$54 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 16, 2014 Check-out: Sep 17, 2014

Lamp Post Inn

2 stars
2424 E. Stadium, Ann Arbor, MI 48104
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.1
out of 5
98 reviews
Good for visiting Natural History Museum

We chose the Lamp Post Inn because we wanted something reasonably priced for a visit to the U of M... See full review

  • Mon Traveler
  • May 4, 2013
unique and wonderful

Great value -- very well maintained, very friendly staff, great location. don't let the outward... See full review

  • welly38
  • Aug 1, 2011
Affordable, family-owned hotel with simple rooms near University of MI
The family-owned Lamp Post Inn offers simple and affordable accommodations close to downtown Ann Arbor and walking distance from the University of Michigan. Located on E. Stadium Blvd., the Lamp Post Inn sits adjacent to shopping and groceries at Lamp Post Plaza, and is just minutes from attractions like Michigan Stadium, Nichols Arboretum and the Natural History Museum. The Lamp Post Inn offers a range of vacation and extended-stay accommodations -- some with kitchens -- as well as complimentary breakfast and Wi-Fi access (free) in all guest rooms.
Highlights
  • Some kitchen-equipped rooms
  • Close to shopping, groceries
  • Complimentary breakfast
  • Wi-Fi access (free)
  • Parking (free)
Rooms
A clean, affordable option for short-term travelers and extended-stay guests, the Lamp Post Inn features 54 standard and extended-stay guest rooms. Single-bed layouts include king- or queen-size beds, while two-bed layouts have queens or double beds. All accommodations feature microwaves and mini refrigerators, while the extended-stay guest rooms also include stoves, pots and pans, and flatware. Other in-room amenities include work desks, cable televisions and phones with free local calls, and guests can stay connected with Wi-Fi access (free) in all rooms.
Features
The Lamp Post Inn offers modest features at an affordable price. And the central location makes it an ideal choice for those who need nightly or weekly rates near the university campus. The hotel sits adjacent to the Lamp Post Shopping center, which has a Trader Joe's grocery store. Also nearby, a deli and a coffee shop offer convenient meal options. Guests can find free parking and an ATM on-site, and the hotel provides a complimentary breakfast each morning. Property-wide Wi-Fi access (free) makes it easy for guests to stay connected to work, school or home at Lamp Post Inn.
Transportation
  • Amtrak Station (2.7 mi/4.4 km)
  • Ann Arbor Airport (4.3 mi/6.8 km)
  • Detroit Metro Airport (23.3 mi/37.6 km)
Attractions
  • University of Michigan (2 mi/3.2 km)
  • Michigan Stadium (2 mi/3.2 km)
  • University of Michigan Medical Center (2.6 mi/4.3 km)
  • Kerrytown Market and Shops (2.8 mi/4.6 km)
  • Nichols Arboretum (3.6 mi/5.8 km)
Business
  • Wi-Fi access (free)

Hotel Map

42.2586 -83.7122
Area served
Ann Arbor and Ypsilanti, Michigan.
Nearby airports
Detroit Metro Airport (DTW),
Area description
The Lamp Post Inn is within easy walking or driving distance of the University of Michigan campus and athletic facilities. Also located conveniently to the University of Michigan Medical Center, the Veteran's Hospital, and the McAuley Medical Center. Also within 1 1/2 miles are Nichols Arbortum, the Big House (stadium), all University of Michigan ahtletic fields, Nichols Arbortum, the Power Center of Performing Arts, the University Planetarium and Natural History Museum, and both Hill Auditorium and the Rackham Graduate Center. The downtown restaurant and entertainment areas as well as the Arc and Hand's On Museum are less than two miles away and easily assessible by bus or car.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Lamp Post Inn also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5

Lamp Post Inn Rooms

Queen Non Smoke
One queen or king bed. Comfortable room includes a refrigerator, stove or microwave, cable television, coffee pot, and free local telephone calls.
Two Doubles Non Smoking
Two Double or Queen beds. Comfortable room includes a refrigerator, stove or microwave, cable television, coffee pot, and free local telephone calls.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Yost Ice Arena: 1.6 mi
  • Crisler Arena: 1.8 mi
  • University of Michigan: 1.9 mi
  • Michigan Stadium: 1.9 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (98)

Ratings and reviews for Lamp Post Inn

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
16 out of 98
Amenities:
2.5
Room cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.8

56% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Lamp Post Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Philadelphia, PA
Jun 27, 2011

Sleepless stay

I booked two nights at this hotel. After a ten hour drive, we checked into the hotel and realized as soon as we opened the door that we would spend as little time there as possible. The room was super funky - I actually sprayed febreeze upon entry - and the carpet was so gross, I wouldn't take off my sandles. To make matters worse, I was awakened by teenagers standing outside my room at 2, 3 and 4 am. I tried to called the front desk to address this matter but no one was on duty. Checked out first thing the next morning. I cannot advise anyone considering the cheap accomodations enough to double-down and book a room at the Holiday Inn which is where we stayed our second night. They have a pool, white linens, it's newly renovated and I slept like a baby.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of Lamp Post Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Pacific Coast Dad
Bay Area - California
Jun 9, 2013

Tired, but Clean

The property looks tired, but the room was clean. There was a Trader Joe's next door and a very nice park a block down Washtinaw. Internet connection is sporadic.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Trader Joe's and Roly Poly Sandwich shop are in the shopping center next door.

Review of Lamp Post Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
bger
bowling green ohio
Jun 15, 2009

needs some work

pool was unusable,microwave didnt work,exaust fan didnt work and bathroom even tho looked clean was disgusting.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Lamp Post Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Midland, MI
Jun 17, 2011

What we found.

Although the rooms were all advertised as smoke-free, the first room we were given had obviously been smoked in, which didn't work for my girlfriend who has smoke allergies. The fridge had mold in it. The entertainment center was falling apart. And the grout in the tiny tiled shower needed to be redone. We were shown a 2nd room and then a 3rd before we found an acceptable one. The gentleman who checked us in was very accomodating, and was very concerned about our satisfaction. We were happy to only be staying one night. With a few cosmetic updates, deep cleaning of rooms which were previously designated for smoking, and cleaner fridges this would be a very nice place to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

The Ann Arbor/Washtenaw area is abundant with restaurants of varying ethnicities, which range from fast food to fine dining. Entertainment options are many and include movies, theater, dance clubs, concerts, and art fairs.

Review of Lamp Post Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Wolverine'72
Chicago area
Jul 18, 2012

An old Lamp Post

If you are looking for a place to sleep, this is a great value. We had bagels and coffee in the morning; could have added oatmeal, but we didn't have time. Old and worn, but clean; and the staff was very friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

to the Michigan Stadium and central campus.

Review of Lamp Post Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Valrico
Jun 20, 2008

Requires Major Renovation

Terribly maintained and room conditions deplorable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of Lamp Post Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
LZjz
Rochester, MI
Feb 26, 2013

Good for short trip

If you need an inexpensive simple place to stay and will not be in the hotel much, this would be okay

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Lamp Post Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Denver, CO
Jan 26, 2010

Ok for one night

It was ok, great location for visiting Eastern Michigan University.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Lamp Post Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
San Jose, CA
May 11, 2009

University of Michigan

Goo Value

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Lamp Post Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kyle & Mom
Pleasant View, TN
Feb 27, 2010

Zfamily

A great value for the price. Having the refrigerator and microwave was wonderful. The location was great. It is an older hotel and shows the wear, but it was very clean and comfortable. For the cost it was a terrific value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top

Change search