museum (3.7 mi/6 km)
  • Kerrytown Market and Shops (3.8 mi/6.1 km)
  • Domino's Petting Zoo (10.9 mi/17.5 km)
Business
  • Business services
  • Wi-Fi access (fees apply)

Hotel Map

42.2325 -83.7392
Nearby airports
Ann Arbor Municipal Airport, (ARB), 0.80, MI, NE; Willow Run Airport, (YIP), 11.20, MI, W; Detroit Metropolitan Wayne County, (DTW), 22.30, MI, W; Jackson County Airport-Reynolds Field, (JXN), 39.80, MI, E; Detroit City Airport, (DET), 41.70, MI, SW
Area description
City Center

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Motel 6 Ann Arbor also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5

Motel 6 Ann Arbor Rooms

Premier
Modern Room 2 Queen Beds

Amenities

  • Pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Free local telephone calls
Activities
Pool
Dining
Restaurant
Services
24 hour front desk
Maid service
Security
Wake-up service
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Room
Television with cable
Heated guest rooms
Microwave
Temperature control
Electronic door locks

Nearby points of interest

  • Crisler Arena: 2.3 mi
  • Michigan Stadium: 2.4 mi
  • Yost Ice Arena: 2.4 mi
  • University of Michigan: 3 mi

Dining

McDonalds
Adjacent to hotel.
Cherry Blossom
Adjacent to hotel.
Bennigans
Nearby 1 mile.
Damons Steakhouse
Nearby 1 mile.
Olive Garden
Nearby 1.5 mile.
Applebees
Nearby 2 miles.
Old Country Buffet
Nearby 2 miles.
TGI Fridays
Nearby 2 miles.
Joes Crab Shack
Nearby 2.5 miles.
Mongolian Barbeque
Nearby 4 miles.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (133)

Ratings and reviews for Motel 6 Ann Arbor

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
133 out of 133
Amenities:
2.6
Room cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
3.6
Room comfort:
3.2
Location:
3.6
Value:
3.6

70% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Motel 6 Ann Arbor

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
boroax
LITH, IL
Sep 11, 2012

QUICK STAY

Liked the no carpet. This was a little strange, but at least we knew nothing was lurking under it. Room seemed really clean. Didn't use the pool, but it looked inviting.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Coney Island resturant for breakfast was really good, quick and cheap.

Review of Motel 6 Ann Arbor

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ex Ann Arbor resident
Ann Arbor, MI
Jul 21, 2014

We needed cheap lodging

I used to live in Ann Arbor, now I go back to visit family. Everything costs more in Ann Arbor, including a stay at a Motel 6! It could have been cleaner. We could see the built up dust on the sink counter and the shower curtain needed to be changed. The mattresses are terrible!! No more than a hard, thin mattress pad. The hotel is pet friendly so the floor (which thankfully is not carpeted) could have been mopped; and it had a few pet hairs. But if you want a deal, just a place to crash, take a snooze, and shower in Ann Arbor, this is place is doable. The furniture is modern and the location is awesome. The price is right. Just remember that you get what you pay for . . . and this is what you can get in Ann Arbor for $100 a night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Long walk from hotel

Briarwood Mall is right down the street. It has restaurants and stores in one spot. Convenient!

Review of Motel 6 Ann Arbor

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
beer road dog
Business
battle creek! michigan
Jul 14, 2014

A2 Motel 6

Frequent visitor. Great for price. Easy to get to, cost to everything.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Motel 6 Ann Arbor

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
JT OH
Ohio
Apr 14, 2014

Wasn't expecting much, but was pleasantly surprised

Inexpensive place to stay. Large room contained no upholstered furniture & no carpet. I loved that. I always wonder what is hiding in the carpet that I can't see. My room had two double beds. We couldn't believe how comfortable they were. The corner of the room had a little breakfast nook. Great to have a little table to play cards or eat. We saw pizza delivery to other rooms. You park right at the door to the room, so you don't get wet & you can keep an eye on your car if you want. Take your own shampoo when you go. You may see me there because I will definitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Motel 6 Ann Arbor

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Big house
Saint Joseph ,mi
Dec 15, 2013

Football game

Hotel was basic,clean and meet my needs for the night way overpriced for the hotel but that's what they do during football season

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of Motel 6 Ann Arbor

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Poppi Mimi
Wooster, OH
Jul 29, 2013

visiting grandchildren

This is a one star hotel, understand that. However, it is clean, comfortable and an excellent bargain. We were not planning on living there, just sleeping! For our purposes, it was a five star!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Motel 6 Ann Arbor

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
iDoc123456
Business
Ann Arbor, Mi
Jun 12, 2013

Business

Got the job done - cheap place to stay. Nothing fancy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Motel 6 Ann Arbor

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
unhappytraveler2013
Ann Arbor, MI
Jun 11, 2013

Staff unfriendly and rude

Staff was rude and unhelpful. Do not book this hotel as they told me they do not take reservations through this site. I had to eventually book another room and deal with canceling my reservation with this site, it was a mess.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Review of Motel 6 Ann Arbor

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
saraht123
Boston
May 6, 2013

Terrible motel - rate change and smoky room

I did not have any expectations with Motel 6, but this has been the worst motel experience. First, I booked this motel because it's the only one with rooms available during commencement weekend in Ann Arbor. We got a great rate, $112 for 2 nights. When we got the hotel, the rate jumped to $180 for 2 nights with the explanation that they are having a rate change, but we booked this hotel in January for a May arrival. If this is how business is done here, I don't see any reasons in booking early for this motel. Secondly, for a motel that is advertising throughout a smoking-free facility. Our room was very smoky. Our toddler had a coughing fit every night, plus all of our clothes/suitcase would have to be aired out for days now. Overall, a terrible motel, and I vow never to book a non-prepaid hotel or stay at a this chain again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Review of Motel 6 Ann Arbor

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Ides16
Ann Arbor, MI
Apr 14, 2013

Motel 6

Sheets were dirty. Pretty sure there was a blood stain.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
3
Review of Motel 6 Ann Arbor

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lumpy Spuds
Mount Pleasant, MI
Apr 8, 2013

A nice place for a weary traveler.

This hotel was absolutely perfect for my trip. The room was clean and quaint. Honestly, I LOVED the look of the place, hip and modern. It had a feel of a fancy flat in NYC, yet the affordability a thrifty traveler like myself requires. And the staff!!! Tasha was just a peach. Friendly and helpful, and when we arrived, she was dealing with something that seemed kinda stressful. I don't know the details, but it sounded like she had something important to deal with, yet, instead of carrying that stress over to dealing with other guests, she was calm, collected and genuinely friendly to me. I felt as if I was an olde friend, not just a guest passing through. Seriously, THANK YOU TASHA FOR BEING SUCH A FRIENDLY SMILING FACE!!! You really started my trip off on the right foot.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top