$67 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 27, 2015 Check-out: Sep 28, 2015

Lamp Post Inn

2 stars
View map of 2424 E. Stadium, Ann Arbor, MI 48104

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Lamp Post Inn

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
98 out of 98
Amenities:
2.6
Cleanliness:
3.4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.8

68% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Lamp Post Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kyle & Mom
Family
Pleasant View, TN
Feb 27, 2010

Zfamily

A great value for the price. Having the refrigerator and microwave was wonderful. The location was great. It is an older hotel and shows the wear, but it was very clean and comfortable. For the cost it was a terrific value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Lamp Post Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Washington DC
Dec 5, 2009

Cheap stay, local ownership

I had work to do up on North Campus, which was pretty far away-- and taxis in Ann Arbor are up there in price with much bigger cities. So location wasn't great. The room itself was pretty bare-bones, though the fridge and microwave were much appreciated. Wireless internet was reliable, though not always fast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Next door is a Trader Joe's, great for grabbing a few groceries to store in the room fridge!

Review of Lamp Post Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
lexington, ky
Jan 24, 2010

Great Customer Service, Nice Motel

Overall, This is a nice motel. They accommodated our super late check-in and the staff was awesome!The room was just fine, and quaint. The only down side was, if people were talking outside, then you could easily hear them. Not so big of an issue. I would stay there again! Very reasonably priced!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Lamp Post Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Single
KS
Apr 25, 2010

Excellent quality for the price!

I will return to the Lamp Post! Remarkably convenient - microwave and mini-fridge in room, Trader Joe's next door, easy access to the interstate/airport, on bus route to UM campus. The fixtures may not be the newest, but everything was clean and comfortable, and the staff was incredibly friendly. If you need a comfy place at a reasonable price, this is an excellent value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Lamp Post Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Ypsilanti, MI
Aug 7, 2009

Nice affordable place

It's a great place for checking out the University of Michigan campus and Ann Arbor downtown; the place is not right there in the downtown/campus area & close to the highway, which makes the stay away from the noise and crowd. Couldn't hear any traffic at night. Staff was efficient and accommodated my requests (use of fax service, etc.).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Trader Joe's and other small stores are literally next to the hotel. We ate lunch at Rolly Polly which was in the complex.

Review of Lamp Post Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Washington, DC
Sep 23, 2007

Economy hotel

The Lamp Post Inn was in a convenient location for the purpose of our trip. The staff was friendly and accomodating. The room was clean and had everything we needed for our trip. We especially liked the fact that a refrigerator was provided in our room. The price was excellent and we were satisfied that we had chosen this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Gas, convenient store and market were close by.

Review of Lamp Post Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jess goes on an adventure
Friends
Baltimore, MD
Aug 1, 2009

An Inexpensive Stay

This was the middle night of a week long road trip. And was the best price we had our whole trip. If you're looking for a bed to sleep in for cheap, but not much else, this is the place to go. It's about a 10 minute drive into the heart of Ann Arbor/College Campus if you're being touristy or visiting the school. The beds are comfortable (I did bring my own pillow though) and the rooms are clean. They offer a complimentary breakfast, but we didn't get to eat it. It doesn't appear that much has been updated recently so I would recommend this hotel for the budget minded traveller rather than a family or someone who is looking for a little more in their hotel stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Across the street is a cottage that serves coffee and other beverages and breakfast foods (muffins and bagels). Absolutely fantastic iced coffee drinks!!! I'd recommend going through the drive thru instead of walking up since they seem to serve drive thru customers first.

Review of Lamp Post Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
St. Paul
Mar 27, 2011

[...]

The hotel was old, but clean. The staff were very nice and knowledgeable. [...]made the reservation in my husband's name for some unknown reason, so we at first did not have a reservation. Hotel staff - not [...]figured it out for us.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Lamp Post Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dr. G,
Family
Maple Glen, Pennsylvania
May 6, 2011

Great value, more than meets basic needs

Very pleasantly surprised by pricing and amenities. I have stayed in many 5-star hotels that had less room to move about, and no way to access snacks except through the expensive hotel=supplied stuff in their refrigs. We landed on this Inn because every thing was booked for Univ of Michigan graduation. I was a bit concerned at first, that being an Inn, the front door opened directly to the outside,but chhosing the second floor made it feel more secure.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Lamp Post Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Ann Arbor, MI
Jun 20, 2011

Not too bad

The room was clean, but basic. The staff was friendly. Breakfast was only bagels and English muffins.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top