$54 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 16, 2014 Check-out: Sep 17, 2014

Lamp Post Inn

2 stars
2424 E. Stadium, Ann Arbor, MI 48104
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.1
out of 5
98 reviews
Good for visiting Natural History Museum

We chose the Lamp Post Inn because we wanted something reasonably priced for a visit to the U of M... See full review

  • Mon Traveler
  • May 4, 2013
unique and wonderful

Great value -- very well maintained, very friendly staff, great location. don't let the outward... See full review

  • welly38
  • Aug 1, 2011
Affordable, family-owned hotel with simple rooms near University of MI
The family-owned Lamp Post Inn offers simple and affordable accommodations close to downtown Ann Arbor and walking distance from the University of Michigan. Located on E. Stadium Blvd., the Lamp Post Inn sits adjacent to shopping and groceries at Lamp Post Plaza, and is just minutes from attractions like Michigan Stadium, Nichols Arboretum and the Natural History Museum. The Lamp Post Inn offers a range of vacation and extended-stay accommodations -- some with kitchens -- as well as complimentary breakfast and Wi-Fi access (free) in all guest rooms.
Highlights
  • Some kitchen-equipped rooms
  • Close to shopping, groceries
  • Complimentary breakfast
  • Wi-Fi access (free)
  • Parking (free)
Rooms
A clean, affordable option for short-term travelers and extended-stay guests, the Lamp Post Inn features 54 standard and extended-stay guest rooms. Single-bed layouts include king- or queen-size beds, while two-bed layouts have queens or double beds. All accommodations feature microwaves and mini refrigerators, while the extended-stay guest rooms also include stoves, pots and pans, and flatware. Other in-room amenities include work desks, cable televisions and phones with free local calls, and guests can stay connected with Wi-Fi access (free) in all rooms.
Features
The Lamp Post Inn offers modest features at an affordable price. And the central location makes it an ideal choice for those who need nightly or weekly rates near the university campus. The hotel sits adjacent to the Lamp Post Shopping center, which has a Trader Joe's grocery store. Also nearby, a deli and a coffee shop offer convenient meal options. Guests can find free parking and an ATM on-site, and the hotel provides a complimentary breakfast each morning. Property-wide Wi-Fi access (free) makes it easy for guests to stay connected to work, school or home at Lamp Post Inn.
Transportation
  • Amtrak Station (2.7 mi/4.4 km)
  • Ann Arbor Airport (4.3 mi/6.8 km)
  • Detroit Metro Airport (23.3 mi/37.6 km)
Attractions
  • University of Michigan (2 mi/3.2 km)
  • Michigan Stadium (2 mi/3.2 km)
  • University of Michigan Medical Center (2.6 mi/4.3 km)
  • Kerrytown Market and Shops (2.8 mi/4.6 km)
  • Nichols Arboretum (3.6 mi/5.8 km)
Business
  • Wi-Fi access (free)

Hotel Map

42.2586 -83.7122
Area served
Ann Arbor and Ypsilanti, Michigan.
Nearby airports
Detroit Metro Airport (DTW),
Area description
The Lamp Post Inn is within easy walking or driving distance of the University of Michigan campus and athletic facilities. Also located conveniently to the University of Michigan Medical Center, the Veteran's Hospital, and the McAuley Medical Center. Also within 1 1/2 miles are Nichols Arbortum, the Big House (stadium), all University of Michigan ahtletic fields, Nichols Arbortum, the Power Center of Performing Arts, the University Planetarium and Natural History Museum, and both Hill Auditorium and the Rackham Graduate Center. The downtown restaurant and entertainment areas as well as the Arc and Hand's On Museum are less than two miles away and easily assessible by bus or car.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Lamp Post Inn also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5

Lamp Post Inn Rooms

Queen Non Smoke
One queen or king bed. Comfortable room includes a refrigerator, stove or microwave, cable television, coffee pot, and free local telephone calls.
Two Doubles Non Smoking
Two Double or Queen beds. Comfortable room includes a refrigerator, stove or microwave, cable television, coffee pot, and free local telephone calls.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Yost Ice Arena: 1.6 mi
  • Crisler Arena: 1.8 mi
  • University of Michigan: 1.9 mi
  • Michigan Stadium: 1.9 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (98)

Ratings and reviews for Lamp Post Inn

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
27 out of 98
Amenities:
2.4
Room cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
3.2
Location:
4
Value:
4.1

70% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Lamp Post Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
outta luck chuck
Business
austin, tx
Nov 3, 2010

Tough Luck at the Lamp Post

I knew that my flight into detroit/ann arbor was going to be later than some small hotels are used to so I arranged to for a late check in. as luck would have it, my flight was delayed and I showed up very late. The lamp post inn solution? Taped a note to the inside of the door directing me to a random mailbox to retrieve my key. Some one must have beat me to the lamp post because there was no key. There was no response when I tried to call the hotel either. I was forced to find another hotel in the middle of the night in a foreign city. The next day they were apologetic, but made no attempt to win back my business. In the future I will stay elsewhere.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Lamp Post Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
better bring a jacket bob
Business
Austin, Tx
Oct 28, 2010

LampPost = Horrible Late Arrival Prolicy

The late arrival policy of Lamp Post Inn left me out in the cold. I was traveling to University of Michigan for a conference, I saw the Lamp Post Inn online and I figured that it was probably a decent place, and it was priced within my budget. I knew that my travel plans had me arriving after 6pm, so I made the necessary arrangements for late check in. My flight was delayed and I arrived around 1am. My name was on the door, with a note saying that the key was in the mailbox. I checked the mail, NO KEY. I tried calling the number on the door, NO RESPONSE. I looked for a manager's office onsite, NO OFFICE. It's the middle of the night, in a strange town, luggage in tow, and I have to find a number for a taxi, pay to be taken to "some where the cabbie recommends" The next day they call and acknowledge that mistakes were made, however they made no offer to win back my business or compensate me for this horrible ordeal.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Lamp Post Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
TeeWrecks
Business
Milford, CT
Sep 17, 2009

Okay, but not the place for me

Well, it was definitely cheap. But overall, not a good choice for business travel. Motel-like. Old rooms. Woke up like 5 times overnight whenever the loud A/C wallunit "clicked" on. Didn't feel entirely safe as single female traveler. Front desk was very nice and helpful. Had small computer for me to use in lobby. Also, is not within walking distance to hospital or campus, so had to take a cab.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Lamp Post Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Louie M
Business
Maryland
Aug 28, 2011

No more than one night

Window slats were defective. Staff brought up duct tape so I could tape a sheet over the window. Not ideal. TV was old. Breakfast: good coffee but mediocre pastries. Fortunately Ann Arbor has a wealth of great places to eat nearby.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Lamp Post Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Windsor, ON
Aug 14, 2009

Good

Good!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Lamp Post Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
webby2006
Business
Indianapolis, IN, USA
Feb 29, 2012

Good for a quick nights say

Its nothing fancy, its perfect for a quick nights stay when you don't plan on spending much time in the room other than sleeping.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Lamp Post Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
wifi traveller
Business
San Francisco, CA
Mar 1, 2013

Eh.. there are better places

I work while I travel and require a bed, bathroom and decent wifi and work are -- and that's about it. The wifi was lousy -- certainly not what's expected in 2013. It couldn't even handle netflix. The work table -- rickety. I won't be coming back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Lamp Post Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
J Cristopher
Business
Kansas City
Sep 4, 2014

I've stayed in worse, but not by much...

I can't complain too much, because hey, you get what you pay for, but, I'd probably never stay there again. The bed was super hard, the carpet was in pretty bad shape, the room had a weird smell, and the showering experience was one of the worst I've ever had (and I travel a lot for business). Seventy dollars a night is hard to pass up, but I probably will suck it up and spend the extra money for somewhere with a half-way comfortable bed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Lamp Post Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
jawajediknight
Business
Orlando, Florida
May 26, 2013

nice people, poor room

The people running this hotel are nice, but the rooms leave a lot to be desired. The walls are very thin, and I had to listen to a domestic dispute all night long. The refrigerator in the room was old, dusty, and having mechanical issues that late at night kept waking me up. The coffee pot in the room was okay, but had not enough sugar and cream for the pot. The continental breakfast was poor. The orange juice was powdered, reconstituted juice (at least that`s how it tasted) and the coffee was terrible. The second day I didn´t even do the continental breakfast. Also, the cable in the room didn´t work, and the wireless internet didn´t work right.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Lamp Post Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
flyboyjosh
Business
Ann arbor, mi
Jan 4, 2013

Walk to Trader Joes

I love the location. The amenities are barbones - bring your own soap and shampoo.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Trader Joes is a gourmet mecca

Back to menu Return to top

Change search