$54 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 24, 2014 Check-out: Sep 26, 2014

Lamp Post Inn

2 stars
2424 E. Stadium, Ann Arbor, MI 48104
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.1
out of 5
98 reviews
Good for visiting Natural History Museum

We chose the Lamp Post Inn because we wanted something reasonably priced for a visit to the U of M... See full review

  • Mon Traveler
  • May 4, 2013
unique and wonderful

Great value -- very well maintained, very friendly staff, great location. don't let the outward... See full review

  • welly38
  • Aug 1, 2011
Affordable, family-owned hotel with simple rooms near University of MI
The family-owned Lamp Post Inn offers simple and affordable accommodations close to downtown Ann Arbor and walking distance from the University of Michigan. Located on E. Stadium Blvd., the Lamp Post Inn sits adjacent to shopping and groceries at Lamp Post Plaza, and is just minutes from attractions like Michigan Stadium, Nichols Arboretum and the Natural History Museum. The Lamp Post Inn offers a range of vacation and extended-stay accommodations -- some with kitchens -- as well as complimentary breakfast and Wi-Fi access (free) in all guest rooms.
Highlights
  • Some kitchen-equipped rooms
  • Close to shopping, groceries
  • Complimentary breakfast
  • Wi-Fi access (free)
  • Parking (free)
Rooms
A clean, affordable option for short-term travelers and extended-stay guests, the Lamp Post Inn features 54 standard and extended-stay guest rooms. Single-bed layouts include king- or queen-size beds, while two-bed layouts have queens or double beds. All accommodations feature microwaves and mini refrigerators, while the extended-stay guest rooms also include stoves, pots and pans, and flatware. Other in-room amenities include work desks, cable televisions and phones with free local calls, and guests can stay connected with Wi-Fi access (free) in all rooms.
Features
The Lamp Post Inn offers modest features at an affordable price. And the central location makes it an ideal choice for those who need nightly or weekly rates near the university campus. The hotel sits adjacent to the Lamp Post Shopping center, which has a Trader Joe's grocery store. Also nearby, a deli and a coffee shop offer convenient meal options. Guests can find free parking and an ATM on-site, and the hotel provides a complimentary breakfast each morning. Property-wide Wi-Fi access (free) makes it easy for guests to stay connected to work, school or home at Lamp Post Inn.
Transportation
  • Amtrak Station (2.7 mi/4.4 km)
  • Ann Arbor Airport (4.3 mi/6.8 km)
  • Detroit Metro Airport (23.3 mi/37.6 km)
Attractions
  • University of Michigan (2 mi/3.2 km)
  • Michigan Stadium (2 mi/3.2 km)
  • University of Michigan Medical Center (2.6 mi/4.3 km)
  • Kerrytown Market and Shops (2.8 mi/4.6 km)
  • Nichols Arboretum (3.6 mi/5.8 km)
Business
  • Wi-Fi access (free)

Hotel Map

42.2586 -83.7122
Area served
Ann Arbor and Ypsilanti, Michigan.
Nearby airports
Detroit Metro Airport (DTW),
Area description
The Lamp Post Inn is within easy walking or driving distance of the University of Michigan campus and athletic facilities. Also located conveniently to the University of Michigan Medical Center, the Veteran's Hospital, and the McAuley Medical Center. Also within 1 1/2 miles are Nichols Arbortum, the Big House (stadium), all University of Michigan ahtletic fields, Nichols Arbortum, the Power Center of Performing Arts, the University Planetarium and Natural History Museum, and both Hill Auditorium and the Rackham Graduate Center. The downtown restaurant and entertainment areas as well as the Arc and Hand's On Museum are less than two miles away and easily assessible by bus or car.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Lamp Post Inn also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5

Lamp Post Inn Rooms

Queen Non Smoke
One queen or king bed. Comfortable room includes a refrigerator, stove or microwave, cable television, coffee pot, and free local telephone calls.
Two Doubles Non Smoking
Two Double or Queen beds. Comfortable room includes a refrigerator, stove or microwave, cable television, coffee pot, and free local telephone calls.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Yost Ice Arena: 1.6 mi
  • Crisler Arena: 1.8 mi
  • University of Michigan: 1.9 mi
  • Michigan Stadium: 1.9 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (98)

Ratings and reviews for Lamp Post Inn

Overall score

2.9 / 5
5.01.0
24 out of 98
Amenities:
2.7
Room cleanliness:
3.4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3.8
Value:
3.7

67% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Lamp Post Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Holland
May 13, 2011

Great Price but neglectful

The place was nice but upon further inspection the bathroom was lacking: paint chips in bathtub and toilet lever had to be held down the entire time. Then when checking out was dreadful

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Lamp Post Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Queen of the desert
Tucson, AZ
Nov 16, 2011

If you need an overnight place to stay

You know, the Lamp Post Inn is quaint, but frankly, pretty gross. If you need to stay longer than one night, I would invest in another hotel, even if it's more expensive. The Inn is run-down, but it meets very basic needs -hot water and heat. The microwave and fridge were nice to have. Trader Joe's around the corner was also great. Pillows/linens were awful, smell is awful. I didn't even bother with their breakfast. The staff is very friendly and the rate is also friendly, but if you're looking for a place to stay for more than one night, go elsewhere.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Lamp Post Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Phoenix AZ
Jun 10, 2010

Lights are out at the Lamp post Inn

Hotel needs some work, and updating. The room is dingy, carpets are dirty and need shampooing. The towels are old and worn, need to be replaced. Staff was pleasant. This is the last time I will stay at this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Lamp Post Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Chicago, IL
Jan 16, 2010

Yuck

Kind of grimy. I woke up to 2 spiders crawling around in the bed. Yuck.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Lamp Post Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Mommo48
Belvidere, IL
Jul 22, 2009

The good and the o-so-good

While in Ann Arbor, I was able to go to all the Art Shows. My son and daughter-in-law live in Ann Arbor and were able to show me all the goodies that Ann Arbor has to offer. It was a very pleasant time. The room was ok. It was clean the first day that I got there. The soap and shampoo were quite lacking. I realized that the Inn is a budget hotel, but I thought they might have replaced the empty shampoo tubes. The location was great in that it is about a mile up the road from where son/wife lived. It was a straight shot. The total experience was not totally bad, I just thought there might be a few more amenities.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Lamp Post Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Ann Arbor Annie
Indianapolis, IN
May 29, 2009

You get what you pay for

The room smelled funny. The shower was old and a bit too creepy for me to use. There was a window in the bathroom that was unlocked (though closed) upon my arrival and led onto the roof that made me a bit uncomfortable for my safety. Overall the room was serviceable, but not very pleasant. There was a bed, a working bathroom, and a TV with basic cable. The room was oddly shaped and there was a panel in the ceiling for the attic entrance. The furnishings were kind of old too. Their were no curtains over the windows, just blinds. It was also very humid and the air conditioner didn't help much to dehumidify the air. Breakfast was free, but very basic, including plain bagels, oatmeal packets, cookies and coffee but no fruit, cereal, milk or juice. It was an all right stay, but I'm glad I only had to spend 10 hours there. I'm not going to stay there again though.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Trader Joe's is in the shopping complex next door and there is a coffee place right across the street.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Lamp Post Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Sleepy in Ann Arbor
Fairfield Township, Ohio
Jul 18, 2010

Your mother's motel

Everything was as it would have been 40 years ago. The mattress seemed like it was original equipment. Bring your own pillow and towel and you might enjoy your stay more than I did. The room smelled like mold or mildew (there was a strict mo smoking policy - Yay!) and the bathroom was right out of my mother's old house. Breakfast was literally a bagel or an english muffin - no fruit or cereal (fiber is what I need when traveling!). The staff was courteous and friendly but I will not stay here again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Trader Joe's was right next door and shopping was a short drive down the road.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Lamp Post Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Aug 5, 2007

Inexpensive motel stay

The Lamp Post Inn was very inexpensive to stay, but uncomfortable to relax. There are what appears to be many long term residents. I was worried about security on the doors (no chain) & the security of my vehicle. The people working there did a good job but I was worried about the clientele of the premises. The room was clean (I hope) but needed routine maintenance. The pool is an open hole with little pools of old water in it. Obviously not used for quite a while. I stayed one out of the two nights & left early. I like the price, but would feel more comfortable staying at an inexpensive chain hotel for a few dollars more.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

University of Michigan facilities all around.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Lamp Post Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Eastern PA
May 28, 2010

Rather tired and dingy.

The room felt dingy, with old furnishings that were in need of repair or update. The whole place felt neglected and run down. The windows and door glass of the lobby were streaked with old dirt and greasy smudges. This set the general tone for the facility. The so called continental breakfast was 3 english muffins and 2 bagels on trays, and orange and apple juice. Next time I will spend the $5 or $10 more to stay at a newer and cleaner "chain" motel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Lamp Post Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
md2
Boston, Ma
Jun 8, 2009

Gets the job done

Cheap, get what you pay for. Good location. All I wanted was a room, did not want pool or gym.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search